(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

prataqueen, i din give med when my boy's fever hit 38.5. i gave other remedies via fruits,food and fluids instead. because he is still active and eats well ( like what dr keoy mentioned), so i'm not that worried. it's necessary to rise the body temperature to work your body's antibodies to fight the enemies ma. unless your child looks lethargic and ill, cant eat and sleep well, then got to see doc and take med. My boy since birth has taken 2 times para only - first time out of my ignorance , i fed him para during his teething period. that was like 1 year old. The other round was when he had high fever at 39 at night, so i fed once, then no more. it turned out that he actually had roseola. other than that, i never give para, because i think he doesnt need med but can recover by himself. of course, must monitor.

eh, are you pregnant?? congrats!

STeph, good to hear that R is fine! before i became vegetarian, i always have constipation problem. like poo once every 3 days. and always gek sai till my mum needs to input something into my butt to soften my stool. but after i turned vegetarian, i bs everyday leh without problem. maybe my constitution is heaty so my veg diet really helps me a lot.

krystle, my boy drinks lots of water leh. constipation is usually caused by lack of fibre too.

grumpus, maybe your gal doesnt take enuff fibre.

Thanks thanks

yeah, now expecting #2, due 19 Sept. didn’t participate in the Sept 2010 thread cos not much time to post during office hrs.

I engaged my cousin’s CL whom she used for both her daughters. Lucky to get her cos I started looking at 12 plus weeks (after the pantang period) & by then, the first 3 I contacted were already booked.

Any mommies realize tummy for #2 is much much bigger & weight gain is so much more? My office guessed it even before I was 12 wks pregnant cos my tummy showed.

Re paracetomol

Sad to say, my gal has fallen ill and taken para countless times. Not sure if its due to her being in full day childcare but well…..

Without fail each time she has a fever she will end up taking medicine. The only thing is I try to reduce the number of doses of medication by stretching to 38.2 before caving in. Hehe can try to follow u all & increase threshold to above 38.5 to 39. If daytime still can monitor closely every 15 min but if this happens in the night time, I would give para to bring down the fever so that both the child and myself can sleep uninterrupted.

steph,
difficult leh like that cos if just need the extra red dates tea i can boil my own. maybe i'll order the trial meal and see for myself.

tongtong,
i think my girl lacks fibre too. the thing is she takes lots of veges but doesn't take fruits. she just doesn't like anything sweet. my friend was saying something abt sugars are necessary to form stools also cause they will draw the water into the intestines or something like tat.

congrats to prataqueen & Grumpus.

grumpus,
just to share that i use newbaby during my #2 confinement. the portion is enough for me & my maid.
i ordered the lunch & dinner and both meals got soup! i love their soups even my mum loves it too! as for the oily part, i tot all confinement has lotsa sesame oil and stuff?? but so far i think the oil qty still quite reasonable... definitely not as oily as china food!! :p u can request for special diet. i told them no chicken for 2 wks cos i c-sect and after 2 wks, i called them again to resume chicken!! also during the last few days of confinement period, i decided to go my mum place so told them to change delivery address & they do so! the only complain i have is the rice. there is one day where the rice seemed soggy. other than that, i think the dishes are tasty!

thanks everyone

superbee, glad to hear that newbaby is not too bad. my colleague didn't do much research & just signed up with them & i was telling her natal essentials is more famous.

superbee,
thanks for the feedback!

ok i will take the trial meal for both natal essentials and newbaby before deciding.
i dun even know if natal essentials will deliver to my place cos they have a whole list of areas they dun deliver to. so atas :p

prataqueen, yea second pregnancy will show faster ( i mean the tummy) because already stretched for #1 pregnancy before ma. Re para, in fact if one always rely on para, it doesnt make good to your immune system, that's why you will always fall sick and have to rely on para. why not try not to intro para, but of course, if you are the first time doing this, must monitor very closely and cannot be panic, and must understand when to intro med to bring down fever when necessary and when you dont need to. It's pretty hard but then again, it's for the best for your kid. I guess, before you wanna let ur child go without medicine, read up more info first and know what to expect, you will feel more prepared and wont get kelam kabut. yea , you can give para at night so that both can rest.

grumpus, wah! first time i heard kid doesnt like sweet thing leh! especially fruits ! so special leh your gal. then what does she like?/

anyway mommies who are planning #2, just to share that for this child, we tried for 6 months May 09 to Dec 09 & strike in Dec 09. was so demoralised month after month & wondered y we couldn't conceive. started to do things like charting my basal temperature & got obsessed with recording & charting haiz.

so do start early if you are planning for 2011 baby.

tongtong, yea, that's wat i guessed too. Skin around the tummy has been stretched once so the bump shows up faster.

