(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

grumpus
ooo really? after lunch is over (ard 12 or 12-ish), i let x settle down, ard 12.30 i TRY to put him to sleep. good days he sleeps at 1pm. bad days he sleeps at 1.30pm. wakie at 2.30 or 3pm. by 8pm, oredi min. 5hrs passed so he should be tired enough to sleep early

after wakie from nap, must let him tear around the house so that at night faster to sleep...

lexie very energetic wor...

Pixie,
X is good, can be "push" to bed early if he wakes up early. You really have trained him well.

For HR, timing is fixed. Go to bed around 10pm, wake up around 7pm, regardless of how many hours of nap and what time he takes nap.

pixie
ENvy X sleeping time!

My boy sleep only at 10-11pm. Then wakes up at 8-9pm. Think I will have problem initially when he needs to wake up for school at 7am+. He nap abt 2-3 hrs from 2pm on wards..

When he cant sleep, he start singing nonstop till he is tired.

krystle
i actually quite "selfish" (??) coz if i know x sleeps at 2pm for nap, i will get him to wake up after 1hr, instead of the usual 1.5 or 2hrs, coz i dont want to get out of routine, i.e. must sleep by 9pm
hmmmmm..bad mummy hor

pixie,
yup, lexie has too much energy. after lunch i also let her settle down. by abt 12.45pm i also TRY to put her to sleep. but she doesn't necessarily fall asleep so fast, good days sleep by 1.30pm if not she can tu until 2+ then sleep lor. she's not running around or anything, just rolling on the bed but just cannot fall asleep.
night time is the same lor.

her MIN is 6hrs pass before she can sleep. usually is more.

Pixie,
Not bad mummy lah, but because you like to stick to schedule mah. Good for him in the long run?

Grumpus,
HR still sleeps at 10pm even he takes a 3 hours nap from 4-7pm :)

kam
HR is auto from 10am to 7pm, so dun need to scared out of routine...good job too!

icy
wah 3 hours nap...you'll get to enjoy ur free time during the 3 hours mah...
LOL, what he sings? funny hor

wah kam, power!! eg 7pm wakie, 10pm can get to sleep liao??! wheeeeet!! i doubt the rest can do this....

grumpus
x also roll ard. but if roll too long eg 30mins passed, i will use my "naughty corner of bed" method. once he knows he is being pushed to that unfavourable corner, he KO very fast. i hope this trick never runs out of steam hurhur

pixie,
It's 10pm to 7am :)

Horhor, you forget Icy still has #2 to take care leh. HR also naps for 2-3 hours. But XY ALWAYS don't want to nap when her gorgor is napping. So I never have free time, but it's much quieter and easier to handle when HR is napping :)

Haiz,
i think boys are easier when it comes to sleeping. seems like all the sleeping probs come from girls!

Kam,
i also hv this fear that #2 will not nap the same time as lexie....ahhhhhh i think i will go crazy if no break in between everyday.

grumpus,
AGREE!!!!! My girl is a real angel except when it's sleeping time!

If you want both of them to sleep at the same time, do it from the start!

Kam,
but for naps how to? cos for the 1st yr at least #2 will be on 2 naps whereas lexie will be on one nap. and lexie will be starting kindy next yr so by the time she come back from school the earliest she can nap is 2pm. dunno if i can train #2 2nd nap to be at 2pm.
now really wondering how i'm going to cope....mine is 2 girls leh, double the sleeping probs!!

grumpus
same here leh, i also got same thoughts. totally different routines for 2 kids, #1 in half day cc, #2 screams all day long LOL

pixie
haha Yes, u forget I have #2. But that is the only period tt #2 can at least sleep 45mins to 1 hr.. cos #2 is a super light sleeper.

grumpus & kam
YES YES, Crystal always have sleeping issues!

pixie
oh ya, he sings 10 little indians, abc, twinkle star, everything that he learn and knows.. then slowly he get tired and sleep.

Grumpus, RaeAnne exactly like Lexie. Wake up early, early lunch, early dinner but late naps or no naps. Bedtime also 11+pm. My 'me' time is only between 12 midnight to 2am unless I ask MIL to bring her over. Sigh...

