(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Alamak steph, just read your message now and it was 2.30pm liao! Hope you got to the right station!! Din check forum just now because was queing for goodwood park’s durian pastries in our com just now, all 20% off. Think we queued for more than half an hour.

Blessedbaby, yea, am going to get brief for him too, cuz his boxer is too big and lose for him cuz still got to wear pants when go out.

Mandy, yea the sun series is good, I got the set at home because my last spree coudnt hit enough order for 20% discount, so I ordered for S, but still not opened yet. If you want to see, can come my house and take a look? Hehe. As for dictionary, I think all are pretty good depending on which one u want, phonics? Or a to z? all comes with pics, quite interesting, and it’s not expensive, all got 20% ma. So they are worth it.

icy, i think it is, colleagues said the crepe is nice! actually even after 20% still quite ex. I bought 20 durian puffs ( small one hor), for $34 leh!!

got colleague bot 1 big durian roll, will have durian party later at 4+!!

tongtong
yes BPA free

to answer ur qn, yes i woke x up to take medication lor. then 10am once more, and just now 2pm once more...he was burning so hot that he couldnt sleep well so didnt nap at all...

later must go boil. but i only got yi mi can?

Pixie,

u can try to boil "ling yang" & let x drink like plain water. It will cool down his temp. But dun feed together with med. Western & chinese med cannot mix. Hope his fever come down soon. Take care!!

janbb
oh yah hor....

but hor tongtong n janbb, my boy is not heaty, drink all these usually meant for heaty kind of sickness rite

Pixie,

My mum always advised me to boil "ling yang" if fever go up high. It will bring it down. But after that, dun give them liao. Cos is too "liang", may get cough if drink too much. U may want to try if the fever still high? Anyway, juz take it as plain water to replenish the water loss also good. Did u let him sweat out?? He will def feel better after a big sweat.

Pixie, how come the seller who pmed me said the VIA cup is not BPA free leh? Scratch head. Anyway good buy hor? $15 for 10 cups.

BTW, he wont cry when you woke him up meh?? Yi mi’s effect not as fast as the big one. but can give la, cuz must give lots of fluid ma.

Pixie, how you know his fever is not heaty leh? Confirmed viral fever? After he took the medicine he not sleepy meh?

tongtong
confirm viral fever. his lips not red, he pass lots of urine, very good stools, no running nose, no cough. no signs of heatiness leh...

he hates the med, he cry or no cry i still have to try to give it to him leh, and nope, he is not drowsy after taking ibuprofen....haizzzzzzzz

abt ur via cups, i remember seeing philips.com saying its bpa free. perhaps old stock vs new stock?

Kam,
do u know that Dr Keoy has left Thomson Paediatric Centre? just now i called the clinic to check on something and found out this, but his new clinic is still at novena medical centre, nt sure which floor thou.

J dun like the smell of ling yang. I mixed it in the milk to let him "tao liang". Btw, dun give overnite ling yang.

Pixie, usually kids will have fever if they have running nose or cough/flu. But how come he got fever without any other symptom leh? To9 I go read up again.

u wana try TCM? yesterday my fren recommended a good TCM at kembangan, they are good in treating kids, and gives massage too. pm me if u want contacts.

i didnt go coz it was too far for me. went to a TCM at yishun instead. hope the chinese medicine will work for my boy.

luca, the GP suggested we go PD since she has been coughin 6 weeks.tot of going to hav a peace of mind. our regular pd is always v crowd n long q , so wana seek some recommendation.if everythin ok, then slowly 'tiao' Via tcm later.

Luca,
Yes, of course I know, I am one of his loyal supporters mah. He is at #10-02 Novena Medical Centre. His OWN clinic, forgot under which group liao. His clinic opening time changed back to the one when he was at TMC, with night clinics on Mon and Thurs if I remember correctly, and not working on some afternoons.

Aqua,
Can request for a nose swab test if your girl have running nose/mucus. So can confirm what bug it is.

kam, yes.the GP said her cough could be due to new environment, and she advise to go PD to hav another opinion and ofcse stronger n better medicine.
thks all 4 the advice here, it is reali tiring phyically n mentally when kid is sick..

my boy finally slept

tongtong
when my boy has viral fever, he only has fever, no cough, no runny nose, no other ailments. that is his trait lor

btw, help help, even ibuprofen (neurofen) is not keeping the temperature down liao. usually the temperature will go down in half an hrs time, but temperature stays constant or drops only a little. this has happened for the past 2 dosage. what can i do next??

pixie,
sounds bad lei, i guess u need to sponge and use those cooling patch? and prob another trip to the doc, doc may prescribe those insert thingies to bring the fever down....

