(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

any ideas where to bring the kids during weekends?

i ran out of ideas liao.. so bored at home .. feel like bringing the kids out this weekend since their cc is closed on sat (meet the parent session)

Pixie,
Yes, should be going in Aug but can only confirm in Jul. Not going for work, going to see my Kimura Takuya. Hahaha. Sure, can buy cosmetics coz I am buying for myself and my mum. Will let you know once I confirmed my trip.

Tongtong,
Yes, I brought my kids there coz my girl likes doraemon. But the show was quite boring (to me lah). Only liked the last part where the colourful ribbons burst out.

Kam,
Yes go JPN. Can try out HK first but don't put too much hope on HK Disneyland. For us adults, maybe a bit boring but for our young kids, I think ok lah. For me, I think I just skip HK and go for JPN directly. Unless my family ask me to go HK but I think unlikely coz last yr they went liao.

Mylvera,
I was also running out of ideas where to go, especially last weekend where MIL went to Msia and no one to look after my kids. So I went Marina Sq for Doraemon and Universal Studios on Sun evening.
1. Library?
2. Indoor playground?
3. East coast park to cycle?
4. RWS? MBS?
5. Night safari? I heard NTUC card has 50% off leh.
6. Swimming pool?

krystle,
i was at MS on sat watching the doraemon show with my girl too!!
agree that it was boring, my girl wasn't that interested compared to the other live shows we've seen...

mylvera,
Your kids go to cc on Saturday too?

krystle,
I know the HK Disneyland is small. But good enough for my kids, I think. My ultimate aim is to spend 2-3 weeks in DisneyWorld, just me and hub, without the kids, hehe :)

What's the #4 on your list? RWS? MBS?

STeph, poor R! R is 1++ already right? YOu mean you wanna give isomil? can try organic oatmilk, good for poo poo too. or fresh milk or goat's milk?

krystle, yea the show was quite bored, we left after a while hehe.

Kam, RWS is resort world ba. MBS - marina sands? not sure jekeke

<font color="0000ff">Let’s Play: Activities That Nurture Bonding and Learning</font>

These are the activities suggested by the Zero To Three website (think it's Pixie who shares this website, very good, tons of information there, thanks, Pixie!). I am going to try these games this week.

Super-duper Supermarket. Line up empty cereal boxes, empty juice containers, and other food boxes. Give your child empty grocery bags, a basket, or box to use as her “grocery cart.” Let her shop for the food she’d like to buy. Use a cash register (i.e., a shoebox) to pretend to ring up her purchases. This game encourages your child to expand the play scenario by using her imagination and logical thinking skills. For example, perhaps she will tell you that she needs a pocketbook for her money or ask if you have any more boxes of cookies in your store.

Bottoms Up! Stand at the end of a hallway, facing your child. If you call out “bottom,” your child sits on his bottom and scoots toward you. If you say “up,” your child stands up and runs toward you. If you say “freeze,” he has to stand still. As soon as he gets close enough to tag you, he switches places with you. Activities like this build muscle strength and coordination, promote listening and language skills, and teach social skills like taking cooperation and turn-taking.

Kam,

yes.. my kids go cc for half day on sat. cos i nid to do marketing n some couple time with my hb (more like some time for me to complain abt the @#$@ i face at work).

actually ..am more thinking of meeting up with the great mummies here together with the kids .. haha let my kids socialise too...

steph
why leh, ur MIL not happy that u "tok" to her?

i until now never got the chance to go night safari, x sleeps early so, like no point. what time does nigh safari operates from and till?

mylvera,
tks but dun think my MIL wanna try cos she dun like can stuff. His meals were mostly prepared by my MIL &amp; she cook porridge (add in lotsa fibre ingredients) to his diet loh. So dunno what's wrong beside increasing his fluid (water/fruit juice) intake. We tried giving pearl barley, lingyang, apple juice, prune, cod liver oil, honey etc). So she suggested switching FM (from Mamil 3 to Friso3). She told me every child is different so what works (whichever methods) on my colls/frds' kids may not work on R so i have to be flexible. For this, of course i jolly well know but i am really upsad by her remarks cos she sounded that i don't care enuff nor worry about this issue. I was telling her that changing FM may not be the best solution. She told me off by saying, "You are already an experienced mum since u have Z so should not hear say from others &amp; experiment on R!" I was mad when she said that. pai seh for ranting.

