(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam: you are right, there is no right or wrong education. As parents, we have to decide for our kids. When it comes to education, it's a tough decision, because you'll never know whether it suits your child until you try it. ;-)

re: montessori school

Hey mummies, I recently asked about greentree montessori right? cuz i went to one since it's so near my house. And i like it! I'm all these while a Waldorf mummy, but since i find it so hard to put shaun there, montessori is the next choice - nearest to waldorf philosophy. The cc i went got so many "work station" for the kids to explore. ANd yea, the kids are all very independent and they do so much finger work, so the motor skill is very good. If I really go back to work, i will send S there.

ANyway, i will strive to be SAHM until i have no choice but to get back to work. S still doesnt like to go to school. Think he is very "waldorf" himself cuz he likes to do so many things advocated by waldorf teaching.

kam, i read about charlotte mason method too. it's being practised by many home-schooled parents. i think for pre-school kids like age 3 to 4 - they advocate nearly the same thing like what practised in montessori or waldorf.

tongtong: My husband likes Waldorf education & he thinks it suits J very much. But for long term, I won't have that confident to put my girls there. ;-) So in the end, he becomes Montessori converted. Hahaha.
One of my friends here calls Waldorf education is a hippop education, this make me laugh when I told her that I pull through so many appointment with the school, and this doesn't make to be for us.

I am attending Parent Toddler Program at Montessori with 2 girls now, and I tell you, to see a child be independent & vocalize at 18 months old young, I am very happy & amazed! And more than that, I know my child is in the safe hands where teacher(s) don't shout/scream at my child when she is there. And, kids don't shout/yell at each others. And I get to know more parents who believe in teaching a child rather than shouting and screaming. Children learn to serve others. I cross my fingers that she will get used to the school as J has compassion to serve & she is really caring about others.

Pixel: Don't worry about X' speech, in next coupe of months, he'll be a chatter box! Sometimes, I told my husband that I wish J could stop talking/asking me questions for few seconds.

luvv:

Woldorf & Montessori are different. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Waldorf_education

In short, Waldorf Education is arty approach:
- focus on artistic and imaginative play
- focus on fairy tales
- focus on ceremony / ritual

Basically, teachers at Waldorf don't teach your child anything, but they expect your child to know EVERYTHING.

For me, I chose Montessori because my kid(s) love to get involved in 'real life', how things work, doing 'adult tasks' for themselves, problem solving etc. To me, Waldorf is more on the (wonderfully) abstract imaginary creative side of the brain, which would suit kids who spend more time in that sort of space mentally - arty, individualistic types. I wouldn't risk myself (or my children's futures at least) by letting my children wondering dreaming for the rest of their life if I let them follow Waldorf for 12 years. I think it's only good for 1st few years of life then it will come down on how they are going to integrate with normal school when they don't know how to read (by Pri years)?

It will really come down to how your family lives as I think both schools expect some family commitment to the philosophy.

Sorry, for few posts on this, but just because I have done some researches & spent many sleepless nights about my children's education, so I just need to rant abit. LOL.

hi mummies.. sorry to disturb

i have 2 tin of 1.8kg Gain IQ to let go at $52 (NTUC selling $62) and 1 tin of 900g Gain IQ to let go at $28 (NTUC selling at $32.95). All expiry is Oct 2011

letting go as my boy has changed to pediasure

collection will be at buangkok mrt.. pls pm me if u r interested.

blessedbaby,
Thanks for sharing!

When you said either Montessori or Waldorf from 3 to 12 years, do you mean that at OZ even the primary school would provide settings that's based on Montessori/Waldorf?

In Sg, don't think that's possible, unless you homeschool. No matter what, every kid enters the public schools at 7 and be taught using the main stream methods. Except perhaps those who can send the kids to international schools.

There is only one Waldorf based cc in Sg. Montessori quite a lot, but for the few cc I have visited, they only have Montessori classes for 1 hour a day only. But then, I agree though, the kids seem to be happier and more independent and the teachers are kinder and gentler.

I first knew about Waldorf was when mylife mentioned it here many months ago, and then tongtong shared some here and on her blog, and another friend of mine who raved about it from the FB. I read up a bit on the internet, and I don't think I can relate myself to their philosophy so I am very sure Waldorf is not for me.

Well anyway. Just wish we are able to do the right thing for our kids. Good luck, everyone!

morning mummies!!!!
this week im moving! sad and happy at the same time, i'm having lots of mixed feelings...

then suay suay work is very bz for these few days...have to clear them up before i can go on leave (tomorrow last day of work week)

i still got lots that i havent packed...lots that i havent do...

btw, movers gave us 30 empty cartons, but after looking around the house yesterday and seeing whatever empty cartons leftover, seems like i need another 20 more.........
winner liao. how come i got so much rubbish??!

Kam, yes, both Montessori & Waldorf has school here
Montessori is from 3 years old to 12 years old. From 3 years old, kids will go to school every day from Mon to Fri, starts from 830am to 12noon. The older kids will finishes at 330pm.