Pixie,

How high is his temp now?? Did u give paracetamol 3hrs later after neurofen? You shld alternate the med like the followings:

Eg)6pm - High fever >38.5, give neurofen.
9pm - If fever still high, can give paracetamol after 3hrs.
12midnite - Neurofen again if still >38.5. If not got to wait until 3am to give paracetamol.

*(Juz rem, same med can only be given after 6hrs. u know what i mean.)

If fever still persist, bring X to KK A&E. $80 covers everything. The doctor & nurse will only let u leave the hospi after his fever come down.

Take care!! Understand the pain & tiredness to take care of a feverish child. Only worry & worry, been thru' before.

haiz I nw sponging lor. kns tmr need to go back office ley sianz…if tmr med still not working yah will ask for insert liao

so kancheong forgot got insert hah.

janbb
paracetamol didn't worked at all and I'm giving neurofen every 4-5 hrs. he took a dose of paracetamol in d afternoon and the temperature just shoot up, no effect at all ley haha.

now temp is ard 39 cobsidered ok liao wor. before neurofen it's 39.5 or more kind. hope sponging can lower to 38.xx lor

just discussed with hb, if till morning still the same will bring him to doc n see if doc say do insert or go a&e

pixie,
yup, think it's best to go to the dr to figure out wat's wrong and get the right meds. if tonight it gets really bad, go a&e like wat janbb suggested...neurofen every 4-5 hrs is quite severe leh...

take care....u hv a long night ahead of u...

grumpus
precisely!! neurofen is every 6hourly by right and I am giving every 4-5 hours I try to stretch it as long as I can wor. usually he will sweat and temp goes down by at least a degree kind but it's simply not working

Pixie,
Was advised by PD to alternate both neurofen & paracetamol every 3hrs. Rem KK also advised the same thing. U mean u did that but fever still high ah? Like that, better go A&E now. Dunno why the fever always get extreme high in the middle of the nite. High Fever is no joke. Last time J got hit 40 degree, really scaring me. We went to KK A&E at 4-5am. Go now better to drag yourself there at wee hrs. Really tired men.

janbb
yes we gave paracetamol after a dose of neurofen 3 hrs later but the fever ignored paracetamol and steadily climbed up in degrees
ok let me try to give paracetamol again it's been 3hrs Liao I see how it goes

pixie,
actually like what janbb says, did u try alternating neurofen and para?
cos now that i think back, i remember the first time lexie had high fever i didn't have neurofen, only para. the para alone didn't work to bring the fever down so i also resorted to giving it every 4 hrs but fever still high. next day i brought her to pd, pd prescribe neurofen and to alternate 3hrly and somehow it worked to bring the fever under control...

grumpus
have. today in d afternoon. it didn't worked at all so I had no choice but to give neurofen 4-5hrly.
just gave x a dose of paracetamol and see how bah. I'll try again

Pixie,
X has enough fluid? Give him a lot, At least 1-2 litre a day. If fever doesn't go down after 24h even after fever med, and it's high fever, better seek dr advise. 39-39.5 is considered high fever, after fever med, should expect to drop below 38.5. Your hub better Liao? You take care too!

info sharing time - copied from feb thread

For toddlers who always cough or prolonged cough which seems hard to recover. Use the Chinese way of treating cough!

因咳嗽有外感咳嗽和内伤咳嗽之分,而外感咳嗽又分风寒咳嗽和风热咳嗽,不同类型的咳嗽在用药上是完全不同的,食疗的方法也就不同。在这里教家长一个简单的区分方法,就是观察孩子的舌苔。如果舌苔是白的,则是风寒咳嗽,说明孩子寒重,咳嗽的痰也较稀、白黏,并兼有鼻塞流涕,这时应吃一些温热、化痰止咳的食品。如果孩子的舌苔是黄、红,则是风热咳嗽,说明孩子内热较大,咳嗽的痰黄、稠、不易咳出,并有咽痛,这时应吃一些清肺、化痰止咳的食物。内伤咳嗽多为久咳、反复发作的咳嗽,这时家长应注意给孩子吃一些调理脾胃、补肾、补肺气的食物,具体方法如下:

风寒咳嗽  

1.生姜+红糖+大蒜 孩子患了风寒感冒,喝温热的生姜红糖水能起到很好的治疗作用,如果孩子同时还伴有咳嗽,可在生姜红糖水里再加2~3瓣大蒜一起煮,要用小火煮10分钟,把蒜头的辣味煮掉,这样孩子才肯喝。
2.蒸大蒜水 取大蒜2~3瓣,拍碎,放入碗中,加入半碗水,放入一粒冰糖,把碗加盖放入锅中去蒸,大火烧开后改用小火蒸15分钟即可。当碗里的蒜水温热时喂给孩子喝,大蒜可以不吃。一般一天2~3次,一次小半碗。大蒜性温,入脾胃、肺经,治疗寒性咳嗽、肾虚咳嗽效果非常好,而且方便简单,孩子也愿意喝。  
3.烤橘子 将橘子直接放在小火上烤,并不断翻动,烤到橘皮发黑,并从橘子里冒出热气即可。待橘子稍凉一会,剥去橘皮,让孩子吃温热的橘瓣。如果是大橘子,孩子一次吃 2~3瓣就可以了,如果是小贡桔,孩子一次可以吃一只。最好配合大蒜水一起吃,一天2~3次。橘子性温,有化痰止咳的作用。吃了烤橘子后痰液的量会明显减少,镇咳作用非常明显,而且孩子都愿意吃。  4.麻油姜末炒鸡蛋 将一小勺麻油放入炒锅内,油热后放入姜末,稍在油中过一下,随即打入1个鸡蛋炒匀。孩子风寒咳嗽及体虚咳嗽时,每晚让孩子在临睡前趁热吃一次,坚持吃上几天,就能收到明显效果。
5.梨+花椒+冰糖 梨一个,洗净,横断切开挖去中间核后,放入20颗花椒,2粒冰糖,再把梨对拼好放入碗中,上锅蒸半小时左右即可,一只梨可分两次吃完。蒸花椒冰糖梨对治疗风寒咳嗽效果非常明显,但有的孩子不喜欢花椒的味道,家长可自己选择。

以上是治疗风寒咳嗽的食疗方,家长在运用这些方法治病的同时,还应注意以下性寒凉的食物不能让孩子吃:绿豆、螃蟹、蚌肉、田螺、蜗牛、柿子、柚子、香蕉、猕猴桃、甘蔗、西瓜、甜瓜、苦瓜、荸荠、慈姑、海带、紫菜、生萝卜、茄子、芦蒿、藕、冬瓜、丝瓜、地瓜等,这些寒凉的食物在孩子受凉感冒丶咳嗽的时间,尽量避免吃。

风热咳嗽

1丶梨+冰糖+川贝: 梨洗净,靠柄部横断切开,挖去中间核後,放入2-3粒冰糖,5-6粒的川贝,川贝要敲碎成末,把梨上部拼对好,也可用牙签插紧,放入碗中,上锅蒸30分钟左右即可,分2次给孩子吃,此方有润肺丶止咳丶化痰的作用,是一个非常普及的治疗风热咳嗽的食疗方,有的家长孩子一咳嗽就做给孩子吃,有时挺管用的,有时孩子却越吃咳嗽越重,所以家长一定要注意,不是什麽咳嗽都可以用此方法的,必须是风热咳嗽,孩子的舌苔是红的或黄的,痰是粘稠发黄的,孩子的内热重,咳嗽还伴有咽痛,胸痛时,可用此方,效果较好。还有各种的消炎药及多数的止咳药都对风热咳嗽有很好的治疗效果,所以在多种原因引起的咳嗽中风热咳嗽是最容易治愈的。而现在的孩子普遍贪凉,热了有空调,一年四季都在吃寒凉的水果,一年四季都在吃冷饮喝饮料,所以现在风热咳嗽的孩子明显减少。家长在选择食疗方时应注意看孩子的舌苔,如果风寒咳嗽,舌苔是白的,而川贝苦丶寒,吃了此方,是寒症以寒凉药治,尤如雪上加霜,适得其反。
2丶煮萝卜水: 白萝卜洗净,切4-5薄片,放入小锅内,再加大半碗水,放火上烧开後,再改小火煮5分钟,关火,等水不烫了,温的给孩子喝,对风热咳嗽丶鼻乾咽燥丶乾咳少痰效果是不错的,特别是2岁以内的宝宝,就单煮白萝卜水给孩子喝,就能起到顺气丶化痰丶止咳丶消食丶健胃丶清热丶生津的作用,可以一日喝2-3次。
3丶还可以给孩子吃下列食物 ①杮子:性寒,能清热丶袪痰丶止咳,但孩子一次只能吃一只杮子,因杮子性大寒,吃多了孩子会肚子不舒服。 ②西瓜:性寒,夏天孩子有风热咳嗽,可多给孩子吃西瓜,西瓜能治一切热症。 ③枇杷:性凉,能润肺化痰丶止咳,适宜热咳吐黄脓痰的孩子吃。 ④荸荠:性寒,家长可以了2-3只荸荠去皮,切成薄片,放入锅中,加一碗水,在火上烧5分钟即可。给孩子喝荸荠水,能化痰丶清热,对热性咳嗽吐脓痰者效果好。 ⑤还可以给孩子用冬瓜煨汤丶炒丝瓜丶炒藕片丶炒苦瓜,同样可起到消内热丶袪火丶止咳的作用。 孩子风热咳嗽时,辛辣丶容易上火的食物不要吃,如羊肉丶狗肉丶乌骨鸡丶蚕蛹丶鱼丶虾丶枣丶桂园肉丶荔枝丶核桃仁丶樱桃丶辣椒,应禁止食用。

