(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

prataqueen,
Is your baby getting better w/o sunning? Then it is ok. Else sunning helps to reduce jaundice. BB who are TBF are more likely to make jaundice lasted longer.

Have to see her eyes and all. Can go polyclinic to check the lvl since new born don't have to queue so it will be pretty fast.

My mil keep saying that Xavier had Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder!! I have no proof to say he didnt have and it really makes me unhappy. I thought kids at his age is suppose to be active.

I am thinking of consulting a doc to confirm this, else she keep accusing Xavier. Any idea where I can get this done.

Chaye,
Haha, I read that you were actually feeling happy that TT got bitten, good lesson for him ya :)

Icy,
Huh, serious, ADHD??? No leh, that day at the Mygym, I can see Xavier enjoying the class a lot and able to sit down and participate and all leh. My HR was a lot more hyper than him that day. I saw a tv program about ADHD children, Xavier definitely is not like that (based on that day I met him). He is a fine gentleman!

If you really have to get him check out, probably go polyclinic and get a referral letter?

Icy, i see ur boy looks normally active, nt exceptionally hyper eh. dun be too bothered by 'old folks' comments, old pple always like to comment this n that!
i also hate it when my inlaws compare my girl n a newborn bb or any other kids, jzu got to turn a deaf ear menz.

i tot jaundice is usu due to those bb blood differ from mummy blood , or liver issues n diet .prata queen, congrats to ur newborn and hope ur baby is free fr jaundice soon

hi all, but the problem is, i dunno how to tell. I look at his eyes, seems yellow lei. Yet whether it is past the dangerous level or not, only a blood test can confirm.

I am reluctant to bring him to polyclinic, my hubby sure object to him being pricked for 'no rhyme or reason'. But in this instance, i feel its better to be safe than sorry.

Any idea how much blood test for jaundice costs at polyclinic? My pd charges consultation $35 and $12 for the blood test. And have to q up some more. Sianz.

kam & aqua
My mil just ask me to bring him to classes for hyperactive children. My feeling is that he doesnt have ADHD, but all these constant nagging from her is getting into my nerve. Even my hb also have doubts.

Xavier doesn't really listen to instructions from us, he kind of only listen to those he wants too. If possible, I want to confirm on this, another opton is wait 3 more mths when he attend pre-nursery and see if he can attend class well.

prata queen

Newborn babies don't have to queue in polyclinic. It is better to check if you think the yellowish get worse. Think the total cost for the doc and blood test is less than $20. very fast because everything is priority Q number. But make sure the admission give u priority number, last time they screw up on me at pasir ris polyclinic.

prata_queen,
Yes, the only way to confirm is by a blood test.

See these photos of my kids,
4491695.jpg

Left is XY and right is HR. You can tell for sure HR was having very high jaundice. XY was also having jaundice depsite her rosy cheek, her jaundice was high enough to warrant a hospital stay :-(

icy,
my coll, her son got ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder) & is now under treatment by physiatrist at NUH (refer by polyclinic).
She told me got 2 types, one is ADHD & the other is ADD. If no referral by polyclinic then each consultation will cost ard $100+ while now only $33.

thanks kam. sigh. will ask hubby to see if we should go tomolo...

icy, thanks for pointing out. I would prob go to pasir ris polyclinic as tat's the nearest.

Prata queen.
I seriously cannot remember what is the jaundice level for both my kids.
I think for my #1, her level was slight less than 200, so PD said no need to do phototherapy but I went back for review after 1 week of sunning + chinese herbs. Then the level dropped to slight above avg so PD concluded should be ok and don't need to review so such level will normally don't go up again.

Then for #2, his level was slight less than 300 (high risk) but PD asked if I want to hospitalize him immed. That time I did not and waited for 1 week's review. The level remained the same and PD said had to hospitalised immed for phototherapy. He said such high level can climb up again and will cause brain damage. During that 1 wk, I did not get to sun #2 coz no morning sun. And PD advised to feed FM instead BM coz will bring down the jaundice faster.

Actually, I find it weird why your PD never requested you to go back after 1 wk's review? I personally think it is necessary. How about calling your PD and said you want to go back for him to review again? Of course that would mean pricking for blood test again.

krystle, jaundice can cause brain damage? so serious ah.

since tomolo i going to gynae for review, will also bring baby to poly for the blood test. thanks yah.

SY,
Thanks for the info, the pricing is quite a difference. I will talk to my hubby again on this.

Think the main issue is my mil is irritated that Xavier doesn't listen to us at all. When we tell him about his wrong behavior, he will talk about other things.

