(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Icy,
Waterfront is quite exp leh! You are a rich tai-tai. You are moving to waves is it? My coll also bought a unit there. I went to check out Waterfront key this year and really over my budget.

Good nursery here? I think not really leh... This area quite primitive... mainly PCF nursery located at Blk 700+... Average standard bah... I think there are a few pte kindergartens in Tampines area like LSH?

Yeah Happy Children's Day to our Dec07/Jan08 toodlers

Well i think thread will be quiet today cos most attending the Duck Tour! Have fun on the ride n take more photos!

almost 2hrs gone but still so quiet...eh pixie, chat something (any topic)?

where is luca, aqua & jess??

Yesterday, Z's chinese language teacher feedback to my FIL about Z's response during art craft session. Here's the mini conversation between the teacher & Z:

T: Zander, 过来一起动手做作品 aka his art pieces
Z: 不要,我好累!
T: huh? *surprised*
my FIL: laughed when teacher told him.

steph
paiseh, today last day of work before i go on 1 week leave, a lot of things to clear
then after coming back from hols, i will have amnio test, another 3 days of mc (to rest) but i will be working from home...on da bed

i miss my son very much!!

why Z says he is black??!

OIC
my browser very small, so when i see your chinese wording, it looks like 黑. i just ZOOMED in by enlarging then i see the word 累

Sigh, came back after duck tour n slept cos Of gastric pain. Stupid gp gave super stong antibiotics Without antacids despite my gastric history. Calle the clinic n they said if I dun take the antibiotics, I won't get well fast. Fed up. Woke up at 4+pm cos raeanne kept coming into my room to kacheow me. Found out she neither showered nor napped. Hubby just left her be n knock out himself. I have to keep waking him up at 5pm to ask him what is the plan.. He never ask maid to prepare or cook dinner. As usual, he has no plan. Ask him why he never make raeanne sleep nor make any plans for dinner. He doesn't answer. He just said let's go lor. Told him raeanne never sleep at all, will she be grouchy if we go out. Then he said he go tapow food at coffee shop.

I am feeling so frustrated. Everyday, I got to coordinate things swee swee, make her she naps, make sure she showers, eats, drinks her milk, there is food on table, cook the foods in the fridge before they spoil etc. Why is it when I take an afternoon off cos I am sick, he just takes the easy way out and nothing gets done be it raeanne or the house? Worse, clinic called just now n said raeanne's x ray report is out and she has early pneumonia. Sorry, just need to rant...

kitsune
aww *hugs* u get well soon ok, dun get agitated, later gastric more pain
clear instructions must be given to hb...90% hbs are like that....its just their nature.
write down detailed schedule and pass ard to everyone in the family lah. this way everyone clear about what to do if the "pillar of support collapse"

Hope everyone had a great time at the duck tour!

Kitsune,
hugzzzzz i agree with pixie, most hubbies are like that, rare to find one that will help on auto mode. can train maid to shower and make her nap? at least if you need rest, at least maid can help you to settle raeanne even when hubby's not around?

early pneumonia means she needs what kind of treatment now and for how long? hope she can be clear of it soon.

Kam,
Once again, Thank you so much for organising. The duck tour is indeed fun and educational. And nice bumpy ride for Crystal and some toddlers who feel so comfortable to sleep through!

Krystle
I am moving to the waves. Actually brought it in june 2008, few mths later they had the star buy the price was better then. We got the pool facing one, the reservoir facing ones never drop in pricing.

Xavier will be attending pre-n next yr in pasir ris. Hubby actually suggested me to let him continue with it if it is good, tt mean I had to ferry him to school everyday and stay there for at least 3 hrs! I am researching and see if what other alternative I would have.

Hi, i'm an experienced pre-school teacher now SAHM. My kids are both 4 and 8 yrs old now. I started doing playgroup style cum phonics teaching with them when they were 2/3 yrs old. Both started reading elementary books and able to spell many words by age 3.

