(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune,
not necessary your ILs side, must include your hb's whole kampung (relatives, cousin etc) & if majority male offspring then better don't risk cos high chance will be male too! If 60% male & 40% female then can try lah. mine is 95% male, cannot try lah.

aqua,
mylvera got hb's support to try #3, i don't have leh. No hurry lah cos i told my hb if he wants #3, plan before i hit 35 else sorry factory closed for good:p

steph,
But by theory, it's 50:50 chance leh. Gender is determine by that ONE lucky sperm which gets to meet the egg. So it's NOT inherited at all. All depends on your hub's sperms.

Just thinking, is there a test available to do a check on the sperms, as in is it equal amount of X and Y or more X or more Y?

steph: jus asking, do u listen to ur hubby more? i heard if u hav more boys, that means daddy more domineering than wife?

is it true? mummies with no.2 or 3?

icy
yr bro same as my hb. my hb also G6PD deficient. But at the time he was born dunno how come never test and my ILs also dunno anything abt it or tat they are carriers. Only when hb go army and they tested again then he found out. Heng nothing happen to him all this while.

my SIL in aust story even better.....her son already 10 mths old....when they came back for a visit the topic of G6PD came up cos it's in the family. They checked their son's health record and under the G6PD test result is NA. So they ask the PD means wat, PD checked his record and said the test was not completed cos there was not enough blood....and they didn't even inform the parents! faint....

kam,
i thought G6PD is only passed by the mother? cos it's a X-chromosome linked disease. that's why it's a predominantly male prob cos they only hv one X and females are usually carrier's cos their other X is usually good and will compensate..

Kam, haha, in theory it's true lor. But I got relatives with 4 gals and 5 gals in the family. Just not fated to get boys bah even though 50-50 chance. :p

Duh... Aqua, if your theory is true then I confirmed no need to try for no. 3 liao. Cos I'm domineering Leo while hubby is quiet capricorn. ;P

kam,
i read an article where there was a study done on men's sperm and their extended family whether there is any hereditary link to getting boys or girls....apparently sperm is not 50-50 X-Y one...

Thanks, tongtong.
PM me when you need to transfer funds hor. I quite blur to keep track of BPs/sprees these days. :p

kitsune, dun be disappt. mine is juz hearsay, nt scientific proven! coz if true, my no.2 will be girl too... kekke

grumpus
I think they did test for my bro. Just that my parent can't be bothered and don't know the importance of it. haha Never control diet or whatever.. I didn't know about it at all, until my bro went NS last yr.

Woah, The PD can like that one.. so irresponsible.

kam,
yea i second kitsune! If u want boy, u get girl & if u want girl, u'll get boy...if u get both gender, lucky u!

aqua,
no leh...depends on situation.

grumpus,

RE: Sperm
Oh really? So hubby is the one to blame, keke!

RE: G6PD inherited
Yes, it's a X-linked recessive disease (I forgot about this). That's why it's predominant in male. Because male only have 1 copy of X (XY) while female has 2 copies of X (XX). Yes, you are right, in boys, the bad gene must be from mummy. But for girls, 1 of the bad gene from mum and 1 from dad, that's why is rare in girls. Unless coincidently, daddy is G6PD deficient, while mummy is either also G6PD deficient or a carrier.

steph,
so dats the difference.

aqua,
not true for me too. if its true, probably i should learn to be a xiao nu ren more. :p

alamak... saw my nick .. haha

steph,

is the other way round.. my hb wan 3 kids so i support him with my tummy lor
but very tough leh... $ n energy. but seeing her daily (esp now she keep waiting for me to b back home, so eager to see me at home) makes me feel better :p

Kam,
I also think it is not the 50-50 chance. Coz gynae can test if a male has more of XY or X chromogenes (watched in a documentary somewhere). That is why so people try and try still kena the same gender.

Kitsune,
Yes, RaeLynn is chubby!! Good results from BF! How much is she weighing now? My 4.5 mth boy only 7KG now...

Aqua,
Not sure how true is it lah... But I can see from 1 real life example, my older bro! Year of Ox and super domineering (whole hsehold afraid of him loh). He got 2 boys. My mum always say the boys (who are very naughty now) are there to "qi" my bro coz he is too domineering liao. Hahaha.

