(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Grumpus
Congrats!!! Nice date!

Pixie
I think gynae c bb size to c if growing n oso amniotic level n aging placenta. I not sure but my bb all overdue, gynae say my fluid still a lot, bb still can grow, say watch sugar level in case bb too big.

This time u GG for natural?

Congrats! grumpus!

Thanks, itok, mylvera, grumpus, mom2nat.

mom2nat, yup every morning wake up whole body stiff n ache like 80 yr old. Saddest thing is I haven't seen my gals since Sunday morning n I missed them ESP cos mil said Raeanne had cough on mon they brought her to see GP on mon night n GP prescribed the med that gave her allergic reaction. Eyes painful n then kenna high fever of 40 deg. last night fever still 38.2, now dun know under control or not.

Pauline,
actually I think GP always give medicine of too high dosage to toddlers so better don't bring them to GP la. Better to bring to PD I feel. I feel much more at ease when I feed PD's medicine to my gal compared to GP. GP is cheap but I always worry about the medicine.. heh.

Gd morning mummies

Congrats Grumpus! I like the date, so easy to remember

<font color="ff6000">Re: Gathering/playdate at west side (pixie's hse)</font>
Date: 5th or 6th? or 12th or 13th?
time: early morning? eg 9 or 9.30
We can keep the playdate short, about 1 to 2hrs, after that, we can go for our own lunch(activity)/visiting relatives)

1. steph (12th, 10am)
2. janbb (preferred date?)
3. luca (5th)

kitsune,
scary incident it is. speedy recovery to both of u. hope ur car issue can be worked out.

grumpus,
congrats, have a good confinement.

congrats grumpus!!

mom2nat
im not going for natural. last time c-sect coz bb big, scared cannot natural. so i got induced. in the end no dilation. emergency c-sect coz more than 12hrs of waiting + contractions liao
this time round, i'll go straight to c-sect with epi

morning mummies !

congrats to grumpus ! 1/11/11 ! nice date ! Alyson really know how to choose a good date to come to this world !

Kitsune
it gives me goose pimples just by imagining the accident ! Do take care ya...

kitsune! scary accident! heng you and your hub are fine. Have a speedy recovery!

Grumpus,
Congratulations!!! Have a smooth confinement :)

Mcfluffy,
why are you gek sim with the cc?

Kitsune
Aiyo... Like tat u wan to rest oso can't, gotta worry abt ur gal. Are u still in the hosp? How abt ur hb? Thank God u 2 r ok, v scary. So unexpected. I think ur parent must b so worried oso.

Pixie
Last time I went hip scan to c if I can have natural. But tat is not in Sg. both kids q big but luckily push a few times out Liao. Prob angle n shape of head oso affects.

<font color="ff0000">Re: Gathering/playdate at west side (pixie's hse)</font>
We can keep the playdate short, about 1 to 2hrs, after that, we can go for our own lunch(activity)/visiting relatives)

1. steph (12th, 10am)
3. luca (5th)
4. Kam (12th, 10 am)

Luvv,
It's a brand new cc but just in a month's time, I've seen teachers go and GO. The new teacher in charge of my gal (this Indian teacher, call her Teacher K) didn't know that my gal has been with the cc for the past month, thought that she's new, that she just joined in January. When my mum asked where the original teacher (Teacher A) went to, Teacher K insisted that SHE was the teacher, not Teacher A. But after more prompting, she reluctantly said that teacher A had left. Of course, when Teacher A left, we weren't told as well. Teacher A was my daughter's main teacher I think. Although she was old and cannot really speak good english, she was rather caring and seem to dote my daughter quite a bit. So, my daughter seemed to be affected when Teacher K came. Cry everyday..and now, every morning will cry and insist that she doesn't want to go to school.

Another gek sim thing is Teacher K acually shouted at my gal before, witnessed by both my hubby and my mum. They told me that once, my daughter was supposed to put her water bottle at a certain designated place, my daughter refused and Teacher K acutally shouted, "Don't want also must!" Of course, my daughter cry somemore lor.. coz my daughter has been afraid of loud sounds since young. Imagine in front of us, Teacher K already shout at my daughter, I cannot imagine what she might do when we are not looking.

Sometimes, I don't blame my daughter for not wanting to go to school.

