(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pixie,
Child meal usually consist of food suitable for their age group (normally also comes with milk/yakult/juice, etc) and of course smaller portion than adult food. Usually have to request prior to departure.

Kam,
Thanks, we can settle the difference on that day. I'm also not joining the lunch cos hubby has free tickets for flyer so we're thinking of doing it after the duck tour. See you all on friday at 10.30am. Hopefully the weather will be good.

how do u "maintain" ur braces when u never go dentist? i used to have braces too, needs regular cleaning as food particles trap easily, sometimes the dentist had to do some adjusting to the braces too.

Pixie,
Last time when we flew with SQ to Shanghai, HR got his child's meal. Totally different from adult's one, but I seriously cannot remember the food cos HR didn't eat much, but can only remember the drink - flying out was Yogurt and and coming back was Qoo.

Yvonne,
Noted.

Pixie
The med is called Bedelix. Comes in a box, 30 sachets. The indication on the box says "recommended in the treatment of functional gastro-intestinal disturbances, particularly in the case of flatulence and abdominal pain and also for stomach pains." You ask your fren ask the pharmacy for the dosage and if need doc's instructions. I have been taking this for years, since I lived in France. Even when preg oso can take, so I tot quite safe. For me I take 1 sachet.

This med works for me, I not recommending to everyone hor. Cos I dunno wats the contents and if suitable for others.

pixie, kam,
the Q&M i went to is below Boon Lay MRT station. $55 is after 15% disc for OCBC card member. Hopefully this year still have such promo.

Am at raffles hospital now. Just done the scan and now waiting to c doc. I cam read the report myself. In general, my organs r all healthy. No stones or watsoever. So watz the pain abt leh ??? Damn irritating. I can't even stand up straight ! Walk too fast pain. Sleep also must find The best position !

pixie,
Last time I took SQ to HK, they have baby meal, post weaning and child meal. I took the child meal, their food for something like finger food = fish fingers or nuggets, think have mash potatoes and juice. It is different from adult.

thanks mummies for your input
i just checked they say no lunch served (even though its a lunchtime flight). just a snack wor
and i dunno their "snack" = ???

Kam, no problem cos my IC is always in my wallet.

Steph, wa your dental fee is cheap. Mine always $40 just for scaling, no polish. :p

Pixie, better take care of your teeth, the reason why I have to extract my tooth is due to braces that I had in Sec school to pull out an 'impacted' tooth. End up the tooth in front of this impacted tooth got decayed cos I don't know how to brush properly with braces and food particles always got stuck there. Was too cheapo to do a crown after root canal treatment and end up the tooth cracked and got to remove.

Kitsune,
Oh, after root canal treatment must do a crown meh? One of my front teeth has gone through the root canal treatment, now already 13 years, and it still kinda okay leh, my dentist doesn't encourage me to do the crown.

luca
my orthodontist cleans my teeth every mth. but thats just basic cleaning. for deep cleaning/scaling really must go to dentist. i havent been doing that leh, jialatz

kitsune
oooo really? then i really need to go dentist liao...my dentist is very thorough. he cleans under the flaps of the gums too

Kam, yup, I didn't do a crown cos I thought no need but after 10 years, it cracked after I BF for half a year, maybe cos mine is a molar (heavy usage) or because lack of calcium after pregnancy and BF? :p Better go and have a check, I only found that the tooth was cracked after I had repeated gum infections.

Now, I got to do tooth implant and crown alone costs $1300. Never include cost of extraction, dental surgery, x rays and mould etc.

kitsune,
OMG! That's a lot of money! So you done it already? I got a crack on one of my teeth (think it's molar also), like really a big piece fell off. I went to see a dentist in CCK on the same day. The dentist said have to do this and that and this and that and quoted me a really big sum. I didn't take that. When I went back to my dentist at my hometown, the dentist said can easily mend it using the normal filling, and he guarenteed that can last for a long time. It's been 3 years now and it's still no problem.