Prata queen,
This is what the PD told me, although jaundice is common nowadays but still cannot be ignored. He explained abt the blood cells destroying each other and become dsyfunctional => brain damage... Too chiem for me and I did not really catch it.

Icy,
To me, I think our toddlers don't really take our instructions now... So I think X is pretty normal.

Icy,
Aiyoh, like that already pasted a label on the kid meh. She got irritated then blamed it on the child, feel so bad for Xavier. Have you consulted your PD before? Did he say anything about Xavier's behaviour? Don't know, maybe your MIL has her points, maybe it's better to get proper diagnosis if you are suspecting of anything, or just to have a peace of mind.

krystle,
Yes, that is true. That's why most babies get treated with phototherapy because of the risk of brain damage. But actually jaundice will go away naturally without any intervention if the baby is feeding well. But then, the PDs don't want to be blamed of, and the parents (me included for sure) don't want to the any chance, so phototherapy becomes very common nowadays.

Ya lor, I also think toddlers this age don't want to take instructions, and it's very normal. They are learning to be a independent little boy/girl.

Kam,
I didnt check with my PD yet, didnt know which kind of doc I should ask. Oh ya, another option. Will ask PD as well when Crystal go for her jab.

busy day innoffice today. Morning 1st thing kena questioned by boss why I never finish some work when I was supposed to do so yest. Just no mood to work yest mah... So today must bear the brunt of it

icy
I doubt ur boy got ADHD ley. And it's really a very fine line between spirited children n ADHD children. Mostly doctors are willing to diagnose only after a certain age.
I just feel that kids at this age doesn't like to take instructions n orders blah blah. Ur mil is frustrated taking care of him that's why say such stuff. Honestly older generation dunno how to cope with new age kids like ours. Unless they know how why kids think n act like this then offer solutions to these problems. We ourselves also struggling, let alone our mums and mils.
Dont give in and label ur child easily. It's hurting even if they dun understand neh

icy,
Older generation tend to compare our kids to their kids (30/40 years ago??). Seriously they cannot cope with our kids cos they're too "advanced" for them. My in-laws also love to say things like "How come B like that? Last time his daddy also never behave this way." Our generation all blur blur when we were young but our kids are exposed to so much more nowadays. I always tell them "My friends' kids are also like that!"...hahaha.

I also doubt Xavier has ADHD...the very most he's spirited like B. But it's really common to hear such things from grandparents. At B's playgroup, ALL the grandparents complain their grandkids are very difficult to take care. Some say they rather work than take care of grandkids...so this generation is like that, not just Xavier

Prataqueen, I brought Raelynn for her 2nd 6-in-1 jab (2nd month?) and she was still yellowish then. The PD checked her and told me she was ok, still a bit yellow but her eyes are ok so it will get better. I didn't bring her for any other blood test after the 1 week review. So, she was yellow for 1 month plus after that.

Kam, think HR is G6PD, so more jaundiced compared to XY. My MIL said my hubby who is also g6Pd was hospitalised for more than 1 week cos of jaundice. :p

morning all!

my #1 vomitted out last night's dinner + d milk he drank dis morning. was ok last night, duno why vomitted out watever food he eats today. so far no fever, had asked my mum to monitor him. sianz, super no mood...

Yvonne,
Even my mum commented that she could bring 3 of us up single handedly without help..But now, there are 3 adults looking after my kids.

Icy,
You may want to wait till he enters nursery and see how he interacts with other children. other things to look out for is how he behaves in social setting outside homw. eg..Is his behaviour very different from other kids when he is at a playground/ public places etc..Does he bite / hit other kids or adults? Does he talks very loudly all of a sudden? Does he gets very excited and run about like lightning flashes?

These are questions which the psychologist would ask before they determine if he needs further testing. They would also check with you about his development at the various stages.

Most of the symptoms don't surface till about 4. That's when they enter school..It gets obvious when they are in formal setting..For example, my pupil will stand and start talking very loudly and hit his friends/scold his friend and me. Then, there's a silent type (ADD)..He will start to swing his body and look lost after sometime. So I got to call his name over and over again

RaeAnne suddenly wanted MIL to fetch her from school today so I'm free to check forum now. Heavy downpour now.... Hope the rain stops before 11am. :p

Luca, hope your boy is better. What did he eat for dinner last night? Maybe something didn't agree with him?

kitsune,
Ya lor, HR is G6PD deficient, so yes, he has high jaundice and plus he was dehydrated at that time. We only realised how "yellow" he was when we looked at the photos.