Gek sim #3. For the past month that my gal has been attending the cc, there weren't ANY structured teaching activities and I think it could be because they only started in dec, and there were very few students? But I felt very cheated ($$$$) coz in the first place, if there's no structured teaching, I might as well leave my daughter at home? Why did i waste my money? Maybe it's my own fault coz I didn't ask.. but the school never made it clear that there were no teaching in december. No wonder everytime I pass by and peep in, the children and teachers were here and there, children playing and teachers CHIT CHATTING.

Hai... I give up on this cc. Or rather, this Teacher. No good teacher = no good place for my daughter. THe teacher makes the difference to a child.

I'm putting back my daughter to her previous playgroup. Only 2 hours.. but I think she is happy there, the teacher loves her. Don't care if she's learning the same things as last year.

Oops sorry... didn't mean to rant so much.
I must REALLY put more effort into researching for a good kindergarten for my daughter next year. Really regret thinking that Sparkletots will be ok.....

Re: Gathering/playdate at west side (pixie's hse)

1. steph (12th, 10am)
3. luca (5th)
4. Kam (12th, 10 am)
5. mcfluffy (12th, morning 9, 10am.. C wakes up extremely early)

Any mummies who have experience with Appletree playgroup @ CCK? Am thinking to put my boy in CCC but still on waiting list. TIA

Mcfluffy: which cc your daughter go to?

mcfluffy,
Oh, that's really quite bad. Yes, teacher is probably the most importnat factor. Hope C is happy again when she goes back to the playgroup.

mcfluffy
i have the same scenario i.e that both our kids are in new cc.
mine opened 1st day, i 1st day put X there liao. even more jialatz
the thing is, because its a new cc (or generally for new cc), the principal or management would want to "play by ear" and see if the kids can adapt to the schedule (or structured lifesytle) and tweak accordingly.
so right now apart from the basic sleeping, bathing, feeding, we only have 2 lessons, 1 in AM and 1 in PM. i honestly dunno who is conducting the PM lesson or if there is ever a PM lesson coz the main teacher (who is the main teacher for infantcare, call her teacher N) is malay. how to teach the kids chinese? they say got relief teacher but another relief teacher is actually a...young young girl who looks more like a basic caregiver. only in feb then they will have a main teacher for x's group of kids.

so right now teacher N (being quite young) is taking care of the few pathetic kids in the cc, no infants yet. but i think teacher N is an infantcare teacher, she cares for kids well (thru her actions), but about teaching and/or getting the kids engrossed/engaged, i doubt so....

my boy has been crying since monday and he is very bored. he say he dont want the new toys in school and he dont want teacher K. i think its coz the cc is very empty, and morning time X is the only kid. so teacher N is not required to engage X, just "accompany" him to play toys n all...

no wonder my boy dont like school.

but i cannot fault the school because its new...still going through teething period

i need to tok to principal and feedback liao

sorry i oso ranting

1. steph (12th, 10am)
2. luca (5th)
3. Kam (12th, 10 am)
4. mcfluffy (12th, morning 9, 10am.. C wakes up extremely early)

TBC:
5. janbb (12th, 10am)

I can't confirm cos he has classes in the morning for both sat &amp; sun. U gals go ahead. Maybe will gatecrash with my gal whle gorgor attend his class on sat if he is ok with his daddy in the class ;)

grumpus,
Congrats!! Another Jan baby, so nice ;)

pauline,
oh dear, shock abt your news. So u are back at home already? Speedy recovery to u. Take care.

pixie,
why u dun ask your mil bring him to the cc at 9.30am+ when more kids are there already? At least, he see more kids mean more fun?? Maybe won't dislike school so much?

thanks, everyone. sigh, still in hosp n due to the fractures, hubby not hospitalised but also has fractures so he is in hosp accompanying me. i still need to wear a neck to waist brace for 6 weeks even after I discharge. dun know how to cope with the kids n the maid at home like that. Real estate course supposed to start next Monday but now got to defer Liao.

pixie,

I also put C in the cc on the first day. And like X, I used to bring her there early coz I need to work (like you) but realised that many of the kids don't come in that early. So in the end, my hubby will bring her to sch a bit later.

I know that they need to go through a teething period but I would very much appreciate them to be honest with me and inform me if the main teacher is leaving or whatever. No news one leh. Just left like that.. everyday I ask C Teacher A got come or not, she say no. So I was very puzzled.. I thought she was on MC or something. Then all of a sudden, Teacher K comes and tell us she is the main teacher and has such a bad attitude. Her attitude bad towards me nevermind ( a few times I went to pick C up, this Teacher K like treat me transparent or something) but attitude towards C is bad also.. then sorry, I will change school lor.

