(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

asked my frd liao...

she tinks that the shipping shd be ard $5-10 but really not very sure cos 1st time buying ...

domestic shipping is US$5 n we are dividing this by the number of shoes? (capped to mayb 10? so tat we wun get hit by GST?)

ok.. hv cfm with my frd ... 2 collection point hahaha

SK n JW

Luvv,

sure... still got time.. cos my frd is emailing the coy for some issues.

Mylvera,
You mention that domestic shipping within US is US$5, but I think int'l shipping will be more than that.

I did a rough estimation at vpost usa. A 5kg box from US to SGP is around S$60.

hi mommies

i'm back to post during lunch time.

to those mommies ttc, jia you. Its a tough journey but only need to strike 1 more time then can close shop since this will be at least our #2.

need some advice. My colleague due soon has taken MC for the past 2 weeks. Tat's already 10 working days. She's 40 & maybe tat's y doctor has given her MC.

I am curious under what circumstances gynae will give 1 long stretch of MC. I pai sei to use up all 14 days, unless towards the end i really can't tahan.

my ML will start 1 Sept & will probably start clearing leave from 3rd week of August.

prata_queen,

usually gynae quite generous with MC for pregnant mums. Some gave longer MC due to serious complication of pregnancy like preterm labor or minor case like high/low blood pressure, frequent BH (braxton hicks) aka false contraction, backache etc which causes discomfort & not able to work (usually the mummy complain buay tahan)hee..

If u've an understanding boss, he/she should not mind u using up all 14days of MC de but of course if u feel ok to work till u pop, that will be good to most companies lah. So u'll be expecting a september baby boy? EDD when?

hi steph

my gynae does not offer MCs unless i request. when i request, she is perfectly ok to give MC for the day of the check up. but normally, to avoid taking too much MC, i will take the afternoon MC onli instead of the whole day.

however i have not sounded her out about giving 1 long stretch like 2 weeks.

like you say, if i can work till close to 40 wks, i will. but now at 26 wks, i'm already easily tired.

so far already taken 5 days MC lei...and somedays of unofficial time off for gynae visits. eg i leave office at 3pm to reach gynae clinic by 3.30pm for my appt.

yep my edd is 19 Sept but likely to deliver a week earlier based on #1's experience.

prata_queen,

For my case, same like u. My gynae did not give me 1 long stretch of MC cos everything is well & baby's growth on track so nothing to worry, that's why no MC unless i don't feel well to work cos i fainted on the MRT platform before when i was about 5/6mths preggy due to low blood pressure. So gynae did mentioned, if i dun feel well for work, i may look for him to issue an MC.

Beginning of 3rd trimester is likdat, easily tired cos u have #1 to take care too ya? I've always walked alot (active person) so i guess for me i don't feel easily tired & my #2 was small at birth (#2 weigh 2.66kg). At how many weeks when u delivered #1? I gave birth to #1 at 37wks & my #2 at 35wks. #2 arrived so much earlier than what i expected although i know is gonna be earlier.

krystle,

domestic is US$5 for the whole order not 1 pair of shoes leh

i kaypoh went to peep at 1 spree.. the int'l shipment for toddler's shoes is ard S$7. hence my frd says should be ard $5-10

hi steph, wow, fainted on MRT platform? sounds dangerous. I utilised my 5 day MC tis yr mainly in April when my #1 was ill with fever. After 1 week, i succumbed to the virus as well. My gynae visits are mainly time off hehe

ya, tired cos have to cook for #1 after work. Hubby and my dinner is tingkat.

wow, your #2 is so early? any indication or special reason why so early? i am predicting #2 will arrive at the same time as #1 at 38-39 weeks.

is #2 usually earlier than #1?

prata_queen,
ya loh fainted..so drama. I was equally shocked too, just blackout on the edge of the platforms within sec. Luckily was at City Hall station, enclosed not outdoor platform otherwise i would have fell onto the tracks! Thank god i regained consciousness within minutes. The MRT staff still have to help me onto a wheelchair.

No symptom of labor nor special reason leh but #2 just can't wait.haha.. Gynae said i too active liao...walk too much but how can i just sit still right or in bed rest when i am well...& i've got #1 (he's not even 1YO when i was in my last trimester) to handle too.

by right #2 usually earlier than #1 (for me, yes)BUT there can be exception too. I think some mummies here, their #2 is either same time as #1 or later (per EDD or overdue >40wks)?

realli lucky didn't fall on the tracks.

strange ah, no symptoms of early labour yet it happened. like tat i also gotta be mentally prepared in case #2 decides to pop out early!

prata_queen,
My #1 and #2 were born at the exact same week, 37+weeks.

