(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kam
if it rains then sian liao
but west coast park i find weekends super crowded
that time we went to mac after a stroll, we couldnt even get a seat/table! and it was only later afternoon, not lunch or dinner time wor

luvv
balcony can or not? its considered a room - to me. coz my balcony is not next to living room kind but nestled between the master bedroom and bedroom 1

kam, tongtong, luv

r u all talking abt mygym? what's the max class size, can i join in with my gal?

Sunday? wat time ;)

its a free trial without obligations?

pixie,
Oh, west coast park is crowded? Then what do you say about east coast park? Super duper crowded! I have never been to the McD, so cannot comment.

prata_queen,
Have to wait for tongtong to confirm. It's a free trial, but have to be referred by tongtong, cos S is currently attending the class. maybe you PM her your contact details first?

pixie,
wahaha i think if you convert into a room, MAYBE?

prataqueen,
yes mygym at tampines junction, not sure class size, need to wait for tong tong to answer this..hee i'm going for sunday at 12.30pm. Need tong tong to liase for the free trial but the facilitor called me, yet to contact Kam also.

thanks kam, luvv. So it is Sunday 12.30pm. Is papa allowed to also join in? ie 2 adults to accompany 1 child.

I recall i have lunch with MIL and family but dunno if it is Sat or Sunday...

I have PM tongtong my details. Hope I can make it to meet u gals there!!

Luvv, i already went for the trial. Depends on the class size. The one i went had about 5 kids. Plus 2 on trial. Prataqueen, no, only 1 parent allowed. But the daddy can observe from the side cos they have low partition. I think better to daddy to accompany cos physically demanding. :p

Kam,
West Coast Park sounds nice & i can hop by my frd's condo at Blue Horizon for a swim with Z after that
If weather is good, we may go marina barriage since never been there b4.

kam
agreed.
its barely 5pm leh
most prob got to do with the early lunch i had - made the afternoon seemed so long

steph
i oso never been to barrage before too leh

Chaye, luvv, yup, I hope she will Wake up her idea. All those people want are her $. Her birthday, her husband dun even bother to SMS or call her. When she calls back, sometimes her son doesn't want to talk to her. Only person who writes letters to her is her mother. :p mu Ai shi Wei da de.

Ic. Ok, will get papa to stay in the class while I watch from the side. My tummy is now round as a watermelon so doubt I can assist tricia during the class.

So class size is about 7…if class size is reached, then they may not allow us to join that timeslot.

Tongtong, have pm you my hp number. Pls keep me updated ok

My first time meeting up with the Jan 08 mommies and todds!

kitsune,
cant blame her lar, after all she come here to work for the family, probably she miss them too especially her son.

pixie,
ya loh but luckily this time i got standby since hb spotted some stains last nite:p:p:p
my cycle always so short CD26 n accurate...i missed menses-free days!

steph
CD26 very sianz one...after your LMP hor, then fast fast your auntie visit you again...like no break like that leh
but that means you O more than the rest of us

Luca, ya but all the more she must remember what she is here to suffer for. If spend $2k+ to take loan to come to sg to work, then break contract to go back with no $, back to square one. What for? Not helping her family also. :p

Hehehe, Steph u still so active ah? ;)

Kam/Prataqueen, yesterday afternoon brought shaun out, so din check forum. Hope later when I call mygym they still have slots for you.. scared dont have because usually weekend classes are full. I will call once they open later and update u ok!!

prataqueen, yea it's free without obligations bcause i refer. Otherwise you need to pay for trial wor.

Luvv, u can park at tampines junction as sunday parking is $2 per entry, ie for whole day. remember to come earlier ok! you can catch mediacorp artiste Ben's son and the wife too, his son is very cute and handsome and Ben really adores his child.

gd morning all.

tongtong, thanks for the referral. its ok if there's no more slot since tis is quite last minute.

u got my HP number via email?

hehe if no more slot for this sunday then i probably wouldn't go for the trial. its more to meet up with Jan 08 mommies and todds.

my gal's kinderland has outdoor play after 5pm so my idea of enrichment classes in the long term will be piano and/or chinese.