I think C also same reason as X coz nothing to do.. very bored. Imagine whole day no structured things? Free play?!?!?! I also will sian lor.. confined in such a small space.

Hhaha... Teacher N is malay, how to teach? Same as mine la.. Teacher K is INDIAN!!! hahahaha... Maybe C will learn some Tamil / Hindi soon. :p Anyway, your cc still conduct at least 1 lesson right? C's cc = none!

Haha.. I don't bother talking to the P coz that time I say before right... she is also LOUSY. Hahz.

Today C went back to her last year's playgroup. I asked her how she felt today after lessons, she said HAPPY! Past few days she was at the cc, she always tell me she is SAD. Heh. So I've made the decision to withdraw her out from her cc and send her back to the playgroup. Afternoons send her for enrichment lessons. I hope it's a better arrangement like htat. At least I have a happy girl and not a crying, everyday sad face girl.

mcfluffy,

U asked abt berries rite? I heard from my friends that Berries &amp; Tien Hsia are quite good but is for chinese language only. Thinking to put my boy when he is in K1. Tien Hsia is more like chinese speech &amp; drama class as at the end of each term or half yr (can't rem exactly), they will perform a stage show in class. Parents will watch this performance during that lesson.

Pauline,
Poor thing, with that thing on your neck for so long. Lucky u have a lot of help from in-laws &amp; maid. Take it as a break to rest.

mcfluffy
unfortunately, i have no other resources liao leh. no one can take care of X if i put him back to his playgroup....even if i get in a slot
so, die die must accept this cc liao lor

Janbb,
yup yup.. I want to send her for Chinese enrichment coz we don't really speak Mandarin at home and she's not exposed to all those Chinese words. At one point of time, she used to close her chinese story books whenever I took them out to read aloud to her. Heh. Luckily now with the help of playgroup and constant reading of Chinese story books at home, she's not so resistant towards chinese already. So I must ensure she is not turned off towards Chinese (like me :p)

I read some reviews of Mummies from kiasuparent.com. Tien Hsia seem to be more drill and practice, more for homework kind? Berries seem more fun and challenging.

pixie,
Yah.. for me, my mum can help me. I put C into cc because I want her to be more independent and watch less tv at home. My mum let her watch far too much TV at home.
Haiz.. but not, back to square one.

I think for you now, you must work closely with the teacher. Must engage X in sch and make him realise that sch is FUN and enjoyable! Tell the teacher what X likes and don't like.. then can work towards moving him.. hehe.

Haiz.. I never knew that sending a kid to sch can be soooo tiring. Cannot imagine Primary 1 next time. I counted yesterday... P1 kids have to spend 6 hours in school all by themselves leh. Omg. I wonder how C is going to cope!

Janbb, my mil doesn't know the extent of our injuries yet. she still asking hubby when we can be discharged, cos she wants to go perm hair. she doesn't even know both me n hubby need to be looked after even after we r discharged. -_-

mcfluffy,
Haha, same here. My boy does not like or speak mandarin too. A bit worried that they can't cope with chinese next time. Heard that P1 mother tongue has hanyu pinyin assistance but P2 is totally no?? Is it true? Cos' my nephew did badly at P2 last yr.

pauline,
Why dun tell them since u need help after discharge? Think they will get a shock to see you in this state. Haha, see she still got mood to perm hair sia?? How come they or your gals didn't visit u in hospi?

kitsune,
That sounds bad, have to put on braces for 6 weeks
Likely you couldn't even carry your girls?

If I were your PIL, I would be very shock! Should tell them the real situation so they are prepared for it. Else they got a big shock and may be frightened off by the thought that have to help to take care of the girls (and 2 adults) for at least 6 weeks.

kitsune,
ur injury seems bad, agreed with Kam, better let ur inlaws know the real situation so dat they can b prepared. if she knows in d 1st place, maybe she would not have the mood to perm hair liao.

Kam,
really is a good deal. i went to this place before but that time was under another name, not sure issit the same management, but it was very good. pay 1 price n get to enjoy all the facilities eg sauna, hot bath, steam bath etc.