For both my pregnancies, I was very well. Tired was because have to take care of #1, but not too bad though.

hi kam

wat was both their weight? is your #1 heavier cos HR is a boy while #2 is a gal?

My gynae compared & said #2 (boy) is 50g heavier than #1 (gal) at 24 wks. But i'm taking it with a pinch of salt cos 50g difference is so minimal & could be well be inaccuracy in measurement.

prata_queen
actually like steph said, depends on your boss understanding or not

for my #1, i had morning sickness 16hours a day (remaining 8hours is sleeping so never vomit) for the first 5mths+, but my boss still ask me to come back and work even though i was very sick with all the vomitting. only 4th mth i can work from home once in a week...after much pleading from her to loan me a laptop from IT dept...
not understanding take mc oso no use the next day a lot of work to clear and do OT...rite

so if your boss is ok, then should be OK

pixie,
mine was full day sickness (morning & evening sickness) for the first 4mths+ for both pregnancy...can die le...so emotional..cried & complain to my mum & sis, how come other pple pregnancy can eat n eat n eat, no MS de, why mine so xin ku. Plus gotta eat an tai pills, making me so nauseous. Cannot imagine gg thru again IF for #3...erksss

I'm doing some "housekeeping" for the friends contact in FB. Can u advise whether they are the mummies here(their nick if possible)? Will remove them if u all also dunno them. Think a bit scary to let "stranger" to view my personal stuff ;) Thanks.

i) Audrey Ang
ii)Hazel 민지
iii)Jade Tan
iv) Jess Loh
v) Joy Irene Tan

prata_queen,
HR was 2.97kg at birth, while XY was 3.05 at birth. They were small when born but now both are at heavyweight level :)

pixie/steph,
Haha. Ya, I am one of the lucky ones! All my friends envy me a lot :)

steph
same here, every morning, afternoon, night...
only when i close my eyes to sleep, i'll stop vomitting
once i open my eyes and be awake, the vomitting starts.
i always marvel at how cunning my body is that can "switch off" the vomitting function when i go to sleep...always curse n swear hohoho

i have to endure 1more mth than u ah

i lost 10+ kg in the first 3mths. was so happy wahahhaha

but after the 5+ mths, all piled back + lots lots more *sad*

Steph & Pixie,
Me too!! Merlion day & nite for min 4mths (both pregnancy). This is one of the thing that turn me off to have #3. Haha, i was also thinking why other people eat well, sleep well & i so kelian, no appetite & having MS. Now even i see my maternity wear, i feel like puking. And the best part, if i happen to listen or see the "little nonya" drama show, i also have the MS feeling. Cos i was having #2 at that period, very xin ku but yet wanna watch that drama, haha ;)

mylvera & kam,
thanks for the verification of name & nick ;) They are too many MIA mummies liao & my memory is really failing me.

Btw, yunbb is looking good (Is she the one in her profile pix?) 2kids in a yr dun look hectic to her, haha!!

on the weight part, yes i agree, born small can catch up fast too!
my R(#2) born 2.66kg (premmie), now 11.5kg at 16mths!
however Z(#1) born 2.53kg, now 12kg nia but growing well

pixie,
wah lost 10+kg? were u slightly over-weight when u were pregnant? 10+kg is alot woh.
i lost only 3kg during 1st trimester but gained total 13.5kg for #1 pregnancy. Whereas #2 only gained total abt 12kg.

Mylvera, buangkok mrt is at sengkang mah? Lol, I also dun know. Anyway I prefer the non sale designs so not cheap leh. :p

pixie, ya morning sickness was a big turn off for me too. :p

prata queen, yes my no. 2 came later than no 1. About 5 days difference at 39 weeks n 1 day old.

pixie, your boss is mean. And its a 'she' somemore so she should be more understanding.

kam, my #1 is 2.8kg altho i gained 20kg. but i'm veri small size, 40kg (pre) and 60kg (jus b4 delivery).

pauline, i see. so not confirmed #2 will b earlier. But hopefully delivery is faster.

Janbb,
what do u do with all your maternity wear huh? keep in cold storage ah? i wanna put it up in WTS but so lazy to take pic...so time consuming. All are still so new & some from spring maternity but for the pants/shorts, i still wear them now...haha cos elastic band as i still have my flabby tummy:p eh, the laser u did can be done to lessen stretchmarks?hehe

Steph,
Most of my maternity wear are babydoll dresses & still collecting dust in my wardrobe, haha. Have passed some maternity wear from spring & perfect mum to some of my friends.

As for the stretchmark laser, you muz call up & check. I think as long willing to spend $$, sure got a way to reduce the stretchmark ;) The only lucky thing for me is i dun have any stretchmark so far, hohoho. Despite the lazy me only used up one tube of stretchmark cream in each pregnancy. Still rem i bot the cream from u last time. How time flies... my #2 is turning 1yo on 1st july ;)

Those of you who haf 2 children but no full-time maid. How do you cope on weekday evenings?