内伤咳嗽 就是指那些长期的反复发作的慢性咳嗽,或是因感冒发烧引起的,感冒丶发烧症状已消失丶咳嗽就是一直不好,各种消炎药丶止咳药都用了,仍止不住,虽然咳嗽的程度有所减轻,但孩子仍会常常咳嗽,这时家长可以运用食疗的方法帮助孩子恢复。反复咳嗽的孩子,使用的消炎药和止咳药多,这类孩子的胃口较差丶没有食欲。舌苔也几乎都是白苔,所以家长先要调理好孩子的脾胃,配合补肾丶补肺丶补血的食物,提高孩子的身体素质。具体的做法如下:

1丶前面介绍的治疗风寒咳嗽的食疗方,都适合内伤咳嗽的孩子食用,而风热咳嗽的食疗方对久咳不愈的孩子应避免食用。
2丶煮山药粥: 取山药一段,去皮,节成小块,放入食品粉碎机内,再加半碗水,将山药加工成稀糊状,倒入小锅内,放火上烧,一边烧一边搅,以防糊锅底,当山药烧开了,冒泡了,关火。最好是在孩子空腹吃,喂给孩子吃,做好的一碗山药粥可以分2-3次喂孩子食用。山药健胃丶补肺气丶益肾精,滋养强壮,适合脾胃气虚,肺肾不足所致的虚劳咳喘。但山药内所含的淀粉酶,又称消化素,能分解成蛋白质及碳水化合物,所以有滋补之效,这种淀粉酶怕高热,在持久的高热中久煎,功效可以丧失。因此,在煎煮时,不可过久。运用此方法加工的山药粥最适合婴幼儿食用,不但能止咳治哮喘,还对小儿的厌食丶虚汗多丶流口水丶气虚胆小等病症也有很好的治疗效果。
3丶红枣+白果: 此方适合2岁以上的孩子食用。取红枣3粒丶白果3粒去壳,放入小锅中,加上大半碗水,放火上烧,中火烧10分钟即可。让孩子吃红枣丶白果,并喝水,每天一次,最好是每晚睡前给孩子吃。红枣性温,益气补气,健脾和胃,白果性平敛肺气,定咳喘,并有固肾的作用,所以对一些久咳不愈,反复感冒丶发烧丶咳嗽的孩子家长每晚给孩子吃红枣白果汤效果是很明显的。还可以同时治疗遗尿症,但红枣和白果的量一定要掌握好,只限於3粒,量多了孩子容易上火丶气滞。
4丶核桃+芝麻+红枣+蜂蜜或黄酒: 核桃仁半斤,黑芝麻2两,红枣半斤,核桃仁和黑芝麻可以放入粉碎机里碾碎,红枣去核切碎,将这三样放入大碗中搅均匀,再放入一饭勺的蜂蜜(夏天用蜂蜜,冬天用黄酒),3饭勺的水,因蜂蜜比较难搅均匀,所以先将蜂蜜和水在炉火上加热,蜂蜜化开了,趁热倒入碾碎的核桃仁丶黑芝麻丶红枣中,用筷子搅拌均匀,在大碗上要加上盖子,再放入大锅里去蒸,大火烧开後改小火40分钟即可。每天早晚给孩子吃一勺。核桃仁性温,有补气益清丶润肠补肾丶敛肺定喘丶止咳化痰的功效,芝麻性平,有补血丶明目丶祛风丶润肠丶生津丶补肝肾的功效,大枣性温,有补中益气丶健脾和胃丶补血的功效。这三样常用的补品合起来可以起到补血丶补肾,调理脾胃丶润肠的作用,再加上蜂蜜的补虚丶润燥的作用,可以使此方补而不燥,冬季用黄酒可加强补肾丶养血的功效。此方不但能治小儿久咳丶支气管炎丶哮喘,而且对小儿的便秘也有非常好的治疗效果,同时此方小儿可以长年食用,对增强孩子的体质效果很好,那些热衷於给孩子吃补品的家长不妨动手自己做。

