(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

steph,
Like pixie said, the book cannot be teared off one. And best thing is, you can rinse the whole book with water, or even wash it, so it's clean for them to "eat".

The rest of the books I got from a BP a long, long time ago.

pixie,
For DVD, I usually let HR watch the chinese ones. The phonics and all he learns from school, so don't want to repeat that at home. His cc is using the Letterland phonics.

blessedbaby,
What toys have you bought? Can you e-mail me? I want to buy toys for HR and XY for the longest time ever, but still can't find anything. But okay lah, also becasue we don't go shopping. Maybe should do more online shopping, but I don't really like online shopping, cos can't see/touch the thing in real.

pixie,
I always forgot to tell you this. When we were at the SOL cafe that time, I have a zebra with me on my hand, and showed it to the kid (HR, Rylee and X), actually X was trying to say something leh. My guess is he knows it's zebra for sure, but he just needs a little push to say it out. Maybe when he is with your MIL, the environment is really not conductive enough for him to learn or to speak. Your hub really very stubborn hor.

pixie,
oh i see, now i see the difference between leapfrog dvd & leadpad...leapfrog got so many pdts until i blur also..maybe i am too lazy to explore
ok, will take the littletouch pad out this wkend & let Z & R explore...both very rough de, if the page wont tear then the whole system sure let them bang bang on the floor or abuse by their powerful little hands...can u imagine?haha

shannonbaby,
my hb's cousin suffered from Tonsillitis. He just under went opt recently but doc told him this condition no cure. The opt he went is to take out his tonsil & temp ease his discomfort of constant sore throat & high fever. Before the opt, he suffered from high fever every month or so leh.

blessedbaby
thanks for your advice
x reads books daily too + the leapfrog dvd. i have basically done what you have described but he is not keen to open his mouth to talk....
about the "weird" tantrums, he doesnt want anything at that moment. my guess is he just wants assurance or recognition that he is angry at the moment.
if i know he wants something, it would be easier for me to resolve it. however, most times, he didnt want or require anything thats why i say its "weird" tantrums.

kam
aye he knows whats a zebra, and now he can say the "word" liao lor (but not "zhun", but its ok)...from SOL till now, he improved loads, finally speaking 2 words sentences, and said "thank you" last weekend...
slowly bah, still behind but slowly bah

hey steph, btw, the word zebra, x learn from the leappad one leh

Tongtong,
Yep..cheaper at Toysrus but no Thomas / Pooh bear but same function. Smaller seat.

Will show u how my son cling onto the toilet seat for his "dear life". We taught him to hold the seat cover so that he wouldn't fall into the toilet bowl. Mum thinks it's a waste of money to buy the small seat since he can hold so well.

pixie,
Z learn very fast from watching educational tv programs...those with music & songs with real people dancing or talking, he sure glued to it. Cartoons he dun like it at all. Such leappad, he wont have the patient to appreciate de. Nowadays he can appreciate his stickers book very well. I gonna intro him to colouring (using crayons) soon although he has been using Crayola markers to colour in a very messy way still (menaing not within the intended space/line):p

steph
good idea leh!
i observed from x's weekend classes hor, he look forward to the art n craft time....and hes not keen in the song n dance, cannot sit still for long...so maybe i try @ later time, after this mth (term) i wont be signing up liao.
since he is so keen on craft, perhaps on weekends i will do min. 1 craft activity with him
this weekend i got idea liao, i will do the potato n paint thingy

wish me luck

Thanks steph/verene/blessedbaby/aqua!

blessedbaby,
wow where did you get the games from? $500 can buy a lot right?

steph,
the playhouse looks really nice, do they entertain walk in? checked their website, didn't really mention anything there abt individual walk in.My girl also same as your boy leh, learn real fast from educational dvds but she's sick of them now, only wants winnie the pooh and barneys all the time.

re: no. 3
good! so many ppl planning no. 3, i asked hubby this question before, he say see how 1st...but i might only want to stop at 2.