Icy,
GD is common? So far never heard my friends having it. You are the only one I know. But dun worry lah, so far gynae also never say much right? continue to try to keep away from sugar stuff (as much as you can). Give you another 4 weeks or so, I think you will pop by then.

Steph,
Z looks so happy on potty. You prefer natural way of getting preferred gender. True also lah. I sort of cheated and use the scientific way to get my boy boy. Wanted the natural way but did not want to take my chances then. So badly wanted a boy then.

kam, hoho, you should give SCCB a lesson on genetic disease then. I'm neither G6PD deficient nor a carrier. So, my gals won't get it since they have a healthy X chromosome from me. My boy (if I ever have one) won't get it since my X chromosome is healthy. So, why they reject my baby's cord blood ah? :p

Krystle, she is 5.64 kg when we weighed her at TMC last Fri.

Krystle,
The number of people on my thread, make it seemed so common. Scary, plus I think mummies are eating a lot better now.

kistune
2 mths old at 5kg+ is really good. what is ur girl birth weigh?

Kitsune
sccb looks at the inherited disease of the parents also. Cos your hub got it, so they rejected your gal's cord blood. Which I think is kinda stupid loh. I mean if the cord blood can save a life, I don't think the saved person would mind to be g6pd deficient, right, as usually they have more serious diseases and g6pd is really nothing.

pauline, sure no hurry. i will let u know when the books are here then. hey if the gynae can confirm gender i also wanna have #2. now, i closing shop liao.

jess, yea close shp liao. no motivation for me to have #2 although i love to have 2nd bb. looks like more deterrent lor hkeke

Aiyoh, I was just gone for an afternoon and so many more replies. Shall just browse through. The photos caught my eye!

Pauline,
hehe, #2 looks really chubby!

Steph,
Hehe... Z looks really really really cute! I always love his smile.
I think he looks more and more like you leh..

Talking about junk food...I always see the ah gongs in my neighbourhood giving their grandkids junk food. They'll be sitting at the playground or along the covered walkways and the tods will be happily eating the big packet of potato chips, cheese balls, etc etc. Maybe they're trying to make their own life easier by keeping the kid happy??? But I always shake head when I see...tsk tsk tsk.

steph,
Z doing okay with potty training?? B has lost his enthusiasm liao...will request to sit on potty but will tell me "finished" in 30 secs and nothing's done. I just let him take his time lor.

Krystle, icy, just weighed Mei Mei just now. She is 5.8kg. Birth weight is 3.355kg.

kam yes I agree. G6PD is not a serious disease as long as u r aware n avoid the food triggers. Same like allergies mah.

luca,

ya. me very lucky. 3rd try still can get gal

tongtong,

1 kid will be very lonely leh. think again lah

kitsune,

wah... 5.8kg? mine abt 6+ kg leh. recently she taking lesser milk so mite b lesser or stagnant in wt.

mylvera,
Your gal just turned 4 months, right? 6+kg okay woh. What's her birth weight? My gal was 6.4 when she was 4 months. But then her birth weight is only 3.05kg, so considered very good that she can double her birth weight at 4th month. At 5 months, she weighed 7.5kg :)

Kam,

no idea what's her birth wt.. shd b more den 3kg but less den 3.58kg (cos she is the 2nd heaviest among my bb) haha

my only worry is that she is taking lesser milk now. abt 65ml / 3 hrly

mylvera,
Oh, that's quite a small amount. How much she used to drink? You give her EBM? Is it after she came back from hospital?

Kam,

no idea how much she used to drink, cos she only direct latch. she dun like bottle feeding. only recently she drinking lesser n lesser, even in the nites when i breastfeed her. could b due to the fact that she is sick now? coughing n running nose.

Morning, mummies.

Today ON LEAVE!!! Yay!!! Later going for hair rebonding, shopping!!! So happy but very sleepy, feel like staying at home to sleep whole day too.

