(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

tongtong
wah really!! u from young till now never got PMS?? u counted very lucky liao lor, some got it every month hor....

yest went suntec with my fren...in the end bought 2 pairs of shoes....again...
aiyoh i have to stop buying shoes...no more space in shoe closet liao...

pixie, what are the other pms symptom? cuz i never feel down before getting menses before, except yesterday. what shoes did you wear during preggie time?

har pms very typical one lor - snappy, moody, down/negative, anger, crying for no reason

either 1 or any combo ba...

during preggy i wore flats n i threw them away liao coz they all kena burst-ed by my elephant feet due to water retention

grumpus, tongtong, pixie,
Thanks. Don't think she is hungry. She only wants to suck on me, and it's those comfort sucking type, and sometimes can suck for a long time. She is still ok for my hubby to bottle feed her, but started to show a bit of resistant already. But funny enough, she is perfectly all right with bottle feed and pacifier at her nanny's, even can sleep on her own!

So let her cry is the only way to wean her off my breast? I may not able to do this because her crying would wake up HR, then I have 2 upset kids to handle...... Probably have to wait till my brother leaves Singapore, then I can lock myself and XY in his room and let her cry while weaning off my breast.

Tongtong, yes, I am ultra stress with BFing (think I am the odd mummy who doesn't like BFing, sadly to say, I think I have never enjoyed BFing, though I am happy that I can BF). But then, the other side of me kept chanting to me that BM is the best for my girl, nothing could replace that. I am constantly battling with myself on BFing. Sometimes I feel I don't enjoy XY that much because of BFing.

kam
i thought you thinking of weaning her off bm? thats what you told us last time...havent decide?
no worries lah, you are not alone. i have friends who dont enjoy bfding too. i sometimes hated the chore and the only motivation was that x is drinking the best milk possible then i will move my ass to start pumping :p

for me, i weaned x off me breasts coz i dont want to get him used to the fact that my nipple is THE pacifier.
he cried the whole nite - 3 days straight...
imho, do it when they are young. older n can think liao u'll get more resistance.
just my 2cents

Kam, xy starts to bully parents liao. Shaun was the same. He could sleep at infant care last time without yaolan, but back at home he would want to be rocked. U can slowly wean her off by latching her lesser and lesser till totally 0. Eh, angel and evil in u are fighting with each other. As an outsider, I suggest you just let go , fang4 xia4, and do exclusive pumping, till a day when you feel tired then ur milk will slowly diminishes liao. Since XY is still so young, just do it, let her cry.

morning all!

Verene,
so how was the movie?

Avatar was nice. kinda makes us feel if the world ever comes to an end, its all part of human fault for the "damages" done, going against the nature.

mummies who are like me - how do you buy fresh produce eg meat, vege to ensure that you have enough to feed your child but wont have leftovers?
if i have leftovers for this weekend, i have to junk it away coz i dont cook during weekdays and the next weekend, vege/meat will not be fresh for my boy liao. and im not a fan of the freezer compartment.
headache le...
later going ntuc to buy vege/meat for x's meals for wed-sun...running out of ideas what to cook...

last weekend i made meat patties (DIY) but my boy didnt like it ;-(

pixie,
No, not so soon, last time was telling you all that my supply is dropping, nearly can't TBF already. I have come a long way on BFing (that I failed for HR), will continue to BF until nothing comes out lor, but I can already see supply is dropping and dropping. A few times I was angry with XY, all because she wanted to latch non-stop, making me feeling like a bad mum when I got angry with her.

tongtong,
Yes, I feel she bullies us, esp me. Think she is going to be smarter than HR. I know I have to fang xia, but not easy to do leh. Ironically, I latched her more over the Christmas cos insisting on TBF and don't have time to pump. Now I have fang xia on TBF cos it makes me feel very miserable to keep up with the supply, so will be supplementing with FM very soon (maybe today!). Yes, I also think gonna do it now or never. I hope I can take the crying...... One step at a time bah. I felt so bad to hope that she would love the taste of FM and reject my BM, really makes me feel like a bad mummy :-(

Hey girls, thanks for "talking" to me, greatly appreciated!

kam
support group mah here, no worries
fang xia earlier than late. when the time comes for her to resist your actions, too late to fang xia liao, rite?

