(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Janbb, sweet potato and carrot is considered yellow veg. You can give him daily , no problem. Don’t think you are adding a lot in a meal too, he sure cnat finish also wor, :p I don’t believe that eating orange veg can cause jaundice, cuz it never happen to my boy wor. and maybe it only happens when you take excessively, which shouldn’t happen wor. Also, our tods have grown up and the liver function is good enuff to process the food liao. If I remember to buy eggs, I will give him 3 to 4 eggs a week. Last week forgot to buy, so this week he din have any eggs to eat :p Hey I wanna laugh when I read your post leh, you really never give veg!! :p can give any green veg la, no problem
Janbb, jayden talking already right? Why worry about his speech development? But my boy doesn’t drool for quite long liao. Looks like jayden is really drooling a lot wor. unless your check with ur pd??

Aqua, if there’s no other kids at CC, your gal will be safer right? Unless the bug is still exist in the CC??? Hey aqua, I got eyelid infection too!! I had big stye on my eyelid, luckily subsided liao. Are you okay now?
Myvera, you are really a superwoman liao. Take leave la, rest is important. I’m taking leave tomorrow liao hehe

tongtong, my eye still slightly swollen, doc put me on antibiotics, hopefully shld be cure in 2 days, i suppose? onli my girl class is empty, i tink still got other classes going on for the bigger kids...

tongtong, realli? i am 32 tis yr, first time in life i kana.... while my hubby got big eyes, his eyes everytime also kana...

I wrote to the Traffic Police to ask about the car seat issue.

This is what I asked - I would like to know if it's against the law if I let my 3 year old child
to sit in the front seat, with a booster car seat and belt up with the adult seat belt?

And this is the answer I got after waiting for 2 weeks.

<font color="ff0000">You may wish to note that Sections 10 and 11 of the Road Traffic (Motor
Vehicles, Wearing of Seat Belts) Rules under Chapter 276, Rule 34 states
that an approved child restraint/child seat is needed if children below 8
years old are travelling in a car (be it as a front or rear seat passenger)

Any person who contravenes or fails to comply with any of the provisions of
these Rules shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction
to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding
3 months and, in the case of a second or subsequent offence, to a fine not
exceeding $2,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months. The
offence can also be compounded for a composition amount of S$120/- and 3
demerit points.

If you have 3 children below 8 years old travelling in a car, all of them
must still be belted up in child seats suitable for them. Parents should
ensure that the child restraint must be appropriate for a child of that
height and weight and the child seat/restraint should also be properly
affixed. It is the driver’s responsibility to ensure that these rules are
complied with.</font>

So, what does that mean? Does it mean I can let my kid sit in front or rear seat as long as they are properly belt up? Booster car seat considered child restraint/child seat, or not? They didn't even read my mail properly. I asked 3 year old child, but he replied 3 children below 8 year old..........

Kam,

However letting HR sit in the front seat with the booster seat, you will need to deactivate the airbag as it's dangerous if activated.

From what i read, he refers to all children below 8 yrs old, be he/she is 1 month or 8 yrs old, booster car seat is considered a proper child restraint / child seat.i guess this is a standard reply they are giving from what i read.

Kam,
ya from what i read of their reply, it is ok, you should hold on to this email just in case. They never say cannot and even say be it front or rear passengers.

tongtong,
nope not yet try ouyangying’s recipe
MIL &amp; me no time (not excuse but really can't find time to buy the ingredients) Will try next week perhaps! Nowadays have to deal with Z...he suddenly (for 2wks liow) became so fussy during meal time. Will spit out his food (any food) hiyo headache

Kam,

when u said they did not answer your question and u ask them abt a 3 yr old child, they answer you 3 children.
I think they did not read your email properly (which is always the case). :p

oh Luvv,
dun need envy...me lagi jialat...no option to choose at all...nothing from hb
BUT he did a very nice thingy yesterday
This whole week he is working from home &amp; he took the initiative to change our sofa cover all by himself (usually we changed the cover together 3+2seater) By doing this, he has already given me a gd present liow

