(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kam, actually S has so many toys already, yea thinking of more things to do with him, like yesterday i insisted not bringing him over, he pestered and pestered, and i finally brought out the needle and thread and sew with him together. after a while , he said "mei mei" again. but seeing him playing with mei mei , holding hands when walking home, kinda sweet!

steph, wah so cute! really need that boots meh?

Kam,
Thanks for the info! Think I'll just buy 1 ticket then since he won't be able to see much if he sat on his own. B loves Sesame St, watches it every morning so I don't mind bringing him lor

Pixie,
I've been practicing toilet-training with B since his June holidays began....still got long way to go. So far he has never pooed in the potty, always did it when he has the diaper on or in his training pants
As for peeing, sometimes he will say he need to pee pee every 15 mins but it's only a few droplets...sigh! If I tell him to wait a while longer, he will pee into his pants...don't know what to do. It's not good to pee so frequently right, might get UTI if I'm not wrong.

tongtong,
is cheap so i bot it loh. When Z saw it just now, he was beaming from ear to ear & quickly try it on

hey, S hinting u for a sibling woh!

Yvonne,
Z also not toilet-trained yet. He is starting cc next month so i will ask the teacher to help & hope maybe thru peer pressure, he'll master it eventually. I am not gan cheong cos i think when he is ready, he'll just do it the right way

jialatz
talk about starting school, intend to let x starts N1 too but havent even go register at PCF...now they are close for holidays...winner
in this case looks like he can start only in aug...

Long time nvr come into this thread... Howz everybody coping with your little ones???

Now I'm bz betting on World Cup... kekeke... Bad mummy!

Does anyone knows if we can start our kid 1yr ahead for P1? meaning join the 07 kids? What's the cutoff for MOE???

yes, i enquired with MOE before too. A child born on 1 Jan 2008 can choose to join the 2007 or 2008 cohort. Those born between 2 Jan 2008 and 31 Dec 2008 have to join the 2008 cohort.

The only opportunity to skip levels is during streaming at P4 (or is it P3?).

I have a boy also born in Jan 08 .

And would like to ask for advise.

1. Bottle
I was reading the papers this morning n apparently toddlers should b weaned off the bottle at 2 yrs? Has any of ur kids been weAned? How to do it if kid insists??? Myboy still bottle feeding at least 3 time a day le. Sometimes i notice he gets v cranky n once I give him a bottle of milk he seems much happier.

2. Pacifier
my boy still takes pacifier before he sleeps. Is it true they will jus outgrow it or must I take drastic moves to go 'cold turkey' ???

3. Potty training
haiz trying v hard to potty train him too sometimes he will tell us he wanna poo n will poo in potty but most of time by time he say he oredi poo poo Liao.

Sorry so many qn but I really feel q inadequate at how I haven't trained my boy yet. N sometimes when people see him with the pCifier or still wearing diapers they'll comment that he seems a bit old to be still wearing diapers or taking paci. Urgh...

hi MomMe

1. Bottle
My Jan 08 gal is still drinking milk from the milk bottle. 7am, 1pm and 10pm, 210ml each time. I'm happy to let her continue as i dun see it as something negative (unlike pacifier which may affect teeth development)

2. Pacifier
I'm not sure cos my gal does not take it.

3. Potty traning
Childcare and us agreed on a timing to start potty training @ 22 mths if i recall correctly. Key is to be consistent at home and at school (or at nanny/grandparents house).

My gal is only potty trained in the day tho there are occassional accidents. She wears the diaper to sleep in the afternoon and at night.

Childcare advised that when a child can verbally convey intentions, the child is ready to be toilet trained

Prata queen
Do u have any idea when they should be weaned off the bottle?

For ptty training, just start by not wearing diapers?

Guess I got to stArt somewhere. Initially jus tot it will come v naturally but at looks of it I guess got to step in n get him off these things.