Kam,
We are not keen to try fresh milk now, maybe after 2YO bah. Oh janbb told me to dilute his FM like if 5 scoops = 180ml, i put in 4scoops &amp; see how. Actually i have been doing that but if FM taste too watery, R will reject too.

grumpus,
yes i thought about goat's milk too provided R don't reject else also no use.

kam
yes zero to three very informative hor

in GUG, a music teacher gives each child a set of shakers, when she sings fast, the children must shake fast, and when she suddenly stops, then all must stop shaking etc

same theory. also builds your coordination, listening &amp; language skills

we can expand on below list so that all can copy down and perhaps refer to this long list one boring day?

1. Library?
2. Indoor playground?
3. East coast park to cycle?
4. RWS? MBS?
5. Night safari? I heard NTUC card has 50% off leh.
6. Swimming pool?
7. kite flying
8. zoo
9. bird pack
10. sci centre
11. sentosa
12. sg flyer
13. airport
14. prawning
15. botanical gardens

hi mommies, can i check if our 2 yr 5 mth toddlers are still sprouting teeth at this age? maybe molars?

my gal last fell ill in Dec 09, then mid Apr 10, and now early June again! In Dec 09 and Apr 10, she had flu/cough but now the only symptoms is that she salivates a lot which is unusual and has a little runny nose which only lasted 2 days.

Could it be teething?

pixie,

we talked but she refused to listen to me...she said we've tried to change his diet for 6mths plus but still no improvement at all &amp; it seem getting worse these few weeks..dunno why? His stool was hard, dry &amp; huge in size &amp; it got stuck in his anal like a 50cents coin...left no space to insert suppository! R gek sai until he almost passed out, no joke. She said, "you don't know how poor thingy R was when he badly constipated...last x yr bro in law oso cannot take cow's milk &amp; i (MIL) have to change FM many times until soy milk then suitable for him! You bring him see PD also no use cos PD say same thing (change diet etc), u ask us (PIL) to increase his water intake provided YOUR SON (R) can drink so much &amp; we can't force him"...she goes on &amp; on &amp; talked until very fed up...&amp; i just kept quiet listen loh...no point to explain more to her until she has cool down bah. After she cool down, i told her if u wanna change FM then change &amp; try loh &amp; monitor a week &amp; see how. If Friso3 cannot then we try GainIQ loh...then she goes on telling me she dun believe in drinking expensive FM can help constipation problem &amp; now what? I really don't know what she wants...really wanna scold the four letter word leh!

oh for the night safari, open 7.30pm till 11pm. We let Z nap from 2.30-4pm &amp; he was ok to sleep at 10.30pm. There are 2 show timing to catch, one at 8.30pm &amp; another at 9.30pm but the crowd+long Q simply too much for us to wait with active Z in tow so we gave the show a miss.

steph
u poor gal, that was yesterday?
im also scratching my head why R got constipation so easily but each child is different hor...slowly n steady bah

wah night safari opens so late? no wonder called night safari...if 7.30, i think go there half hr then must go home liao muahahah...
ok will go there when X is older lor

very dark ah? can see the surrounding?

aqua,
not that i dun wan to try but i can only try during wkends which i dun think will be helpful cos such beverages should be taken daily right to see the effect?yes/no?If i buy &amp; MIL dun try it diligently on R oso no use (that's my thinking lah) so back to sq one. Later more things for my MIL to talk if all these doesn't work. U know what i mean.

steph,
oh dear, sounds like R is quite picky abt his milk plus u hv to put up with yr mil.

ya, the prob with goat's milk is there's a very strong after taste, not all kids will be able to take it. fortunately my girl is ok with it. also, if u want to order fresh from hay's dairies to be delivered, there's a min order. if R dun drink very wasted.

actually my girl also is the constipated type. everyday she will poo little pellets like rabbit poo. i also tried everything but i hv concluded that her system is just like tat. but because she is not uncomfortable and is still able to eat i just leave her be lor.

but R sounds so poor thing always got to gek sai. hv u tried lactulose from the PD? it's not really medicine but actually a form of sugar. supposedly safe to take long term. wendyg's kids were taking that regularly, maybe u can check with her

steph,
Can understand why were frustrated. You have such a good temper. You don't fight back right then but to let your MIL cool down first. Must learn from you leh.