Mylvera,
65ml/3hr is very little leh.. My boy is also drinking lesser milk. Most of the time, he can't finish his 140ml/3hr feed (normally left 10, 20ml)... I am also worry that he is not gaining as much weight.

mylvera,
OIC. So now is EBM when you are at work and direct latch at night? Maybe he still doesn't like the bottle? Change bottle / teat to try out? Feed more often? Like 65ml/2hour instead of 3hour?

krystle,
So shiok!!!!! Have a great day ahead! You can sleep while doing rebonding :)

Mylvera, agree that 1 is lonely. But I cant manage 2, how leh? Yea ur gal lost appetite cuz she is sick ma. hopefully she recovers soon!

krystle, wah! envy envy!! think i also wanna take leave to sleep and recharge at home liao. but hor, when i'm at home i will tend to do cleaning, my storeroom is so messy!! waiting for me to springclean!!

yvonne,

The pic abit misleading...we asked him to sit on potty cos he has been trying to gek sai for several hrs & he whine & whine...dunno is because constipated or what but nothing's done after an hr on the potty! In the end, after dinner+yakult, he poo-ed in his diaper. However, he can poo in the potty on/off, depends on his mood de. I just let him take the lead too. I am going to buy a child toilet seat soon...at least get him use to the idea of seating on the toilet seat instead of potty cos CC (when he starts N1 next yr) don't have potty hor.

mylvera,
65ml/3hr is very little indeed but then again as long she is still active & growing well, no worries
Drink too little we worry & when drink too much, we worry too like my R (#2)...he is drinking max 210ml/3-4hr (day) & 300ml for nite! Gosh...i wonder how his little tummy can contain so much fluid at one go!

krystle, so nice, can go shopping! Been a long time since I went shopping. Nw only have time to shop online.

mylvera,
Can try nuk teat? Last time when i first bottle feed my boy, he also refuses to drink for bottle. It took me awhile to get him used to it.

Any suggestions how to spend the CNY holidays?
First day we will be driving into MIL's hometown in Malaysia.
2nd, 3rd n 4th day - no idea where shld i bring my kids to beside visiting relatives.

steph,

she is still active n loves flipping. at 4 mths 1 day, she flip front n back liao.

shannonbaby,

we using nuk now. thinking of trying other teats, mayb medela since we using medela bottle?

Kam,

PURE LAZY lor. wat else? told him so many times to change liao. lazy to dig out the old unused teats, lazy to wash, sterilise them. partly my fault too cos i latched too much (comfort feeding) when she was hospitalised n when she discharged n sick, comfort feeding again. everytime she rejected the bottle, i will latched n throw away the ebm since my freezer is packed with them.

shannonbaby,

You can bring your kids to Polliwogs (meet up with mylife) or the Zoo or Sentosa?

CNY Gathering @ Polliwog on 16th Feb (time?):
mylife
superbee
steph (KIV)

morning mummies
i am back from BKK!! super tired, reached home 12.30am yest nite, today back to work liao ZZZzzzzzzzzzZZZzzz

nothing much to buy leh, i went with 1 suitcase and came back with 2.5 bags, bot lots of clothes for my boy. disappointed with shoes, i wanted to buy at least 5 pairs of heels but all the heels not nice (auntie-ish) and/or very very ex...
other than that, super fun, kept eating lah...

btw, the trip to the zoo was fun. we went when they just opened, quite a lot of animals were still sleeping, but since it was a weekday early morning, we had a very good view of the animals, as though we were alone (coz most of the time we were alone). didnt managed to catch the feeding of the giraffe, but we caught the last 10mins of the elephant show, and brought x to feed the elephants....he mimicked the shouts of the elephants until very loud and got lotsa stares *paiseh*

mylvera,
I know what you mean, I have been through that. Ya, that's the problem with direct latching. Too much comfort feeding/sucking. Slowly lor, there will be less comfort feeding sooner or later.

Flipping from front to back at 4 months is very good woh. My girl just refused to lie down. Only did a few flips from tummy up, haven't tried any front to back flip as of now. But she sits well. Yesterday night she sat unassisted for >30min!

wahhh pixie, welcome back
miss u leh:p

eh what time the zoo open huh? 9am or earlier? The earliest i went was 10am & it was already very crowded to Q for tics!

Pixie,
Good to see you back online :)

Your zoo trip sound great! We went to zoo again last Sunday. We watched the elephant show and fed the elephant. But HR didn't dare to feed the elephant, too big?

steph,
That's because you went of weekends? Pixie (and tongtong) went on weekdays leh, that's why very quiet.