(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hey Kam
Yes TT also suck on his toothbrush before brushing ! haha

feeling so so sleepy now... got work but just refuse to do or move :p

Pixie
Kodomo I think is for older kids cos the toothpaste cannot be swallowed one right

chaye
yes
but i dun put a lot. so little...until i dab the toothbrush at the mouth of the toothpaste nia...cant even see a blob wor

actually if you ingest as much as adult uses in a day then will have prob in the long run. other than that, usually i even skip toothpaste for x

Gd noon!

I am back from BKK! Re-charged n refreshed

pixie,
i managed to buy swimsuit from platinum mall leh, nice design n cheap

Kam, can understand lar. Your hubby so 'piah' at work, sure cannot take leave. But if your parents are here and they have not been on Duck Tour before. It'll be a good extended family outing for HR and XY.
And actually more worth it to bring adults along cos their ticket is usually $33. :p

Icy, same situation for me lor. That's why thinking of leaving the baby and maid behind. Actually latching is ok if you latch before you go, after duck tour then latch again. Crystal is latching every 3-4 hrs right? And your ILs are at home during this period? Or else, can ask if your hubby can take leave then can bring both kids? ;)

Welcome back, Steph.

Toothpaste, I'm using Orajel for RaeAnne, first teeth for Mei Mei (only 2 pearlies).

Chaye,
i'm using first teeth for my girl. tried those children's toothpaste but she keep complaining it's hot.
i do teach her not to swallow and to spit out the water though

pixie, ya I guess it's ok not to use toothpaste but since I've started giving I cannot stop le cos he will ask for toothpaste and he will say 我要很多很多toothpaste ! LOLz

grumpus
I guess there's only 1st teeth if not oraljel for our tods at this stage ba...

steph
happy or not? btw, the red shirt gathering got affect you or not?

ok so auntie-auntie-kpo a bit, tell me what was your most "worth" purchase??
did you try roadside stalls?? heehee

Kitsune,
I am in a sticky situation now as this little princess can be really sticky and cry non-stop if I am not at home for more than 1-2 hr.

She doesnt want my mil anymore since she come back from a short trip in msia in june.

Hb can't take leave on that day cos it was the mth end.

chaye
no leh. u start lor

icy....sticky situation indeed. 1-2 hr then started to cry? quite bad. meaning u cannot go out totally?

kitsune, kam, chaye,
Thanks! Yes shiok, had lotsa fun in BKK...no time to do padi & manicure, no time to try spa/full body massage, partly due to our early flight back to SIN! Tiger airway messed up lah, we booked 8.10PM flight but was re-timed to 2.30PM flight & worst of all, we couldn't get thru the cust svc hotline to re-confirm our flight & their website was not updated! So much for the budgeted flight so we lugi our precious time!
But i did went foot massage & hair shampoo everyday

pixie,
not happy with the ping pong shows!hah:p
nope, major shopping malls & town area no red shirts gathering leh so doesn't affect us at all

oh my most worth purchase, some dresses for my niece, very cheap for gd quality clothing!
and also swimsuit, wacoal & bsc bra.
My colls only dare to try the steam sweet corn & young coconut juice from roadside stalls, the others like mango salad, grilled food (they grilled many stuff...even a whole fish leh!) & fried grasshopper, they don't dare so i didn't buy cos me alone can't finish all so i didn't try.

steph
aiyoh why dun dare to try....so wasted. roadside stalls food very very yummy. those grilled pork parts my gfs LOVE (i dun like pork), and the stick mango rice is shiok, as well as the grilled fish, or on the spot cooked tom yum soup. or the fried chicken...salivating liao lor

why go watch ping pong shows? sibeh waste time leh...

pixie
Hard for me to go out, quite a few times my mil will call my HP to SOS becos my girl keep crying non-stop. I am not sure what to do with her.

pixie,
ya loh waste time watch ping pong & somemore the LB aka lady boy SO SO DAMN UGLY & FAT kind, all of us wanna puke! Anyway we didn't complete the whole show cos the LB was too much for our eyes, we dun wanna torture ourselves:p We only wasted 20mins to rest our tired legs & drank some beer. Then again, very drama cos we were kena threaten by the OLD UGLY LB aka papa san to pay $ for the complete show + drinks at an exorbitant rate ($5400baht for 4pax)! Siao but we didn't, only paid what we were supposed to pay & ran for our lives! Alas long story but still a fun adventurous experience for all of us

Icy, I see. RaeAnne has always been sticky so I understand. Raelynn not as sticky cos taken care by the maid from young. So luckily as long as I plan my activities and avoid BF/sleeping so can still sneak out for a while.

morning mummies!!
im very happy today!
actually im very happy yesterday, but i was too bz to be happy, so right now i am feeling the effects of yesterday.
sounds cheem? hmmm.......

morning mummies !

