(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Itok, not in audit line, hehe.the brokerage firm. But I resigned in June to be sahm. Thisnyear I going back to rp to work again but different firm Liao.

mom2nat, thanks. yes it is and also very hot. I can't switch on the fan if RaeAnne is around cos she is still having runny nose and cough. Hubby needs to go for op for his hand on Wed. Luckily it's left hand, if right hand, sure affect his work cos he needs right hand to mark scripts. :p

Pauline,
hope you are feeling okay now, so your girls staying at home with you or going to your inlaws in the daytime? you need to rest more to recover faster too. What kind of ops your hubby got to do for his hand?

Luvv, the gals are with us. ILs can't look after on their own esp when RA is still sick. They can't feed her med nor bring her to see dr so no point. They are happy to take RL but I don't want to separate the gals cos RL poses no trouble at all and the maid can look after her easily. Plus they tend to under feed RL solids, FIL said her tummy is very big (cannot feed anymore so never give her enough porridge). End up RL is always hungry and waking up in the middle of the night for milk at their house. Hubby's left hand got fractured bone, dr said need to op. But I rather we 'xin ku' a bit than 'sim tia' to see my poor gals stay sick or go hungry. But something gotta give so I'm starting tingkat service tom for lunch and dinner so that maid can concentrate on the gals instead wasting time preparing food, cooking and washing up. :p

Morning mummy!

Starting of a brand new work week. Hope we pull it through. Weekend is just 5 days away!

Kitsune,
Hope you are recovering well. Have to take things easy. Everything can wait except your own health. Take care!

Morning Kam!

Yeah start of a brand new week, you planning for coming weekend already? lolz

btw, when are you going back for CNY break?

Pauline,
given the new ruling for property market, i think it's good that you defer your property course also. Can take your own sweet time after you fully recovered.

morning mummies!!

kitsune
wah really very tough period for you all right now. is your HB still on mc? or as workaholic, back to work liao?

btw, why cant your ILs feed RA medicine?

btw mummies, 1 of my aunt is looking for a pre-loved walker...if anyone still keeps one and does not need it anymore, lemme know yah

Luvv, morning!

No lah. Nowadays cannot plan, cos hubby's work is unpredictable. Can only plan on Friday or on the weekend itself.

We are going back on the 29th Jan, early morning, hope it's in time to have our dim sum breakfast at Ipoh

Pixie,
Your aunt only wants walker? Exersaucer interested?

thanks, Luvv. hubby also said no point going in cos no job security cos every few months, govt always come up with new ruling. hiaz.

pixie, because they said Raeanne doesn't want to listen to them when they give med. always dun want to take med. duh, i mean which kid loves to take med right? dun want to take even with sweet bribes then must catch n feed lor. that's what we do to RA also.

yesterday finally explored chinese garden....i realised that i just need to get out of the lift, walk to the overhead bridge, cross it, and there's an entrance to chinese garden!! wah!! so near!!

we brought out our kite to fly, since there were so many kites in the sky...but i forgot (usual blur me) that i have taken out the "bones" of the kite during packing/moving...and i took along the body of the kite but didnt bring out the structure....duh rite...

in the end walked ard the garden, we explored a bit of the inside only...its too big to finish. coz it spans all the way to the next 2 MRT stations...

one funny part was, x saw the ice-cream vendor far far away and said "ice-cream! there! ice-cream" nonstop....and then when we finally reached the pushcart, uncle told x..."sorry no more ice-cream even though i could hear you calling for ice-cream far away"..,...muahahahah...

it was a fun workout for us after dinner tho. i didnt know we were so close to the park/garden

kitsune
i think krystle's #1 loves medicine....if im not wrong

and only recently my son started to love meds too *scratch head* dunno why??

yes i understand what you mean by "catch n feed"....lol

ooooo kam, i go n check whats an Exersaucer liao
is it almost the same as a sit in walker? mobile kind?
if so, then i dun mind getting it from you, if you are letting go. my aunt is willing to pay though

pixie,
Is so windy over the wkends...i saw many kites in the sky just across my block is a big empty field & jogging track. Another favourite place for kite flying is the park just across JP. Otherwise you can try west coast park too!

steph
yes, it was very windy during the weekend...when i sweep the floor, i could see that the amount of dust compared to last few weeks increased by 30% hurhur...i almost fainted at the amount of dust + sand collected just from the living room!

and my windows are rattling in the wind....apart from the howling that im getting....at this rate, windows very fast spoilt one leh!!

