(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Prata queen,
Yes, mylvera is right! You don't have to stay in hospital to get HL. I never stayed either. I think as long as the leave stretch to 1 wk, gynae will give HL. Anything less than that, will be MC I think.

Mylvera,
Oh, your coy is like that? My coy don't bother. Since 1 mth HL, I never returned to work until I finished 3 mths' ML (left 1 mth ML to clear). So I was away from work for straight 4 mths. No issue for me coz they got a temp to cover me and when I came back, I was ready to transfer to another dept.

mylvera, HL no need to be hospitalized, then may I know what is the difference between HL and MC? I mean, when will gynae issue MC, when to issue HL?

According to MOM, maternity leave starts once you deliver unless you opt to start earlier. Do you mind helping me ‘plan’?

Here’s my initial plan:-
- Likely to deliver on 10 Sept although EDD is 19 September
- Should I start clearing annual leave on 3rd wk of August & commence maternity leave on 1 Sept?
- Once I come back from maternity leave, it is likely end Dec 2010 or Jan 2011. thus have to clear leave BEFORE I go on maternity leave. Company policy – can c/f only 5 days.

thanks a lot!

Krystle

Missed your post. Ok, noted that if long leave = HL, if 1 or 2 days leave = MC. Last time the ML was only 3 mths but you could take 4 mths because of HL?

prata_queen,
You are doing such a great job **clap clap clap**.

$1300 is within the normal range, and don't have to rush to pick up the kids, quite good woh.

If you can accept to have a live-in maid, then why not? We will sure won't have a maid, no matter how tired I am, I would never want a maid.

Krystle,
Eh, you forgot ah, your coy's benefits are generally much better than ours one woh :p

prata queen,
is there a reason u hv to boil soup and cook rice in the morning everyday? i know some ppl believe in fresh food everyday.
for me, i boil one big pot of stock every wk or every few days. i freeze them in individual servings and only take out one serving for each meal.
even for rice i cook abt 4-5 servings each time and freeze in individual portions.
so that helps to save preparation time.

if i want to cook dinner fast i either cook noodle soup where everything just throw into the pot and boil or steam everything, pre-cooked rice and food together shd only take 5-8mins. Dinner can be done in 15mins.

I do whatever washing up i can while waiting for the steaming to be done. E.g the bowl used to soak the vege, the knife/chopping board etc. So i only left the one cooking pot and the serving bowl/utensils to be washed later.

as for the dining floor and table, can u lay newspapers on the floor before dinner? then after dinner use the cloth and sweep all the mess from the table onto the newspaper first, wrap up the newspaper and throw everything away.

Kam, nope, we are totally averse to having a live in maid. I dun tink I know how to handle these smart maids. N I tink maids nowadays are too smart for us. Even 12 year old boy can be sexually abused, the case where the grandma caught the maid performing oral sex on the boy. My colleague who just gave birth hires a Singaporean live in nanny for $1k, maid to do house work/assist nanny, and install CCTV to watch both the nanny and the maid. She brings a laptop/router to office to monitor the situation at home cos my company security system blocks virtually everything. Its an overkill to me but I can totally understand her fears.

Grumpus, I dun have an answer to tat but I guess fresh soup tastes nicer? Haha. But how do you store the frozen stock? In Tupperware or plastic bags? Do you also freeze the soup ingredients like potato / carrot? My gal eats the potato / carrots with her rice so if the texture changes after being frozen, she may reject.

I didn’t know rice can be frozen. Is the taste different?

I do the same, while steaming between 6.30 to 7pm before #1 comes home, I wash everything up. But even then, there is a lot of washing to be done after the dinner. Then still cut fruits after dinner cos my gal has been falling ill so I try to cut an apple or pear or banana for her.

The newspapers on the floor is a good idea!

prata queen,
i store my stock in sandwich size ziplock bags, so dun need to wash also :p
i dun freeze the soup ingredients but i dun think it shd change the texture, u can try out lor see if yr girl reject.
yes! rice can be frozen too! after re-steaming, it tastes exactly the same to me. only need to re-steam abt 5 mins. i hv even re-steamed it when frozen.