tongtong,
not really sure if it's due to teething cos he refused to open his mouth &amp; let me check! But he can eat his nuggets happily leh. Hmm...MIL was grumbling to me that meal time become more &amp; more tedious for her to feed Z. He also refuse rice...have to purposely cook congee style &amp; add his favourite dish then he will eat abit else he simply refuse to swallow
But he loves abalone &amp; fish maw very muchie...this boy really know how to savour gd stuff:p

luca,
cos he has never changed sofa cover himself before leh. My hb hardly do hsework type so if he is willing to go the extra mile, i very happy liow
but of course when i am in a bad mood, i will complain to my mum why i marry such a man in the 1st place...why other man dote on their wife by offering to do hsework &amp; giving push present on special occasion, surrender monthly salary to wife in charge etc..haha...only say in a fit of anger lah. Most important he care for the family (kids) can liow...what more to ask?

Mandy / Luca,
LOL.

steph,
HR has been a fussy eater (he didn't spit out his food, but he used his tougue to taste a bit, if don't like, he didn't even bother to eat) for the last 2-3 months, on everything, even food/fruits that he likes before. We just let him be, didn't force him, only made sure he drinks his milk. Only started last week, he finally decided to start eating again. Now he eats almost everything just like before.

So, don't worry too much. It's a passing phase......

Steph, has Z self feed himself? maybe let him self feed, he might be more interested to eat? Wah yea, he only wants good stuff wor LOL.
Kam, oh, HR has been fussy eater which last for 2 mths liao. Maybe that’s the reason he din eat at the café that day? I really think it’s teething leh. Cuz you said the molar is out. That’s why he resumes eating now.

kam,
huh last for 2-3 months ah...but Z very skinny to start with leh...at this rate of his meal intake, i scare he not getting enuff nutrition if just drink milk. Z only 11kg+/- nia
Hopefully this phase pass real soon! Tks

tongtong,
yea Z already started self feed himself since 18mths. He can do it pretty well although sometimes it still gets a little messy. But now self feed, he plays with his food instead (put it into his mouth &amp; chew/taste a bit &amp; spit it out together with his saliva!)...unlike last time, he will eat it properly w/o spitting.

tongtong,
Not sure. May or may not be. But he has been eating well in school leh (that's why we didn't really worry)..... peer pressure???

Rejection of food
Rylee also started to reject the food given to her. She is not eating anything LITERALLY! On the day we flew back from Sg to HK, she didnt eat ANYTHING the whole day...only bits and pieces here and there. No proper meals at all. Being a mother, naturally, i'm fussing inside but try to look calm outside. Kept telling myself the PD words that u cant force food to a child. Sleep is more important than food. We suspected she cud be teething her final molar (hurray, NO MORE teething problems aft this!) cos she was a bit hot to the touch. True enough, we saw a white spot at the final molar position. But if its' teething (and causing pain when she chews) dunno why she can still chew things she WANTS to eat. So again, we tot, maybe it's not teething cos i read at around 2plus, toddlers start to "exercise" their will power, and eating is one of the thing they feel it's within THEIR control. Cos no matter wat, we cant force them to open their mouth and eat. So i think Rylee is the latter. She's jus merely exercising her "rights" bah...so like Kam, i let her be lo. Once she finds that hunger is not a nice feeling, i hope she will come out of her "toddler's rights cave" and start eating here again. :p

Booster Seat
Kam, i think the Traffic Police reply to u is merely covering their own asses. They didnt say no, yet they didnt explicitly tell u it's ok either. They are just blabbering nonsense as usual. Like replying u orange when u asked for apple. Duh. But like what Luvv said, u need to deactivate the airbag if u put HR in the front seat, but yet, deactivating airbag = dangerous too if (touch wood) the car got jammed brake or into a accident, so it's a catch22.

I wrote again, and this time he replied almost immediately :) But this time, the answer lagi jialat, he said let the child use the car seat till 8 years old. Aiyoh, he sure doens't have children yet, where got car seat to fit children till 8 yo, thought almost all models say till 4 yo at max? Make me wonder how much these people know about children when they were making the rules?