Luca,
Really? Thanks for the feedback. Tonight physco hubby, hope he agrees to go :)

RE: Counting
Just received an e-mail from HR's cc. OMG, his teacher said he can count up to 90 already. Gosh, I thought he only know up to 20-30 :p

pixie,
I was surprised to know that. But hor, count till 90 for what? He can recognise all the numbers very well, to me, that's more important.

Kam,
not sure if the deal now is just as good as the previous 1, coz i saw only got massage and usage of the suite.
anyway, it should be ok since its 77% discounted.

HR is superb!

kam
HR so good har ! and your cc lagi good ! will email to feedback to you ! I dont even have chance to fetch Tate back so cant have any feedback from teachers at all.

Tat spa seems a good deal !!!!! I WANNA BOOK !!!

Luca / Chaye,

HR's cc just started this a few months ago. Before that I also didn't receive anything. Now at the end of every month, they send a monthly progress report (what the kid did/learned for the past months) to every parent and the schedule for montessori and chinese lessons for the coming month.

kam
eh good leh ! tat should be the way !!!
I just called Tate's cc and ask kekeke.. the admin told me there should have a communication book in the bag everyday. Teachers will leave any comment, if any in the book and vice versa I can also write in the book for teachers to see ! BUT, the book is not ready yet :p

chaye / pixie,
When HR started this cc, I also waited a few weeks for the comm book. The principle also said not ready. When she finally prepared one, alamak, just those small booklet with his name on it, so difficult to prepare meh? I didn't really make use of this comm book.

His ex cc is better in term of the comm book. It's in form/table format. Teachers are mandated to fill in the comm book every day.

Pixie
I will give it a pass. My schedule v tight now, might not even b able to meet up. Dun wan u hold on to it. Anyway not urgent... Hee. Thanks!!

Finally know why B's fever kept coming and going...he's got roseola. The rashes just appeared on his body...which means he's recovering right??

Grumpus,

Kistune,
Oh dear, pls take care of yourself. Your hubby too. Bone fractures take time to heal properly, really must be careful.

1. steph (12th, 10am)
2. luca (5th)
3. Kam (12th, 10 am)
4. mcfluffy (12th, morning 9, 10am.. C wakes up extremely early)
5. elmo78 (12th morning anytime)

TBC:
5. janbb (12th, 10am)

I m keen to join too. I just had a feedback session with the teachers from the Childcare ctr at the end of Dec. Generally, Amanda had adapted well in school and pick up language skills easily. However, she is very anti-social, refuse to speak up in classes n to her teachers. However, she will talk non-stop with her classmates. The principal is actually quite concerned bout her learning if she dont speak up. So worried for her lor....Any advice from the mummies here?

Hi mcfluffy,

U going for seimpi trial? What one are u going? I m thinkg of bringing Amanda for the classes in Hougang Mall. Let me know if the class is good after ur trial okay.

elmo
if she can tok non stop to classmates then i dont think she is anti social. perhaps shy, especially infront of adults (stress/pressure) but not shy with her own peers?

actually the school should do more, not the other way round. get the teachers to keep asking her qns, or sing songs or lead etc to overcome her prob?

my colleague's girl same prob as yours and the teachers all encouraged her to tok lots, sing songs, and ask her lots of qns so that she can speak up more

Janbb, hee, I'm not too sure about mother tongue for p1 and 2 leh... Coz never teach and different session. Only know EMS stuff :p

Kam, wAhhhhhh...HR is really really very intellectual... He can do jigsaw puzzles, can even count to 90!! Impressive.
and ur cc is also v good. Still got monthly email?like chaye and pixie, I also had to request for the comm book. When I received it, realized it's just an exercise book with her name pasted on it. And like pixie and chaye, my reaction was: need a lot of time to prepare this meh? Heh. Which cc is HR in?

Elmo78, why don't u go for the free trial at funan? Most likely I will tar up lessons at funan if it's good and beneficial for my gal.

And I don't think ur gal is anti-social la.. Just don't like to speak in front of public ba. I doubt it poses any problems to learning. She just needs the confidence and a lot of practice to speak up in class. Tell the principal to have more "show and tell" sessions.

Anyway hor, I realized many of u here already have #2 or even #3.... Any mummies still at #1 only? Hehe.... Coz me # 1 only.. And forever #1

mcfluffy...u doing night shift again?? hurhur

no worries a lot still at #1
yvonne, aqua, godsent, tongtong, verene, elmo??, itok??......