Waldorf is from 4 years old till end of high school (18 years old) and starts with 2 days per week.

oh yes, I chose Montessori because we don't believe in fairy tales. ;-)

Pauline: I always think RL is very chubby, I dont believe that she is not even 9 kilos! but just now I went to look at your blog, I notice she is slimmer now. ;-)

pixie,
Good luck with your moving! You have stayed at your current place for a few years already right. >30 cartons is "normal" lah. Important is to get the mover to move those big and heavey items first. The rest can still pack and move with your own car mah.

Don't tired yourself okay, take care of the little one!

Blessedbaby,
Oh, then it's very different between the OZ and Sg systems lor. Good luck to you and good luck to J!

My gal was almost 11kg when she was 1 yo. Now just crossed the 12kg line. I know, she is even heavier than some of the gals (and boys?) here. She is so heavy that even my hub starts to complain after carrying her for a long period :)

kam
stayed 5 years, i really like it. i have a super big NTUC, foodcourt, daiso, MacDonalds, long john silver, kfc, subway (newly opened), bubble tea....just opp my block
sighs
i will not have all these amenities for the new place. to get to a market i need to walk at least 15mins. NTUC is nowhere near...

i doubt we will be moving anything with our own car, except the laptop and a BIG bag (stayover at mil place for the next 2 weeks) on sat itself

headache liao haha

anyone interested to go Polliwogs together on next Monday 29 Nov?
I got 2 one for one tickets from the POSB everyday card.
Intend to bring my kids there in the morning.

Shannonbaby,
I might be interested! I want to bring HR somewhere on the 29Nov, but I prefer outdoor instead of indoor (but he prefers Polliwogs more than anything). Will let you know.

Pixie,
I have all these you mentioend, except Daiso, opposite my blocks also. I appreciate taht it's really convenient, but if I were to move again, I would prefer a quieter place than to be close to amenities.

pixie,
u lose some but u win some too next time u dun need to travel from one end to d other end, and probably can used dat time to do groceries. d greatest plus point is can see X everyday.

Kam,
missing ur kampong days?

yo mummies
i asked some qns about maid few days ago but no reply...can some kind mummies help me?

i was asking, i heard some deduction are thru cpf or whatever...whats that liao? maid levy? super blur now leh

pixie,
u will soon get used to living in the west just like wat u did in SK.

my levy is deducted from bank account leh.

ive got so much on my mind (maid, work, house)...now filling out forms for maid agency...suddenly forgot my son's birthdate!!
*racking brains*

Pixie,take care and don't tire yourself out. when i moved 2 years ago, i think i packed more then 60 boxes of things. we simply have too many things. I can't imagine, if i need to move now....maybe 100 boxes?????

luvv
wah!!!!
i actually have ard 50 cartons + those bigger cartons that were not even unpacked when i moved to sengkang....leftovers heehee

blessedbaby, yup she lost weight since she had a bad bout of cough/cold bug caught from cheh cheh. plus she has been walking non stop since 10.5 months so it is difficult for her to gain weight. she is very greedy n wants whatever we r eating even after her own meals but I am restricting her diet till after 1 year old. :p

shannonbaby, I got the same coupon but i am going on 3 dec with a few feb08 mummies.

Luca,
No lah, not really missing the kampung day (kampung life and city life are too extreme). But just that I wish I could live in a quieter and more peaceful surrounding, away from the crowd.

steph,
I am at Yew Tee. Oh, JP, the crowd is terrible! Ya, I know, the crowd is not that bad at YT lah, but it's still noisy at times.

Kam,

Re: Gathering in dec
Ok, let me start first. Perhaps mummies can add on?

Activities:
i) Indoor Playground
ii) Meet & Greet Session (Any idea?)
iii) Baking class (X'mas cookies & decoration) ~ Saw it at City Square Mall (Nx to Little India). Parent & Child = $30 for 1 hr, weekend only.
iv) Snow City??
v) X'mas photoshoot for the kids??
vi) Lazy afternoon for mummies ~ Weekday hi-tea?? Find a cafe or hotel and we can "La Kopi"??

Date:
Weekday ?
Weekend ?

Time:
?

Interested mummies:
i) kam
ii) pauline (weekday?)
iii) tongtong
iv) janbb

Kam,
i just brought my two boys to my uncle's condo at YewTee residences on Sunday for swimming
YT point is a very small mall, crowd was ok but i don't like YT Pt Xin Wang HK Café outlet...their seafood HorFun tasted horrible...portion is so little (compare to Xin Wang Anchorpoint), not enuff for Z alone & horfun got sour taste! Their french toast oso disappointing

<font color="ff6000">Re: Gathering in Dec 2010</font>

Activities:
i) Indoor Playground
ii) Meet &amp; Greet Session (Any idea?)
iii) Baking class (X'mas cookies &amp; decoration) ~ Saw it at City Square Mall (Nx to Little India). Parent &amp; Child = $30 for 1 hr, weekend only.
iv) Snow City??
vi) Lazy afternoon for mummies ~ Weekday hi-tea?? Find a cafe or hotel and we can "La Kopi"??