Currently with just #1, I leave work at 5.30pm (thick-skinned) and reach home by 6.30pm to collect tingkat dinner from my neighbour for hubby & myself. Rush to cook #1 dinner before hubby fetches her home by 7pm.

7pm, feed #1, eat my dinner concurrently, I wash the dishes while hubby amuse #1. By the time we finish the dishes & bathe #1, its 9plus.

When #2 is born, the moment I reach home I have to express milk, feed #2 breastmilk & cook for #1 once hubby fetches both home from childcare. How to cope???

Janbb,
yesterday i asked myself this qn, how great is the pigmentation on my face bothering me? i got no definite ans but i guess minimal & when i saw yr blog review on your laser...u mentioned got sharp pain, i chicken out (think twice). Then i looked at my stretchmarks, very obvious whitish silvery marks...looks ugly to me but no one sees (notice) so i am okay lah. Very contradicting aka mao dun hor...i'm not sure what i want...gotta think about it.

oh ya Jayna turning 1YO hor...so fast! You plan how to celebrate already?

prata_queen,
My #1 has his dinner at about 5.30pm at his school. After dinner, they bath him.

My #2 is at her nanny. She gets her dinner at about 6.15pm, then gets a quick wipe down also, sometimes bath.

We either have dinner outside (with 1 or 2 kids tagging along), or pack take away. HR gets to eat some of our food if he wants to.

When reach home, nothing else to do lor. Just entertain them until they bedtime. Sometimes HR has a quick wipe down if he perspires too much after playing/running around. And my girl sometimes get to eat some puree if I am hard working enough.

When I was still BFing my gal, I latched her to sleep. Then tucked HR to bed. Then I pumped before I go to bed.

steph
i was err 64kg before preggy, when i lost the 10+ kg, i was weighing ard 51-52kg?
then i gained all back, and went up to 83kg at the end of my pregger journey
no wonder my gynae kept scolding me say i gain too much weight

prata_queen
this one must ask kam. i think she is the only mummy with 2 kids but without help from outside (maid, grandparents etc)
i oso keen to know leh

pixie, u r rite!

kam, think in the Jan thread, you and i are most similar in circumstances.

- both #1 and #2 go to full day childcare/nanny
- FTWM
- no full time domestic helper (i haf once a wk helper 3 hrs)

For your children, their dinner is settled. My #1 childcare dun provide dinner. Infant care also doesn't i believe. So i have to cook for #1 and BF #2 when i get home. The cooking & washing up takes 1-2 hrs. Not to mention i still have to wash milk bottles & handwash #1 childcare uniform cos always very dirty. Then pack her school bag for the next day. Hubby bathes #1 cos now my tummy too big.

By the time i finsh the nightly routine, i m dead tired.

prata_queen,
**shake hand** But you are certainly a lot more hardworking than me. If I have to cook every day after work, then I think I am more or less dead by now :p Both their dinner are very well taken care of. While HR was at infant care, his teacher fed him porridge for dinner leh, at about 6pm. Then after dinner, they bathed him also. Almost all childcare centre don't provide dinner, mine one is an odd one, based on parents' request. Only need to top up $30 per month.

Ermmm, I am lucky, but I don't have a God to thank :)

prata_queen
you can take after grumpus, she have pre-prepared dishes that can be cooked (steamed or stir fry for now liao) on the spot...all are prepared like 1 week worth i think? just bring them down before u go to work
if your #1 takes rice, you can make the rice morning before you go to work
-then 6.30 home, steam the pre-prepared stuff
-while steaming, go pump @ 645?
-7pm - hb comes home with #1 & #2
-you can finish pumping by 7.15?
-hb feeds #1 since stuff are already cooked by now, while you feed bm to #2
-then you put #2 down after feeding, goes to eat (replenish your bm heehee). by then hb & #1 finishes dinner; hb go entertain #1
-you finish dinner + cleanup

Kam, you are really a super mum!

My mil is not ard for this week. I coping well with the 2 kids with maid's help. But still, the breastfeeding part is taking away lots of time and is something which cannot be done by someone else.

prata
Possible to have those time cooker or slow cooker to have some porridge/rice ready when u reach home? Then u can prepare #1 dinner in the morning before work.

When I home alone, i would steam most of the food in a those layer kind of steamer - rice, fish, chicken, soup etc. So while waiting, can shower the kids first.

prata_queen,
when #2 is born, u gotta plan
1) either cook simple meal (*freeze soup stock) or
2) get your MIL/mum/confinement lady to help jaga #1's meal
*i'm not an expert in soup stock, tongtong/pixie can help ans this?