Prata queen,
Oh, are you aware that now ML is 4mths??? This is already happened since Aug 2008. So if include the 1 mth HL, it means I had 5mth of long leave. But have to come back after 3mths ML due to transfer of dept. :p

Here is my suggestion to your plan. This is what I did and I thought you could use it as a reference. Coz that time my EDD was 24 Sep and ended up delivered on 13 Sep.
1. Try to work out your leave backwards.
2. Since high chance you will deliver in mid Sep, so if you use 3 mths of ML first, so you will be coming back to work in mid Dec.
3. And since you still have some AL to clear, work backwards and use those AL to cover from mid Dec until Jan 1 so that you can go back to work next yr instead. Try not to use your AL before ML coz I think it is a waste.
4. If AL is not enough to cover from mid to end Dec, you can use a few days of the 4th mth ML to top up. Unless you don't mind going back to work in Dec.
5. If you want rest before mid-sep, I think you can try luck by asking HL from 3rd week of Aug onwards. Gynae normally will give week by week coz you go back for weekly review by 3rd tri. If he does not give, either you continue to work or use AL to cover.

So with the above strategy, I managed to work my way and gotten 1 mth HL before delivery, 3 mths ML after delivery + 10 days of AL (I cannot C/f). So I went back to work in the last week of Dec (w/o using my 4th mth ML).
Don't worry about the 4th mth ML. That one can use within 1 yr of your child's birth so use slowly, ok?

Kam,
Ya hoh, I forgot... But hey my coy does not allow C/F of leave! One bad thing.
Coz now this yr I got too much leave... Feel like asking to C/F... Maybe will speak to my boss later.

<font color="ff0000">prata_queen</font>

How and where to hire a local live-in nanny??? I would be very interested to know! Can you please help to ask your colleage? Thanks, thanks!

hi all, #1 is asleep so here i am.

Grumpus, sandwich size ziplock bags use once &amp; throw? I find it a little small. I forgot to add that I cook more soup than necessary so tat hubby and I can have some to go along with our tingkat dinner which is only rice and meat/veg. So ziplock might be too small. Unless I use 2 ziplock for 1 meal. Now I can still tahan waking up to make soup, but when #2 is born &amp; I have to wake up 3 hrsly to pump milk, I will try to freeze soup during weekend. Thanks for suggestion.

Krystle, yep, aware that ML is 4 mths. During my #1 days, I wasn’t working so no experience on how to best utilise ML.

Just checked MOM website “The last four weeks can be taken flexibly with the consent of the employer, and has to be completed within 12 months of the birth of the child.”.

So to summarise, i should start taking ML only on the day I give birth. Take 12 weks ML continuously &amp; leave the last 4 weeks to be used within 12 mths of brith. After 3 months of ML, it should be mid December and I can clear AL before end Dec. Sorry to be repeating but just to be sure.

Kam, my colleague’s live in nanny is only for the day time. She goes back at 6pm. The nanny was actually her part time cleaner for a few years. She liked her/found her trustworthy and so make her an offer of $1k to travel daily to her house to take care of bb btn 8am and 6pm. So its not realli 100% live in arrangement.

Is anyone going to the Sesame Street show at Indoor Stadium in Sep? Actual dates are 10, 11 &amp; 12 Sep. Or have anyone been to any recent shows with your tods? Did you buy a separate ticket for them? The Sesame St Show states that kids above 2 year old need a ticket but I know B is definitely not going to sit on his own cos he won't be able to see. Thought of buying only 1 ticket for myself and let him sit on my lap...not sure if Indoor Stadium is strict about this.

was reading the MOM website again. is it the last 4 or 8 weeks that can be taken within 12 mths of birth?

"The last four weeks can be taken flexibly with the consent of the employer, and has to be completed within 12 months of the birth of the child."

"Where there is a mutual agreement with her employer, an employee can flexibly take the extended eight weeks (9th to 16th week) of maternity leave over a 12 month period after the child's birth. The employee can consume an equivalent of eight weeks' worth of working days flexibly, up to a maximum of 48 days."

prata queen,
yup, use once and throw. one sandwich size ziplock can store abt 3 rice bowls of stock. if too small can use bigger ziplocks mah, ziplock got so many size

Yvonne, I thought of bringing RaeAnne but I think it's still too 'cheem' for her. Would rather bring her on duck tour or her first movie first. Live shows at the shopping malls will be good enough for her now since her attention span is so short. :p

Yvonne,
For the Thomas the Train show, we bought an extra ticket for HR, and it's blooooody expensive. He wanted to sit on his own seat, but the kid in front of him kept on moving and blocking his view, so he sat on daddy's lap throughout the show, ticket wasted.