Luca,
Don't worry too much. My mum told me, if anything they can expel out from the body (vomitting, pooing, perspiring), it's a good sign that whatever bad thing entered their body hasn't got chance to invade their body system yet and already been expelled out. Should be a good sign. But ya, monitor closely.

blackbatz,
My mum single-handed brought up 4 of us, without any help, even my dad didn't help much. But my mum is those very open minded, so she acknowledges kids nowadays are very different from her kids, and she respects our way of dealing with kids :)

kitsune,
thanks! he ate rice + soup n some fruits.

Kam,
i just dread it when things happens for no reason. ya maybe its good that he can vomit out
those bad things. hope he will be fine after that. very heartpain to see him falling sick every other week. then will be didi's turn.. sigh!!

yes. home cooked food. if its food, then maybe its the watermelon or papaya he had, sometimes 2 ripe watermelon can have sour taste, which is hard to detect unless u taste it 1st. but its nt the 1st time he eats those fruits.

Morning mummies.

Luca,
hope your #1 will be alright. Both my boys also started coughing episode last wk, now recovering still. Gosh i didn't know grapes can cause phlegm so GP said strictly NO citrus fruits & no ribena, no yakult for my boys!

Yesterday my FIL complain about Z's CC again. Sigh...FIL told me the teachers lied again n again!

1st incident happened last month - his chinese language teacher (Z's favourite teacher) told my FIL that he didn't bring along Z's water bottle to school when he came & pick him up from CC. My FIL said he did brought along everyday so he asked the teacher to double check the class, maybe she/other teacher left it somewhere? So after searching around, she found the water bottle! And my FIL saw the water level in the bottle was still full tank...meaning Z did not drink any at all. So he questioned the teacher & she hurriedly answered..."oh yes i did refill (top up) the water again, Z drank water from it already!" My FIL was annoyed cos 1st she said she couldn't find the water bottle & now she said, she refill the water?? Obviously she was telling a lie!

2nd incident happened yesterday - Z went to CC as usual & when Z reached CC, he couldn't locate his chinese language teacher. My FIL said, his chinese teacher was on leave BUT the teachers & school principal told Z, his chinese teacher was at the pantry so when he walked in to look for her, he found her missing! So, he cried big time until wanna vomit...can u imagine? My FIL was so pissed talking about it to me yesterday. He said how can the teachers lied to the kids when the teacher was actually not in class yesterday. Worst of all, the principal participated to pretend to be his chinese teacher. According to my FIL, she quickly rush to the pantry when she saw Z & FIL walking into the CC entrance, sit down (her back view facing Z) & pretended to be Z's chinese teacher cos both have long hair & similar build. So from far, u can't really tell who is who.

I called up Z's chinese language teacher this morning to verify if she was really on leave yesterday. Yes indeed she was! I told her what happened & she agreed that the malay teachers shouldn't lied, they could have use other methods to pacify the kid. She apologised to me & said she will informed the teachers not to repeat this mistake again.

I really dunno if i should withdraw Z from the CC or wait n see how it goes cos at the moment, the other cc which i like is full & on waiting list.

Hmm... papaya always works magic for RaeAnne when she has constipation. Ya, too ripe papaya tastes funny too. :p Never mind, monitor first, hope it's a once off then no need to see dr.

Steph,
if yr boys hv recurring coughs, best to keep them off grapes, oranges, citrus fruits, cold drinks etc.
i had recurring cough which developed into bronchitis when i was young and when i eat ONE grape only i start coughing.
so i didn't get to eat grapes, oranges and ice cream for one whole yr!

grumpus,
yea u r right, no cold drinks too. GP warn me to avoid giving citrus fruits since R got history of bronchitis n need to be on inhaler still. No wonder both kept coughing on/off cos my PIL gave them grapes!

my mum gona bring my boy to c doc, coz he vomitted 4 times, last time was just water.

steph,
hope ur boys get well soon.
thats the problem when we r not the caregivers, cant control things. my dad often gives my boys orange, will always tell my maid to stop him when they have cough.

Z on full day childcare? any other cc to consider besides the 1 u like?

steph,
Telling lie is probably the worst things a teacher can do. More so a principle, even pretended to be the Chinese teacher. Very bad leh. Aiyoh, like that, how? Or what does your FIL suggest? To switch Z to another cc or to keep him at home?

Thought you mentioned the cc doesn't allow students to bring their water bottle? They changed the rules already? Not drinking water for the whole day is bad, cos they are so active the whole day. You didn't complain?

pixie, Yvonne,
Yes, grandparent like to compare and forget the part whereby he does listen at times. I really don't like the way she said it, that why considering consulting a doc, yet feel uncomfortable. sigh! Hb wants me to bring him to the doc, whereas I think i can still wait for 3 more mths.