Pixie ! Let me guess... you seek 2nd opinion and your bb is fine and need not go for further tests ?

yesterday, after me and x alight from bus stop, walked up the steps to side gate, there was a lady who already opened the door. so when we were climbing up the stairs, i took over the gate door, and x said "thanks! thanks!" to the lady who held the door n waited for us (instead of slamming the gate door in our face)
wah i never felt so proud of my boy. now he can say thank you without prompting!

sekali....lots of tods here can do the same liao..... but dun care. just a milestone for x, no matter how slow or wat!

pixie
U mean leave #2 at home and let her CIO? I tried a few times already, end up my mil call me for SOS cos her crying is loud and fierce. :p

I think I was too lucky when X was a baby, he is so easy compare to this little princess now. Even my hubby also asked me why this girl so troublesome.

wah pixie
I'm so proud of X too ! he is aware that someone is helping to hold the gate and he appreciates her ! That's good ! Most of the time TT is not aware of what is happening around I think ! hahaha take for granted !

pixie,
thumbs up for X! well done boy! He got high EQ leh

This morning Z was being refused entry to the CC cos he failed the health checkup upon entrance. The teacher found tiny red dots on his palm & blisters on the soles of his feet! They suspected he got HFMD! So, my MIL brought him c doc & confirmed he tio HFMD..sigh....no wonder last night he was so cranky, refuse to sleep & want us to switch on the lights to sleep & only zonk at 12mindnight!

luckily no fever, just abit of ulcers in his mouth.
GP gave MC for a week but need to go back for review 3days later.
Can i check with u mummies, how do we disinfect the toys huh? use hand sanitizer/antiseptic/dettol?

chaye, steph
i actually didnt think he would do that. coz after "training" him to ask ppl nicely for things he wanted (now can say "can you help me please?" and "can i have the xxx, please"), i ran out of sentences to teach him. so i thought, ok i'll move on to saying thanks.
so after everything we do for him, we will say "what must you say when ppl helped u?" he will either say "thank you" or "thanks" or "xie xie"....xie xie is mil taught one...so after 1-2 weeks of repeating this (even minor tasks like opening the lid of a bottle)...he now can take initiative to say thanks, and ask nicely...ok lah, most of the time still need prompting....work in progress hoho

sometimes i think am i doing this wrongly? 1 side says you are only "roboting" your child and he doesnt understands the rationale behind; another side is saying its never too early to start the Ps and Qs.........

Hello morning!

I am not at work today. Brought XY to ICA and so she is, finally, a Singapore PR! Then went to Dr Keoy for her jabs, and took blood test for her thyroid, she cried so badly when they poked her hand to draw blood from her vein! Now she is asleep soundly in the car. Me and hubby is taking turn to go to the optical shop to get our glasses done. Then send her to nanny and we will have half a day of rest!

Pixie,
That indeed an excellent gesture of X!

Steph,
When HR got HFMD for the first time, I just rinsed all the toys in the soap water (CB body wash). 2nd time didn't do anything. Virus is air borne. Hope Z is okay and continues to drink and eat well. Have to get R away from him though.

steph
inevitable, but hard to stop perhaps?
my colleagues say all their kids will take turn to tio leh. not once they say can be stopped. especially when R and Z is so close....

icy
controlled CIO? meaning u disappear from her sight (but still at home), until she started crying. then let her cry for 5mins, then come back. reassure her. do the same again. cry 10mins, come back, reassure her. do the same again. cry 15mins before coming back to reassure her....blah blah
all in theory. i never tried. dunno works for us local or not

chaye,
The teacher told me Z is the 1st to kena HFMD this month (new case). Last month end got a gal tio but she didn't return to CC so teacher said most likely Z tio the virus somewhere else!*duh*

Kam,
Can't really separate the 2 brothers cos they interact with each other almost 12hrs/day leh...we can only try to minimize their contact.
Can i check if fever is inevitable for HFMD? Or for some mild cases wont have fever at all?

pixie,
IMO there is no right n wrong on how to teach our child about "Manners" & "Social Etiquette". And yes i agree its never too early to start the Ps & Qs

steph, i hope Z get well soon, he mus be feeling terrible with the ulcers, pls giv me some chryanthesum tea or greenbean soup

my girl is also coughing badly whole of las nite n she couldnt sleep well / i dint sleep well too... so heartpain.

can mummies share what medicine ur pd usu prescribe for ur kids when they cough?

as usual, my girl always cough every 2 weeks, so i do not know if i can go for the gathering on oct 1. pls count me out first, thanks kam for organising.