Many parents sent their kids to phonics at the age of 4 and some kids at age 5 still unable to spell or read well. In fact, once a week phonics class is not enuf. At least 2 times a week is more effective. Giving toddlers early exposure to phonics with effective material and fun lesson plan is beneficial. My girl loves reading and without tuition and the need to do assessment book, she's the top scorer for English in P1. Her strong English foundation will not be possible if i did not expose her to phonics at an early age. There are many phonics material sold in bookstores and internet but many are not interesting. The one i have is used by a popular playgroup and my 2 kids love it and listen to it many times which is impt for their learning process.

Thus, I'm thinking of starting a training course to mothers who wants to learn how to teach phonics YOURSELF effectively. It's oso good bonding time with your kids and with those who have more than 1 child, it's even better to do it together. U can bring yr kid along as long as they dun distract you. Lesson plan, CD and material will be included. I will teach hand actions on songs and rhymes as well as ideas on art and craft to make the whole teaching session meaningful.

Details as follows:-
- 6 to 8 week course
- 2 hours per SESSION, once a week
- Weekday morning except Thurs (pls state your preference)
- Time : 9.30 to 11.30 am (time can be adjusted)
- $50 per SESSION (including lesson plan and craft material)
- Phonics Book and CD to be purchase at $20/- per set.
This phonics course is basic phonics comprise of Consonants and Vowels. Suitable for children upto 4 yrs old.
Alternatively, if there's enough kids (5 of them), i'm keen to start a home based playgroup cum fun phonics for 2-3 yrs old with adult sit-in. 2 or 3 times per week.

If you are interested, pls email to me at [email protected].

All enquiries are welcome

I'm back here. My CL is leaving tomorrow afternoon & it will be freedom for me after that!

Kitsune, me too in the same shoes as you. A month before I delivered, i wrote detailed instructions about my #1's daily routine, what to pack in her school bag, which bottles of shampoo and soap in the toilet are meant for her, how much milk she needs per feed etc etc. This was for MIL and hubby to follow when I am in hospital to deliver #2.

re early pneumonia
my #1 had that a few months back but she didn't need to do x-ray. The GP (old & experienced) did the usual examination of chest and throat and diagnosed as such. But the treatment was the usual cough / flu mixture. Pneumonia simply means inflammation of the lungs. If its early stage, maybe nothing to worry about.

icy, which pre-n will X be attending in Pasir Ris? The 2 gd ones i know of are Pentecost and Bethesda. Both are kindergartens (not CC) and are church-related.

prata queen
X will be attending Bethesda, think I know 2-3 mums in this thread who will be sending their little one to this Pre-N class next year. Maybe some would be classmates. :D

X had pneumonia vaccine in feb this yr, my #2 just started hers last mth. I am scare of them already, 1 fall sick, the other one will follow.. Crystal is only 7 mths old and this already happens 3 times! If next year, Xavier go school, I think more of this will happen, so I just get the small one vaccine asap.

any reliable and nice LC to recommend? thinking of going to see one next week to check my latching problems.

icy, my neighbour's 4yo is also in bethesda and the dad gave it 2 thumbs up. Unfortunately its a kindergarten whereas i need a fullday CC for my #1 and #2.

mom2nat
Evangeline & Xavier is going for the morning session as well. :D Any idea how many pre-n class? Maybe all will be classmates?

I heard previously like we need to buy uniform this mth, any ideas?

Which primary school is your girl going to?

prata queen,
oic, I didnt research much on CC, but seemed like quite a few new ones are opening ard pasir ris and tampines area recently.

Pixie, Luvv, prataqueen, thanks, yup I know, I should not be so hard on him. He knows the routine very well. But sometimes misses the details while I'm a stickler for routine. :p

Luvv, yup, thankfully, PD said can continue with the medications and antibiotics until Wed when she will do a review. Her runny nose is better cos cough is still phelgmy. :p

Luvv, did you deliver at TMC? Can try Liqin from TMC. She is nice and patient.

Good morning Mummies...

Wanna check what night diapers are you using for your toddler? I am using Huggies Ultra but recently it has been leaking. Any recommendations?

Mamy Poko open diaper, XL size. My boy is 13.6kg.