<font color="ff0000">Booster seats are for older children who have outgrown their forward-facing
car safety seats. It is best for children to ride in a seat with a harness
as long as possible, at least to 8 years of age. If your child outgrows his
seat before reaching 8 years of age, in such cases, children should use
booster seats fo raise their height to the level where they can safely use
adult seat belts. Traffic Police will exercise flexibility in these cases.</font>

Schools
Just called SIS (Spore Intl School) in HK and found out ALL students need to pay a one time debenture fee of HKD120,000. What the F**K! Where got discounts for Sporeans??? Blardy expensive lah!

steph, just wait for the teething phase to pass soon!! It’s normal for them not to eat cuz gum not comfortable. That’s why they will still want their milk.

Kam, you mean he eats well in school but not well at home? Maybe he is already full leh, so doesn’t wanna eat anymore when comes back home. Else , might be the food tastes nicer in CC than home cooked food. Or perhaps it’s peer pressure as you mentioned. I saw HR’s booster seat that day, it’s like a car seat. Not the booster seat without the back. So it’s alright to let HR sit on your booster seat as long as there’s harness to strap him.

Mylife, how long will u be staying in HK ah

Kam haha I wish he will say he will bring me on a trip wherever I want to go. That will really make my day lor. :p

luvv no lar mine not a push present since hubby never offer to give me one.
It is more like his promotion present for me. Haha.

steph,
true lar. most important he must always care for the family. i also guilty of complaining abt my hb at times too. hehe

Tongtong,
I mean weekends. He can don't eat anything for the whole day, only drink milk. It's not the food also cos I cooked exactly the same thing for him, he ate a lot last sat while the sat before took 1 spoon then turned away already. Same goes to fruits, refused fruit juice and almost all fruits. Now started to eat any fruit again. Don't know lah, don't need to find out why also. Hope he quickly gains back the 1kg that he has lost, that will make me very happy already :)

Steph/Janbb,

I am thinking about the part of letting our tots going to class alone for the trial. I feel the same as Steph cos I would want to see whether our tots enjoyed the trial lesson or not. I will need to call them up and ask again. also on whether socks needed etc.

morning mummies

wah so many posts to catch up on!

mylife
120,000 is how much? ard 24k?? super bo liao ley.....schooling is so ex in HK??

kam
about the TP thingy, i think they just say use booster seat infront lah. u intend HR to sit infront rite? should be no prob lah

long weekend lai liao. today i have LOTS of things to lug back from chai chee to je:
laptop
modem
vege for x's next 4 days worth of meals
cb meeting distribution stuff

i think im going to be weight lifter soon liao

kam
bo bian
hey btw, just now the original cleaner called me, ask me make decision to use xiao yun or ahling.
i told her yours cfm use ah ling since xiao yun not keen to travel to YT
and i oso keen to use ah ling. she has more flexibility to swap dates since shes more or less free most of the time

krystle
i wanna check hor! if i wanna buy my maquillage (shisheido), cheaper in JPN or cheaper in HKG? would you know? just trying my luck n ask you coz i hope you know the market value of cosmetics in JPN

jess,

got .. but i m still stuck here in office. boss sent email yday after i knock off from work .. tis am aft i left for gp, sent same email n put "well....." expecting me to answer.. how to go mc???

i dunno why im still so hungry
i had:
1 banana
1/2 a papaya (!!!)
2 slices of wholemeal bread

and im still hungry leh!!!

boys shoes
recently x's outgrown shoes so i had to replace his everyday sandals
went to kiddy palace, bata, BHG; all of them with quite a wide selection of shoes for boys.
but but but hor, for sandals that are plain, dark, simple, comfy, flexible - very difficult to buy. only managed to buy a light blue pair of sandals (last pair) ...dunno how to match clothes??

the rest all very ugly. either super colourful with Ben10 (greenish n blackish), or thomas the train (shades of blue and blackish), or weird colours like beige, green, red etc

who has the same prob? boy's shoes n clothings really less selection compared to gals.
sianzzzz
where got bigger selection? i know OG have....anywhere else??

pixie
my mother normally go to the neighbourbood area to buy shoes for J lei. she just bought 1 recently. army style design sandals. $8.90....
at bedok south road opposite TJC there de neighbourhood...

jess
ok i know where liao my aunt stays there...
i got go neighbourhood shops too but i dont like cheesy designs like so many clashing colours in a single strip, thus making the whole shoe so....yurhhhgggg!!

pixie,

try the kiddy palace at Toa Payoh.
They have a wide varieties of shoes for children.
Some kiddy palace only have a small selection unlike Toa Payoh.