10.Tao Nan School
From 1992:
11.Holy Innocents’ Primary School
12.Hong Wen School
13.Kong Hwa School
14.Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary School
15.Poi Ching School

Luca,
Apparently nowadays airlines are ok and welcome you back even after delivery. Coz I have a few friends in SQ, JAL as stewardess, who went back to flying after giving birth.

Aqua,
I think the list is abt there...
I am aiming No.4 and 9 for my girl leh...

kry, i tink 4 & 9 both some distance from wher u stay eh? i heard red swastika very stressful, even my excolleague who was teaching in tht school, quit immediately after she finish her teaching bond. MBS should be a less stressful choice, but it is in a far wlu place in ubi...

krystle,
I am thinking Nan Hua cos that's the only one in the west!

1.Ai Tong School - Bishan
2.Catholic High School (Primary)5 - Bishan
3.CHIJ St. Nicholas Girls’ School (Primary)5 - AMK
4.Maha Bodhi School - Geylang
5.Maris Stella High School (Primary)5 - TPY
6.Nan Hua Primary School - Clementi
7.Nanyang Primary School5 - Bukit Timah
8.Pei Chun Public School - TPY
9.Red Swastika School - Bedok
10.Tao Nan School - Marine Parade
From 1992:
11.Holy Innocents’ Primary School - Hougang
12.Hong Wen School - Kallang
13.Kong Hwa School - Geylang
14.Pei Hwa Presbyterian Primary School - Bukit Timah
15.Poi Ching School- Tampanies

Kam,
that's why u & yr hb compliment one another & strike a balance:p Big head = clever leh:p
small feet = xian hui (the woman behind a successful man):p

kam
nan hua i dunno nice or not but my ex colleague's 2 gals inside and my ex colleague is very happy about it. she moved near the school for the gals one wor...the gals are quite boisterous and sociable from what i could see

Aqua,
Both schools are the nearest to my house since I stay at Bedok Res. MBS (not Marina Bay Sands, hahhaah) is just 1.05KM away. Sianz... missed the 1KM marker by a bit. Red Swatika is 1.2KM away...

I am not that ready to do volunteering work too.. My SIL is doing it now for my 2nd nephew and she said everyday got to wake up at 5.30am to go to the school and be ursher... Tough leh.

I think I just will fall back on my hubby's sch (Damai Pri) if cannot get into both. Just that good to be able to get in lah. But if cannot, normal school is fine... Anyway, hubby and I also came from normal school and we still can survive, go uni, get a job.

Kam,
i wasnt hoping for any answers else i wouldnt have ask a no brainer question haha :p
now u get me thinking, how to improve on chinese?

pixie,
X yearns for company lar, but he will not feel bored once ur #2 arrives.

kam
i am confirmed going for the duck tour & will pay u on fri k. can i bring extra adult along or we already hit the max number? meet at the duck tour counter is it? thanks...

Chaye, mine is no. 15 on the list poi Ching primary. Yup within 1km may still need to ballot but hope raeanne no need lor cos last few years my neighbours no need to ballot also can get in. Cos apparently this school does not teach malay n tamil as mother tongue so mainly chinese kids. Surprised never see st Hilda primary school in the list leh. It is a very good school, thought it is sap pri as well. Hubby's Alma mater is ngee Ann pri in marine parade, wish I can earn a lot of $$$ n move to east coast, my dream property. Haha.

<font color="ff0000">RE: DUCK TOURS</font>

PAYMENT RECEIVED
1. Kitsune (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3) - $54.3 (to refund $12.7)
2. Kam (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $21.8
3. Yvonne (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3) - $54.3 (to refund $12.7)
4. Krystle (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $27.9 (to refund $6.1)
5. Icy (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3 + 1 baby) - $55.8 (to refund $12.2)
6. Wendyg (2 adults + 1 5yo + 1 toddler below 3) - $67.3 (to refund $15.5)
7. Xiaoyun (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $27.9 (to refund $6.1)

Pay on the day
1. Mylife (2 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $41.6
2. Grumpus (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $22.8
3. Winnie (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3) - $41.6
4. Superbee (2 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $41.6

Okay. So now confirm (excluding Godsent) will have 18 adults and 13 kids. Just EXACTLY 31 pax!