If the diaper leaks, try the following:
- upsize
- limit night-time fluids.. eg instd of 300ml milk @ bedtime, gradually reduce to 240ml, 200ml etc.

First thing in the morning, bring him to empty bladder in toilet. He will get the idea to hold his bladder for the final pee in the loo instd of in the diaper.

I'm on mc today .-( both me and XY has stopped vomiting. I just took a day off to get some rest. Still bad appetite though. Hopefully will gain back the energy by end of today. Luckily my mum is here, if not really don't know how to cope.

Wendy, I have no recommendation cos my previous PT cleaner went back to Myanmar but Pixie is staying there and she used a few PT cleaners. Maybe she can give some contacts. Siamz... ;)

Morning all!

wendyg,
I can ask my (same as Pixie's current one) part time helper if you want. If she is keen, I give her your contact, okay?

kitsune,
Pixie stays punggol meh??

I plan to send my gal to pre-nursery at Bethesda Bedok Tampines Branch...ANy feedbacks from mummies who hv kids there? isit good? heard alot of gd comments abt katong branch, but not much abt bedok branch...

yea today thread so quiet?? anyway brought s to aloha loyang resort at my friend's place today and he enjoyed it so much! it will be good to have gathering there really, just realised civil servant can boook the bungalow for 80 per night, cheap! just want to share this info la.

Hi Tongtong, long time no see. haha, ya but my hubby has never booked it before, not even once cos he said need to ballot, very mafan. So wasted hor. ;p

tongtong,
$80 is a really great price! But like kitsune said if need to ballot etc, I will give it a miss too, I am also scared of mafan :)

good morning ladies,

i love nsrcc chalets, held my girl's 1st bday there. This time already planned to book once it opens for booking for next sept for my little one's 1st bday, KS hor...

Kitsune,
for cough and phelgm, i give my girl chinese med 猴枣散, more effective then the one PD gave and most of all, she won't detect it in her milk.

Thanks for the LC's reccommendation :)

Kam, are you ok now? Yesterday busy with work is it? Only 2 posts from you. And forum was so quiet too.

Luvv, which brand of the 猴枣散 did you buy? The EYS one is super duper ex. $70+ for 1 satchet. :p

Did you see Liqin in the end?

kitsune,
I am fine now, only that still having loose stool (same as my girl). Thanks for asking! No lah, not that busy lah, cos no one in this thread mah, so I didn't post lo.

Luvv,
You mean you will book for your #2 1st birthday? Wah, the chalet so popular ah, have to book so far in advance?

I want to bring the kids to USS while my parents are here. But my hub cannot take leave leh. Weekends are too crowded, may have to queue for a long time for most rides. Still thinking whether to go or not to go...... Not this weekend though, have to buy ticket in advance, all sold out!

krystle,
ya very nice though not that big. the swimming pool has a play area for tots too..public can book at a higher rate.

kitsune,
i bought from the chinese medical hall near my place...$15.

Didn't see LC cos now my hubby very keen for me to stop expressing, went to see gynae and was given antibiotics, now okay. Hubby asked gynae to give me med to stop milk for standby...i already throw it one side, don't want to stop. If i need to go see LC, got to wait for him to travel which is in 2 weeks' time :p cos he wants me to stop sure won't let me go.

Kam,
yes can booked 5 months in advance, always fast taken up so must be more KS if i want to book the dates preferred.

USS - go go go, since your parents are here, i heard that it's lots of fun for tots, planning to bring my girls there on my elder girl bday in January, just hope daddy can squeeze time out on weekday.

I"m back fr my Genting trip, Ray had lotsa fun! althot he was a bit cranky on e journey but overall was great.

I heard fr e aunties on e coach mentioned abt e strawberry farm on e way to genting.. is it worth gg?

Kam: Go USS is a fun place for both adults and kids.
Dont go during wkends too crowded, long Q for food and rides..

btw, how was e duck tour? kids must b having fun interacting wif each other.

Luvv / Lynn,
Ya, I want to go. But hub can't take leave. Weekend too crowded. So end up not going, maybe?

Lynn,
great that you have a nice trip to Genting. JanBB was there too! You didn't meet up there :)