(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Pixie
Now I have a title, but still no income!! Haha
If u need her help, bring her, if not, might as well stay home do housework. If 1 kids, u n hb can handle. 2 kids, then depends if u wan to eat in peace, need to feed ur kids or someone to carry things.

<font color="ff0000">RE: DENTAL CHECK UP</font>

A blogger mum shared this with me. You might want to consider this if you are planning to bring your kids for thier first dental check up. My friend tried and her elder (coming 4yo) was okay to be checked, while her younger (1.5yo) got cranky, but then he's the one with problem!

Health Promotion Board - School Dental Centre.

School Dental Centre
3rd Second Hospital Avenue
#04-00 Health Promotion Board
Singapore 168937
Tel: 64353782 Strictly by appointment only
Charges: $9 for checks and polishing

"The School Dental Centre provides oral healthcare services to pre-schoolers and pupils below 19 years from Junior Colleges, Institutes of Technical Education and Polytechnics. It also serves as a referral centre for more complex treatment."

Kam
Frankly, when I chose 1st dentist for my girl, it was not the price. I was more worried abt her being afraid as she is quite stubborn. The first one I went, consultation alone $80!! But she was v friendly, explained the equipments to her, got tv and sunglasses during cleaning. Doesn't hurry us n v patient. Now tat she is happy with seeing a dentist, I switched to a less costly option. Hoho...

mom2nat,
Not only the price. As I mentioned, my friend's kids are okay with the dentist. And my friend said the dentist was very kind, patient and know how to handle kids. Maybe because they see many children every day?

I won't be using that service BTW. I don't have good experience with dentists in Sg. So we are going to bring him to our dentist back at our hometown.

Kam
I dun like see dentist. I haven't seen one for years!! Tats why today got a big decay, might even need root canal! sigh... And a few others tat need xray after I deliver. I oso hardly go cos no company to pay my dental fees liao! Hahaha...
My girl hardly take sweets even got big decay. If the filling doesn't help, she oso need root canal!!

mom2nat,
Root canal is a bacteria infection! That it affects the "root" of the tooth. It's damn painful you know if you have root canal. And filling won't help to ease the pain. Filling can only help to mend the decay. Root canal have got to do with treating the bacteria with antibiotics etc. I suspect yours and your girl are not really root canal leh.

Cannot don't do check up lah. I only do once a year, which is already bad.

wah i love dentists leh
i tell my orthodontist, i love sitting on her chair. i always doze off kind. when she fiddle with my teeth eg scaling, or grinding off the cement or putting on the brackets....feels like SPA

she always laff at me, say im the odd one out

Kam
We have a v deep decay. But dentist can't dig into it now for me, cos I preg, so he put medicine into the hole and fill up. Then tell me wait a while, see if still got pain. As for her, he oso din wan to scare her or ask her do xray to see the extent now, so oso put med, fill up first.
He say no pain then ok, cos without xray he oso can't really tell now.

Pixie
YOu are crazy!!!! :p

mom2nat
i LURRRVVVVVEEEE dental visits
and i always doze off even when my dentist cleans my teeth...
when i say clean...i mean it. my dentist lifts up the flaps of the gums and attack the hardened plaque inside the gums. he do more than the normal superficial scaling. shiokzzzzzzzzzzz

pixie,
Ya, I remember you saying that :) I am only okay with the dentist at my hometown. Felt happy after the visit cos he cleaned the whole set of teeth thoroughly.

Pixie,
You are sooo weird! I totally hate dentists!
I got a long-overdue crown op and still freaking out at the thought of going through it... Give me a choice, I rather go through birth delivery. Hahaha.

Kam,
Yes, both my nephews go to the dental you mentioned and it is not bad. The dentist there are more patient with kids and will try to make the visits less scary... I saw they will give sticker books to the children and let them keep track of regular visits etc...

Pixie,
Now not that often. About once a month. Why, you want to get something?

krystle,
Exactly, cos it's set up to promote the dental health awareness among preschoolers and school going kids (and the parents).

If HR refuses to go to the Dentist back home, I would most probably try this one than to go to the neighbourhood dentists near my place, I totally hated the experience!

Wah, you also extreme leh, rather go through birth delivery than the crown op?!!

Kam,
Maybe I was too tremotized by the crown op experience years back.... Still can remember how I screamed and cried coz too painful...