Usual routine: Weekday evenings (Mon-Thurs), we only bring 1 boy home with us but will be on alternate day so both boys get an equal chance to bond with us.
Eg, Mon-#1 home, Tue-#2, Wed-#1 & Thurs-#2 likdat.
But we will still see both boys everyday after work since we'll always dropby my MIL place first, have dinner, spent some time (6-8pm) with them then bring either one home.
During my 3mths maternity leave, i direct latch #2, still express milk but i dun need to cook for my #1. My MIL will handle his meals. So after work, hb will fetch #1 home from MIL's plc so that he can bond with his little brother. When i return to work, we'll go back to our usual routine. Can cope, no problem...just need some time to adjust.

Steph,
Yup, sharp pain once every few min. I also dunno why i so "brave" to go for that in the first place? Maybe scare to become "huang lian po", haha. Was telling myself, since i can tolerate c-section pain, what is pain to me??

If the spots do not bother u much, then juz leave it. Btw, how serious is your pigmentation? Are they round brown spots? If so, they are cause by solar.

Advice from the doc: Start applying sunblock with SPF 50+ to prevent the spots from widening. Even after laser & all the spots are clear, sunblock is the only way to prevent them from re-appearing.

mylvera,
Still no plan yet for the party. Maybe juz family lunch or dinner ;)

Kam, pixie, icy, steph

In the mornings, I cook a bowl of soup (winter melon / carrot / potato / celery / bittergourd / old cucumber / onions + a pc of pork or chicken) & rice which I place in my trusty tiger thermal pot. Will thaw 1 pc of frozen fish or chicken leg in the fridge.

In the evenings after I reach home at 6.30pm, quickly soak vege in salt water, wash/chop vege, rinse fresh mushrooms (#1’s fav), and slice the pc of fish/chicken which has already thawed. I pour the soup into a pot to boil (got meat therefore must bring to a boil), put the bowl of vege/mushrooms, fish in 1 bowl, use the same tiger thermal pot to re-heat the rice & steam the bowl of of vege/mushrooms, fish/chicken. All this is ready by 7pm & #1 arrives home.

Hubby shower #1 only after her dinner cos very untidy with rice & soup all over her hair and clothes.

cooking takes half an hour. morning preparation of soup takes half an hour. but the evening washing up takes up a lot of time. Plus the mess on the dining table and floor!!

Yes, it is very rare for childcare to provide dinner. In the first place, if the childcare closes at 7pm, they do not usually provide dinner.

Kam, my #1 infant care (which is not the same as her current childcare) used to close at 8.30pm and they feed porridge at 5.30/6pm for an extra $65 which later increased to $80. The $30 that yours charges is very reasonable.

So i had very good life when #1 was at infant care. Didnt have to worry abt her dinner. Once she changed childcare @ 18 mths, i started to have to wake up early to prepare the food.

Wah, suddenly thread moved so fast.. Lost...

Mylvera,
Then the shipping is not that exp if as what you mentioned. I am still trying to find 1 pair of shoes which I like for my girl...

Need to clear work coz today is last day of work for me. Tmr going to Genting and will be back on Mon.

Prata-queen,
I think as long as you said you are tired, your gynae should be able to give you long Hospitalisation leave. Try not to waste your ML, even though there is 4 mths. I had high BP so for #2, gynae already given me 1 mth HL before delivery.

krystle, HL means i got to be in hospital?

i also dun wanna commence ML until i give birth but i tink i cannot tahan working till the day i give birth.

prata_queen,
Looks like you have a very neat plan! Then don't worry too much. You can somehow fix your baby into your daily schedule. Just have to sacrify more sleep. First month is usually not much of a problem cos you will have help for your confinement. Just take things slowly from there bah. We never planned anything, except found a nanny for my girl :)

Good thing is your hub knocks off work on time everyday woh. So good.

This is the first time I hear childcare closes at 8.30pm. The fees is more expensive? Last time at infant care, no need to pay extra for the dinner :) Now he is at childcare, so top up $30 for the dinner. Yes, it's very cheap, and it's definitely healthier cos I don't cook on weekdays.

prata_queen,

HL nid not be hospitalised.

But u gotta check with your HR... if u MC/HL till delivery .. will they convert those days to ML? my coy would assume tat i started ML if i dun "break" the leaves. hence wat i did was... i was on MC/HL/AL ... den suddenly 30 sep turn up at work.. 1 oct go delivery ... so my ML started only on 1 Oct.

neat plan? haha, very tiring & hectic. Hate the clean up & tat's when i wish i haf a maid.

actually i knock off on time, hubby only certain days. Other days, my dad fetch or my mom take a taxi.

the infant care used to charge $1200, now $1300 (i enquired recently for #2). Yes, 8.30pm is really very rare.