Date:
Weekday ?
Weekend ?

Time:
?

Interested mummies:
1) kam
2) pauline (weekday?)
3) tongtong
4) janbb
5) steph (13, 14 or 15th Dec, i am ok cos i am on leave

steph,
Should have called me so I can say hi to Z and R! Ya I know, YT point is soooo small, probably the smallest shopping centre in Sg, ha! Nothing to shop. Oh that Xin Wang is getting worse and worse, we don't eat there for a few months already. The last time we were there, my hub ordered the marinated pork thing. It's all very very fatty pork, how to eat? Feedback to the manager, he said stock came in like that, they also served like that, insisted to give us a free dessert for it. I told him I don't want dessert, I just wanna feedback, if stock no good, than complain to your supplier mah, and cannot serve customer those lousy food lor, and we don't want the dessert.

Wah, Z eats so much?!! One plate of hor fun also not enough? Power leh! I would be so happy if HR eats half a plate, or even a quarter of a plate.

Re: Gathering in Dec 2010

Activities:
i) Indoor Playground
iii) Baking class (X'mas cookies &amp; decoration) ~ Saw it at City Square Mall (Nx to Little India). Parent &amp; Child = $30 for 1 hr, weekend only.
iv) Snow City??

Date:
Weekday ?
Weekend ?

Time:
?

Interested mummies:
1) kam (prefer weekend cos only have 1 day of annual leave left :-( )
2) pauline (weekday?)
3) tongtong
4) janbb
5) steph (13, 14 or 15th Dec, i am ok cos i am on leave)

Activities:
i) Indoor Playground
iv) Snow City??

Date:
Weekday ?
Weekend ?

Time:
?

Interested mummies:
2) pauline (<font color="ff0000">sat late am or late pm is good for Dec except 11 Dec whole day (still in Taipei) &amp; 18 Dec am. 13, 14 Dec also ok. But not 15 Dec cos it's RaeAnne first day at Elfa CC so cannot 'ponten'. :p</font>)
3) tongtong
4) janbb

Activities:
i) Indoor Playground - sounds good but do u still run after them in the playground? i guess most if not all kids will love this option.
ii) Meet &amp; Greet Session (Any idea?) - rochester's?
iv) Snow City?? - not keen
v) X'mas photoshoot for the kids?? good idea too but it shld be feasible if it's at someone's house?
vi) Lazy afternoon for mummies ~ Weekday hi-tea?? Find a cafe or hotel and we can "La Kopi"?? think the kids will be bored...

Date:
Weekday ?
Weekend ?

Time:
?

Interested mummies:
2) pauline (sat late am or late pm is good for Dec except 11 Dec whole day (still in Taipei) &amp; 18 Dec am. 13, 14 Dec also ok. But not 15 Dec cos it's RaeAnne first day at Elfa CC so cannot 'ponten'. :p)
3) tongtong
4) janbb
6) luvv (weekdays preferred as working on sat and hubby definitely not keen to join so sundays are most prob out too unless he's working or out of town :p)

Kam,
Sure, sure...will call u when i next visit YT
But i doubt you'll be at home on wkend cos your wkend will be usually outdoor &amp; packed with full of exciting activities for HR &amp; XY ya?
As for the lousy food quality, we didn't feedback to the mgr at Xin Wang cos my hb said he wont patronize this outlet anymore:p
The hor fun portion at Xin Wang was not alot for Z, just nice...maybe alot of gravy u saw. But of course he can't finish all the seafood (meat, prawn, fish, sotong etc). He is putting on weight recently but not as power as HR lah:p

mei,
Can't help.

mylvera,
Aiyah, HR's cc closed on next monday. If they close at the same day as yours, I want to see your pretty YX again :)

steph,
Sat we may be at home, cos hub is so busy at work that he even has to work on Sat :-( Last Sun we were at home since 4pm.

Interested mummies:
2) pauline (sat late am or late pm is good for Dec except 11 Dec whole day (still in Taipei) &amp; 18 Dec am. 13, 14 Dec also ok. But not 15 Dec cos it's RaeAnne first day at Elfa CC so cannot 'ponten'. :p)
3) tongtong
4) janbb
6) luvv (weekdays preferred as working on sat and hubby definitely not keen to join so sundays are most prob out too unless he's working or out of town :p)
7) superbee(prefer weekdays. weekend also ok but will have to bring both my gals &amp; maid along cos hubby is not in sg for 2 mths.
prefer somewhere that is accessible via mrt or bus if possible.

janbb,
hmm. if 4 dec. ur wanna come my place 10am-4pm? can consider doing swimming and buffet. maybe karaoke. other dates, sorry, i'm booked le. lol...unless after xmas.