But I guess yours is more problematic cos it's gone through root canal already. My front teeth that gone through root canal one looks a bit ugly (cos a bit darken at the root), so my dentist said unless I mind the ugly-ness of it, else don't have to do a crown, for now.

Luca, my tooth is big molar at the back, not easy to see. But I always show it to RaeAnne, keep telling her if she doesn't brush her teeth properly, she will have no teeth like Mummy. haha.

Pixiepixel,

Whr r u flying to? By SQ? It's still a meal. Perhaps bcos the flt is too short flt time, that's why they say snack? For child meal, you gotta book in advance, you cant request onboard cos the caterer needs to prepare the child meal in advance for your flt. The a/c doesn't have standard or ready child meal.

Usually, children are served 1st before the rest of the pax. They would include things like choc, sweet, child's drink like Ribena, etc, separate kinda dessert. Hot meal is diff too. I think it's gd to order child meal for your child. Makes the kid happy!

Kam,

I'm currently in Moscow & be back on 30th Sep. Would it be alrite to let u know by then? I'm very tired from this trip & do not know if I can be energetic enough to wake up so early for the duck tour (although i want to go very much)... Sorry for the delay...

kitsune,
awww 2 bad :p good example! hehe

Godsent,
r u working as a flight stewardess? seems always travelling.

hi mommies

yes i'm back, since last thurs actually. My stupid sis didnt make the appt on 1st oct for my mom actually (she brought her to doc on 24sep) so my chances of going to duck tour at 1030am is very slim. I'll need to bring her there early.

I'm free today, feel like bringing rylee to somewhere (hubby working today) to play (not so intensive one) Any suggestion other than Polliwogs ah? Similar ones? Erm, any SAHMs wanna join me? Probably too late to ask this huh

mylife,
Oh, so can't meet you and Rylee hor :-(

Try Rochester House? But it's near Buona Vista so quite far from you. It's indoor play with kitchen sets, building blocks, etc, and also an outdoor play with sand and water.

Gd morning all

hey Kam, great minds think alike...i was oso thinking of Rochester Hse & wanna recommend mylife to go

Sigh...this early morning, R cough so badly until he vomitted all his milk...dunno what happened to him...
Hopefully wont have to postpone his overdue compulsory jab on Monday.

Great news! I jus called my mom's clinic and they say i can bring her at 230pm, so i guess it's back on! I can come.
Kam, can i pay u on that day pls?

Looking to go peek a boo later...has anyone been there before? Is it nice? Anyone wants to join me?

Steph

Aiyoh, R still coughs so badly ah. How about the wheezing? Better don't jab till he is totally clear. Dr Keoy said can only jab 2 weeks after a child has totally recovered from an illness.

Mylife,
Yeah! Of course. Pay on that day is okay. Remember to bring your NRIC and don't be late! Ask your mum to join us (since it's 40% discount), then you can go to the clinic from Suntec?

morning mummies !

I attended a wedding on Sat and met some friends there. Most of them are parents and are kiasu ones...

Friend #1
send his 5yr old daughter to Lorna Whiston Child Care at $1100 per mth after subsidy. And every weekend daughter will attend enrichment at Julia Gabriel $800 per term. He said it's money worth spending cos he sees improvment in her ! She used to be at a church cc and she rejected chinese entirely and my friend got panic and heard that LW is good so he decided to put her there. Within 3 mths his daughter pick up chinese and keep asking him to read chinese story books to him. He is so so happy ! His daughter is really those super outgoing kind, will go round shaking hands and run round the whole compound kind. Not shy kind. He said all these are thanks to JG !

WOW.....

Friend #2
send her 3yr old boy to shicida flash card thingy. after a few mths stop then now at GUG. Also looking into a very good cc so that can save some fees on enrichment classes...

They are also planning where to move to in 1-2 yrs time so that they can enrol their kids into a good sch. I overheard a lady calling the pty agent while flipping the classified. She asked oh is there this unit for sale ? wat's the bank valuation ? walk up apt ? how big area ? and finally she asked... is this within 1km to RGS ? LOLz...