Yeah, it's finally Friday!!! Yesterday I left the office at 5.15pm, and able to spend more time with the kids in the evening, already felt like Friday :)

tongtong,
Thanks! Appreciated!

If no more slot this Sunday, then I will go back to the Marine Parade branch. Cos can go to the East Coast Park at the same time mah :)

Mandy,
Jacobs Ballas entry is off the Bukit Timah Road. After Evan Road, if you are driving from the city direction. It's the same junction to go to the NUS off campus site. There is a car park right in front of Jacobs Ballas, so you don't have to walk all the way from the main site.

TGIF! It is my off day today cos going out to meet my friend for lunch. Mil will bring raeanne home after class.
and raelynn's bottom left tooth has finally cut through. So far, she is faster than raeanne for crawling, pulling to stand n even teething. Lol. I wonder if she can start eating soupy rice before her birthday in early dec.

morning mummies
today ms quite bad. im walking so slow like old grandma and no mood for anything.
wanted badly to later ask boss if i can work from home or not....................

pixie,
Hugs...i know exactly how u felt for terrible ms. When i had ms, i still wanna eat (hungry)but puke abit & eat & puke abit...vicious cycle.
Ren Yi Ren, hope your ms will go away soon!

i felt fainty this morning due to my menses
Didn't sleep well last nite cos my #2 was coughing so badly that he vomitted his milk. Can hear alot of phlegm & wheezy chest when he breath. And he lost weight...poor boy.

hey the cc principal replied my email with regards to my feedback.

Hi XXX

Thank you for your email on the following feedback.

Having read through the email and with further investigation into the matter, I held a meeting with all the teachers to highlight the concerns to them and would like to assure you that there would be improvements to the issues mentioned.

In addition, to reply to your queries, I would like to address the stated points one at a time:

1) I have already instructed the teachers that with immediate effect all air cons temperature are to be no lower than 25 degree celsius, and no fans will be switched on when the children are taking their naps.

2) I have also put forth in the same meeting that with immediate effect, teachers are to vigilantly ensure children's hygiene are taken care of and no children are to be left unattended.

3) In our policy, as most of the children are still new to the centre's environment, we do not expect immediate changes in their habits and routines. As such, toilet training and some of the self help skills are only introduced 3 weeks to 2 months down the road depending upon the children's adaptability to the centre.

4) We agreed that it is the responsibility of the teachers to inform new parents of picking all circulars from the respective child's letter pocket that is situated on the wall right outside the principal's office. However, as the teachers did not do so, the circulars were not able to reach you in time thus causing the concerns. Nonetheless, I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that all circulars from the centre will be placed in the aforementioned letter pockets for all children. Please be informed that all parents are encouraged to check the letter pockets constantly when picking up their children. At the same time, the teachers will also make it a point to remind parents to pick up any future circulars from their child's pocket.

We thank you for your kind understanding to the above issues and looking forward for a continual collaboration with you.

Warmest regards
XXX

steph
quite nicely worded and well, it offers some kind of assurance.
but she said "teachers are to vigilantly ensure children's hygiene are taken care of and no children are to be left unattended" - i think thats a very big task.
imho, i think its very difficult to achieve "no children are to be left unattended"

Steph, as a former pr practioner, I will say the letter is not bad, agree with customer first, addresses the concern, n sounds sincere. Even for pt 3 n 4, when it is not totally their fault, they put it quite nicely. Not defensive.
but whether they can transform words into consistent action is another thing, haha.

pixie,
yah i thought the same too, how to ensure NO children are to be left unattended when the ratio is 7:1 (students:teacher) but to console myself, at least my major concern on children's hygiene is taken note of, that is gd enuff.