Blackbatz,
Thanks for the input. Nice to hear from a teacher pt view as well. :D

Xavier is behave better when he is outside, he doesnt bite or hit other kids. He can get very excited if he see his favourite toy/play area. 3 mths more before X attend any formal class w/o my company.

steph,
That CC doesnt sound too good. how can the teacher keep using this bluffing method.

hi all, i just came back from gynae review. Gynae said stiches r recovering well & to go back 1 mth later for Pap smear. Think i won't go back... no need to do also can rite hehe.

Hubby got very angry at me for not sunning baby & instead subject him to more pricks (blood test). So conclusion is, we will continue to sun baby but will not bring him to blood test.

Thanks Kitsune. So Raelynn didn't go for further review after 'passing' the first jaundice blood test & was yellow for 1 mth? Mayb i shouldn't be paranoid.

steph, my girl also got her fav teacher, ther were a few times her teacher took leave n dint come. my girl refuse to go in cc n start to fuss/cry , e other teacher also 'bluff' her tht her teacher 'is inside' or 'is coming later' while she frankly confessed to me tht her fav teacher is nt in. I even suggest they call her fav teacher over the hp and talk /counsel my girl to go sch, in the end, dint call tht teacher lah.
they juz carry my girl n let her cry out, coz they say v common .

after tht incident, i told her fav teacher tht if she is on leave, pls tell me in advance so that i will also take leave to lok after my girl at home. i dun encourage white lies n i do not want to force my girl to go sch if her fav teacher is not in.

having said tht, my girl will be stopping sch end of mth.we will definitely miss her fav teacher, but at the present moment, we prf to keep her home, enjoy childhood and stay strong n healthy.

luca,
i enrol Z for full day but now he is currently gg for half day only. I have to start looking for other CC nearby my ILs place cos the better ones are either full or on waiting list & my ILs prefer non air-con cc.

Kam,
Yes by right CC said no water bottle allowed cos they were given own labelled drinking cup for water. But we saw other parents also bring along water bottle to cc for their kid & the teachers were ok woh so we follow suit. At least Z can drink water as & when he felt thirsty.

Kam, icy, aqua,
The principal called me just now upon investigation & clarify the whole matter to me. She said yesterday she was already sitting in the pantry area when Z & FIL step into the cc. It was my FIL who mistaken her as Z's fav chinese teacher! My FIL was the one who said to Z that his fav teacher was at the pantry so Z quickly went in to look for her. One of the malay teacher heard what my FIL said to Z but didn't correct him on the spot cos she thought my FIL wanna coax (white lies) him into the class 1st. It was all mis-understanding. The principal said she had clarify this matter to my FIL personally just now when he came & picked Z up. She assured me that the centre wont tolerate such code of conduct such as telling lies from the teachers. She encourage feedback & constant communication with parents to avoid any misunderstanding & seek collaboration with the parents closely with regards to the child's development in school.

I will discuss with my hubby tonight & see if we still wanna let Z continue with the cc.

aqua,
personally i don't quite like the idea of Z sticking to his fav teacher. Since he is learning to be independent in school, i hope he can follow any teacher, not just one else when he moves on to nursery or kindy or change cc next time, he'll have to face separation anxiety again which is not very healthy in the long term...just like when u said, your gal fuss/cry when her fav teacher took leave etc and what if the fav teacher resign then our kid will cry his/her heart out for the fav teacher? I always talk (brain wash) to Z that it is alright to befriend/play with his other teacher, not just his fav teacher cos his fav teacher need to apply leave for holiday/MC/family etc. So i would get him to tell me more about his other teacher rather than his fav teacher.

Steph,
It's pretty normal for kids to have a fav teacher, especially in the initial period of starting school. Give him some time to warm up to the other teachers.

