(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kam
ok, i will submit a report to you after i finish my research, via email :p

yvonne
yours is big? or small kind? capacity?
yours is purely a convection oven?

nowadays not really all the same leh....
got 3 types generally
1. just pure convection oven with dials to adjust temperature n time. strictly for baking. around $100+ - $200+
2. convection cum microwave. can bake, microwave. some comes with steam, grilling, defrosting function. ard $400+ - $600+
3. those pull out type built into your kitchen big big big ones lor. over $1000+ kind

Don't remember this thread mentioned about this product. But in case anyone of you is using this on your kid, stop it! Quite a number of mummies in the Agu/Sep09 thread were/are using.

<font color="ff0000">Hyland's Teething Tablets has been recalled by the US FDA</font> http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ConsumerUpdates/ucm230762.htm

"FDA is issuing this warning because the use of Hyland’s Teething Tablets may pose a risk to children. FDA analysis and testing identified some Hyland’s Teething Tablets that contained varying amounts of belladonna, a potentially toxic ingredient. FDA has received reports of serious adverse events in children taking this product that are consistent with belladonna toxicity. An ongoing FDA inspection at the manufacturer indicates substandard control of the manufacturing operation."

pixie, I am using sharp microwave cum convec oven. very convenient cos 2 in 1. but real bakers dislike using this type of oven. :p

kam, your hubby very smart, use 激将法。I always respond to that but my hubby doesn't use it on me for some strange reason.

kam, I am using the teething gel. dun know whether affected. :p

Pixie,
i hv a built in oven. definitely didn't cost $1000+
i hv a separate small microwave oven. kitsune is right that bakers dun like to use microwave cum convec oven :p

kitsune,
It's quite true for me. Cos when we lived overseas, there were nice, built-in, big oven at where we stayed. I said to him many times over the many years that I wanted to bake somethine, a cake, cookies, etc, but I did nothing :p

Have been reading some mums' blog and baking can be very fun for the children, so I wanna prepare for it.

I also used teething gel on my girl when she had it bad for about 2 weeks. It's prescribed by the PD, so I guess should be safe? HR never bothered at all by teething.

i noticed from all the shows, usually is the ang moh being called up to play n help. duno if dat is coincidence.

Mom2nat,
yes, they r trying too hard to make it funny. yawnzzz ;p

kam
X really likes to cook. from chopping to cutting to putting stuff into a pot, stir fry, stirring soup, adding ingredients - all these i let him do
so right now like u've said, i wanna move on to baking and let him try baking. learning shapes, density, colours, counting. can learn alot from baking wor!

but...im still stumped

grumpus
i bo bian, i not true blue baker. i also need microwave nowadays coz i realised some food i need to heat up cannot be steamed.........

pixie,
then in that case prob the decision is to go for microwave + convec oven liao lor
agree definitely still need microwave function somehow lah for misc heating up and stuff.

grumpus
exactly
last week we had leftover kfc. no microwave, no toaster, nothing except a steamer.........
in the end, eat soggy kfc leftovers hahaha

i tried pan frying it to heat it up but its so slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

Pixie,
Haha. But hor microwave also will get soggy KFC cos microwave cannot do crispy unless u heat up with microwave then grill to get the crispiness back.

pixie,
Mine is purely convection oven (no microwave function), no turntable, but tray can be adjusted to different levels. Actually you need to narrow down the functions that you REALLY need, eg, baking and grilling, etc cos in the end you won't use all the functions

yvonne
exactly! i want tray type...i saw 1 or 2 that has a turntable PLUS tray included. that one shiok lah...but 600+ kind

*burp* how was lunch today ladies ?

I had bak chor mee dry + a cup of Plum Green Tea with pearl from Rockery... very satisfied liao

chaye
the rockery is very very old shop liao
i remember i always go to that rockery for their plum shake ice....very very very sour until toothache/brainfreeze kind

i had my usual chap chye png with 3 vegetables

pixie
ya it's still surviving in Bugis. Thanks to KOI I guess. The Sweet Talk at basement has also been revived by KOI ! lolz

kam
ABC chicken soup with beehoon ????

no problem to heat up kfc or pizza cos I usually preheat the oven then pop it in. if u buy canadian pizza or pizza hut they tell u the temperature to preheat it at. usually 200 deg I think. but then I also have a small toaster for small heat up n toast bread.

chaye
sweet talk very 难喝 leh, its just sweetened syrupy drink (with no traces of tea)

if i were u, i'll buy KOI at least once a week (twice a week if im not preggy) hurhur

pixie,
$600 plus...so ex! Actually my oven also seldom use, only when I bake muffins, make baked fish, grill/roast chicken legs or make baked rice...about a few times a month. No need to buy until so ex unless you professional baker...keke.