Lesson learnt. So for the Disney on Ice show, we didn't buy extra ticket for him. No one checked on his age.

Both shows are at Indoor stadium. So, think you can save the money lah, buy 1 ticket enough liao. Think B is about the same size as HR, so should be okay. To be safe, you carry him when entering the stadium, so that he looks more like a 2 yo :)

We are not interested in this show, cos we all don't like Sesame Street (no offence) :)

Enjoy the show, ya!

morning all,

Re: pedided shoes

those interested please email to my frd [email protected] by this week... thanks.

those who wana collect from SK, can do so from my house. I will courier it from JW to my hse (since I got 3 pairs from her). I will bear the courier charges but collection strictly at my house lor... can?

today potty trained x again.
finally 10mins ago he was frantically pulling down his pants, and we hurried to the potty. he downloaded whole lot of pee!
aiyah so happy. i had to "prep talk" him early in the morning with a potty book. like drama teacher like that still have to act out how wonderful sitting on potty is.
after the potty pee, gave him sticker onto his tee shirt

YAHOO!!!
(1st time but still, happy lei)

mylvera
i dont mind collecting the shoes from you and meetup with the west mummies at jurong east
what say you, west mummies?

or those collecting at sk i can help to collect them from jurong east too

mylvera
opps, yes i meant that for those wanting to collect at sk i can help to collect the whole lot from jurong then pass to u all at sk....

tongtong
harnor, red packet lor...they sure need the $$ coz wedding is a big expense

mylvera
if i am, then i have to be more involved - which i am not very keen ley...i need to run many BPs to build up customer base first then can open online shoppe

not buying the shoes :p

ok! then i dont need to think of what to buy, just give $$, hehe. actually why i thought of buying a gift was because i told my neighbour that i am not attending, so she doesnt need to send me inv card liao. so i tot maybe give her son a gift.

Mylvera, thanks, where is your house? I know pixie's one is near rivervale mall. Btw what is the exchange rate urcfriendcis charging? I remember 1 spree organiser said it is cheaper to order all pedipeds originals in 1 box then the flex in another carton to minimise dead space. Cos the boxes take up a lot of space n they have 2 different size shoe boxes.

kitsune,

she charging 1.45. if higher will adjust. she will try to split the originals from the flex provided enuf orders to go thro

my hse is at near jalan kayu area.. can proceed to jalan kayu for roti prata

steph, yea myvlera is right, the neighbour is the parent who asked me whether i wanna attend la, her son is getting married. but hor, i only talk to their parents daily ( cuz my son wants to go play with their granddaughter everyday) and not the son leh, so dunno him personally :p

you know now i'm very scared when i bring S back to home because he will wanna go to neighbour's house to play with the gal's toys, think he is bored with his own toys already. Everyday says go mei mei house, go mei mei house, hai.

pixie, alone with X can stay at home also ba?

tongtong
today whole day at home liao so i thought since its TGIF and im all alone with him can bring him out for a short while...
most prob going to the mall....

tongtong,
Time to buy new toy for S? Or have to think of more things to do with him? Or he just simply wants to socilise with other kids?

i think z sleeps the same time as your #1 &amp; #2
if i remember correctly, u put #2 to bed at 8? 8.30? then followed by #1 isnt it?

If u gotta pick one phone..which one would it be &amp; why?
Nokia E72 Qwerty Keypad
Nokia X6 16GB Touch Screen (No Keypad)
Nokia 6700 Slide Normal Keypad

steph
no E72. hb and boss uses this and its not very good actually.
GPS sux, camera got prob (in both cases), hangs also

pixie,
really ah? but Cnet gave E72 pretty good reviews woh.
Hmm...X6 is currently most ex in retail but is more suitable for the music lovers.
6700...outdated:p

kam,
no prob, u love your iphone mah:p