(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kam
this news was in newspapers i think 2 or 3 weeks back. now so fast sentenced liao. today's st have the article on the sentencing part...

icy
no idea. just keep wear glasses lor hoho...if now howwww.....

pixie,
If you don't mind travelling a bit, my optician is very good. Very honest and helpful couple, their shop is at Peninsula plaza 3rd floor, shop called Berlin. Very old and small shop but they've been in business for a very loooong time liao...very experienced and most importantly, won't cheat your money!!! We have been going to them for 10 years liao.

yvonne
thanks for your recommendation.
expensive or not? i dont want to spend like 200bucks on a pair of glasses since mine only astig??

Pixie,
My optician is at Bt Batok, those lok kok, old neighbourhood optical shop. I consider good coz honest and cheap. But the specs design are limited one. I did my transition glasses at only $200 while outside can costs easily up to $400+. :p Astig glass Not sure how much leh, I know normal glass are < $100.

Icy,
I heard astigmatism canNot cure... so got to take care.

krystle
i dun need fanciful design but bt batok sounds good to me, next time can pop by there when putting my boy back to JE. can u help me find the addr and pm me? thanksssssssssss so much

ipad? depends lor, see if you apple fan or not. if yes, ok ipad is good. if no, then maybe ipad after a while sianz liao
i tot yest mypaper says got another tw competitor coming up with their ipad version? what brand was that liao?

pixie,
We have been using them for 2-3 years. So far so good. Also lok-kok kind of shop. Near Chin Swee.

Krystle,
One of the Sep09 got it. Think about $1800 after adding in shipping fees.

Need some help, a bit lost here ;(
My boy is down with flu, cough &amp; mild fever 37.5+- since sun. Hv bot him to see doc twice already. But until today, still fever at 37.5. Last nite even shot up to 38.7. He has started to reject milk &amp; porridge yez. Haiz, very worried.

How to bring down his fever? The med did not help at all. What else can i feed him? Heard 100+ will bring down fever but he dun like the taste.

Btw, Grumpus ~ Congrats to u ;)

mylife is using ipad already :)

JanBB,
37.5 is okay leh. It just means his body is fighting with the flu virus. Body temp has to be higher to fight with the virus. What's the doc said? Try to offer him more soothing stuff like yogurt.

Kam,
The doc said is flu virus. He is also given antibotic after 2nd visit. I suspect too many med make him lost appetite too.

Did u bathe for your kid when having fever?

kam, not really say wanna start him badly. just that i thought that he will like that environment and dont feel lonely. You know , he is still as clingy as ever. he is alrady 2.5yo leh. still very 'deh" you know. everyday mama, mama, mama, very sa jiao. i called talentplus today, yeah.. maybe got 1 kid pulling out from the 9am session and Shaun can join perhaps!! will go down to the centre tomorrow. wish me luck!

kam, i heard about the news. did the sickening maid teach the boy like that or what?! he is only 12 yo!!!

pixie, you are cute leh.haha. yea, my friend's family got very prominent example. her sisters not pretty, but she is really very pretty like those actress or superstar kind. what a difference wor.

hey pixie, i have astig leh. and already wear glasses since primary 6. it does affect my driving at night. my power quite high too.

aqua, 1 person in office can jia zhua or not hee. oh, btw, that time still young ma, teenager, so will feel self conscious. but ever since becoming a mama, never bother to da ban liao anyway!

janbb, to hydrate him, make high C fruit juice: orange x1, lemonx 1/4, grapesx15. use juicer to extract the juice. remove skin and seeds of grapes. blend the grapes with the orange and lemon juice. Or 150g watermelon, and 1 tomato. blend them and consume.

also can make big barley and green bean soup

tongtong,
will these drinks worsen his cough? His cough got lots of phlegm. Or shld i bring the fever down first then treat on the cough later.

Think i m not going to give him so many med tonite. He is so poor thing. Try to escape &amp; reject the med strongly &amp; i got to force everything down.

Pixie,
Ya loh, that is why I posed the ipad qns to mylife coz I think she already has got it.

Kam,
$1800??? Exorbitant!!! US only selling US$400+.. SGP is launching in JUl so I would rather wait if really want it.. Actually just gian only, I already had 2 laptops to use at home...
Just thot something nice and stylish to bring out coz so much lighter. Trying to act IT-savvy here. :p

Janbb,
Oh, J is having fever still? Read on your blog your kids been sick for some time already right? Think 100+ is more like replenishing the loss of water and salt in the body. Maybe it does help a bit. How about bringing him to KK if he hits 38.5 to 39 degrees? Get an injection to stablize the fever once and for all? If below, I think still have to rely on med.