PIxie
Yucks!!! You are disgusting! Fall asleep during facial ok, but not dental appts!!! I cringed when he dug and dug, can't imagine how you sleep.

Pixie, like Mom2nat and Krystle, I freak out at dentists visits. Too bad I always have problems with my teeth. Have molar cavity since pri 1 cos I loved sweets. Everytime, the dentist does scaling, I'll cringe cos I have sensitive teeth. :/

Pixie, I agree with mom2nat. If bringing 1 kid, then leave the maid behind. But I bring my maid out quite often cos my hubby doesn't want to take care of 2 kids on our own, and I don't want to leave Raelynn behind since she is older now. It is easier to take turns to eat when there is an extra pair of hands.

Like just now, we went to sengkang soup restaurant to have dinner. When we reached at 6pm, RaeAnne throw tantrum and refuse to eat, wanna go shopping. So, hubby bring her shopping and to library first while we went into restaurant first. Maid feed Raelynn porridge first, cos she's sleepy and cranky. Then when food arrive, call hubby to come back with RaeAnne. I cut up Raeanne's food while hubby let her self feed but she lost steam very fast, so hubby continue to feed while I eat. Maid finished feeding Raelynn so let her eat. Then when hubby lose steam, hubby eat and I feed. RaeAnne cranky and struggling to get out of high chair cos she is no longer hungry but we are still eating so let maid bring the two gals to walk walk at nearby shop first, while hubby and I finish our food in peace. When we came out, RaeAnne so clever to get the maid to buy a toy for her from minitoons and we paid the maid back $6. -_-

Mom2nat,
Kids had great fun. Didn't get to see all the characters though cos it was raining almost everyday. Almost no chance to step onto Surfewrs' Paradise. Was telling my friend that I didn't chagre a single thing to my CC. First Time hor! Hubby was surprised too. Ended up buying mangoes, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, corns etc for my parents. Like aunty.

My eldest boy fell ill aft er feeding the dolphins at Tangalooma. Think the water was too chilling for him. He was a little sick on the plane due to turbulence. Luckily we brought a lot of medicine with us, like a mini pharmacy. But I still missed out the ruyi oil. Sigh..By the 3rd day, hubby became worried and brought him to see a doctor (GP, not PD) there. See only hor, A$60, no medicine. He said that we were doing the right thing to give him Panadol..hahha. Anyway, will claim from travel insurance.

My eldest boy was rather bless, prayed very hard to God to let him play during the day..So his fever only started to climb at night.

Every morning, after changing, it would start to rain. So die die must go to the theme park to wait. the minute the rain stopped, we will chion the rides. It was rather short lived cos after 30 minutes or so, the rain would return. Almost missed the chance to go to Surfers' Paradise, then it would have been a joke.

We stayed in a well equipped and nice service apartment. In the evening, we will cook light meals so that my boy can eat. Not very troublesome but my boys enjoyed it. My younger boy called it "hotel house". Dirty dishes place inside the dish washer. Can wash laundry every night and dry with dryer (a bit suay ku cos I don't have these at home)

kitsune
ok i get what u mean...the rotation of shift work
but me and hb discussed liao and we are very firm that the helper we are getting is purely helping out with housework n cooking (if she is up to scratch). if go out, i doubt we will ask her to help feed our children.
my mil was quite surprised about this coz she said helper lai liao must interact more with X first (she tot helper is to take care of the kids). we were so adamant about that part, she was quite surprised that we were very "vocal" about it coz me n hb were saying "no no" very loudly n excitedly and she went "ok ok ok!"....maybe we scare her off hah. coz she got a very surprised look on her face when we said the 2 kids will be handled by us entirely. maid only help with the chores n all....

maybe im having too high expectations lah. my hb is slacker and perhaps #2 arrives i "bao ga liao" everything on my own again. so now i keep prep talking to my hb about his "responsibilities" towards the children. now shift new place liao, i can see he is working hard to take care of x - more auto lo...

ok enough of my lor soh,

pixie,
For us, our dining experience hasn't been too bad so far. We have had bad ones, but in general, it's been okay that we can still finish our meal in, kinda, peace :) It's definitely doable. The good thing of not having the extra pair of hands is that our kids know dinner time is dinner time. So they are able to sit and eat, and wait till we finish our food. Of course some planning is good. Like for example, if we know a restaurant usually takes quite a long time to serve food, eg when it's crowded, either of us will bring the kids out for a walk and then come back. We usually multi-task, feed my girl and have my meal at the same time. And my hub takes care of HR, either "supervise"/help him if he self-feeds, or feeds him. If the kids are out of control, then we take turn to eat. iPhone has been useful to keep them entertain, but we use it as the last resort. And to order something different that they don't usually have at home, will help to get them more interested in food.

