(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">GRUMPUS is EXPECTING #2!!!</font></font>

Take good care ya. Good to have another Jan baby :)

congrats to grumpus!

it is nice to have 2 kids same birthday month eh,can celebrate together...

Congrats! Grumpus! Another Jan bb.

Raelynn is 6 months old today. And she has grown so much. I miss being preggie, makes me want to have another baby. haha, joking lar cos I can't cope right now. ;)
4056106.jpg

i told my hb yest can start "making babies" liao he say dun want (change his mind again). reason? coz when im preggy, cannot exert strength to move house.

yah lor, depend on me to move house so cannot have baby lor. winner

Kam
thanks for the tips! Good to know the runny nose and cough Rylee is going thru means her body is purging the virus. It's funny cos altho doc said she's hvg hfmd, there aren't any blisters on her hand and foot. Anyway, I always tot green phlegm = infection = must take antibiotic. The pd said no meds for hfmd virus itself, jus need to take meds to treat the symptoms as it presents itself. So hence the cough mix for the cough and the runny nose. But the thing is, Rylee's cough n runny nose has been going on for almost 2wks liao, so I'm concerned lo. How ah? What's anti viral meds? If it's virus that's causing the green phlegm, then what meds shud I treat it with?

Grumpus
CONGRATS! Another Jan baby!

Pixie
glad to know X doing well!

Krystle
I used to fuss when Rylee doesn't recognize colours back then. But u know what she can now, and also shapes too. Every child develops differently bah. Her brain is developing somewhere else (which we couldn't see) and u jus dunno where! Perhaps logical thinking, etc

talking about development, I was wondering last time why Rylee doesn't do jigsaw puzzles. Then overnight, she suddenly develops an interest in jigsaw puzzles and now doing 15pcs easily and upgraded to 40pcs (with some help!) today! So happy!

mylife,
For HR's first episode of HFMD, also no blisters at all. We were also half believe half suspect when the PD (not our favourite Dr Keoy) said it's HFMD. Reviewed was done by Dr Keoy, and he commented that cos it's a very mild version of the HFMD and we treated it soon enough, so no blister burst out yet. His 2nd time had blisters on hands and food, but not a lot. Both times he recovered very fast.

The antiviral med he had was called Zovirax suspension (luckily I blog, can retrieve info easily :)). Don't think it's specifically targeting the HFMD virus, but I felt it's at least more appropriate than giving him antibiotics.

To me, as long as the runny nose and cough doesn't affect her sleeping and eating, I won't worry too much. It usually takes quite some time to totally clear it.

Usually if it's virus infection, the best way is to let the body fight with it. As there is no med to target each type of virus specifically (that's why vaccination is important). Generally virus is difficult to treat/kill off as they mutate easily.

Pixie, maybe your hubby 'pantang' and don't want to move house when you are preggie? Hee.

Krystle, RaeAnne also suddenly developed very fast, maybe school helped. She's talking in long sentences since 1-2 months ago although sometimes she stutters a bit until she finds the word she is looking for to complete the sentence. haha. Anyway, today she stuck stickers all over hubby and hubby ask her why stick stickers on him. She said 'me protect you'. Faint! I never even taught her to say protect before. :p

Grumpus,
CONGRATS leh! Brought life into this thread. So nice to have another Jan baby.

Pixie,
Hey, thought house moving is guy's job mah. You just tell him what to pack or unpack what. Ask you do, really winner loh.

Kitsune,
My girl has no problem with speech. She can talk anything under the sun one, and perfectly understood by all people. Only time she babbles nonsense is when she is talking to her little bro. Hahaha. It just that I realised that colour is one of those skills she is not good at. Another one is puzzle loh. But she can hold a pencil perfectly well and draw very small or big objects. I am thinking maybe she is not that academic or analytical type. But she definitely had a flair for music. Can immediately remember some part of rhythms and sing. She can do lots of language songs, Jap, Korean, Chinese, English, Hokkien etc..