janbb, i think every individual reacts differently to the food/fruits, so i cant tell whether it will worsen his cough? maybe you wanna try first and see how it goes.. is he coughing badly now? i wonder why 5 days already still fever?? must be very strong virus.. take care ok!! hope jayd can fight fight fight the battle! so i think giving more vit C is good for him.. but i cant guarantee that it will not affecft his cough. but at least input the good vitamins/minerals to work his antibody?

krystle,
ya, both of them down with flu since sun &amp; boy got mild fever which goes up &amp; down until today. Very sian, dunno why drag so long this time. Is gonna to be fri tmr. Really dunno how to handle 2 sick children.

tongtong,
ok thks. Will try out the juices tonite. Hope it helps to bring down fever which is more impt. The rest will rely on med the next few days.

janbb, let him drink now better? dont need to wait till tonight leh, unless you dont have the ingredients la. ask daddy to buy back!!

Tongtong,
Sorry but since JanBB's J is coughing with phlegm so better not to give orange, grapes and barley bah. That is what the TCM physician told me about my cough. Greenbean soup still ok, then maybe liang cha too?

JanBB,
J hates med? Wah, my girl simply loves med and can any med by herself (sometimes ask for 2nd helping even). I don't have to chase one. Then tough on you leh... But if don't give med, how to get well. I mean can let his body fight the virus but so long already I am worried. At this time, ya maybe to get rid of fever is the 1st choice bah, not to say can neglect the cough. Coz I read on a blog about a Jan08 mummy (who don't come in here liao). She ignored her girl's cough for 1 wk+ and ended up with mild case of bronch. She has to rent the gas machine house and let her girl smell every day... So also cannot ignore. Or mix the med into the milk loh. At least you don't have to force it down his throat. But not as effective as drinking it directly though...

JanBB,
Dr Keoy said avoid citrus when coughing. But if he doens't cough badly, no harm trying out the juice to bring down his fever. Ya lor, stop giving him that much of med bah. Let him pick what he wants to eat/drink? We still bath our kids when they are having fever, or at least, a wipe down. Don't let him put on too many layer of clothes.

Janbb,
Both my kids are also sick too since the week before. Both down with flu and then cough. After 1 wk+, this week then I see them recovering slowly. So far, give them liang cha and just feed med accordingly. Occassionally fever spikes for both of them but normally hit 37.5 and went down again. So still ok. Think nowadays virus are very strong and persistent. No choice lah. You must remind strong and well, ok?

tongtong,
u are rite. no ingredient at home. My fridge is very empty in fact. Look like u are enjoying your SAHM's life now ;)

krystle,
liang cha &amp; greenbean soup is also "liang" rite? I can only make him drink lots of water now. I have checked with the doc, cannot mix med with milk. Maybe will need to change another doc tmr if fever still persist.

So did u give med only if fever is only 37 - 37.5? Sound like the same flu virus, start with flu then cough follow by mild fever.

Kam,
his cough is better after the med. But still can find phlegm as sometimes he will vomit out with the med cos i force the med into his throat. Super cranky &amp; keep rejecting med, how to get well. So I go all the way to force all the med down. I feel so heartpain now to think back how bad i'm to force him to swallow.

Janbb,
Hahaha. Doc also said different things? My doc said can mix my son's med into milk leh. I tried for 1 day and gave up coz I think not so effective. So also need to force down the med down his throat. :p Yes, liang cha and green bean are liang. J's phelgm is greenish right? Then it is heatiness so can give liang stuff.

JanBB,
It takes a while to cure cough and phelgm, maybe 1-2 weeks. Be patient and jia you, k! He will recover in no time!

krystle,
I read that blog too. But my memory so bad, couldn't recall who she is already :) Sure cannot neglect. Definitely have to monitor closely.

janbb
x also rejects med like crazy...remember that time the super high fever of 39.xx almost hitting 40deg? he refuses to take the orangey med thats why the fever didnt go down even tho i try not to give him too much western med...
i try adding the med into orange yakult. or the plain ones. try and see if it works

else, if you boy likes a particular type of sweet, dilute the med with some water to make it into a drink, drop 2 of the sweets into the cup, and tell him that he can have the sweet when he finishes the drink. my boy took that trick for few times before he found out he was being tricked. but then, few times of med oredi means 2 days of cry-free feeding!

krystle,
his phlegm is clear color. Very thick. Can spit out a lot each time if he vomit. Do u know is it liang or heaty??

pixie,
He can't take yakult at all. Gave him a few times &amp; even add water to dilute it but he will get cough easily. The PD has told us not to give him cough stuff last time. I even use sweets to coax him to take med but does not help at all. Dun drink mean dun drink, very stubborn. Both hubby &amp; me so pissed off and got no choice use force method.