B used to stick to his english teacher in playgroup. He will cry and tell me he wants to go home if she wasn't there. He took about 2 terms to warm up to his chinese teacher who was fierce and grouchy. He has since got a new chinese teacher whom he warmed up to very quickly. It takes 2 hands to clap also, sometimes our kids have a preference for obvious reasons, some teachers are simply not so friendly to the kids.

prata queen
pap smear can go to any place to do. your own GP (if you comfy) also can. no need go back gynae...$$$$$$!

icy
if X is better behaved when outside, then most prob he is developing normally. remember that we mummies talked about our children being the most naughty at home when with parents or grandparents. this is because they are open with their feelings and no hold back. however, in outside world, kids already have learnt that there is a "social" thingy and would have put on better behaviours because they know where they stand socially and are naturally cautious (naturally cautious = milder). meaning they are better behaved while outside than at home. should be like this leh. thats what i've read

talking about cc hor
x apparently is one of 2-3 children in his class of 12 who doesnt takes instructions well.
eg they went to playground. teachers said stop playing. always everytime, the teachers have to catch the same few kids who refused to stop the activity. X inclusive lah.
eg in classroom, teachers says keep the toys, x is also one of the last...
i realised x needs lots of transition time from 1 activity to another (5-3-1 reminders etc)...quite slow in ending, compared to other children in kindy

anyone with the same problem? hai....

steph,
really not easy to find a good cc. now that the principal has clarified, dat its a misunderstanding, maybe worth giving another chance?

i find pap smear is best done by gynae leh, since they r more specialised in it. unless GP is a female, somehw i dun feel comfy with a male GP. :p

pixie,
u are oh so positive as always, knowledgeable too.

looks like i must read more too. :p
but its true, my #2 is very well behaved in cc. i couldnt believe when the teacher said he can sit down in class n listens to instructions. totally different person when hes at home.

Pixie,
Perhaps before you want to end the activity, you give him early warning first. Like go on the slide for another 5 more rounds (of course, they cannot count very well now)..Then, tell him 2 more and finally it's time to go.

That's what I normally do with Zachy.Then will sing him that Julia Gabriel song "bye, bye fun passes!" Then tell him to say bye bye to the playground.

aqua: I agree with what you said: "at the present moment, we prf to keep her home, enjoy childhood and stay strong n healthy".
My girl loves to go to school. Everytime I pass by a school in the back of my house, she will cry very loud and keeps saying she wants to go to school.
I am very sad to send to school. ;-(
One day at home she changes 2-3 set of clothes by herself- pretends to go to school -pack her school bag, bring her bottle water, etc. Very cute but my heart sinks when she tells me she wants to go school. I will miss her and worry she might be bullied by other kids. ;-(

steph,
Now that Yvonne mentioned it, it's the same for HR. When he was in infant class, he liked that one teacher, and he only wanted that teacher to feed him, to bath him and to put him to sleep, he would wail if other teachers touched him, he cried when the teacher left the cc at 6pm, and he even wanted to follow to teacher home (happened once), and this is the teacher who helped me to take care of HR when I gave birth the XY. After promoted to playgroup at the same cc, he didn't have a fav teacher anymore, cos his class teacher was fiercer, she loves children and knows how to handle children well, but she doesn't allow them to be sticky (only when they are unwell etc). Now at his new cc, he seems to be okay with any teachers, I haven't seen or heard of anything, yet. I agree that we shouldn't encourage the kid to develop favourism, but then like Yvonne said, some of the teachers are really not those friendly type, so it's hard for the kids to be friend with them.

pixie,
Maybe X is new to the cc, so he is still very interested in the toys (new to him mah). HR doesn't have problems following instructions at cc, but at home, sometimes I have to call him many times then only he answers me. But if I say it's Mickey Mouse time, within few seconds, he is on the sofa waiting already :)

yvonne, kam,
Yup i agree. It merely only 2mths since Z started half day cc so naturally he would have a fav teacher. I am ok with it, just hope he can mingle well with other teachers by Dec. I noticed Z don't like his malay teachers & yes u were right, his teachers seem less children friendly during my 1st 3days observation in the cc with Z.

blackbatz
yes i use the 5-3-1 method (aka telling him 5mins left/3mins left/1min left = ample warning to wrap up his activity and able to get his brain used to the transition), but hor, he still not keen to end the job leh...sing goodbye song, clean up song oso nowadays more n more no use liao

luca
im not knowledgeable. just happened to read that particular tidbit in this magazine called singapore's child. quite informative magazine but havent been seeing it around....hah

pixie
That's interesting. I been borrowing books from library, trying to read more and see how to teach Xavier better as well.

prataqueen, yup she was yellow for 1 month plus. But still better to just let PD do a visual check even if no blood test. My PD quite experienced, so I trust her. She said BF baby tend to be jaundiced longer but it's ok.

Luca, oh no, hope it's not stomach flu. Heard it's contagious. :p

kitsune,
doc said its virus infection. how appropriate when u cant derive a reason out of it. :S juz now at 2pm+, he got high fever, 38.8. but now fever subsided. have to keep monitoring lor. duh!