If she say try out soy milk, then you just try that first? Soy milk (Isomil) is not cheap leh. HR had 1 tin of that when he had stomach flu a year back, to me, it tastes worser than cow's milk. Let her try that and see for herself lo.

pixie,
yup yesterday evening after i met up wif u.

yea night safari very dark but can still see walking pavement. We took the tram ride cos too dark to walk with Z in tow but we stopover at East Lodge to take a walk down the leopard trail. We get to see flying squirrels &amp; fruit batz up close
The night lights (moonlight) were cleverly installed so that the animals (gentle animals like deer) felt at ease even as our tram passby near to them. The surrounding wasn't too bright so for the animals like lion, tiger, rhino, spotted hyena...they were abit far to watch from the tram/safe walking pavement if u choose to walk instead of taking the ride. To me &amp; hb, the night safari wasn't too exciting for us, abit boring but i think Z enjoyed it
A different experience for him from the day trip to the zoo bah.

steph
so night safari didnt changed much the only time i went there, more than 10 years ago. it was dark and i couldnt see much animals...maybe eyesight not too good

made plans to go birdpark this fri, will tell u all good or no good (worth the trip or not) yah

Steph,
R so poor thing. Gek sai until almost passed out, sure he cried until very bad. I think your MIL just upset and now at this moment, anything you suggest she will not be happy one. Maybe talk to her a few days later?

If R likes to take fruits and try for that. Don't switch to GAinIQ. It will make constipation worse! I called up Abbott before and their consultant told me.

pixie,
yup u were right, didn't changed much at all. My 1st trip was also more than 10yrs ago &amp; this will be my 2nd &amp; last perhaps..haha
my hb got the corporate pass to go in else i will give it a miss too!
It has been donkey yrs since my last trip to the bird park, more than 15yrs ago! But i think shld be more interesting than the night safari

grumpus,
goat's milk will be my last resort. i will try soy milk or any medicine that PD prescribe first. If condition does improve, i will make do with it &amp; yes i think that this is party due to R's constitution oso. Just have to trial &amp; error don't we, tks for sharing

Kam,
my MIL knows my weak point ah. That's good temper so can bully me loh. But i've a limit too, hope she don't crosses it.

krystle,
yes i have witnessed R almost passed out, very scary. He was breathless &amp; cried badly. I have to pat his face lightly to make sure he is still with me &amp; kept telling him is okay, mummy is here, relax..very drama right but indeed is the case. Ya i know my MIL is just upsad...afterall she puts in so much efforts (more than a FTWM can give) to change his diet so i don't blame her. She asked Z to call me just now, telling me she's cooking my dinner tonight. Here's the little conversation i had with Z:

Z: harlo Mummy
M: hi Zander
Z: Mummy, 奶奶有煮饭,你回来吃!
M: ok (pause 30sec)
M: 你没有睡觉ah?
Z: 有 (giggle inside...)
M: Where is 弟弟?
Z: 弟弟吃饭 (aka eat porridge, MIL feeding him)
M: ok, byebye, see u later
Z: Byeeeeeeeee.....hang up!

Thanks, Krystle, Japan sounds fun. I think RaeAnne will enjoy the theme parks but Raelynn may still be blur blur like RaeAnne was when we went to HK disneyland in Dec 2008 cos she will only be 1 year old. ;)

Btw, you sure you wanna go in Aug? I went in early Aug before to celebrate my birthday. It was super duper warm (worse than Singapore) and I just keep hearing the cicadas and was so irritated. Finally I realise why the Japanese came up with cold noodles and cold mugicha cos the weather is really so hot that I am 'pek chek'. :p

Steph, can understand. I think she also don't remember what you have tried for Rayden, that's why so fan fan fu fu about her suggestions. But at least it shows that she is very sim tia and concerned/frustrated about Rayden's poo issue. Better than a bo chap MIL lar. :p

prata queen, yeah my son is teething too ( both out already), and he is drooling too , very itchy teething till he bites his inner right cheeks till bleed! like ulcer like that.