Kam: I will email you tonight coz I will rush to pottery class in 30 mins. Now prepare n wait for my 2 girls wake up from nap and drug them out.
Seriously, I didnt buy any new toys for #2 except 1 Jumperoo still in store room waiting for her to be ready. ;-) I know if we assemble now, Jo will be the one jumping in first. She is a climber. ;-)

Luvv: I bought around 6 puzzle games and imagination toys and a trampoline. ;-) Dont know how much is alot.

Kam: I also don;t have time to go shopping physically, especially with 2 kids, I am sure I can't shop anything. I always shop online. ;-)
Weekend with hubby around is always to bring kids out to park and groceries shopping.

Luvv,
The playhouse welcome walk in, no need reservation. I didn't make any reservation, we were there to have our breakfast & to explore the playhse & if not nice (clean) & no safety in place, hubby will not want Z to play there. But if you have exactly the same toys at home that the playhhouse provide, maybe Chevaun may not enjoy as much?

Aqua, poor gal, stuffed with so much chemical. Don’t worry, after she has recovered, you got to work harder to boost her immunity ok! Oh yea, did you bring her to tcm?

Oh, as for job, i think shun 4 qi2 zi4 ran2 la as I have decided to be sahm. Not sure how long my break will be, let’s see hehe. unless hubby cannot find a better offer la.. I will ask him to jiayou!!

Shannonbaby, poor gal.. is she still on medication? What did the doc say about her tonsilities? How come she will have this?

Steph, yea June is good too.

Pixie, I agree with blessedbaby. Shaun suddenly talks a lot. Maybe due to the story reading I have with him everyday. He loves the story books very much and will ask me to read to him whenever he sees the books. I’m glad that finally he likes to listen to story after I bot those books since last year.

pixie,
Check if X's molars are coming out. B was exactly like that a couple of weeks ago...throw tantrums at the slightest thing or over nothing...cry and scream and roll on the floor. Everyday was a nightmare cos he was screaming and crying so much and nothing could calm him down. Even his teachers asked me if something happened cos he's usually very happy in class. I'm quite sure it's teething cos his gums were so swollen back then and now that I can feel a little bit of the molars, he's mood and appetite is back to normal liao.

yvonne
really? his gums not swollen leh. my 1st thoughts were that either teething or not feeling well (you know they cant express their pain that well)...
apart from some wind in his tummy 2 days ago, nothing else was bothering him
was B also like X? he wanted us to carry him everytime we go out. cannot walk by himself one leh...not shoes prob...even at home kept wanting us to carry

tongtong, she still on antibiotics, wil bring her to tcm after she finished...dunwan her to take too much western medicine too.

shannonbaby, hope Shayne get well soon... did u realise alot of the kids in cc all take turns to fall sick? since my girl joined in march, i realise, alot of kids taking medication to sch daily..i suppose many of them r unwell, hence the virus spread from one to another

tongtong,
My take is still the same - go take a look and see/observe how's the teachers. No matter what they said on the website, be it waldorf, montessori, etc, eventually it still drills down to how caring/capable the teachers are.

Half day work for me today! Yipee!

Im also starting to look for a CC for Celeste. Must start doing homework early coz I want somewhere near to my house.

Next to my block there's a new PCF childcare! Dunno whether it's good or not. But apparently, PCF CC are air-conditioned?! Why are they air-conditioned? So weird... Prefer the children not to have air-con leh.

Anyone's kids in PCF childcare. How is it?

pixie, yea kovan. they got school bus service though.

kam, yea, will take a visit one day, havent arranged, dunno still got vacancy or not.