Gd to haf tis discussion abt when to feed fever med so we can all fine tune our 'strategies' to reduce reliance on med.

luca, baby's a boy. #1's a gal. My hubby is elated but i'm neutral & as all mothers say, as long as baby is healthy and growing fine, i'm contented.

actually i should add tat my preference is for a gal cos my alma mata is an all girls school.

ok, going off soon for my afternoon leave. thanks everyone for the well wishes

tongtong,
she likes carbo, plain rice, noodles, bread all she will eat. i think that contributes to her constipation too.
she loves savoury food, even biscuit she won't eat the sweet type but she will eat the savoury biscuit like soh ta pia.

was thinking of making frozen fruit popsicles for her since she likes cold stuff. any recipe suggestions?

Prata queen,
Congrats to you! Kam is so clever, I did not even saw the hint. Hehehe.

Yes, for me it happened that #2, tummy is grows bigger and faster. My colls also spotted it before 3mths and so hard not to tell (I pantang and did not want to reveal within 3mths). Only told them they will know in due course and most of them caught the clue. But for weight gain, it was lesser but I got preggy less than 1yr so the weight gain started at a higher weight level and of course ended at a heavier weight than #1. Haiz. Now having problems to slim down leh...

krystle, exactly! was so surprisd tat ple could guess even before it was officially time to announce.

same, i also started at a higher weight level (2kg heavier) and will prob end up heavier than before.

Congrats Prata Queen!

Just came back from HK yesterday, sooo tiring cos i was sick throughout the trip, only managed to recover later part of the trip. My girl had so much fun chasing after all the disney characters and taking pictures with them and of cos browsing the gifts' stores, playing with the toys there. I think my no. 2 had been protesting inside me cos i practically walked till i dropped, almost have cramps in my calfs, backaches...etc etc thus experienced quite frequent tightening of my tummy and had to sit down to take a break. So now, it's catching up on rests and rests and rests...

Steph: ur R is growing well at 11.5kg
planning no.3?

kystle; adult is $66 and free $10 retail voucher and $10 dining voucher,unlimited use of voucher per transaction. worth it! my hb took all rides and he played twice for one of it.

prata: congrats! i stays at Pasir Ris but i bring my boys to e pd at sbcc Mt.A. Only dis yr onwards i bring him to RMG pd tampines 1.

Grumpus: Congrats!

prataqueen, congrats! 6mths to conceive isnt a very long time, u r consider v lucky liao...

lynn, steph is plannin no.3 meh? wow.... 3 kids is reali a big challenge to me, nevertheless, i also hope steph can have a pretty baby ger

Congrats prata_queen!

Yes, I see GP Dr Tan at Loyang point. He is like our family doc. but for kids, we prefer go pd cos dr tan normally need like 2-3 visit b4 my son get well.

Lynn,
err #3 no plans now. And u?

aqua,
tks
i really want a gal but i am happy with 2 boys now

Can u imagine if R is a gal...my MIL say what a waste cos R got fair complexion & big eyes woh..hehe
R @16mths

4096244.jpg

steph, u are fair n u got big eyes.. i believe ur no.3 if girl also equally pretty and 'hot' like u . if u reali wan no.3, dun wait to long to try, u know...we are nt young liao...so sad hor..