Steph, that time heard that R has improved, why suddenly got worse these few weeks? what did your mil introduce to him ah? u know the prebiotics is really good leh, maybe you wanna try brainwash her to let R take that.... actually i dont think isomil can help in constipation wor, but oatmilk yes, cuz lots of fibre. Actually what did your MIL do to change R's diet?

Hey so sweet to read your converstion with Z!

thanks for replying tongtong. actually my gal is in full day childcare, non air con environment but the place is very warm. So we r trying to ascertain the cause of the frequent fever - environment or teething. If it is the warm environment we may consider changing childcare but that is a major decision.

prata_queen,
You never count how many teeth your gal already has? If she hasn't got the full set of milk teeth, then yes, very likely she could be teething.

Warm environment DO NOT cause fever. Human are warm-blooded, not cold-blooded. So our body temperature DO NOT change with the environment. NO?

Steph,
Think you MIL knows you very well! Z is so sweet to talk to you on the phone. HR only said hello, then he keeps staring on the phone and doesn't say any more word.

in Dec 09 and Apr 10, it was high. As high as 40.4 &amp; we brought her to KKH both times.

The current fever is hovering at 37.9 to 38.5.

some parents say its better not to give unless really necessary. I tend to prefer this method to reduce the amount of medicine given. Eg if it is 37.9 i will drag and wait until 38.3 then i will give paracetomol.

A experienced GP told me to try to give paracetomol rather then ibrufen as ibrufen can cause loss of appetite and possible internal bleeding. So based on this advice, i have been stretching to at least 5 hours to give paracetomol so that i dun haf to give ibrufen (if less than 3 hours).

Kam, i dunno how many teeth she has. How many teeth is a full set for a toddler? I go home and count tonight...

Warm env won't cause fever? i thot is was a very likely cause?

Kitsune,
Yes, Aug is super hot in jpn but I got no choice leh. SMAP concert is around that period so still got to go. Hehehe. I also prefer cooler weather like mar/apr or nov/dec. But it is ok lah. For my kimura, bear with the heat. Plan to go as light as possible for clothings. Only good thing is that I can go for natsu matsuri and fireworks there. Anticipating!!!

Steph,
Ya loh, our toddlers now are at a sweet stage where they care for people. Here is one typical case of Issyen.
Issyen: 妈咪,你的手红红leh. (she saw some itchy area on my hand.)
Me: 对呀,好痛哦!(I will act until like very pain. :p)
Issyen:妈咪,你等一下,我去拿无比膏。
Then she came back and examined my itchiness.
Issyen:Aiyo, 真是的。我帮妈咪察。不痛了吗?
Me: 不痛了,谢谢。
Issyen: 还有别的吗?(Meaning is there other areas to apply?)
Me: 没有了,谢谢。
Hubby said that my girl is so caring about people's injury/pain, she can be a doctor in future. Hahaha.

Krystle, oic, for idol then bo bian lar. I love his Gatsby tv ad. I keep singing Gatsby to my hubby until he also starts singing subsciously, haha. ;)

So sweet hor, RaeAnne also loves to apply cream for me. She'll tell me 'chu1 chu1', then rush to take cream. :p

for mine:
x sits in the front of the car nowadays with me in passenger seat. so he already memorized how daddy "startup" to drive. one day we went to petrol station...
x: takes the glasses from the compartment
m: dont need, daddy havent come out!
then my hb came out, x gave my hb the specs, and say "naaaa!!" (aka give u)
hb: ohh, no, im not wearing this today. its sunny. so im taking the specs with the tint
x: grabs the other specs and gave my hb..."naaa!"
x: grabs my hb's hand, puts it onto the gear shift
hb: ok ok, yes, i shift gear now
x: grabs hb's hands, puts it onto the handbrake
hb: okok, yes, i'll put down the handbrake now

Gd morning mummies!

Itz been a long long time since i last login here... i was at the spree thread most of e time heeehee!

Anybody been to Universal Studio?
Intend to plan a short trip with no.1?
any great idea?

tong tong: R u a sahm?

Pauline: my Ray luv Gatsby tv ad, always sing to mi and wif action.

kam
im taking MY back this thur again. my pt cleaner now pick timing and say she dun want to come to my place etc because of my requested reshuffle....
bo bian....haiz i really got bad luck with pt cleaners ley

pixie,
OIC. But this time round I probably can't switch the day with you anymore, cos I have to pick up 2 kids from 2 locations, so by the time I arrive home, it's already 7+pm. Only Friday (when MY comes) I can be earlier cos we only work till 5.30pm.