I don't really think girls have sleeping problems leh... my #2 is a headache too when comes to sleeping. Can sleep soundly then suddenly wake up in a scream. Or maybe it is more like #2 kids have sleeping issues???

grumpus / pixie,
Don't worry too much bah, for now at least :) Sure can one, somehow something would work out. See, my XY already coming 14 months liao loh.

krystle,
Oh yes, Issyen is such a sweet girl. I like her friendliness :)

Oh talking about the duck tour, haven't sorted the photos, yet.......

morning mummies
today im working from home again, monday no more wfh...last min arrangement with boss

im going to fetch my son from kindy later and bring him back home. havent seen him since sunday night!! longest seperation ever!

i very sianz, yest night 7-8pm i had an installation to do (work), and tonight 7.30pm i have another one. hope chop chop can finish, all the components working fine....

its the downside of supporting countries around the world.........there goes my fri night

about yesterday's $9+ dinner:-
ok we didnt managed to finish the pot of soup so it will be my lunch later (add more vege etc)...so perhaps 9+ works out to be $3 x 3...
so still worth it neh

couldnt sleep the whole night. in between dreams, flitting in and out of sleep coz too nervous to sleep...i may get my amnio results today....now super tired

Pixie, good luck to you, must be feeling so nervous. Can call the clinic to check instead of waiting for phone call? Remember: breathe in, breathe out, breathe in, breathe out. Don't be too kancheong ya?

kitsune
wahahhaha...you sounded like a midwife...
they say results out either today or monday. if monday afternoon no call from them then i need to call them leh
so today cannot call :-(

argggg!!!
i planned to fetch X from kindy at 4pm...now then my boss reminded me that ive got a conference call from 330-430....my plans all gone haywired liao. i forgot about the call!!
sobzzzzzzz

pixie,
you got the disc from MY?

kitsune,
You think those breath in breath out method really helps when you were in labour? Totally no use for me, though when attending Mrs Wong class, she said I did it well leh. When the pain kicked in, forgot everything liao lor.

On Wed, T fell down and hurt his chest. I didnt know until maid told me when I came home after work. I rubbed the middle of his chest and ask him if it's painful he said yes. When rubbed on both sides of the chest he said no pain. Other than this he is at his usual self.

ytday, he didnt take his nap for the 1st time ever. Slept at 8.30pm

This morning woke up 7am for milk then he vomitted at 8.30am. He actually said his stomach pain wanted to pass motion but he just merlion out all his milk. After that he is ok and back to his usual self running jumping talking...

Do you think this vomit got to do with his fall ?? Shd see a doc or not huh...

He keep falling recently leh. Run run run fall hit his head kind. Just last mth also same thing he fell at night the next morning he vomitted too. I didnt bring him see doc also

Chaye,
Dr Keoy advice was that if the vomitted can be related to feeding (in your case, right after taking milk), then should continue to observe. If he vomits suddenly not after a meal or a milk feed, then bring him to a doc immediately!

Pixie,
YEAH! Finally, after > a month :) You don't have to return me the disc. If you don't like the show or have finished the show, feel free to pass them to someone else or just keep them or dump them.

aiyo.. I very worry.. I've activated my mum to bring him to see doc at 2pm later. Think doc will ask us to monitor also :p

Pixie, cos if too kancheong, can hyperventilate so ask you to remember to breathe in deeply to calm yourself. Baby inside you needs lots of oxygen ya? hehe.

hi mommies, any of u using juice extractor? any recommendation?

I bot the U-like one from isetan but realised its too 'weak' to juice hard frutis.

i need to get a powerful one to juice carrots. My #1's eczema is getting worse. xie xie.

finally i am back home with my son

prata queen
can get the philips one...they have a few but you take the most high end one (only 1 kind) looks very sleek (with stainless steel finish) that costs i think 200-ish?
the selling point is you can throw a whole apple inside and they will juice it down for you...

i got this and its quite powerful i should say.

btw, if you observe a lot of juice stalls, they use the panasonic one. squarish one....my parents been using this for like many many yrs liao still going on strong

thanks pixie!

for the philips one, the current most powerful one is HR1866 which is $229. how's the cleaning like, especially the metal mesh part? Does the fibre get stuck & must scrub?

The panasonic one, what model is it & price? i tink better to get what the juice stalls use, right?

parta queen
i dunno the model number but i think only 1 kind costs over 200...
very ez to clean lah...coz its newer technology....
but the panasonic one hor, must use their in house brush to scrub. quite messy. coz its a old TRUSTY model lor...
i dunno the model...its squarish, and only 3-4 buttons. 1 red (off button), and the rest is the speed. no other frills/special functions liao, no nice nice patterns on the juicer.
but the panasonic one (my last count, i oredi seen 5-8 stalls using this), cannot juice so much as philips. philips's mouth is bigger. panasonic one is smaller. the capacity for the rubbish/husk for philips is more

but of course, philips is more bulky...

wow, u're the expert, i asked at the right place/thread, hehe.

ok, so it seems the philips one is the choice. thanks, will do a price comparison at courts, robinsons etc before purchase.

have a good weekend ahead.

Hello mummies! Just came back from my korea trip. Tiring but quite fun. Although we had to make a transit in HK but luckily B was quite co-operative this time round, slept most of the time on board the plane and when he wasn't sleeping, it wasn't too difficult to keep him occupied and entertainted. Hubby wasn't too happy though cos B kept asking him to carry...he can walk for 2 hrs straight when he's out with me but whenever daddy's around, he'll keep asking him to carry...sigh.