i couldnt take the crying and me n my hb were awake for 3 nights straight. zoombified

Pixie, it’s hard to buy veg just enuff for ds 5 day supply at nanny’s house. I will cook all the leftover or throw into the pot to make soup stock. Instead of throwing it away , which is a waste, why not give to your neighbour or ur parents/il? Eh, you reminded me to make pattie too, this weekend I’m going to make hehe

Kam, yea usually our kid bullys mummy one. You got to try whether XY likes FM but be prepared that she would reject, which happened in many cases. oh yea, mamypoko. i think the points can be redeemed with something via the mamypoko club one. but i havent searched for more info and always use the bag to pack rubbish and forgot to cut it out. haha

kam,
who knows what bbs think? my girl last time have no prob with my mum feeding her and putting her to sleep. but she just refuse my hb to feed and put to sleep. but playing she dun mind.....

if BF really stresses u so much then best to wean soon, afterall XY will be starting solids soon already too. my friend is a SAHM and only weaned her bb off BF at abt 12 months old...it was so difficult cos bb refuse to accept bottle, in the end she had to 'dump' her bb at her MIL hse for one week cold turkey before her bb gradually accept bottle...

grumpus,
Thanks. I have decided to wean her off my breast as soon as my brother left. Continue to give her EBM until my boobs decided not to work anymore. YES, I couldn't wait for her to start solid, I love making puree, and see them eating it :) Just 1.5 months to go.......

tongtong
i doubt my neighbour wants. i doubt my mil wants. she always nags when i give things to her say her house is overflowing liao. sometimes i buy new toys for x she will say "too many toys at home liao". pls lor, all the broken toys who ask you to keep.

ok dont ramble on liao...
good idea to make soup stock leh!

now i headache what to buy for 5 days of food. and sometimes on whim we go out; eat dinner/lunch outside, there goes my 1 portion of food. which mean got even more leftovers. sianz...

now my boy dont like porridge. he dun like noodles too. just want plain rice with dishes. its tough to cook dishes only meant for 1 child leh. i've done all sorts of variation based on what i have liao

nevermind, later go lib n borrow recipes books for kids haha

kam / tongtong,
For mamypoko points, i called them up before and they told me the points are only valid to exchange stuff for mamypoko malaysia, so i just threw them away.

luvv
so little raw food, i doubt so. i usually junk them away or when my hb cooks instant noodles i just tell him to chuck them in. other than that, my fridge is empty. i've got no eggs, no garlic, no ginger...haha

pixie,
i always cook rice and dishes for 1 portion only. i make chawanmushi, sesame oil/ginger stir fry meat, garlic/soya sauce stir fry meat, steam fish, veg soup, meat patties, potato balls, chicken/pork chop, pan fried fish, etc etc....the list is endless leh...

grumpus
done, done, done
haiyoh i headache coz the dishes i try to do, x always not very receptive. so if eg i make potato balls, he will spit out

Kam, you bought exercauser?

Pixie, why do you need to buy 5 days of food since you don’t cook? Just give him rice with dishes since he likes it. you mean you need to cook for ur boy for the next 5 days?

yup tongtong
im cooking my boy's meals for next 5 days - hes at my place tonight liao
whereas for me and my hb, i dont cook coz 2 pax bo hua to cook.

pixie, oic... i think for my case it's easier, shaun eats whatever i cook for the family. we will add soysauce separately if it's not saltish enuff, hehe.

kam
i saw u mentioned that u signed HR up for the staccato class. do u know what is the teacher name? is it Eileen or the indonesia teacher ah? cos i went for the trial on 19th afternoon session but i dont like the indo teacher. however, my gals & i like the lesson a lot. i m still considering whether to sign up. btw, u can sign XY up in the future cos they got class for 6mths old bb & it was fun. u can see my pics at FB.

saw u r quite stressed up with breastfeeding and i agree with the rest to slowly transit to FM... i m also considering to introduce 1 feed of FM to my #2 on 1st Jan cos i m worried that she get too used to BM and doesnt want FM in future. recently i was a bit stressed when i saw my frozen milk bag are getting lesser(abt 20packs left) & after much thinking, i tell myself dont be stressed up abt catching up her supply by keep pumping so i decided to give 1 feed of FM in a few days time. anyway i only intend to breastfeed her till 1 yr old & she is TBF for 6.5mths liao so to me is an achievement. cos last round i only TBF #1 for 3mths. hehee... here i salute to those working mummies who TBF for >1 yr old...

hi all...
reporting frm home cos on MC today. sore throat, coughing and flu...