Kam,
Thks. Hope he recover soon too.
Sick = No school = Busy SAHM

jabbb
i used the force method few times but it was quite bad. coz
-more than half hr needed to force 6ml of med into his throat
-cry, puke, scream until hoarse

but have you thought about that:-
a child may be even more turn off if you force something on him? even though we know for sure that it is something beneficial to him (in this sense, meds). they wont understand why u push something into them when they have said no to you liao...coz to them, no means no mah

after much thinking, i took the final 2 approach:-
1. talk sense. i spent 15mins before every med feed, and tell him that he is big boy, brave and courageous. no matter how much he dont like, still have to take or else he cannot recover. keep repeating the same phrases. in the end, my boy stretch out his hand to take the syringe and push the meds in himself *clapppppp*

2. take out my satay stick cane if trick#1 fails. then tell him that i have explained nicely liao so if he still dont take it nicely like papa &amp; mama, got to use cane. also, he stretched out his hands to take syringe

method#2 i tried once; coz usually method#1 works

sorry loh soh but just another perspective for you...

grumpus
your astgi not very high? I tempted to do lasik, tired of the glasses and contact lens cleaning.

Tongtong/pixie, I dun have a sister so dun know how it is like to be compared in terms of looks. But u r right, I dun want my gal to feel inferior ESP since she inherited my small eyes n hubby's flat nose. We r responsible for her looks. Next time, if anyone praises Mei Mei i will hug her tight n tell her how beautiful she is. Anyway, she is better than Mei Mei in terms of height cos Mei Mei is 25th percentile only.

kitsune,
No worries, cos there is no ugly woman, only lazy woman. As long as know how to use makeup, it works wonders!

JanBB,
Oh if it is clear phelgm, then it is liang type, cannot give liang cha and green bean liao. In this case, just can only give plain water and avoid cold drinks bah. I know very hard pain to force down the med. Although my girl does not reject med, but my #2 does!!! Coz since he is a baby, no point trying to explain to him. So have to force and he will cry and push away our hands loh. Sayang him everything after the med...

I think pixie's reasoning method is good. I believe you would have tried that already but maybe have to be patience and spend more time to explain to him. Or use peer pressure. Like mei mei so brave drink med, you can also etc... Use other incentives to make him drink, like giving him stickers each time he drink etc?

Thanks, I definitely hope both of them r more beautiful than mummy.

Raeanne is coughing since yesterday, today a lot of phelgm, brought her to see dr today. Made Nan bei xing apple soup for her for dinner, luckily she likes it. Mei Mei been crying a lot since yesterday, pd said her throat a bit red, maybe she is also incubating. Sigh.

pixie,
Everytime I spend less then $100 on my specs...my hubby spend about $200 plus cos he got alot of problems one...hahaha

Tongtong
what do u mean by mini confinement? I didn't do the hairwash thingy but my mom did cook confinement food for me to "bu". Only for about a week though. Shud be enough bah

don't be upset over S not going to CC yet lah. Why would u be? Enjoy ur time with him at home now. He has a LIFETIME of school next time! It's funny how our this gen of parents (including myself sometimes) are so keen to get our kids to grow up faster but yet when they reach maturity faster in their teens next time (and all the problems come), we complained that they mature too fast :p

pixie
yah, yday slept at 3ish but woke up at 7ish. Waking up time is non negotiable for me one, it's determined by Rylee, so only the sleeping timing is in my control but since I've insomnia u can imagine how frustrated I am. I can only sleep in during weekends when hubby is at home or I'm sick (like recently) and my mom will help to take over "morning shift" But amazingly I still functioned thru the day okay, even managed to bring Rylee to Disneyland for an outing and had fun. Mybody only collapsed right aft dinner, zonked out for like 20mins and I've a horrified suspicion that I'm going to be havig trouble zzz again tonite since I napped for 20mins at a horrible timing jus now.

Krystle
I'm actually a bad person to ask about ipad cos 1) I'm a huge apple fan and 2) I don't use much of it except for letting Rylee play games with it, or I facebook with it or to surf with it. So really depends on what do u mean by "good"? Cos to me is good enough cos aesthetically, it's cool! I love it. Well, if u love iPhone u'd love ipad cos it's jus a bigger version.

any mummies using cloth diaper or those new kind of cloth diapers like Happy Heiny? Seems quie good and environment friendly but $30 ea at motherhood fair, so expensive...

pixie,
Ask to leave work earlier :)

Luvv,
Heard that not that simply. Like have to buy extra inserts etc, and the washing up is quite shiong. My nanny is using those old type of cloth nappy, but only because she has already started to teach my girl to pee and poo at certain time since 2 months old. She said she has 2-3 wet/soiled nappy per day :)

Kam,
wah only 2-3 wet nappy is quite little, the salesgirl say it's easy to wash (of cos) and i asked about poo stains, she say the material is good thus won't get yellow stains..etc etc but i think it's expensive lor since i have to buy like at least 3 - 5? 2 inserts come with each set so don't need to buy extra.