haiz, today x cried again, as usual. since he didnt go school for 2 days, holiday mood and now say dun want school...
he kept crying and say he want to buy rice....LOL
what in the world he wants to buy rice for??!

he kept screaming and crying, saying he want to buy rice and chicken *faint*

Pixie,
HR loves to take med also, all the while. Probably because he doesn't have much chance to take? Last med fed was in June. That time when we fed XY med, he insisted he was sick and needed to take med. So let him lick the leftover from the spoon :)

Exersaucer is NOT mobile. It's like a walker that you can pit the child in, but cannot move. It's more like an activity centre for the kids to be in. Walker is not recommended cos it's dangerous, and it actually hinders the kid learning to walk.

kam
i dont agree and dont like walkers too but my aunt is looking for one so im just helping her....
tell her liao she oso dun take in, you know...old ppl's thinking different from us nowadays

orhhh then i dont need an exersaucer liao bah in this case....

pixie
I have 1 walker, actually now place outside my house, just about to dispose it 2 days back. But the cotton padding of cushion seat for the walker had kind of thin off and break down a bit. Still can be sit on, I dont want it because my girl try to crawl out of it and be spider woman. Can show u a pix if u want.

to Add on, condition maybe abt 6/10.

pixie, Raeanne only loves the sweet med like chloramine n panadol syrup. she hates the antibiotics n cough syrup. :p

tingkat just came at 1130am just now, got celery fried with prawn, chix fried with onions n some potato/corn soup. portion looks ok, should be enough for 3 pax though I ordered for 2 pax. supposed to be no msg n low salt. anyway, the boss said if we find the food too salty tonight tell him n he will cut down.

kitsune,
i understand! i can't even force any med down C1's throat. cos she will hold in her mouth and spit out. Even if i press her nose, she already mastered the skill of spitting everything out even then.

kitsune
your tingkat sounds good, and usually have enough leftover for dinner....so....
can order for 3 pax amount for lunch, BUT eat for lunch + dinner, save $$....i cheapo mummy hurhur

but eat same dishes in a day very sianz hor

icy
i will skip, thanks. my aunt's DIL, is a bit crazy. she + hb earns like max 3k combined take home pay but spends so much on these stuff. a bit torn or discoloured she will be angry wor...and want to buy new one...
my aunt just want 1 that looks clean, and in good condition to put at her place so when bb comes can let him sit in walker...and moreover my aunt is just a cleaner in office, dont earn much thats why i helped her to source for 1

Kitsune, Pixie,
Yes, my girl likes med so never had any problem feeding her that. But recently my boy changed to like med too, all of a sudden!!! Just one fine day, he decided to open his mouth willingly and wait for the syringe.
So I am very happy and hope it stays that way.

Had a wonderful short getaway at Hard Rock Hotel RWS. Sooo happy, I want to go back there again if there is chance.
But the only sad thing was it rained very heavily on Sat by the time I ended Issyen's birthday celebration at home. We checked in at 4pm+ and it was still raining. Wanted a Deluxe King room but housekeeping was not ready yet. The staff said will take a while and if I take Deluxe Double, it is immed available. So just take that since I had 2 kids and don't want to be stuck in lobby or loiter for hours. Anyway, I know the double beds are quite huge and it was indeed. Each can sleep 2 adults + got 1 pull out bed. So can squeeze in 5 pax.

The staff gave me high floor (5th anyway, highest only 6th). But forgot to ask for pool view so got the view facing Vivocity and nothing much to see. Never mind coz the room is really spacious and nicely deco. My bro's family came to join for a swim but due to rain, can't do much...

Then we went to get dinner at Festive Walk. The only bad thing here is really very limited food/restaurants to eat. In the end, dined at BAITS. Then headed to USS for after hours promo and enjoyed a great fireworks. But last weekend super crowded, can't even shop properly inside USS stores. But still worth $5!

Then we only managed to swim next day before check out. Hard Rock pool is very nice! It is made up of 1/2 beach and 1/2 pool, with kids' water play area in the middle. My kids had their 1st swim, although both drank some water.... Hahahaha, but they still had fun. Need to practically drag them out of pool and my boy was wailing, wanting to play water for longer time. Hahahaha..

Really enjoyed that weekend, and almost felt like going to a resort overseas.