My gal is running a fever since yesterday. 39.2C at the max. Both me and the nanny think that it could be due to teething (pooed 2x at nanny, kinda watery teething poo). So I didn't give her any fever med. Gone down to 38.5C after she pooed again (it's teething poo) at 10.30pm. Then this morning down to 38.1C. Her nanny is monitoring her closely. Hope she can escape the fever med this time round.

Prataqueen, our kid will have 20 milk teeth ( full sets). Fever is common, good that you try not to use medication when she has fever, which is what i practise too.

Lynn, wah so busy shopping over spree section ah? hehe. I'm still in office, last day this Friday! yahoo! THen will be part time sahm and full time housewife hehe. Are u still working?

kam
nevermind lar, you are friday slot while me is always thur or wed slots kind....

how you know the poo is teething poo ah?

Morning, mummies.

Hi, Lynn.
Long time no see! Only been to Universal Studios up to the Hollywood section last sunday. To me, it does not interest us coz my family are more Disney-type.
As for short trip, will be bringing #1 to genting next fri! Yay, looking forward to it.

Kam,
Hope fever will subside soon for XY. She is a strong fighter so no worries!

Tongtong,
So fast hoh? Must be very happy. BTW, what do you mean by part time SAHM, full time housewife?

Pixie,
Based on my mum experience with her 4 kids, she called the teething poo as "flowery poo", it's kinda watery (yet not too watery but more of flowery in texture) and yellowish, and probably will poo 2-3 times a day, sometimes accompany with a low grade fever. It happened to HR twice. And it happened to my girl also.

kam, XY will get well soon! yea how do you know it's teething poo? what is "flowery"?

Krystle, yeah, very happy and excited, cant wait to do so many things for the family hehe.
part time sahm, cuz i will still be sending my boy over to nanny till end of JUne. BUt i will have more time spent with him as i will only send him to nanny about 11am, then pick him up at 7pm. full time housewife , cuz i will be at home ma! will try 1 or 2 weeks of sahm with S , see wehther i can cope or not, cuz i still wanna do trading leh. if cant cope, will still be back to nanny hehe.

pixie,
for my girl, teething poo is very very yellow. wet and sticky. if u everyday stare at yr kiddos poo u will be able to tell when there's a change..hahaha

krystle / tongtong,
Thanks! Will check with her nanny later. Hope she is well now.

tongtong,
Like grumpus said, yes, easiest to judge is there is a change to the poo all of a sudden. And yes it's very yeollow. And it's funny kind of texture, kinda between soft and watery and so my mum called that flowery. Guess it's too gross to take a picture and post her hor. But I will take a picture for myself to keep, if she still has this poo today, so next time I can pass down this knowledge to my kids :)

tongtong,
for the past 4mths, we didn't introduced any new food to him except he has started eating more semi-solid food like egg, cheese, baked rice, noodles, spaghetti..perhaps high carbo stuff contribute to his constipated problem?
In April, his constipation did improved alittle but is on/off thingy but no anal bleeding occurred. R's diet was pretty simple, MIL just avoided 'BRAT' food &amp; gave more high fibre stuff + more water/fruits, that's all. Also she made linyang with donggua occassionally for him to drink &amp; pearl barley as R belong to the heaty type. I have not try soy milk on him. Yesterday started switching FM (Mamil to Friso) &amp; see how.
Tmrl me &amp; hb bringing him see another PD &amp; see if he need further examination cos we worry his constant anal bleeding can be a sign of a serious problem so best to seek treatment 1st.
And also R still not walking on his own yet...already 16mths old but this fellow learning to jump instead &amp; climb up sofa/bed/chair nowadays *faintz*

tongtong,pixie,kam,krystle,
Agree! At this stage, our tods are just pure &amp; innocent...everything they do/say, it melts our heart &amp; never fails to put a smile on our face then we'll be thinking...gosh...our babies have grown up all too fast! i got 冲动
to be sahm...

steph
i also got super BIGGGGG 冲动 to be sahm...

kam, grumpus
i think i know what u guys meant liao. coz i saw watery poo once only from x...

very hungry now!!