Steph,
R really has very big eye! Not wasted lah, handsome boy he is :) I agree with Aqua, if you have a gal, she must be pretty like you.

aqua,
1st time hear pple say i got big eyes le..hehe cos pple usually comment..R looked like hb more cos he got high forehead...errr the big eyes inherit from who?? me & hb look at each other:p eh..i like spicy stuff but me not HOT la:p

kam,
consider R for XY loh...hehe:p

mylvera,
i not Zoe Tay le:p

mylvera,
You no need to siam. You are the only supermom (those still active in this thread) who qualified to ask people to gan gan try #3.

steph,
Haha! Sure! Queue no 3, okay? :)

Ya, Zoe Tay preg with #3 and she is 42 this year. Really pei fu. Of course she does not have to worry about money problem but the mental challenge of a 3rd kid is there loh. Her #3 is still a boy.

Steph,
R's eyes really big leh. I think is from you lah, Z looks more like your hubby while R is like 1/2 you and your hubby.

I also a bit gian #3 but money, my age, health are major concerns. I had 2 easy pregnancies and so worried I may not get away lucky the 3rd time. But hubby everyday chanted #3 non-stop! Very fan leh! Let me enjoy my motherhood please!!!!

Keke, thanks everyone.

Just reached home & checking for urgent work emails before going to zzz. low energy level these days.

Steph, i dun haf FB. Co blocks FB, msn, hotmail & almost every social networking website. Luckily SMH is not blocked.

Lynn, how u find the pd? My #1's pd used to be the baby and child clinic at tamp st 81 blk 828 (if I recall the address correctly). She sees Dr Ho KL. The nurses there are horribly rude and the waiting time is horrendous, not to mention that the interior of the clinic is so small and crammed. Its chaotic inside. Once my gal finished her immunisations, I haven’t brought her back since & have been relying on GPs and KKH. The last thing i need when my child is ill, is to be shouted at by the nurse.

Pls give feedback on the RMG pd, who is the pd, and how much is consultation? thanks!

Aqua, they say 6mths is the norm but when month after month, you see aunty reporting, you get really demoralised. At first we didn’t know, we actually tried every alternate day. Then after doing research, we tried only on day 12, 14 and 16 & it wasn’t so emotionally draining. It seemed like a very long journey ttc. Confirm close shop after #2.

Icy, I find Dr Tan and even his part time doctors on weekends not bad. Can yi zhen jian xue / diagnose accurately. And his consultation fees are reasonable prob cos low rental.

kam,
wah i sure know XY got suitors liao. Gd to have competitors!hee

oh for the voucher, my coll (she went universal studio last month) told me is to compensate for 2 rides which was not in operation that day woh.

prata_queen,
now i know why u strike a Boy cos day 12, 14 & 16 are usually most fertile aka ovulation period (release of egg). I waited almost 3.5yrs ttc for my #1...for me, is like an endless journey ttc but now i thank god for his blessing

prata queen
Yes, His clinic always very long queue. His medicine given perhaps milder cos he always play safe. :p His part time doc gives stronger medicine. But my boy still see him, better than the attitude PD at elias mall.

When i have Crystal, I have strong feeling she is a girl becos we only do so on day 8 or so.. haha. Xavier wise exactly on day 14. Seeing ovulation is quite a good prediction for gender.

Mylvera,
Huh, so ngam, your gal is YX ah. XY has 2 Isaac (not Wendyg's) and just added in Rayden for now :)

Icy,
Oh, your gal also XY. But you don't usually use her Chinese name, right.

how does it work lei? day 12, 14, 16 is boy? then gal is 13, 15 and 17? assuming 28 day cycle.

steph, u try for 3.5 yrs for #1? you're very patient. Pei Fu you.

sorry, didn't mean to say tat 6 mths is a long time, just tat when you're the one experiencing no success every mth, the journey seems really long.

icy, ya i notice Dr Tan always play safe. But then, most GP always play safe whereas PD and KKH more gan gan lai. Queue wise, even when i go before opening hours to queue, i end up being #3 or more.

is there a pd at elias mall? tat place like quite small & seldom venture to that part of pasir ris

luca
I think more or less it helps, as long as your period is accurate.

It works kind of both times for me. Cos Xavier is kind of made on ovulation day whereas Crystal is "accident" cos we were both busy on my ovulation week.. never really expect to strike that mth altho I am TTC.