Re: Food.
nowadays Javier rejects his own food and choose to eat the same food with us. so we try to add as minimum seasoning as possible, but still inevitable to add a little. i duno if this is right anot. but i feel he got eat rather than never eat? hmm.... hopefully he doesnt gets too picky in future.

have u all started to let them eat the same food as u?

Jess,
my girl has been eating with us since she turns 1 yr old, she only eats her own food during lunch.

Pixel,
i agree that it's very costly to cook for just 3 of us but no choice, eating what i cook is better then eating outside food :) she's a picky eater, will reject the food if it's the same or if it's tasteless (like her lunch)

jess, take care! shaun has been eating the same table food as me liao, but then what i cook is to his taste one, so i will add separate seasoning. For his food which me and hubby will also eat, i will still add in some seasoning lor. To me it's ok since he eats very bland at nanny's house liao.

kam,
it is a great achievement that you bf xy for 4.5mths liao. bravo! so since xy is treating you like a human pacifier, better to wean off soon lah. go om ebm loh. jiayou.

jess,
i let my girl eat our food leh. coz she will request to eat and it is better than not eating anything at all. and she does not want us to feed her liao. she wants to eat by herself.

Kam,
I never bf so can't comment much but one of the boy in B's class already has very bad tooth decay at 2 years old! The mummy said have to bring him to do the filling when he turns 3 so no candies, raisins or any sweet stuff from now on. The reason for the decay is cos his mum bf him to sleep until now so there's always milk residue in his mouth every night. So it's no a good idea to turn yourself into the human pacifier...gotta wean her off.

pixie,
Actually freezing fresh meat is very safe and doesn't make it any "less fresh". You can freeze fresh meat and fish in small portions but must make sure the dates are labelled properly and use them within 1 month (max). Vegetables is more tricky so I tend to buy "hardy" vegetables like asparagus (steam or blanch then freeze), bell peppers, carrots, sweet beans, etc.

If X likes simple dishes, then just stir-fry the meat/fish and veges together and serve with rice. Everday different combination lor. Or chop up everything and steam with egg also very easy.

Now I seldom freeze any meat cos I only buy 2-3 days of ingredients and use them all up before buying more. B eats what we eat so it's much easier since I don't have to cook separately for him

tongtong
i think its just a phase coz x loves everything last time and he's starting to pick on food only these few weeks. he likes what we (adults) eat but not his. so some meals, i have resorted to let him nibble a bit of his food and let him be hungry. he has to learn to eat his meals, not ours. coz ours is always da bao stuff, not healthy leh

meat patties i mixed with the bits of the broccoli. means i shave to top off the broccoli and it became flaky stuff. then i add some oyster sauce, corn flour. refrigerate and then take out to pan fry.
aiyah which reminds me. i need to get some breadcrumbs! forgot that item when i was in NTUC!! arrgg

luvv
harnor my boy taste his meal and if its tasteless he wont eat. i dont want to add too much seasoning too. so sometimes i add:
-fish floss
-jap seaweed flakes
-jap fish flakes
-fried onion

just to get him eat.

get well soon jess!

Kam,
Thanks for the pre-warning..yea will expect hands to be busy on both kids during photoshoot & busy making them smile for the camera. No helper (as in my car can't fit all (my PILs + 2 carseat) and pai sey to ask my IL to take taxi & go down studio to help jagar them during photoshoot when they are not going for the photoshoot leh)...u know what i mean.
Which studio did u went to? Foto-U session only an hour so very fast de, snap snap, chop chop finished liow. Just hope that day i will be lucky with the kids!

yvonne
i dont like freezing food because i sux at it. most of the time, i forget to take down to thaw. happens 80% haha

i tried stir fried of a lot of stuff liao but he dont like leh...every time is trial and error one lah...

so my conclusion is - when dao bao, i make sure my hb buys 1 healthy item back - fish soup, handmade noodles, and 1 unhealthy item back - chap chye png, chicken rice etc
just to fall back on.
but hor, even fish soup, handmade noodles oso got msg wor

pixie,
Yes, it's about time they start picking on food liao. B is the same...he will want to eat our food if it's different from his. It's better now cos he eats the same food as us. But I hold the same rule as you - he'll have to starve if he refuses to eat cos he's picky. So far I try to be creative with the food and I'm not so strict about seasoning since our food is usually not the super salty/sweet kind. B enjoys eating alot and I'm hoping it'll stay that way...

pixie,
Forget to thaw nevermind...just sit the bag of meat in a dish of tap water and change the water a couple of times...it'll thaw in about 15-20 mins.