Kam,
hehe...I do come in to read the post but sometimes never contribute...busy watching show and doing planning for a trip later this year

pixie,
Ask X if it's painful when you press on his gums? B's mood was so bad back then that he couldn't really sleep and he always hold on to me like a koala after his naps and refuses to let me go anywhere. I couldn't even cook dinner without him crying and screaming outside the kitchen. But when I ask him what he wants or why he's angry, he can't answer me. Sometimes he even cries until he's shivering and shaking. I seriously thought he had some anger management issues....hahaha. But he was just upset/uncomfortable but couldn't verbalise to us.

pixie,
i think it's developmental phase? not to worry so much? he's only 2 yrs old ma..same as you, although i read to my girl almost daily for the past 2 yrs, she only started yakking a lot after she turns 2.

tongtong,
i seconded kam. Do a spot check on the school/cc. The enviroment, curriculum & teaching methodology also play an important role, not only the teachers
best is to bring S along when doing cc visiting.

tongtong,
That Whole Child Nurture Centre is just 5 mins walk away from my house. It's housed in a stretch of landed property. I will passby when I go to my in-laws place. Hmmm...I've always seen parents picking up their kids in the evenings but I've never seen the teachers before so can't help much. But I know it's been there for the longest time. I ever considered putting B there when I was still working cos it's walking distance but it's not good for rainy days cos no shelter. Isn't it a bit too far for you? You stay in the north right?

tongtong,

You can also go to www.kiasuparent.com to find out more.

Btw, feel that long journey will make the young toddler very tired. Perhaps u shld also look out for some sch near your area? You "fang xin" let him take sch bus at such young age ah?

Yvonne/Steph, yea i stay in the north. But i drive ma, not sure whether it's still far if we drive there. I like the centre because of what they advocate ma. And also they serve organic vegetarian, just fit what i'm looking for wor. BUt too bad, it's so far.. sigh.

Janbb, yeh, you are right, it might be very tiring for him. I couldnt find a suitable one near my house. unless i put him in talentplus which coincide with his nap time 12.30pm wor.

JanBB,
I agree with you. That's why I eventually didn't put HR to the cc near my workplace. Besides, me and hubby enjoy our very limited couple time while driving to work, after dropping off the 2 kids to nanny and cc :)

Pixie,
I agree with blessedbaby and tongtong that reading really helps! Some of the mummies at playgroup were sharing with me that their kids only started learning their ABCs and 123s in playgroup. Some of them are close to 3 years old. I was quite shocked cos B already knew his ABCs and can count to 20 before starting playgroup. And that's becos he loves to read! The mummies were saying their kids dislike reading or probably they don't make it a habit to read to them. But it's really helpful. It's not about being kiasu or whatever. Toddlers learn really fast and if they are willing to learn then we should teach them a much as possible. Even if they can't talk well now but all the knowledge will be absorbed.

Re: choosing a CC

I have one right downstairs of my hse, rain or shine, don't even need umbrella and the best part is, i will be more fang xin to let my helper bring her down during confinement...however, curriculum wise not that fantastic and the place is not really bright (i like bright bright centres). Pro is the teacher turn over rate really low as i see the same faces everyday for the past 2 years. I'm in delimma cos i'm not sure whether it's a good cc for learning though i would love her to be more independent.

Luvv,
Since you mentioned about being more independent. I'm really stressed up cos planning to toilet-train B during the June school holidays. Also need to train him to self-feed and drink from cup...SIGH! I already told hubby to take leave and stay home to help me clean up the mess otherwise I will go crazy...hahaha. Since he's starting N1 next year, gotta get him ready...IF he's willing to co-operate.

yvonne
wah B tantrums sounded like X's

abt reading
hey i read to him everyday leh, he loves it when we share 3-4books a day. dont look its not helping, but hes more keen in the pictures on the book

Yvonee,
HR doens't really like reading, at home at least. At cc no choice, have to follow the schedule. But he is one bubbly toddler, speaks very well and learns fast. Hubby said because I talk too much so already a talking book to him :) But when he is in the mood to read, he can follow me and read out the whole (simple) book, with pretty accurate pronounciation! But I am actually a bit scared when come to reading time, cos I am worried that my pronounciation may not be accurate. Chines I have no problem.

pixie,
Then you don't have to worry lah. X is just not comfortable to speak up yet...when he's ready he'll talk non-stop. Nowadays my hubby will ask B whether he can stop talking and be quiet for 5 mins...hahaha!

tongtong,
I'm not too sure cos I don't pass by that area in the mornings. I used to walk past in the evenings after work but already quite late around 7pm so most kids would have left.