Now i gonna reply the principal & finds out more on the teacher's qualification.

steph
after u gone thru all these liao then u write instruction manual. then i can use ur "wu lin mi ji" to refer to when x starts the new little wings in jan2011
coz we have the same setup leh: NEW cc, little wings, half day etc etc

steph, juz to let u know. lastime i visited a cc at geylang area, the cc insist tht my girl is on diapers when she joined coz they said it take 2mths for her to settle down . thereafter, then they help her to toilet!
at that time, my girl already diaperless, so i dint consider tht cc! i tot it was a very crapy reason. the teachers juz lazy to bring the toilettrained kids to the loo

steph,
Ya loh, not bad woh, at least can feel her sincerity. Much better than what I got from HR's principle :-( Yesterday, a few of the teachers whom I am close to talked to me, and asked me don't transfer HR to other school, cos they said no matter what happened or what the prinicle and the senior teacher had said/written to me, it doesn't affect the teachers' love towards HR, and they still love HR very much. I was very touched loh, but really, it's no U-turn already :-(

steph: i hope R get well soon, cough can take some time to heal completely, u must take gd care of urself too!

but i mus warn u, not to 'feedback /complain' so much hor, i scare they 'blacklist' Z! u never know wat , right?

kitsune, ntuc is such a big co, i believe they hav PR professional attending/replyin to parents complaints. coz they are scare of negative comments or legal issues.

kitsune,
u r right. Then again, my email to them was not harsh nor complaint manner. Is just for their feedback & improvement. Be it a pcf cc or branded cc, i believed all childcare centres should adhere to their centre policy & mission, to do what they said(promised) they'll do.
p/s: sometimes it's the people (in this case, the teachers) that's beyond our control lah:p

kitsune,
I'm half-way through the book "Raising Your Spirited Child". I find it rather useful cos it helps us to identify our child's temperament as well as our own so we find a way to handle their demands and our own expectations.

Now I know B is TRULY spirited cos he scored with flying colours when I went through the checklist. In addition, he's also an extrovert - he draws his energy from other people. He's the happiest when he's around people, he needs to talk to think, he needs to express himself all the time whether he's playing, eating, watching TV, reading, etc. Problem is I'm the complete opposite, I'm an introvert who needs quiet time to relax and I need my personal space to survive but unfortunately, I'm just as intense and persistent as B but I'm on the mild side for other traits. Our combination is a total disaster becos we react differently to the same situation, we're on the opposite ends of a pole. A lot of effort is required on my end to try and see his point of view and understand his emotions. I can see a verrrrrrry long road ahead but at least improvements can be made if I try hard enough.

From what you've shared previously, I think Raeanne is spirited but an introvert. She may need more quiet time to unwind and think before she can absorb what's happening and be willing to co-operate. I highly recommend you to borrow the book from the library or buy it if you want cos it contains lots of real scenarios that we face everyday and practical advice on what we can do to improve their behaviour.

We can't change their temperament cos it's biological and neurological but we can change the way we deal with their behaviour to bring out the best in them and help them understand how to control their own emotions to prevent frequent outbursts. As parents, we also need to learn how to deal with our own temperament before we can deal with our spirited kids.

Having said all that, I have to confessed I whacked B real bad yesterday cos he wet 3 pairs of pants continuously, refused his dinner and basically pushed all my buttons in the wrong way. I'm still struggling to find a balance and I'll be implementing some of the methods in the book from today onwards. Wish me luck! I need lots of it...

aqua
you mean got some cc can dont let ur gal wear diapers and accept the fact she's toilet trained and will bring her go toilet?
coz i heard many CCs insist on wearing diapers leh

kam
how about the setup at HR's cc?

pixel

re toilet training
my gal joined her cc at 18 mths & her 2 teachers (eng and chinese)suggested that she go diaperless 3 mths before she turned 2 yo. It took 1 - 2 wks before she was completely toilet trained. However she still wears diapers at night.