Hi mummies, just drop by to say hi. ;-) A little brid was telling me that grumpus and prata_quen are pregnant. So I come in to say CONGRATS. ;-)))

Pixel: Baby dust to you.

momme:
You need to wean off the bottle if your chid has problem with language development. Other than that, I don't think we should wean them off yet. ;-)
If you are concern about bottle weaning, then give mild to your boy in a cup instead. ;-)

Toilet training: You should only do when your child is ready, but you can take initiative by train him at home and see how he react to it.
Don't be anxious about what other people things. I personally don't see any 16 years old kids wear diaper. So relax if you push too hard, your boy would refuse to poo/pee in the potty and thats the worst thing we want it.
When I trained my girl, I stayed home for 2 days and let her diaperless at home. Amazingly she is trained immediately. ;-) I don't like those training pants coz i think it will lengthen the process.

Thanks grumpus!

It's hard to not be affected sometimes when others question n makes mr wonder if I haven't put in enough effort.
Ya, we did try the potty few months back but my boy grew to dislike sitting on it.. So I stopped.

Congrats prata queen!
Err not sure if it's your #2 coming but do treasure ur personal time with #1 coz once u deliver it's gonna be v hard to give #1 that kinda attention. I jus delivered to twins last mth so sometimes I pity my boy coz no time for him , he'll bring his toys to the baby room n wait for us to play with him. :p
n on top of that these peoples comments abt potty training urgh!!!

Hi MomMe

In my humble opinion, I do not think there’s a fixed age where the toddlers must be weaned off the bottle. Is there any special reason (other then comments from others) why you want to wean him off asap? Actually, I am happy my gal likes to drink from the bottle becos this is no-spill & fuss-free as compared to drinking from a cup. She finishes her bottle of milk in 10 min from a milk bottle, but will probably take ages to drink if from a cup. & not to mention, the milk will turn cold.

For potty training, I would think a simple basic potty will do. Preferably deep enough so the urine doesn’t splash out hehe. The Ikea one seems very shallow so we didn’t get that. Mine costs less than $10 bucks. Altho its troublesome for the adults to have to pour the urine away, I find my gal prefers potty to the toilet bowl. The potty is more accessible and can be moved around whereas the toiletbowl is further away & by the time she gets to the toilet, the urine may have already been ‘released’.

Yep, just start by not wearing diapers, & every 15 min, ask the child “do you need to pass urine” or “do you need to pass motion”? try to be consistent (parents/grandma/nanny) in the terms used & childcare advised not to use baby terms like “ng ng or sssh sshh”. Or encourage him to sit on the potty even if he says there’s no urine. After he’s done the deed in the potty, praise him 

Thanks for well wishes. Yes, I agree I will have much less time for #1 once #2 is born. And I have no full-time maid, & #2 will go to infant care at 5 mths. I am keeping my fingers crossed on how hubby and I alone are going to cope once we bring both home from childcare/infantcare.

You just delivered twins? WOW, CONGRATULATIONS! What’s your childcare arrangement like for #1 and twins?

Blessedbaby

Thanks for well wishes. I’m now 27 weeks 

*** Today won’t be able to come in to post much. All big bosses from HK are here for the week.

MomMe,
Wow, you delivered to a pair of twins! Congrates!!! Are you Exxxxe on FB?

Bottle - I agree with the rest. I see no hurry to wean my boy off the bottle now. To me, as long as he wants to, he can have his bottle till he finally weans himself off it.

Pacifier - can't comment much cos my boy didn't take it. But I think yes, weaning off pacifier will be more drastic. But some mummies shared that that just cut a hole on the pacifier, her boy from then on just didn't ask for it. Depending on how attach your boy is bah.

Toilet training - my boy is under-going toilet train at his childcare now. We are not able to do much at home as we usually don't stay home during weekends. To me, no hurry also, he will be all ready on that one fine day.

hi MomMe

the reason why people say kids should wean off bottles is because kids associate the bottle as something they grew up with (comfort). if parents still gives the bottle to the child, he will associate himself as still a "baby". by 2yo, your boy should graduate from "baby" to "toddler" liao hence this rationale.
i didnt know that until i saw this being explained on TV by a child psychologist expert.
up to you to take it or not but to a child, bottle = me, myself, & baby (i/o me, myself & all grown up)
rule of thumb is you can feed your boy milk x times a day but must be from teat-free bottles

pacifier
i weaned my boy off this when he was around 16-18 mths old. he forgot abt it 1 day so we just hide it and it just got "erased" from his memory

potty trained
im also trying hard, but really, up to 3yo your child can still be on diapers one, no rush till your boy is really ready

congrats on your twins! idential or fraternal??
boy/boy, girl/girl, or boy/girl?
its rare for someone to have twins naturally so its really a blessing!

i want to share good news!
no, im not preggy.............. *hiaks*

but my boy finally can say "yes" on friday evening....

so now you all know how "slow" he is in speech liao hor...