Kam,
But HR is so advanced in his speech and development. I think I scold B more than I talk to him...guilty guilty. Now he will even imitate what I will say before he does something. For example, he will say "don't touch ah...mummy's coffee"...then he will touch...hahaha

yvonne, mcfluffy,
Hi*5...Z oso same, can talk non-stop until my FIL buay tahan...asked me to send him to school soon!
Z can self-feed very well now...refused to let me feed/help him woh...even when come to drinking from cup, he wont allow us to touch the cup, he will want to hold the cup himself. But when come to other activity like dancing to the music, he will pull my hand & ask me to stand up & join him!

Yvonne,
HR is not that talkative though. We never stop him from talking, the more the better. His teacher told me nowadays he talks a lot at school, and became very kay-po, will tell his classmates can do this, cannot do this, teacher will get angry, etc, behaving like the class monitor :) His development okay lah, cos he is one grows up in cc environment from 2 months old leh!

Philosophy of Life - Mexican Fishermen

A boat docked in a tiny Mexican fishing village.
A tourist complimented the local fishermen on the quality of their fish and asked how long it took him to catch them.
"Not very long." they answered in unison.
"Why didn't you stay out longer and catch more?"
The fishermen explained that their small catches were sufficient to meet their needs and those of their families.
"But what do you do with the rest of your time?"
"We sleep late, fish a little, play with our children, and take siestas with our wives. In the evenings, we go into the village to see our friends, have a few drinks, play the guitar, and sing a few songs. We have a full life."
The tourist interrupted, "I have an MBA from Harvard and I can help you! You should start by fishing longer every day. You can then sell the extra fish you catch. With the extra revenue, you can buy a bigger boat."
"And after that?"
"With the extra money the larger boat will bring, you can buy a second one and a third one and so on until you have an entire fleet of trawlers.
Instead of selling your fish to a middle man, you can then negotiate directly with the processing plants and maybe even open your own plant. You can then leave this little village and move to Mexico City , Los
Angeles , or even New York City !
From there you can direct your huge new enterprise."
"How long would that take?"
"Twenty, perhaps twenty-five years." replied the tourist.
"And after that?"
"Afterwards? Well my friend, that's when it gets really interesting, " answered the tourist, laughing. "When your business gets really big, you can start buying and selling stocks and make millions!"
"Millions? Really? And after that?" asked the fishermen..
"After that you'll be able to retire, live in a tiny village near the coast, sleep late, play with your children, catch a few fish, take a siesta with your wife and spend your evenings drinking and enjoying your friends."
"With all due respect sir, but that's exactly what we are doing now. So what's the point wasting twenty-five years?" asked the Mexicans.

And the moral of this story is: Know where you're going in life... you may already be there.

tongtong,
It's less than 10 mins walk from Kovan MRT.

Steph,
B is so lazy to self-feed...especially when he's tired and hungry after class. He will sit on the sofa watching okto and expect me to feed him. He doesn't demand to self-feed like some most kids lor. Too comfortable to learn another skill?? As for drinking from cup, he's more interested to pour it on the floor then act innocent and ask me "How? Floor wet wet"...aiyo...

hi mummies, i wana ask how does hfmd symptons like? does hfmd cause high fever 39degree+ or juz mild fever from 37-38 degree?

kitsune, is raeanne the one who kana hfmd las time? sorry, i may hav rem wrongly, need some advice of the symptons and treatment. thks

Aqua,
hfmd will cause very high fever cos is viral infection. Other symptoms include throat ulcer (hence refuse to drink and eat) and blister on palm and foot.

HR got it twice and yes RA got it once.