You see nowadays most parents will do anything for their children. First build foundation, 2nd find a good sch and continue the foundation....

Chaye,
my hb was telling me that some ppl send their kids to TWO kindergartens. one in the morning and one in the afternoon. and then weekend still go JG, GUG this type of enrichment.
kindergarten only leh!!

mylife,
Duck tour will be from 11am to 12noon, exactly 1 hour. Start and end at Suntec City.

Chaye,
This not considered kiasu already lor. You go to read the forum at Kiasuparent then you know what's kiasu.

But to be very honest with you, before I have kids, I used to laugh at people who moved because of wanting to place at a better school. Now that I have kids, I was so shocked that I actually thought of doing the same! I don't really believe in branded school, but I want to place them in a school who emphasize on Chinese. That makes me a kiaus-ish parents also (though only thinking only, no action yet) :)

grumpus,
You coming for the duck tour?

Kam,

ya i know but the cough started abruptly so hard to predict when he gonna get well completely. He just recovered from the mild HFMD virus.
During his MMRV jab, kidslink PD did said, if R's cough is due to his sensitive airway then it is still ok to jab him. If it's due to a string of illness like fever, runny nose, cough+phlegm etc then cannot administer jab on him liao, have to wait till he totally recovered.
At most if Monday can't jab, just see PD for review on his wheezing/cough & check his growth development in other areas esp his big head!

steph,
OIC. Hope R gets well soon. He is walking well now, so should be no issues with his development.

My girl has a big head too (at 97th percentile), but she is (very) big in general.

godsent
im going by silkair....they say snack leh...so i thought snack =/= meal wor...anyway i wont request for a child's meal...nowadays my boy eats everything.
harnor, i wanted to ask the same qn luca asked too...you air stewardess?

chaye
i have to say GUG is really good. never tried the rest like JG or what but my boy opened up after attending few lessons of GUG. or rather, he grew up very fast during the period when he attended GUG

Hehe, Kam, I'm like you. I want RaeAnne to be good in Chinese too. I'm lucky that my flat is near to two SAP primary schools, one within 1 km, the other within 2 km. So, just need to settle her 3-6 years old, find a preschool with good emphasis on Chinese ok liao. Hubby was just telling me last night that RaeAnne's Mandarin yao3zi4bu4qing1. :p

<font color="ff0000">RE: DUCK TOURS</font>

PAYMENT RECEIVED
1. Kitsune (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3) - $54.3 (to refund $12.7)
2. Kam (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $21.8
3. Yvonne (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3) - $54.3 (to refund $12.7)
4. Krystle (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $27.9 (to refund $6.1)
5. Icy (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3 + 1 baby) - $55.8 (to refund $12.2)
6. Wendyg (2 adults + 1 5yo + 1 toddler below 3) - $67.3 (to refund $15.5)
7. Xiaoyun (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $27.9 (to refund $6.1)

Pay on the day
1. Mylife (2 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $41.6
2. Grumpus (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $22.8
3. Winnie (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3) - $41.6

To be confirmed
1. Superbee (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $21.8
2. Godsent (2 adults + 1 toddler below 3) - $41.6
3. Luca (1 adult + 1 toddler below 3) - $21.8

<font color="0000ff">Luca</font>
You wanna join us, since Godsent most likely cannot make it?

Kam,
Thanks! Yup R is walking very well n very fast n even tiptoe while walking, he is a climber too! so i gotta keep the chairs away from the windows.

big head must match big size body else will topple..cannot balance properly woh:p

chaye,
GUG, shicida, JG, LNT etc...all i never sign up for my boys...hopefully wont make them less bright kids..Oops..jialat...panic liao...but $ not enuff leh:p

luca
its once a week, 1.5hrs
bilingual playclass....either sat or sun
they have a theme for a week. start off with songs, then introduce some stuff (related to the theme). next is either artwork or go to music room, then snack, then followed by the alphabet (theme follows the alphabet).
eg this week's alphabet is m, so they will show and tell a mouse. coz the zoophonics's "m" is missy mouse...
its all related. sometimes the teachers read outloud a book.always ended with chanting the zoophonics and matching zoophonics cards. its from there my son recognises the alphabets

chinese teacher teaches a chinese nursery rhyme and other stuff

quite a lot in 1.5hrs but they have no right or wrong for your child....abit like Montessori

steph
me too no sign up all these for my kids. should we huh ?? hehehe...

kitsune
wah u so lucky ! which two sap schs r those ???