Chaye,
It's ABC soup (as in carrot, potato, tomato and onion), but instead of pork rib, they use chicken cos it's halal mah. And instead of rice, I asked for beehoon :) Pretty nice, no MSG added.

yvonne
ex hor? but thats court prices, i will get from goh ah bee kinda shops...but nowadays convection microwave ovens over 30L kind is ard 500-600bucks (retail prices)

kitsune
sharp is good? the shop owner recommend me that too but its 26L only for the convection microwave oven models...
she recommend electrolux or sharp wor

kam
oic.. sound very organic too minus the chicken la !

kitsune
my neoflam wok spoil already.. I can see the layer peeling off.. sigh... maid must hv scrub it too hard la..

who has a good non-stick wok to recommend me ??!!

pixie,
So if don't need the microwave function, then will be cheaper? I have a microwave already.

chaye,
chicken also have organic one mah. No lah, this shop not organic one, there is another organic restaurant at my workplace, have to pay about $10 for one meal :-(

kam
definitely cheaper. those tefal ones (or toyomi, delonghi, cornell etc) are just 100+ to 200+. purely baking.
u can differentiate it one lah. they look smallish and have ard 2-3 "timer" dials at the right hand side, which you turn and twist to control time, temperature etc. no fancy buttons for defrost, re-heat blah blah
strictly to bake...based on temperature &amp; time

chaye
i dunno leh, i never check. i liked what i saw and i buy liao...
the 2 brands i told you, both are non stick pans/woks/pots

Wa chaye, your maid very hiong. mine also scratched my asd saucepan but that one quite some time already, not so heart pain.

I have supor, asd, tefal. I got a tefal non stick wok but dun like it cos it is flat at the bottom. I like the traditional round bottom ones cos easier to fry veg but very hard to find non stick type.

Pauline,
i realise that with helper around, we cannot use expensive detergents and cannot have expensive utensils / appliances. Their lifespan seems to shorten A LOT when used by helper :p

although i dun have maid living in with me i have my PT helper:
in beginning of Oct, i put out a roll of kitchen towel in my kitchen...
last week i saw (after she came twice)...only 3pcs left leh
HUH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

luvv
huh u scaring me...really ah....i intend to hire a helper in Jan leh...
my maid at my mil place, dun dare to take n eat one leh. i dunno how my mil trained her. seems like she has a designated area that belongs to maid. anything we put there eg bread, coffee, biscuits, kueh, blah blah...is for her. other than that she is not allowed to eat anything without permission...
my mil drew clear line from day#1 so i guess it became a habit

but of coz i do see/hear some cases even with above "rule" maid will still 偷吃偷喝

pixie,
why your helper need to use kitchen towel for? usually i gave my domestic helper table cloth to clean/wipe kitchen cabinet/table top &amp; used old towel to wipe floor/toilet wall tiles etc.

pixie,
last time when we were young and stay 4rm hdb flat, my maid sleep in one corner of the living room. every morn she will keep her tilam in the store room then at night take out to sleep.

pixie,
Oh that's funny. She never used any kitchen towel leh at my place, hmmmm, different practices at different houses ya? She uses clothes.

These few weeks with my parents around, not only we are enjoying it, even the part time helper gets to enjoy it also. Cos we bring my parents and the kids out for dinner on Friday night. By the time we come home, she already left. So there is no one watching over her, she does or doesn't do things that she wants or doesn't want to do, and we don't even know when she's leaving. And my mum has nothing much to do, so my mum does most of the ironing already. Very good life leh, she is.

kam, steph
yes she uses cloths....but i dont know why, sometimes she lazy?? she uses lots of my detergent, bleach, paper towels. ALOT!
a slab of fab soap, she can finish the whole damn lot in few sessions...

grumpus
im thinking either to let her sleep in study room with tilam or the empty dining area, also with tilam. then her belongings i will buy 1 tall tall toyogo and let her stash her barang barang

i dont want her to sleep in my study room coz my altar is inside. unless i move my altar to dining hall. then she can sleep in study room

still dunno. perhaps too early to think abt all these

Pixie,
I heard there is a rule that states now maids cannot sleep in common area like living room, dining room etc... Not sure how true...

Both my SIL's maid slept in the children's room with her kids. And my maid slept in one of the bedroom with my MIL.

pixie,
i set the rules in the first place but she will secretly eats them / drinks them until i question her, denied also or find excuses / act blur say "i thought can"...i think all depends on your helper you get....LUCK...today she gave me $$ to help her buy coke, don't dare to touch (for the time being) the coke in my fridge. Oh there's once she even told me the milk expired, which clearly hasn't lo..she finished it cos i bought only for 3 days, hubby didn't touch, i didn't touch, she don't dare to say my girl finished so she told me expired and she threw away.

LUCK LUCK LUCK i would say. So for now, as long as she's doing her work, i'm keeping her for the time being. Other things she don't lie, only when it comes to FOOD..buay tahan...

luvv
wah scary leh. i hope if i ever have a maid wont be like that. i dont like the idea of having a maid at home. makes me very lazy and complacent. 1 headcount = more headaches. must ensure her safety, cleanliness, security, whereabouts etc. i rather not have a helper. i told my hb hire here for 1st 2 years can liao...

chaye
hire new one, and promote mil's maid to supervisor level...hurhur
current one will help out more with the 2 babies etc. or cooking if the new one is not up to scratch

then the new maid will do only housework, looking after grandma etc