Mylife,
Ya loh, kids develop differently. Sometimes I am so contradicting. While being a KS mummy and hope that she learns stuff asap, on the other hand, I hope she has a less stressful childhood and enjoy play at this time...

kam,
A bit late but I'm here!!! Hehehe...I always come in to read the post but seldom reply cos the discussion is already over by the time I come in. I will try to "make my presence felt" in future...hahaha.

Grumpus,
Congrats!!! Exactly 3 years gap hor...your calculation so accurate
. Me happy with one child now...no motivation for a 2nd child leh...kekeke

Re: Development
B also not good with colours so I was worried he's colour-blind. But PD said it's normal cos most kids their age can't really process the different colours in their brain and most colours looks similar to them.

B is doing very well in school...in fact too well. His teacher said he's one of the youngest in class but he's the only one who can follow what she's teaching. Eg. L for Ladybird, only he can say and follow but not the rest. When he's concentrating, he can tell us A for Apple, B for Boy all the way to Z. He can even say Y for Yakult which we never teach him but he apply what he sees on TV. Of course I'm happy that he's a fast learner and my one year of SAHM life was not wasted (sort of) but becos of this, he's not really paying attention in class these days and starts to create trouble. He screams, runs about and pushes toys off the table, etc. He's starting to get bored with singing the same songs and learning things that he already know. So there's pros and cons lor. His teacher even ask me to buy those words only flashcards to teach him during school holidays cos she feels he's ready to recognize words. Anyway, I'm focused on toilet-training this month...hahaha...wish me luck! Already started for a few days and washing lots of training pants but can see he's trying lah, so hopefully can improve. But so far only pee pee, poo poo still done when he's on diapers leh...dunno how to encourage him to poo in the potty.

Paiseh hor, have been a silent reader then suddenly write such a long post.

Krystle, RaeAnne used to only recognise pink, purple and yellow but after Mei Mei is born, not sure exactly when she started to recognise and say all the colours include green, red, brown, blue. She loves to tell me to read her Mei Mei's "Baby's First colour book" when she already knows the colours. She's into Music and songs too. She doesn't like jigsaw puzzles, wasted my $ on those. :p

Yvonne, no need to paiseh, can understand SAHM with no maid is super busy. Last time for me, the only time to surf net is when hubby is back from work to relieve duty. haha.

Kitsune/Krystle
Rylee was like that too. She used to mix up orange with yellow, and pink wih purple. But all of a sudden, it's like something clicked inside her brain and she can recognize all the colours.

Development
I'm done worrying about development. I used to be gancheong and worry if this is normal or not. My PD would give me those looks like "relax mom!" when I asked about certain health questions. So Yvonne, at least ur PD got explain to u about colours differentiating of kids our age. Well, good thing about my PD is he really calms me down into not being a kiasu kiasi mom. Also another fren told me wait till they start schooling, we will have even MORE things to worry! How true! Hahaha

anyway, I jus look at the different development like a colouring book. The kid's brain is like the empty pic, waiting to b coloured. Every kid jus choose to colour different parts at any one time. They chose to focus on certain parts to develop and sharpen. If u pay attention, for sure they will have something they're really good at. For Rylee it's definitely physical cos just the other day, she surprised even her Mygym instructor by jumping from the staircase 2 steps at once. My heart almost stopped! She's always doing these daredevil stunts. One day I will die of a heart attack!

Kitsune
no waste on the jigsaw! Like I said, I'd never would have imagined Rylee would one day be soooo enamoured with jigsaw puzzles! I'd long given up that maybe she's really not into it cos last time I tried to "lure" her to play and she would throw it aside (even those simple wooden ones). And now I'm spending lots of money trying to find good quality ones cos she will play with it over and over and that's the only thing that can keep her seated and focus for long time! She even managed to let us have a fine dinner outside while she played with it! Sorry still rambling on It cos obviously I'm very very happy n glad!

Pixie
if u look at the time of this posting of mine, u'd know that yes, my insomnia is still my bff now. Yup, got sick, dunno who pass to who but I think I'm also down with hfmd with Rylee. Same symptoms. Sigh, ever since my m/c, my health has been quite bad.