And I really got the room at member's rate. With my vouchers, I only topped up $5!!! HAhaha, super cheap getaway!

luvv, yup Raeanne also spits sometimes. :p

pixie, good idea but for us a bit tough cos Raeanne also eats what we eat so I dun feel comfortable feeding her lunch leftovers for dinner. If food not fresh, she gets a stomachache, even more difficult to look after. So for the time being, spend a bit more lor, Bo bian. :p

kitsune,
I read your blog. It's the same tingkat that I ordered a few months back. Honestly, I think the food is pretty okay, definitely no MSG (cos I am sensitive to it), and the ingredients quite good too (as compared to another one I tried prior to that). Soup is quite nice too. But too bad couldn't get HR to eat, so I have no choice but to stop the tingkat after the trial, cos my main purpose was to get healthy dinner for him so I chose this kinda premium tingkat. If he didn't eat, then defits the purpose liao.

Hope RA enjoys the food.

krystle
wah u making me DROOL with all the HRH-RWS description....how to get the room at member's rate ah?? only top up $5...very lucky!
maybe bring our small family over for a stay before i pop lo....sounds so much like a holiday!

Pixie,
Yes, it was a good holiday. So glad now we have RWS and don't have to go overseas, very convenient.
Can consider before you pop loh.

Are you already a RWS member? If not, can get yourself registered by free. I signed up for member as RWG (Genting) but I asked to register my records in RWS so can enjoy member's rate. When doing booking, need to email, cannot book online. They will call you to verify your member's details and quote you the rate. When you check in, just show your RWS membership card and NRIC.

I got $325 worth of RWS vouchers that is why so cheap in the end... They quoted me $280 for Deluxe room rate and after the service charge and GST, total bill is $330.

krystle
wah! thanks! i am exploring this and maybe book 1 nite stay during weekend as a "surprise" for hb....coz if i suggest, he sure say "dont need to go lar". if i booked liao then he LL bo bian

its a before pop event + v day + wedding anniversary

Pixie,
Ya, guys will surely say that "no need". But see my hubby also said it was a good getaway. I can see he also enjoyed the stay and time with the kids. Then I hinted next time he booked, he acted blur and did not answer back. :p

Then he said men don't do such things, they leave to women coz if they do, us women will complain and complain.

Hey, if for v-day, better check out availability and also rates may be higher.

krystle
usually we celebrate end of feb....which is nearer to our wedding anniversary than to celebrate v day....we dont want to squeeze with the masses and rates for food, and EVERYTHING is so much more expensive during vday period hor??

btw, i super suaku, how to go in the "after-hours" thingy ah? i know some mummies here talked about it before leh. buy beforehand? buy on the spot?

Pixie,
Now only me and you talking ah?? Hahhaha.
Ya loh, V-day every prices went up. My birthday is in Feb so I don't celebrate V-day lah. No point celebrating and a few days later my birthday and celebrate again right?

I copy and pasted the details from USS website:

Hollywood After Hours is now featuring the Lake Hollywood Spectacular show! Dine and shop at Universal Studios Singapore®'s Hollywood zone from 7:00pm to 10:00pm every Friday and Saturday for only $5 per entry.

Ticket Sales: Limited same day ticket sales starts from 6:30pm at Universal Studios Singapore ticket booths.

So you just buy the tickets on the spot and go in.

krystle / pixie,
Both me and hub still cannot accept the idea of a staycation. Esp the hotel price in Singapore is so expensive, and Singapore is so small that it only takes us about 30min from town to home. Really so nice ah?

Kam, oh you too? I tried out 2bq cos one of the feb mummies also ordered from there before and she said not bad. Also, cos it's cheaper than Mum's cooking which is very exp but also claims no msg, low salt and low oil. RA enjoyed the food just now though she already had lunch at CC. But may be due to novelty lar cos she never saw tingkat food before cos we usually cook and occasionally tapow. She loved the ABC pork rib soup just now cos it's been more than 1 week since we cooked soup at home. :p

Krystle, Pixie, envy leh. Initially wanted to go RSS too but now better save $ first.

Hubby just got email from Chartis, getting back $34k for the car but I think still too exp to buy car now, not even enough for COE so kiv first until COE drops bah. Told hubby next car, must buy made in Japan or heavier car cos our Vios made in Thailand, the car too light, not so stable. :p

kam
nice or not i dunno coz i never went for a staycation before. but x loves kids pool very much and if its not that ex, ok lar i dun mind stay 1 night, have fun, no need to cook, do housework, clean up. foc air con....

kitsune,
Ya. HR liked the novelty of tingkat food for like 2 days. Then he refused to open his mouth :-( Yes, it's a lot more cheaper then Mum's cooking but it's more ex than other "normal" tingkat food.

