(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune,
strange...which pcf is RA in? Mine (little wings oso under pcf ntuc first campus) got expose tods to Chinese leh...hmm...different standard ah?
<font color="0000ff">Shannonbaby,</font> can ask your friend to clarify this? tks!

Haha, Steph, u gave me a big hint. Mystery mum is ah Capp right? Cos I remember both of u used mdm rokiah before she retired.

Steph, raeanne's pcf is under acorn premium kindergarten leh. The teacher told me no Chinese lessons until nursery ie 4 years old. Hmm... U mean pcf cc got? Why like that? :p

kitsune,
My friend is only a small fly la. She only do curriculum planning.

steph,
yr boy is in little skool house rite? little skool house is under ntuc (my first skool). Little skool house is a premier brand of my first skool. they are not under pcf. PCF and NTUC are 2 different school, with 2 diff curriculum. They are not related at all.

Steph, If pcf cc got Chinese lesson but pcf pg dun have. Then my conclusion is Yi fen qian Yi fen huo. Those who cannot afford cc education gets sub standard pre school education. No wonder my cousin's kid Chinese standard so bad. He even needs Chinese tuition before entering pri one. :p

kitsune, steph, shannonbay
little wings = pcf
my first skool = ntuc

my mil told me that its PCF too but when i visited the kindy 2 weeks ago, the principal showed me the curriculum (super thick file), i saw the MFS logo on every page - and she said its NTUC curriculum too.
i didnt thought about the discrepancy until you all brought it up today.

weird!!

alamak all these sounds complicated. so which is good, little wings, my 1st skool or little skool house?
and just wat does PCF actually stands for? :p

hoya.. this missy bella duno how come in my FB leh cos all along I tot she's one of us ! Just found out we dun hv friends in common and deleted her liao :p

luca

PCF - PAP Community Foundation. Used to be known as PAP. Last time my kindergarten is PAP lor. Now known as PCF lor.. just change of name

luca,
little skool house is much more expensive as compared to my first skool or little wings.
little skool house has a different curriculum. Good or no good, it depends on what the parents want out of their kids.

ok!! got the answer!!

from www.ntucfirstcampus.com:-

"Bringing Kindergarten Learning to New Heights

About 2,200 Kindergarten children from 20 PCF (People's Action Party Community Foundation) centres will benefit from a new and upgraded quality of teaching and learning, designed to enhance their all-round development and readiness for school.

Five PAP constituencies in the Jurong and Bukit Timah areas have combined forces to improve the quality that each PCF centre is capable of delivering by partnering with NTUC First Campus, Singapore’s early childhood education industry leader.

Under this partnership, NTUC First Campus provides customised training for teachers, ensures quality and consistency in the delivery of a new curriculum, and helps to create a better physical learning environment.

A launch was held to cement this partnership on 12 May 2009, and the 20 centres are now known as Little Wings.

Over the last 12 months, efforts focused mainly on implementing a consistent curriculum throughout all Little Wings centres. Special attention was paid to training and helping teachers to implement the curriculum and a new way of engaging young children in teaching and learning.

Other improvements implemented include:

* Requiring each teacher to undergo 250 hours of training to equip them in the requirements of the new curriculum.
* Setting up of a teacher mentorship system to help teachers translate their learning to classroom settings.
* Introducing a small group learning approach to allow more effective delivery of lesson objectives and monitoring of children’s progress.
* Producing and developing new learning materials."

so steph's and mine's kindy kena only. no wonder i didnt see the name changed in other PCF branches but only in Jurong!

steph
little skool house is also under the NTUC wor

"The NTUC First Campus network comprises the following business units:
My First Skool (formerly NTUC Childcare centres)
The Little Skool-House International (no change in name)
RTRC Asia (no change in name)
The Caterpillar’s Cove Child Development and Study Centre (no change in name) "

im surprised. i tot little skool house is a privately run kind of cc

pixie,
i know abt this news last yr end. That's why Little Wings also increased their school fees late last year. In 2008, it was slightly cheaper!

steph
sighs, correct lor, when i called last time and i called now, its more ex...
but not much difference...still affordable right?

not those montessori 1k + kind i very happy liao

Duh... "a new and upgraded quality of teaching and learning, designed to enhance their all-round development and readiness for school. " so, something must be lacking in the first place is it? :p

sigh, should have researched more instead of following herd instinct n enrolling raeanne in may, waste one month school fees n registration fee if I were to switch her next year. :p

Summary???

Sparkletots = PCF childcare centres
Little Wings Kindy = "enhanced" PCF cc
Little Wings kindy = "enhanced" PCF Kindy

Little skool house = "premium" NTUC childcare centre
My first skool = NTUC childcare centre

J is totally toilet trained in the day. Diaperless!!! Now thinking of starting training for night.

mommies,
do u buy fire insurance for ur house's contents? Is it necessary?

Morning Twinkystar,
so early!

i bought fire insurance for contents of my flat, i think it's a necessity, anyway not expensive also.

kitsune,
not all little wings cc charge the same price woh! Mine is $342 mthly (full day) after govt subsidy for working mums.

luca,
u wanna know the cc fees or kindy fees? kindy fees i don't have exact figure, maybe pixie knows.
Oh anyway Little Skool House cc (full day) cost abt $600 after govt subsidy! It's almost double of Little Wings while My first skool is abt $320.

Its a nice day to sleep at home...