Mylife, ok I must clarify, I said I wasted $ on the jigsaws cos she either peeled off the layers or broke off the connecting parts ( so they won't be able to connect anymore) or misplaced pieces (so picture not complete anymore). If Mei Mei wants to play jigsaws next time, i got to buy new ones. Luckily they r not exp. ;p

Yvonne,
Hello **wave wave**! Glad to know that B is doing so well. Yes, I think when the teacher repeats the same thing over and over, he would get bored. Now HR is the oldest in his class (playgroup/toddler), think he is pretty bored also. Luckily he is going to the N1 class next month, so all of a sudden, he will become the youngest in the class, with a new teacher, but same old friends, think the curriculum is different also. New things for him. Would B join a different class soon also?

mylife,
I couldn't agree more on what you said - "They chose to focus on certain parts to develop and sharpen. If u pay attention, for sure they will have something they're really good at." That's exactly what I shared after reading the early childhood education thingy. As a parents, we shouldn't urge our kids to be the all-rounder, he/she doesn't have to excel in all aspects, but we should really observe and understand our kid and guide him/her to enjoy the thing he/she loves most!

krsytle,
Think learning through play! Learning and playing can work together, don't have to be contradictory. Take colour for example. We use the Thomas the Train set to get him understand the concept of colour. At first, we didn't tell him the colour, but to tell him Thomas colour, Percy colour, James colour. Once he understood about the concept of colour, things can be grouped into different colour, he started to tell us, Mama, apple is James (=red). After he associated the colour correctly, we next tell him James is red. Thomas is blue, etc. Now he knows most colours. For a young kid, the most efficient way of learning is through play, definitely.

kitsune,
If the puzzles are not the exp set, just let RA explores the way she wants. Don't stop her. Don't judge a child based on adult perspective. For us, we know how a jigsaw puzzle should be play with, but you don't know how a child sees it. If they listen to our instruction and play the way we want them to, then you have less headache. But if they don't, it's not a bad thing, not at all, it could mean that she is very imaginative, and she wants to play the toy with her own way, her imaginative way. Never stop a child's imagination! When she peels off the connecting parts, you should try to ask her why you want to peel that off. She may tell you a reason that you have never thought of ;-)

Kitsune
Ohhhh ok, well like Kam said, it's true, in a way, she PLAYED with it rite? So no waste there! Hehehe. Anyway, I also agree with Kam. The way RA played, well, u got to give it to her that she knew to peel off the layer, meaning she DISCOVER the layer! And well, perhaps she also discovered that by tearing off the connecting parts u cant play anymore! We jus dunno how their brain works and learn one lo. I rem last time rylee puts everything into her mouth. The pd told me some babies are like that, their first experience is to explore the thing with their mouth, which is one of their sensory. I dunno how on earth or what on earth she will learn but oh well!

wana ask u u guys how much is the monthly nanny rate nowadays?
does it include the kids food cost when the kid turned 6mths old for solids?
thks in adv

mylife, when you m/c mths ago, did you have mini-confinement ? i think you should at least "bu" a bit to boost up your health. take care yea!!

<font color="ff0000">grumpus, congrats!!!!!!!!</font>

Pauline, Raelynn is so cute, she really looks like cheh cheh, chubby version hehe

wah mylife u slept so late and wakie so early??

about development:
i guess most of our kids here are developing rapidly everyday, no need to kancheong hor? (even tho i kancheong a lot).

like eg, i was typing on my laptop on monday in the playroom (while he play with his toys), he came over, peered over my shoulder, and started pointing to the keyboard and firing off alphabets rapidly from his mouth. wah, i didnt even know when he could recognise the alphabets. so i took his finger and typed out emails with his fingers. work life balance literally?

haiz, i miss my boy. yesterday didnt go n visit him coz i was sick. called him and he called me "mamaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!", then followed by "papaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!"....awww so heart warming but just cannot be there to hug hug him

i wanna be sahm!!!!