REMEMBER TO BRING ALONG YOUR NRIC. And DON'T BE LATE (to arrive before or on 10.30am, no later than that). Meet you all at the Duck tour counter at Suntec City (near to the Food court at level 1).

<font color="0000ff">Superbee</font>,
Okay to add 1 more adult, just nice :)

<font color="0000ff">Godsent</font>,
If you decide to come, I am afraid you have to tour in a different "duck" (still enjoying the 40% off).

To be confirmed
1. Godsent (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3) - $41.6

Kitsune,
A colleague of mine sends her daughter to Hilda. They moved to within 1km and did volunter work to get a place (no balloting). She said the school is okay, but Chinese is really quite poor. But they are not worried cos they came from China :)

aqua,
I want to ask you huh, say if there are 30 slots for phase 2B. And if there are 30 applicants who live within 1km, then there will be no vacancies left for those live outside of 1km?

kam, yes. in that case, those living outside 1 km no chance at all.
move to the east lah, we have more good schools here, even some of the neighbourhood schools are also v good here

luca, the no.4 and 9 are both buddhism schools.

wah kitsune
u so lucky ! so near to poi ching. the other better sch near u is Gong Shang Pri ? I used to stay in Tampines near Gong Shang and my nephew is from there too and he scored well for his PSLE leh.

My coll's son just graduated last yr from Poi Ching and his result not so good and she is so disappointed. He is in normal academic now.

Yes ! St Hilda in St 81 is good school too ! not sap sch maybe.

steph !
do u know there's this promotion at Guardian ? you bring an empty tin of Friso 2 3 or 4 and buy a tin of 900g and get another 900g free !

aqua, kam,
For phase 2B, i heard grassroot/RC members are given priority first then followed by PV? Are u aware? Jurong area not much choices indeed for beta school...only Rulang, West Grove &amp; Xingnan.
My friend said for Rulang, beside doing 40hrs PV, parents gotta submit essay to the school but i am not sure what is the essay content about...so stressful for the parents also.

chaye,
yea yea i know about it! But is trade in other brand &amp; not Friso woh &amp; the empty tin must be >700g. Order above $150 get free delivery from guardian

steph,
Oh, parents volunteer given lower priority ah, I didn't know. I don't mind doing PV though, thougth it would be fun (if I have time for that).

I can save the Enfa tin for you if you want. Anybody want?

Wah, talking about primary schools again

My niece just got into CHIJ St Nicholas during the recent registration. They live within 1km from the school and my sis is catholic so register under Phase 2B along with parent volunteers. Imagine the parent volunteers clocked 40 hours (I think) of work but some didn't even get a chance to join the ballot cos only got enough vacancies for those staying within 1km. So poor thing.

yvonne,
40hrs PV is the min requirement. My coll (her gal only K1 this yr) applied for PV at 2 schools of her choice &amp; will start her PV work next yr!*stress ah*

steph
ME!! i craving for otah so muchthat everytime i go home to my mum's, she will buy some otah for me to eat
u buying?? hmmmmmmmmmmm i should be buying too!

talking about PV
i have a colleague, her son is a dec07 baby. meaning almost same age as ours
she say next yr wanna start to PV for the school of her choice liao
i was like "HUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!"

pixie, dun be so shocked lah, all parents wan the best for their kids. they r juz doing their part to get them a headstart to a gd school.

having said tht, i tink i would onli consider moving house , and tht is the most, simply no time to do PV ! being a wrking mum, wher got so much time ?