Luca,
No problem. See you next time :)

Why to be strong in Chinese? Because we are Chinese :) Chinese is a very challenging language, and it helps greatly if the kids have a strong foundation to start with. English is the first language here is Singapore, so anyhow they would pick up English. So have to put more emphasis on Mandarin.

The preschool years I am not too worried. He has his chinese classes in his cc (though limited) and we talk to him in Chinese only. Main thing in the preschool years is to get him interested in Chinese (and not to dislike/hate chinese).

steph,
Very funny to imagine a kid topple because of big head :) He is small build like Z?

My girl is 13 months and she is 11.2kg and 78cm (heavier and taller than HR when he was at this age!). Last Sat brought her to a Sep09 gathering, she looks like a giant baby :)

kitsune, staying 1km near SAP school no guarantee to get in school. this yr the sap pri school near my house, also got balloting for those staying near 1km, heard some of my neighbours kids dint get in, damn stress!

kam, hi-5~ i also agree tht chinese is very important n i expect my girl to be good n like chinese.we also speak to her in chinese since birth, and now she goes cc, she picks up english v fast. i tink it is more difficult to learn chinese, thus, better to start off earlier.

Chaye, Kam.
Don't be surprised too coz I also have the same thinking of moving house to a good Chinese-emphasized school!!! Looked around some condos but really too exp so gave up. Now just hope that my girl is lucky enough to get in?

Pixie, Luca.
I think Godsent is SQ stewardess.

pixie,
thanks for the detailed explanation of the program. so why didnt continue since its so good? issit coz its expensive?

Kam,
oh no, my question might seem stupid to u rite? aiyo i better do something abt it. Chaye, n steph, dun forget to jio me if u signing any class for ur kids hor
now i also understand why MM Lee also emphasise on chinese too.

kitsune/aqua/chaye,
What's SAP school?

krystle,
Ya lor, recently the properties are so hot, everywehre also very ex leh. But don't give up lah, hoping the price may drop in another 1-2 years time, still in time to move before the enrollment mah :)

Luca,
No lah. Not stupid lah. Wonder what's the answers you are hoping to hear :)

luca
yes very expensive. its almost 60 or 70bucks per lesson
furthermore, i thought X would get a more exposed environment to school, social skills etc if he attends pre-N mon-fri, rather than just once a week with GUG
he is very lonely when he is attending GUG...coz he interacts with children 1.5hrs a week...
compared to 10hours a week @ pre-N, better for him mah. X is very sociable nowadays and he can tell me thru actions that he is bored at home playing all day with us. he wants interaction with children.

we go out hor, he will go up to young kids (of all ages) and start to say hi, hello, or want to touch them

Kam,
topple yes it can happen leh...the head &amp; body is like a construction building unless the child is very short cos if tall n skinny with big head...the CG is very weak...no joke hor.
At 19mths, R weigh approx 11kg+/- &amp; 83cm, small build like Z (slightly taller &amp; bigger head than Z when he was at this age!).

chaye,
if u have the spending power &amp; can spare time to accompany your kids for extra enrichment classes, why not? is never too late to start &amp; no right n wrong about it...just do what u think is best for your kid/s can liao...'jing li er wei'

SAP means special programme in singapore, where kids are taught to learn chinese n english as first language. this program onli available in top pri schools in sg.

while the rest of the normal pri school will teach eng as first language, chinese as second language.

when comes to PSLE, i tink those in sap will have bonus points or incentive to go to better sec schools?

Steph,
Ops, very short and big head = me when I was a bb. So I never topple :) My hub joked to say that I cannot grow tall because I have big head and small feet :)