morning mummies!!
aiyoh im exhausted mentally and physically leh. this is the worst case i've encountered for the past 2 years...didnt sleep much the whole night, was sponging him most of the time

he didnt want the med from day1 onwards, everytime we dilute the orange med and add in yakult, plus 1 or 2 beanie (sweets), he will drink up lar... but yest nite was so bad, he didnt want any, the 11pm dose we had to force feed him....2am one...goner, he screamed the whole blk down, half hr later still didnt take in any.
in the end i had to explain and reason with him. after the super long speech (i think at least 5 mins of propaganda) he took the med willingly....

now hb reports no more fever, and hopefully its not a lull period, must really monitor the whole day liao

tongtong
did u read up re: yest post abt why my boy fever time no cough no runny nose no other symptoms?
normal or not ah?

pixie, seems that he looks sick leh, cuz of constant irritable, you should bring him to see doc leh. cuz he only have fever but no other symptoms, which is strange. BUT, there is one possibility, might be roseola. had he have roseola yet? usually will have rashes outbreak after high fever subsided , after day 3. Fever with no other symptom, cannot be teething cuz it should be mild fever. IF persistently high fever, then might be roseola, ie only fever, then subside, then rashes outbreak.

sorry i forgot to check my thomson dictionary. will check tonight!!

tongtong
x from young always has this kind of fever leh:
-constantly high ranging 38 - 39.xxx (once hit 40)
-temp up and down
-no runny nose
-no cough
-stools ok
-urine ok
-not fussing (still running around as though not sick at all)
-sleeps ok, appetite ok

my understanding all along is that this is just a typical viral fever, not roseola, coz no rashes after 4days of fever

he gets its once every 3 mths or so. plus/minus

pixie, more than 39 is considered high grade fever but not the highest. According to the thomson medical guidebook, 42 is only considered high risk cuz scared of epilepsy, ie sudden increase of temperature then will have seizure. And body acts like thermostat it will hit and off 40 degree usually, unless it's uncontrollable then epilepsy will occur.

You said x always have fever once every 3 mth and of same nature, so i think it's better to consult doctor??

tongtong
when x was younger (when the fever started), we went to our gp and pd, both same diagnosis: viral fever; because of the classic yo-yo temperature.
after that (perhaps 3 or 4 times later) we dont bother to see doc liao, just take the meds (paracetamol and ibuprofen) and his bout of fever will be gone in 4-5days time

only this time medicine doesnt work thats why so jialat

do you mean we should suspect that it is something more than a typical viral fever?

pixie, i'm not sure leh. where did he contract the viral from? He din even go cc yet, unless he always go out, taking MRT where there's lots of ppl, or you all bring back the germs from outside and infect him.

Actually i see this from 2 angles:

1 angle: He is healthy, so he always have fever to fight off the virus.

2 angle: STill need to boost his immune system, so that next time when he catch the virus, the fever wont be as high, ie still fever la, cuz need to fight ma. but wont be as high as to cause worry to you all. and can fight off the virus easily and quicker, and not so many days like 5 or 6 days.

Also, constantly giving the med will cause his immunity system to be relax, ie not to work as hard. Not sure whether he doesnt react to the med this round is beacuse of this - ie reliant on too much med previous times.

For me, i will consult doc, as to what could be the other reason. cuz keep guessing also no use ma.

pixie / tongtong,

Actually now I think of it, HR also kena 1 time super high fever (>40C) with no other sypmtom when we went back to Malaysia for CNY last year (not this year). Brought him to see GP (don't know any PD there), gave para and ibu, he didn't respond to these 2 med at all. At night, shot up to 41C and so rushed him to the hospital A&E. They couldn't do anything, except offer suppository or put him on drip (that's 1st day of CNY leh, choy!). He didn't respond to the suppository! Went home, kept sponging him. Then fever suddenly dropped to below 38C just right before dawn. After that, still didn't respond to the fever med the GP prescribed. Strangely, we gave him another fever med which belongs to my nephew, and he responded to that, and later that day, no more fever. Fully recovered. After that incident, he never had unexplained high fever though, only mild fever so we didn't treat him, let him recover on his own.

kam, that means he needs higher dosage than what PD will usually prescribe for younger kids? maybe Xandell is the same? need higher dosage?? but pixie, dont play play la, better ask doc for the correct dosage