Congrats momme! Can understand how u feel, my gal was 22 months when i delivered no. 2 n my mil, mum kept harping on toilet training when I am trying to just cope with a new baby. Quite irritated too. In the end, we also just started toilet training proper when she was 28 months plus cos she refuse to wear diapers one day. But she still wears diapers for nights.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats to all the Preggies..enjoy being preggies. ;)</font>

I got a few qns about making soup stocks..
1) The ingredients to make soup stocks (i.e fish, ckn, pork), aft cooking throw or froze tgt with the soup?

2) If throw, then wen u wanna use yr stock tat time, you just heat up and throw in new ingredients to bring it over the fire?

3) If dun throw, freeze it with the soup.. then the ingredients inside like fish, ckn, pork.. still can eat wen u decided to thaw and use the stock?

yvonne,
usually my soup stock ingredients i'll throw then freeze just the liquid, cos i boil my stock for so long i think the ingredients no more nutrients already. when i want to use i just heat up the stock and add whatever other ingredients in.

hello mummies...tiring weekend, bestie's wedding and father's day celebration...hee can rest fully today.

MomMe,
congrats to your twin's arrival, since they only arrive last month, i don't think you have time / energy to potty train your boy ba? take it easy ba, he will be potty trained eventually...just ignore the others' comments...

thanks for the well wishes.
Ya jus delivered last mth to identical twin gals. My hub has uncles who r twins but then again I read that identical twins jus happen by chance. Came as a shock la coz I wasn't even planning ..:p preg

Prata queen: I have a maid to take care of my boy. Getting another maid soon coz I figure that getting extra maid same cost as sending boy to cc. And even then I dun think 1 maid can handle the 2 bb all by herself.
Praying v hard this arrangement works out. Coz it's q impossible for mr to stop work now.

No other reason why I wanna stop the bottle. It's jud the news article n the comments that got mr thinking.

When I was expecting the twins, I was like going on auto pilot coz super tired so I left my boy to my maid n hub. So with all the comments recently I felt v guilty lo. :p

Kam: ya I'm the 'e' on fb. Hee

Pauline
ya lo... I wonder why poke choose to say such things when another bb arrives le

pixie
*baby dust to you* ;)
twins seem fun but it's v tiring. The 9 mths was v stressful honestly. Coz twin preg got much more potential complications n not to mention all the swelling n nauseas is double.

Pixie

Oh, identical twins means no genes involved? If i had twins @ 1st pregnancy, that would mean i can close shop already haha.

MomMe

is infant care/childcare/nanny within your options? You got an adult to supervise the maid with the babies, or install CCTV?

Momme, I think it is because when the baby arrives, they feel that no. 1 has been upgraded so no longer a baby, thus must be toilet train lor. Human psychology bah. They dun realise that it is easy to say, difficult to execute. In the beginning, I let mil look after no. 1 in the day for a few weeks, she also cannot toilet train no. 1 cos she got no regular poo time. Hee.

Mylvera, I see. Think I will pass cos this week is already last week of school hols, during school term weekends too rushed. Difficult to ask hubby to pick up shoes from jalan kayu. :p

Prata queen
prob get my mil or dad to cone over. But jus to watch the maid. Infant care q ex le. I did the sums cheapest is still to get second maid.

Mylevra,
dun think so.. Hee

MomMe,
get 2nd maid might have more problems with just one maid alone. Good that there's someone coming around to watch them.

prata_queen
yup, identical twins are by chance only coz its 1 egg split into 2 within the 1st 8 days after fertilization.
the other kind - fraternal twins, means 2 eggs....this one is by genes

harnor, i was wishing for twins too so i can close shop in 1 pregnancy hohoho

MomMe, good tat you have somebody you trust to watch over the maid, if not all the time, at least for the main part of the day when you and hubby are at work.
You can consider letting #1 go to childcare since he’s already 2.5 yo, so tat 1 maid can take care of 1 baby. Not to mention tat #1 will benefit from interaction wif other children &amp; learn through play. When it comes to childcare (unlike infant care), there are many more choices (more centres) and the fees are usually much lesser.