Tongtong, oic... does $600 include the marketing costs such as fish/meat or veggie for coooking ur boy meals?

mylife, you slept so little so will u feel terrible during the day? or did you nap?

pixie, go for it! hehe

aqua, no leh, all the veggie and fruits are provided by me, if want nanny to do marketing, need to top $50. Since i want to control what he eats, so i buy veg for nanny to cook hehe, including making my own soup stock and send to her too!

aqua, long story. sad to say, S cant start his CC until 3 yo. sob sob, i had split opinions with my hubby on this. He told me last week that he thought it's better to put S with nanny because the CC is too far from my place and he doesnt want me to ferry him up and down daily . He got his point, but i got my objective also. cuz i dont like S to watch so much TV at nanny's place. Good and bad you know. We didnt end up quarrelling, but i felt very upset about it. He said put him at nanny's place first then i will ferry him to playgroup first.

We got to compromise so our deal is go PG now, but start cc at 3yo. meanwhile i got to source for his pg... eventhough i'm still very upset about this. but what to do, got to respect him .

aqua,
My girl's nanny is $700. Top up $70 for food, started this month (my girl is 9 months). But her nanny cooks very 好料 for her, think $70 is not enough one :)

tongtong,
ya, think you need to respect your hub. Never mind lah, walk 1 step see 1 step. I agree it's not practical to travel too far away though that's your dream cc.

tongtong, actualli i agree with ur hubby. better to expose S to cc when he is older n stronger.
my girl been visiting the doc every mth since she joined cc. before tht in mylaws place 2 yrs, she onli had flu twice in her 2 years.
nw everymth, we got to spend at least $100 on medical bills, nt to mentioned, got to engage inlaws help coz when she is sick with cough, she needs to stay away from sch a week for recovery.

dunbe upset, few more mths, S will be 3, n can join CC Liao...

grumpus,

tongtong,
dun be upset lar, its just a matter of time S can go CC. ur hb is concerned not only abt S, but u too, imagine everyday gotta drive that distance, can be quite draining if long term for the both of u.

tongtong,
your hubby has valid points also la, just give and take....it's only another 6-7 months to go :) cheer up!

Kitsune,
Your girl is so cute! Time really passes fast.

I also cant cope with 2 kids now as they get older and older.. (mmm suppose to be easier I thought). It is like so fast now that Crystal is 3 mths old, can smile and coos.. and my boy can go diaperless for few hours.

Not sure how my time pass, even with a maid.. I still no life- except come by my pc for 3-5 mins.. clicking ard FB games hahahahaha

Thanks, Tongtong, icy. Noticed that Raelynn has more admirers though she is still a baby. Hubby ask me raeanne how, I joked with him that he must provide attractive dowry lor.

Kam, Mylife, ya I let her play the way she wants, that's why they ended up like that lor. My maid lagi better, she assembles n wraps them up in clingwrap then put in storeroom except the floor jigsaw puzzle cos that one too big. Think I should take them out again n see if she is more keen. ;)

kam/aqua, yeah, you are right, respect. OK la , i think i din feel so upset liao because he took leave to celebrate bday with me. First time ever leh! meaning for the last 4 years he never take leave one. :p I actually found another solution for the CC. I might drive to my friend's house (nearer)then let the 2 kiddos take school bus. not sure whether it's a good idea though.

pixie, eh, your hb din object u in putting X in school liao wor.

aqua, so will you still continue ur gal at CC? yeh , another half a year la, to attend cc.

luca/LUvv, yea thanks for the comforting word. i hope i can get a pg for S soon.

icy, how's your maid? i think with the help of maid, you can try to catch more rest?

Pauline, maybe Raelynn is prettier than cheh cheh? Anyway usually in a family, out of a few siblings, there will be 1 who is outstanding (prettier/more handsome). For mine, i'm the ugliest, my sister is very pretty, and my brother is very handsome, haha. Actually i did feel very jealous when i was a kid whenever those aunties commented that how pretty is my sis n ignored me. actually felt quite hurt ahha. wah that time so young already learned to be so self conscious wor! hehe.

Hello, mummies.