Oh, $34k is not bad? Cannot buy new car for sure. But you may considered 2nd hand car? Cos if you all need a car to ferry the family around, then can opt for 2nd hand car. For new cars, don't know how many years it will take till the COE price drop to around $10k, the more acceptable range.

Pixie,
Heard the public swimming pool near your place is quite child friendly. Go any restaurant also no need to cook mah. Don't do housework for that day, the next day go home still have to do leh. Free air con is available in every shopping centre. Hahaha.......

kam
honestly i dunno where is jurong's public swimming pool. i dont mind going but lazy hb will say "oh you preggy, if you dont want to go into the water (no appropriate swimwear), then i go in alone, i dont want"

staycation can forget your troubles for a bit eg "oh tmr i need to do hsework again"....
just searching for excuses at my side but its so ex, i dunno if im willing to part with the $$....most prob not lo

Kam,
I don't mind staycation lah but like what you said Singapore is so small already, nothing much to see and do right? I tried staycation in Marriot Hotel and Conrad Hotel before, really nothing much to do. But I think RWS and MBS offers something special and different and maybe worth the try. This time the RWS stay really almost made me feel going to a overseas vacation lah. Like what Pixie said, no need to clean room, can be messy and most importantly my kids having fun. So it made the whole experience good.

Kitsune,
Your car is VIOS? My old car was VIOS too and we kena chain collision of 4 cars then. It also went dead immed and cannot start up at all! Then we also felt the same thinking like you. So now we have Toyota Wish, made in Japan. Bigger, heavier than before.
But can get back $34K is not bad... Are you still paying the instalments? Or this $34K need to be paid back to bank?

Ya loh, if a car is really a neccessity, check out 2nd hand car first.

Pixie,
Yes, like what Kam said, there is a very nice public swimming pool near your area. You can see it if taking MRT between Chinese Garden and Lakeside. I went there before when I was still living in West. Next time will bring my kids there too.

Hey, you stay at one of those point blocks near Chinese Garden MRT???

krystle
yes i stay in one of those tall point blocks near chinese garden mrt....why why why? wanna visit me? heeheehee. my blk is at the tip of the junction of town hall rd + boon lay way.

what is the name of the swimming pool? issit in a club? or its just a swimming complex by itself? i asked my hb he oso say dunno got such things leh!!

The public pool at jurong is fun even for adults. Love the wave pool but my gal is scared of it. Hehe. For kids I think it's not bad but my only grouse is the water at the kids pool is always so cold! Think because it's always shaded.

ooooooooo i went to street directory and saw the landmark liao...thanks kam, krystle n mcfluffy for pointing this out to me! hope can bring x for a swim FEW times before i pop....i got no appropriate swim wear though....must pester my hb to go for the sake of x

kam, I hope her novelty lasts longer cos I ordered 10 days trial. :p

Krystle, our car was paid up within 1 year, withdrew FD savings to pay for the hefty installments cos no point taking long loan since our fd interest rate is lower than the car loan's. Hiaz, that's why now super sian to take up car loan again. We wanted to drive the Vios for 10 years one lor... :p

Kam, how much does a second hand car cost? I don't dare to buy second hand car cos we don't know how to check for techinical problems, what if got problem with the old car and accident again. paranoid liao.

pixie,
Wah, your hubby winner liao loh. He grew up at JE, right? Didn't know the JE swimming complex? He was refrained from outdoor activity or what :p

krystle,
It's good you enjoy the stay. Have to convince myself then convince my hub. Yes, kids love hotel stay. My kids love hotel stay too, slept surprisingly well.

kitsune,
Not too sure how much. If got those with low COE, shouldn't be too bad? If you don't have a friend who knows how to look at the engine/body, then get a reputatable agent or get someone to recommend you an agent that he/she has used before? Singapore is so strict with the routine checking etc, won't be too bad one lah, those with serious accident ones won't pass the test, I think.

pixie, mcfluffy,

Yes i like the wave pool n lazy river at the JE swimming complex BUT i hate the restroom for changing n shower after swimming, not children friendly at all. The shower room are equip with wall fans & blowing so strong on top...kids will catch cold easily, i don't like so never visit again liao. And yes the water at the kids pool is so so chilling n cold...even Z don't dare to step in leh when he loves water so much...can u imagine? And now so windy season better not else wear thermal swimsuit.