Yvonne,
I personally think that if living within 1km, should be guarenteed a place. Then it's less stressful for some parents. The system is so rigid here that the number of places is fixed. Unlike in malaysia, whereby the school/ministry may increase 1 more class if there is a demand for it, eg for the year of dragon, golden piggy, etc. Or when there are a few more students than than the max capacity, they still take in the extra students and stretch the class a little.

At the end, we may just stay put and enrol them into the nearest school. After all, we grew up in kampung and never attended good school. There is a saying that a child usually do better if he is the top of the class when the classmates are so-so standard, compared to when he is the middle or bottom of the class when most of his classmates are all very bright :)

i even hav friends who quit their job in private sector to become teachers, so tht their kids will hav a higher chance to join them in same sch... i tot tis is even more exaggerating!!!

aqua
i tell u my colleague's story ok
she stay in EC with her 2 kids, 1 is dec07 (elder) and another is ard dec09 lah...
no help, both in IFC and CC, no parents, no maid...all on their own (like kam hor)
then, she sold off her EC to stay with mil...same arrangements in IFC and CC, save $$ along the way mah hor, no need pay for room rent &amp; bills etc...then recently buy a 3rm to stay (so that she can invest in a private property eg landed or condo in future) which is near her desired school of choice for her #1....next yr wanna start PV

super kiasu....she is famous among colleagues to be 经打细算

pixie
If want to PV have to start when your child is 4 yrs old. I found this out too late for my #1. And mine is in neighbourhood sch now... I duno shd I entrol my #2 into better sch or not cos seeing everybody's kid are all in better sch ! sigh...

steph/mylvera
Ya you are right ! any other brand of friso tin ! and most no stock le :p

Kam,
i would love to take yr Enfa tin but i dun passby CCK area
Tks for your kind offer

pixie,
i ordered the otah liao

Talking about primary school...anyone know if there is any difference in school fees (monthly) for a SAP &amp; normal school huh?how much primary school fees cost nowadays?

oh kam,
This Sat, Delphin is coming to my hse for 1xmattress &amp; 1xsofa cleaning
Got free cooking pot...but i said i don't want &amp; the sales person was puzzled...haha...i ask him to pass the free pot to my hubby personally on that day!:p

steph,
Haha, good thinking. Leave to your hub to decide :)

steph/chaye,
No problem. I will just throw it away. Now the 2 of them finish 1 1.7kg tin in 4-5 days!!!

Just do some study just now. There are 4 schools within 1km of my block. The most popular one in CCK area is De La Salle, also within 1km of my block, but it's a catholic school leh.

steph
hmmm yah yes abit big head
my niece is also abit big head, got 1 time she got fever and went to hosp, doctors also said big head must check her lah
but being the bochup parents, my SIL and BIL did not do anything leh. and she is perfectly fine now. head is more proportionate with body liao

Kam,
De La Salle moved to CCK? Oh, I did not know that. It used to be located at the back of my old hse in Bt Purmei. Yes, catholic school loh. My cousin used to attend there and I went there to buy him lunch before.

I got 3 schools within 1KM, mostly not very good neighbourhood schools. Only better one is East Coast Pri??? But think getting into hubby's old school seems higher chance.

Now I can only rely on the 2 ballot chances for my girl. :p

kam
catholic school nevermind one lah
last time my hb n his siblings all at fairfield methodist and now my nephew in the same pri school (alumni can get in mah hor), seems like not very preachy preachy one. my nephew not christian and did not kena "christian" influence leh
no offense to christian mummies

Steph,
R so cute, got so many teeth!
My girl's head also big + big foot (now wearing shoes for 4-5 yrs old, just imagine!). Whenever I help her to change t-shirt, the collar always stucked! Hahahaha.

kry, exactly, my girl got big foot too.. she is wearing size 25-26 now.. i tink her feet too big for her age, though she is ard 97cm.

steph, i tink his head is not veri big lah. juz tht he is v skinny, so head appear v much bigger?
mebe coz he has been sick quite often, so he doesnt put on weight n appear skiny?