Shopping there is cheap but wrong season now so didn't manage to buy much clothings for B but got a few for myself

I see that a few kiddos are getting too active huh? I'm like Steph, it's a daily affair for B. I even brought a cane to Korea to make sure he behaves! He nearly got lost in Myeongdong (a very crowded and busy shopping area in Seoul) when he ran off to see a fountain and couldn't see us when he came back. He panic and screamed for mama and cried when he saw us. We were actually following behind him but he didn't see us...aiyo, cry for a while and forgot everything 5 mins later. Nowadays it's considered an achievement if I don't cane him for 3 days in a row...hahaha. Nobody wants to resort to punishment but we don't really have a choice lah.

Yvonne,

You are not the only person to use cane. Yeaterday was so pissed off with Javin, i was feeding him dinner he took the soup to pour in and out to another bowl then used another bowl put onthe soup let the soup flow out!!!! Rice in the mouth dun wan to chew and swollow. So i used the can to wack him so hard that he just kneeled down and cried till his face turn black. Now cane marking all over his leg (Bruises)Didn't want to can him but he is just too mischivious till i cannot take it.

Jacelyn, my gal does that too. Many times in fact. Everytime, after her meal, got to change shirt and maid got to mop the floor. It is a phase.

There was a period also when I either beat her with my hand or locked her at the balcony with the sliding door for her 'time out' when she is naughty. Less than 5 mins only. But after that, she kept telling maid, 'If you do this, I will beat you and lock you up'. Then I decided, if other people hear her saying this, they'll think what kind of family does this child grow up in? And she is learning all the wrong things.

Many times, I'll snap too especially when she refuses to nap and keeps taking out her clothes. She can change 5 shirts in 1 night and take more than 1 hr to sleep. But luckily I'm usually not alone so I'll walk into my room and let the maid/hubby handle her. Sometimes, I'll flare up and start throwing her things then hubby will know I've reached my max and automatically take over. Luckily I got no cane in the house or I don't know what I'll do in my fit of anger. Cos I'm the sort who will act first then regret later if I really lose it. :p

I know it's difficult at that moment to cool down. But after I calm down, I realise if she were an only child and I don't have no. 2. Will I be still be so impatient and punish her or will i be telling her nicely or finding other creative ways to distract her and get her to behave? Answer is no then I'll feel guilty cos she did not ask to have Mei Mei. It is our choice so I should not punish her because I cannot handle two kids without shouting and screaming like a mad woman.

Today, she asked me Mummy are you a good girl? I said yes. She said 'I love you. Naughty gal, I don't love.' I realise that I always tell her that to make her behave. But love for our kids should be unconditional, even when they are very naughty. Then, I told her if you are good gal, I love you a lot. When you are naughty, I love you a bit. But I still love you.

kitsune, jacelyn, yvonne, i raised both hands while reading all your posts.

my #1 is exactly like that - all that you have described + her eczema that is causing her to scratch non-stop, and at every imaginable part of her body. I threw away the cane 6 mths ago because during the PTM, her teachers advised us not to use physical punishment on her. In the recent 3 weeks since i gave birth to #2, i have whacked her buttocks once and broken 2 hangers (hitting table for sound effect). I have used words which i would previously never have said.

can any mommy with children older than the Jan 08 babies enlighten when they will outgrow this behaviour?

kitsune
I was v pissed with my mom once when she told my girl she will love her when she is good. Love is unconditional, which means you are good or not, I will still love you as much. It will not be compromised to a lesser amt just bcos you are not as good.

Blackbatz
My #1 not scared of naughty corner liao. #2 more afraid of naughty corner than cane.

Thanks, pixie.

Blackbatz, how to creat naughty corner? I still have not succeeded. Sigh.

Mom2nat, yup, I agree I know I love you a bit is still not good. I do love her as much though I say otherwise. I am trying to find a better phrase. Most times, when she's disbehaving, I'll ask her do you want to be naughty gal or good girl? But she will answer me that she wants to be naughty gal, FAINT!

RaeAnne 吃软不吃硬。So, often I use emotional appeal cos punishment and logic does not work on her.

Eg. if she says she doesn't want to wear hello kitty shirt, very hot. She will not listen if I tell her it is a sleeveless shirt and very thin material, the fan is blowing you, not hot at all. But if I tell her hello kitty sad sad cos you said you don't want her, Hello kitty cry. Then she'll stop trying to pull off the shirt and then say 'Hello kitty happy'.

Rewards do work on her but when I want her to nap/sleep, I can't be offering her snacks, tv, a new toy, bring her shopping, etc so my reward scheme quite limited. :p

These days, I feel even more guilty when I have to discipline her. Cos she is sick and I am sick. i scold her I'll start coughing. She starts crying, she'll start coughing and her runny nose starts again. But because I am still sick, my energy level is low and I am even less patient. :p