Pop in to say "HI" before I disappear into my mountain high workload for another few hours (maybe less than that if I need a breather).

Tongtong,
You are not ugly lah! Don't say that. To your hubby and S, you are the prettiest wife and mummy!

tongtong,
driving to one place to another is very time consuming regardless of the distance. I think in a long run, it's still not ideal. Unless you really wants S to start that cc very badly.

Aiyoh, you where got ugly. You are pretty too!

finally got some activity here. i refresh until my browser can BOOMz liao!

tongtong
i think we all mummies looked ok leh. i havent come accross any ugly mummies. got i will email you and gossip. but, dont have! hurhur

i agree that out of few siblings, sure got 1 not very good looking. last time when young, my sisters both looked prettier than me, my mom always say my face &amp; head big big, body small small - like mismatched....*SAD*
so, im also afraid that my #2 will be ugly.....hahaaaa
im sure lots of mummies here will be scared of this too?

very pissed at wrk, my lady boss is making things difficult for me! so shay, today i one person inoffice, also dun 'let me off'....

realli sian...

tongtong, yes, i intend let her continue. first, nobody to look after her now liao, and secondly, her teacher ther reali nice and v sweet..
i also like her personally... kekeke

tongtong, dun be inferior, u r pretty in ur own way

in my own opinion, a person kind in heart looks more pretty than one who is onli 'gd looking' superficially!
hav faith in urself

kam
noleh i dont think you are ugly leh, haha

hey i wanna ask mummies, who got astigmatism? shan kwang?
ive been told that i have that, after 3 tests at diff shops just to prove. i know i have that since young but lived with it for so long, didnt really affect my daily life...
but one night while going out with my gfs, i realised that the halo that they saw at the streetlamps vs mine is so big difference!!
and i stupidly thought streetlamps are supposed to look like that coz frm young till now, streetlamps all have super big halos....
winner lor
and must wear glasses? can dun wear? for those with astig, does wearing glasses really helps?

Pixie,
Aiya, no one will think their kids are ugly one. Every kid is cute in their parents' eyes.

I got astigmatism. Do you know how much is the degree of astigmatism? Last time, I went to Nanyang Optical and the staff said I had 100 degree on each eye. Then said I must wear astigmatic contact lens which is so much more exp. Then I blur blur and listen and followed. Later, my BIL recommended a good optician to me and know what, the astigmatism is on 50 and don't have to buy those special lenses!!! Damn angry with Nanyang, never want to step inside, cheat my money. So now I wear normal lenses.

Yes, you will see halos but mine is more like the outer line of the light is slight blur, not as big as what you described. From what you say, yours seem higher degree leh. What did the optician said? I remember astigmatism cannot reduce one... so maybe have to wear glasses... not sure coz I only got it in recent yrs, by then I am already short-sighted.

krystle
mine is 100+ for left (i think 175?) and less than 100 for right eye.
i thought i short sighted, coz i need to bring things closer n closer to my eyes to read. but all of them said the same - astig makes you do that too...
ok so your halo is at the outer line of the light? my halo, if you want to compare by perspective, i see orangey (streetlamp colour) light at least 2 x the size of the original light....errr dunno if you get me?
so at night, everywhere i go, my eyes see super big twinkling lights. but i thought, all lights are like that!!

so, your "good optician" is at where, can intro to me? i dun mind wearing glasses if i can keep my eyesight

This was on last night 10pm news on channel 8 - A maid was charged for having sex (intercourse and oral sex) with her employer's 12 years old son. And it was only discovered after they did "it" a few time, when the grandma accidentally opened the door and saw the maid giving oral to the boy! Yucks!!! <font color="ff0000">Soooooo sickening!!!</font>

tongtong
The maid does help a lot in terms of housework. But for the 2 kids, especially Xavier.. he prefer Me or Daddy. He is getting more and more jealous of his little sister. Want a lot more attention, and #2 need to latch on every 2hr+. Trying on carry on..

pixie
I got 200+ astig, been wearing glass for more than for 10 yrs already. Still like that.. I heard laser cannot cure astig. Anyone got any ideas?