kam
ok noted. for now, our dining experience hasnt been too bad either. if #2 is around, i think the most is to feed her etc....thats why i dont feel comfy having the maid around. but let her be at home alone i oso bu fang xin
aiyah 矛盾 hor

i rather put my maid at home. but it means she dont get to enjoy the outings....maybe half half?

dont think too much now, we play by ear lor at most. all plans get thrown out of the window whenever you have kids :p

luca
i dunno leh, perhaps too rigid? to me n hb, our helper is just here to help us in housework while we interact fully with our kids. why employ someone to feed our children when we could do so ourselves?
we hire her so that we can spend more time with kids mah. makes no sense to hire her to do "our job" rite

pixie,
in the beginning is better not to bring the maid out too often. they tend to get spoilt and expect to always get privileges. set the ground rules early and be firm. then once she's settled in and u see that she's quite ok then u can bring her out once in awhile as a bonus.

pixie,
oh, coz u sound like she cant feed ur kids at all. but if u ever need help, can just ask her to feed lor. dun everything bao kar liao kind, though i know u r not a slacker. ;p

Pixie, agree with the rest, play by ear first bah. Having 1 kid versus 2 kids (and a gal at that) is a different kettle of fish altogether esp when no. 1 will learn to fight for attention. Better be flexible first. kekeke.

Pixie,
Really depends on situations lei. For my case, when my #2 was younger, I would bring my maid along. Now that he is older and can eat by himself, we would leave the maid home by herself to enjoy some peace.

Very different with 2 kids even for me, especially when both of them clamour for my attention.

pixie,
so have u start choosing a new one yet? hope u have better luck this time.

i agreed with kitsune, be flexible. u will soon understand why we said dat. ;)

for me, i would rather have her tag along than to worry about wat she will do when alone in d house.

luca
my aunt is the one picking. she has a certain standard so we just leave it to her. save ourselves some hassle too :p

hey getting a helper is oredi very "flexible" for me liao. given a choice, i would NOT want to hire one...but only coz mil request thats why i have no choice. i would rather settle everything by myself (&amp; with hb)

tonight, im free! x will be staying over at mil place, coz the living room ceiling needs more work (not smooth/levelled) so while the ppl touch up my ceiling, i can relax and nua a bit. perhaps even go shop for my outstanding stuff....

kam
im still rushing actually
7pm reached mil place, glup down dinner, try to reach my own home by 7.30-7.45
let x settle down a bit, 8pm time for snack, change to sleepwear, brush teeth
off to bed thereafter

pixie,
Still rushing but different mah. Now is happy happy spending time with X at home. Wah, X still sleeps so early. So good.

I usually let my kids off to bed between 9 - 9.30pm. We reach home 7pm, after cooking and having dinner about 8pm. So I still have 1 to 1.5 hours to have some "quality time" with them :)

S still doesn't like to brush teeth, what abt ur tods? Need to bring them to dentist for check up at such young age?

Pixie, I think maybe u dun bring maid out first when u go out, see whether u can handle or not. If not then bring maid along lo.

tongtong! long time no see
X do superficial brushing only lar. he likes the gargling and pouring of the water away only.

after 2yo can see dentist liao.
my dentist said, coz we can prep them for dental visits the next time when they grow up. coz usually kids always afraid of dentist &amp; chair. early exposure always encouraged....

so nowadays i bring x along to my monthly braces visits

Today is my shopping day. Went town from 1pm to 9pm!! My legs so sng now. Brot my girl, my hb took leave to watch my boy and maid. Dunno why so many presents to buy... think I need to sleep more tmrw.

Blackbatz
I told you dun use computer liao, you still use!
Aiyo, rain then sian liao. Cos go holiday is to cheong and see and enjoy as much. Rain will dampen the spirits lor.

Hee.. i oso made use of the washing machine and dryer a lot! Dry until my girl's jacket shrunk!! Irritiating! I dunno how to operate the dish washer, so din try. But i think service apts are v helpful, esp when you have young kids, at least can cook some decent meals!
HOw many days did you go for?