Steph,
Fever is common. But not necessarily. But he may develop fever these few days.

R may not get it if his immunity is strong enough. You know, just like chicken pox, you may or may not get it even if you have had contact with someone with chicken pox.

aqua
once jess comes back to work, check with her when we can meet for lunch? i was so looking forward to today, sob sob

aqua,
tks for reminding abt giving chrysanthemum tea & greenbean soup! I will ask my MIL to make some for the boys

Kam,
In this case, i don't think R can be spare cos he is still on inhaler (wheezing on/off) & not yet complete his last compulsory jab (18mth booster+MMRV)...if he kena HFMD, i am sure he'll take longer to recover.

For those interested in my BKK photos, is now uploaded in my FB.

pixie, me too.. but today reali shack out, never reali catch a wink last nite. hopefully, we meet u on friday? hmm...is ur tummy big n obvious now? the las time i met u, u were so tall n slim..

steph, hw was the hotel u stayed? is it king size bed, can share with me wher to get nice and cheap kids clothing? i also going during sch holis

aqua
Hope your girl recover soon. Usually PD or GP will prescribe ventolin for opening of airways and mucoslovan for phelgm.

aqua,
my hotel was great! My colls were satisfied with the room (they only got double bed...i think is king size), is clean n service staff are friendly. Thanks for the good recommendation from Janbb & Elmo for this Budacco Hotel
Will definitely stay there again cos is so convenient & walking distance to Platinum shopping mall.
You get to find nice n cheap kids clothing at platinum mall & pratunam market - http://www.bangkokpicture.com/shopping/pratunam.php

Yup R on inhaler due to the crazy weather nowadays...he gets mild wheezing when temp too cold or windy or air-con places, he'll have to avoid blowing direct fan too. And if he plays too much...like prolong running, climbing or walking, you'll hear him panting so GP asked us to continue giving him the inhaler until he stop wheezing completely...monitor for the next 3mth from every 4 hourly, gradually reduce to 6hrly then 8hrly etc. GP mentioned he is prone to bronchitis so must take gd care of him else might develop into asthma later.

chaye, thanks. she also took ventolin, dint help much coz she still having chronic cough...
tonite will prob bring her to the doc , got a feeling her throat is inflammed after coughing whole nite.

steph,i am bringing my girl along, nt sure if can squeez 3 paxs on the bed? coz they do not hav extra bed

i Hope R can stop the inhaler soon, mebe as he grow older, his immunity wil be stronger , no longer so vulnerable ...

aqua,
I think 2 adults (u&hb) + 1 toddler on the bed no problem at all. But i wont reckon to bring my boys along for the trip cos i find shopping in BKK not so convenient (uneven pavement, many overhead bridge, heavy traffic etc) not stroller friendly & some places no high chair unless u go for more high end restaurant or big hotel. The night markets & pratunam area are crowded on wkends with pple, cars, motorbikes & the polluted air is not too good for the kids. U going BKK for family vacation or own parents/ILs tagging along to help take care of Gwen?

steph, yep. my parents r going. i still tinking if i shld buy excess baggage to luk her heavy stroller along. at least she can nap when she tired. else we will be human carriers, hw to enjoy shopping ;p
btw, wa happen to ur tiger airways flight? theychanged ur timing without informing u? hw did u know?

aqua,
my flight departed on Thursday morning & we rec'd a sms from Tiger in the late afternoon that our return flight (8.10PM) was re-timed so they asked us to call their cust svc hotline or chk their website for details. Alas, the website oso nvr update flight changes schedule, only found 2 flights avail on Sat morning 8am plus & noon 2.30pm but no flights in the evening. We panic loh cos we thought maybe red shirts gathering etc. We asked hotel staff to help check for our flight confirmation but also can't get thru Tiger hotline. So annoying...on Friday night, we search the website using our confirmation # & then found our flights schedule but announcement page of Tiger website didn't state about flight changes/re-timed. Lousy service & experience on budget airline! Because of this, we missed visiting chatuchak market

steph

I agree with you that BKK is not suitable for our tods especially so if you need to bring along stroller. Air is so polluted too. The mkts especially the Chatuchak is definitely NO NO for them. Go BKK must like you go with friends or just hubby alone to enjoy the massage in a couple room and take a lot of supper ! hahaha :p