yvonne
good luck!!!
its really a useful book for you huh?
btw, there are more books which lets you find out your personality (more indepth) and your child AND your hb so that you all can work towards a mutual understanding.
i think got like eg 6-8 types kind? im sure there are more (detailed) or less (brief) but if you are keen to know more about how to cope with different personalities after this book, can try these books

but i forgot which book i read has such stuff liao but ever came across 8 different types for parent - child paring

pixie,
u dun need my instruction manual lah. Is all SOP de. I am sure u'll come out your own very soon & a much better one than mine! remb to share with me ok?hee..

aqua,
i can understand how u felt on the toilet training. Is true to a certain extent that some cc teachers are just plain lazy, they dun wanna take the responsibility & go extra mile to toilet train the child when majority of the children in class are not toilet trained yet. Then again, there are still some teachers who is willing to go the extra mile & really needed alot of patient to carry out this task on behalf of the parents.

For R, thanks! He has been coughing for almost 2wks liao
seen doc twice & given lotsa medication leh but mostly same medicine.
His medicine prescription were always:
FLUIMUCIL (in sachets pack) for phlegm
MUCOSOLVAN + PREDNISOLONE for phlegm
RHINATHIOL ET VENTOLIN for cough
POLARAMINE SYRUP for running nose
saw him take so much medicine every day i oso heartpain

Re: blacklist Z
oh ya i thought of that too but i wasn't hostile in my email to them so ok lah

pixie,
Yah, it's a useful book for me cos what they mention in the book is exactly what B does! The children described in most parenting books do not fit B cos he doesn't behave in the "normal" way most of the time. But fortunately or unfortunately his crazy behaviour is captured in this book so it teaches me how to deal with it.

You really need to have a spirited kid to understand what I'm talking about
I don't mean it in a bad way cos lots of people have given me advice on how to deal with B, it's not that I have not tried but the usual methods don't work well with him. You really have to live with him to understand.

steph
so the little wings let Z dun wear diapers or not?

aiyah, x is only half trained leh...
he still cannot poo in toilet bowl ley. that day he poo-ed and grabbed the back of his pants (to avoid the poo from falling down) and kept calling grandma for help! so farni

pixie,
Think Aqua was saying the other way round - that g is already toilet trained for the day but the teachers insisted she has to wear diaper for the first 2 months.

What do you mean by the setup at the cc? In what sense?

Yvonne,
Wish you the very very best of luck!!! Think youa are right, if you can't change him, then you have to try changing yourself, at least to the extend you don't feel it's too strees for yourself.

Like Luca suggested, think we should arrange another outing leh. I want to see all the todds. I still remembered how I talked to B and how he smiled to me handsomely when we were at the gogobambini.

Kam/Prataqueen, no more slot this sunday cuz the class is full, 12 pax, must be very messy! that means i will be seeing Luvv only this Sunday. Kam, i'm not sure whether you need to call the marine parade branch then?

pixie, finally your ms kicks in, have u announced your pregnancy to your colleagues?

steph, do you have iron deficiency? cuz i remembered the GP told me that if menses felt dizzy then your iron is not sufficient. If not then might be not enuff rest due to no sleep last night.

yvonne, you got our support here ok! are you taking care of him full time now? sorry cant remember whther you are working or sahm..

Yvonne, thanks for sharing. I am going out later so may just buy the book. Sigh, I whacked raeanne too. I get more impatient by evening time cos tired of her nonsense already. :p

pixie, she was toilettrained ard18mths, when we visit the cc, she already21mths, cant be so stupid, go backtrack wear diapersagain? she hate wearing diapers, even now, nite time, i wan let her wear as 'protection', she refuse.
the cc incharge juz turned me off lah...

steph, i juz wan tell u, prednisolone is a kind of steriod. pls dun let R take it for long term.

aqua,
i think it depends on the kid too. cos for my girl although is she toilet trained i will still let her wear diapers first when she starts school, cos actually it's quite common for kids to not want to let strangers bring them to the toilet. i rather she wear diapers and get comfortable with the school and the teachers first. rather than she get accidents all the time cos she dun want to say.

after she is comfortable with the teachers then i will tell her that she needs to tell teacher when she needs to go toilet.