Can I check which pump you are using? I am considering buying Medela Freestyle from Tan Leng Leng thread but still in 2 minds.

Mommies, any feedback about Medela Freestyle? I shouldn’t procrastinate any longer cos the pre-order from US takes 4-6 weeks. What is holding me back is, this is going to be my last child &amp; investing $500 for a breastpump doesn’t seem like a good idea. I TBF for 8.5 mths on avent manual pump for #1 hehe.

Prataqueen, I am using free style. No regrets, I love it. This may be my last baby too but I still bought it from spree. Used it for 6 months plus Liao.

Took a few hours off to bring my girl to Dr Keoy. She caught a flu over the weekend. Fever subsided on Sunday afternoon without any med. Left with runny nose and cought. This morning her nanny called to say she hear her wheezing while taking nap. So we delayed no more. Immediately brought her to see her PD. Turned out it's NOT wheezing, the sound the nanny heart was from the blocked nose. Phew! Given med for cough and phlegm, cold and the nose drop, use as needed, esp to ease her discomfort during sleeping. Her PD said probably take another 3-5 days to recover. Think she caught the bug from her brother. But her brother is a strong little man leh, recovering from his cough after 1 week without any med. Poor girl is not strong enough to fight with the bug yet.

prata_queen,

No. No claims for children. But it's okay. We have to bring our kids to Dr Keoy, cos only trust him. Imaging within 3 hours, I drove to pick up my daughter, then to Novena, then sent my daughter back to her nanny, and back to office.

Kam,
hope XY recover soon! She will be just fine, like her big brother, a strong fighter too!
So, the blocked nose, cough &amp; phlegm is caused by the bug? Z &amp; R started coughing since last week with little phlegm, no flu/running/blocked nose though. Now still on/off, not sure whether wanna bring both see his PD...
Hopefully R can recover on his own w/o any med this week as i've made appt for his due mmr jab next tue.

he's really so good ah. too bad out of the way for us (stay pasir ris).

good you can drive. i got license but no guts.

hope XY recovers soon.

Prata queen
my boy was attending playgroup since Jan but I notice he keeps falling sick . Dunno whether wanna continue coz if he fall sick scared may spead to the gals. Am actually thinking of letting him go cc fr next yr instead when he turns 3.
Hopefully by then he's immunity system is stronger.

I do agree kids that go cc tend to be more independent n social.

pixie,
u can wish for twins this time too

prata queen,
me too, got licence but no guts 2 drive, else i think its amazing lor, drivin the kids around to anywhere i want to. ;p

Steph and prata_queen,
Thanks! She is still very active, Dr Keoy said she doesn't look sick :) She just becomes very cranky when sleeping.

Steph,
HR also just cough. No phlegm even. Just a little bit of runny nose. He coughed for 1 week already, still a little bit. If the cough doesn't bother them at all, then no need to see PD.

prata_queen,
Dr Keoy is good, for us. Not everyone likes him though. Like we always say, finding a good doctor is not easy, esp for the kid, once we think he is good enough, don't want to change liao loh.

Prataqueen, I ordered through another dec09 mummy who was getting it for herself. If not, I would order from tll too. I got my motherlove supplements through her though I sold all Liao. :p

luca, exactly, no need to depend on hubby.

kam, i use my regular family doc instead of pd cos (1) no good pd near me (2) the gp is an experienced old gentleman

Prataqueen, Luca, I am joining your no guts club. :p

momme, I also thinking of switching my gal to cc next year cos they r more independent. I dun want her to be the demanding princess of the house all the time. :p

Kam,
ok, i will monitor both till Wed &amp; see how. If R still coughing on/off next wk then he can't take his mmr jab

prata_queen, luca, kitsune,
why no guts? lack of practise driving or simply dun like to drive around, prefer to be chauffeur by hb? For me, i only no guts to drive up/down a circular steep narrow carpark...caused me dizzy spell. Another reason is unfamiliar route like the north/east side, me very poor in direction..haha
otherwise i am ok

kitsune,
I thought you drive?

Luca, prata_queen,
Ya lor, like steph said, driving is very easy leh, especially in Singapore. All the drivers are generally very polite. But hor, if hubby is in the car, he won't let me drive.