I think PCF sparkletots is the cheapest. Only $235 after subsidy. I put my name for waitlist since my gal is 12 months old, until now still not my turn.

luca
little wings kindy is 160+ per month
little wings cc is ard 500+ per month - 600+ per month (before subsidy)
sparkletots also same price 500+, the sparkletots opp my sk place charges this amt leh

after subsidy will become very cheap liao lor

shannonbaby
the little wings that X will join in Jan 2011 is a new cc (converted from kindy to cc) as they kickstart their operations in jan 2011....the principal told me the full day fees are 500+, which means 200+ after subsidy too...
i opted for half day, should be few bucks cheaper only

new centre - what should i look out for ah?

wah sparkletots sho cheap !

I've also registered at sparkletots ard my area which will open in Jan 2011.

but new centres will have teething problem one hor. Like they will hv young teachers who will not stay long, slightly inexperience teacher, etc etc hor

twinkystar
congrats to J ! some savings on diaper ! TT is toilet trained during the day except for his nap and night time. Still wondering how to train for his night too... I'm taking it easy for now
If I ever see his diaper is dry after his nap I think it's time to train ba. But you can try asking him to clear his bladder before and after his nap and see if you get a dry diaper or not. If u do get a dry diaper for a few days I think he's ready !

have u heard of any good reviews about St Andrew's Cathedral Child Development Centre?
http://www.livingstreams.org.sg/sac/cdc/
If yes, pls share with me. TIA

mandy,
my boy still not toilet trained in the day but we are trying
night time if u wanna train yr boy go diaperless, u gotta be consistant &amp; hardwoking enuff to wake them up to pee in the middle of the nite? Or i think some mummies here place a waterproof mattress protector in case of accident like they forgotton to hold their urine at night.

mandy, S is toilet trained in the day very long ago but I did not train him for night, i will just let him be ready by himself. so he is still on diaper when sleeping.

kam, so have you decided to go tampines or marine parade for the trial?

pixie,
mine is a new centre too!

chaye,
young teachers nevermind but the teachers are from PRC for chinese lesson while malay teacher for english lesson. I wonder why no chinese singaporean teachers around except the principal is singaporean.

shannonbaby,
can i check if it's normal for teachers in cc to be late for work. I mean the cc starts from 7AM but the teacher only report to cc at 9.30-10AM....so late?

steph,
With so many cc that I have visited, EVERY centre has at least 1 teacher who is from PRC. Almost ALL chinese teachers are recruited from PRC. But some are really good, like those in HR's current cc, both the PRC teachers are actually more caring than the Malays teacher. But then maybe is just pure luck bah, both PRC teachers are degree holder, so one can speak relatively okay English, while another couldn't speak but can understand well.

For HR's cc, not every teacher comes at 7am. Some start work earlier and some later, cos you can't expect them to work 12hours a day with the kids, that's too draining.

steph, pixie
thanks for sharing the fees. sounds reasonable, coz my boys' cc not under PCF, full day is around 500+ before subsidy.

tongtong
i need more of these containers for soup stock but i doubt i'll be getting these as they are quite ex compared to avent via cups...

diaperless:
my boy wants to be diaperless at night too. he makes a ruckus everytime we ask him to wear his diapers at night....how ah? i wanna let him be and go diaperless leh, but to wake him up to pee....scared i didnt wakie. ok so how many times a night?
btw x now dun wear diapers for naps and short trips out liao

Kam,

PRC teachers are ok but i am not sure of their qualification (i didn't ask them nor check with the principal). Do u think it'll be rude to ask the principal for the teachers qualification?
During my 1st 3days sit in, the PRC teachers couldn't speak &amp; only understand simple english. or is it because cc teachers don't need degree qualification, only applys for kindy teachers? I thought all teachers must at least have a diploma or deg for early childhood education to qualify?

For the teacher's working hours, i know they can't be working 12hrs/day but i am just wondering if they have a fix timing daily to report to school (do they get off days like annual leaves?) &amp; usually they left the cc at 5.30PM. And i've seen some relief PRC teachers will take over till 7PM. I asked shnnonbaby cos she works in a cc enviroment so perhaps she can advise.

pixie, yea it's ex, but becuase it's glass. I bought the avent via cups but somehow a few got a little "melted" , i'm not sure why but i think maybe the nanny puts them near heat or something. anyway i still think glass is better than plastic.

pixie, you can train him if you want. if not wait till he sleeps already then put on diaper lor!

Although mine toilet trained very early but he still wears diaper for nap leh. think he couldnt control his pee yet when sleeping

luca
what kind of underwear? just normal ones? no leh
i let him just wear the shorts....
ok u made me realised that i need to buy such undies for him liao

tongtong
funny rite. i kept lamenting that x is slow in toilet training. and once he went into it, now dun want to wear diapers all the time liao.
before nap i will ask him to pee. wakie immediately go pee. he also cannot hold his bladder that well. coz sometimes he play and play and suddenly shout "shh shh!!" and rush to the potty and out gush the urine.....duh
then he will tell himself "good boy"...*faintz*

Steph,
As what I know, all teachers must have at least a certificate/diploma for early childhood education recognised by MYCS. Those who doesn't, they can only be assistant/helper in the class. I don't think it's rude to ask about their qualification. In fact, I think the school should voluntarily offers this information to the parents. The PRC teacher in HR's cc who couldn't speak much English, she has a degree from China, and also gotten a cert/diploma in early childhood education, still can't speak English.

For HR's cc, teachers are on rotation. So sometimes they have to come at 7am, sometimes 10am. But I know a few teachers want to be on fixed timing due to family engagement, like for 1 teachers, she works from 10am to 7pm everyday. For most cc, the formal curriculum will end at around 5pm. So it's very common that most teachers start to leave and only left a few to do the closing.