Have you tried making omelette/frittata? Just chop up the meat and vege into small pieces and stri-fry in the shallow pan. Season with salt & pepper as required. Beat an egg and add 2 tablespoon of milk and some shredded morzarella cheese. Pour over the contents in the pan and cook it like a normal omelette. You can use tomatoes, potatoes, chicken meat, minced pork, broccoli, bell peppers, etc. It smells and taste good with minimal seasoning and can be eaten on it's own without rice.

yvonne
wah thanks for the recipe!! which reminds me (again).........i forgot to buy eggs
haiz
my memory is failing me!!

i will try your omelette this weekend

Yvonne,
Thanks for the recipe, seems easy and delicious, will try this week. My girl don't really like western food, like her daddy, prefers chinese style. Tried giving her pastas / spagettis, macoronis before she rejected them, she can eat a lot when it's chinese style.

Pixie, it’s right not to let X eat your dabao stuff. That’s why whenever I tabao, I will hide the food and not let him see, else he will sure grab mine. Let him eat his food first, then secretly eat ur dabao food in kitchen? Hehe. Breadcrumb can do yourself if you have blender wor. When you said healthy item, I think you mean the fish slice or the handmade noodle only la. U are right, the soup is not healthy leh, laden with MSG. Fish ball also unhealthy as they are made from something with little fish only. Unless you cook the rice at home, give him the fish slice and veg, cook your own stock if you had prepared earlier, and mix into his rice.

thanks all for the feedback. at least nw i dun feel so bad giving him my food cos i knw many of us are doing so to get them eating. keke.
they are so smart cos they knw our food are tastier than theirs. hahahaa....

okie. i am going to nap le... take care everyone~....

jess,
my girl has been eating our food since abt 18 months already. for lunch, if i cook for just her alone i will still cook the same way as if i cook for myself and hb. i also think that better she eat than not eat at all, my pd also said the same thing, so u dun need to worry so much lah...

pixie,
before i freeze my meat i actually cut them up into smaller portions, each piece enough for one meal. i only take out one pc each time to thaw and it thaws very quickly. i usually set myself a routine so i won't forget to take out the food from the freezer to thaw. e.g every morn i go to the kitchen to make lexie's milk i will take out her lunch food.

hb and i also eat a lot of dabao and fast food which i dun encourage lexie to eat. so usually i will feed her her own dinner first then hb and i eat, the most she will tax a bit of our food only cos she'll be quite full liao...

pixie,
oh these few days very bz cos of all the holidays. this wk u are home at SK the whole day? maybe tom i will go collect from u.

have u tried making chicken/beef stew for X? lightly stir fry some onions, carrots, potatoes and meat until fragrant, add water, season with a bit of soya sauce and let it simmer away. if cook earlier even better so the meat can absorb all the taste from the stock.

how about all in one rice? something like claypot rice. fry some dried shrimps until fragrant, add cabbage and meat and fry lightly. add together with uncooked rice and water into the rice cooker and cook together..

grumpus
yup should be at home tmr, u come n pick up lah

stew tried before. it was a miss.
claypot rice was a hit, but my rice cooker cannot make claypot rice. no joke. i tried before, failed. my mom who makes a mean claypot rice, came over for my confinement, and she did exactly the same - failed too. i dunno why my rice cooker cannot take it leh hahah.
if i do make claypot rice, i will use actual claypot. mah fan but no choice...

Yvonne, that’s a good and easy recipe to make! Can I use normal cheese(cheddar or gouda) instead of mozzarella to make the omelet?

tongtong
u share ur recipes oso leh...grumpus shared 2, yvonne shared 1, i shared my meat patty liao

who else keen to contribute? then we can observe what other mummies are cooking mah...

oh pixie, mine all veg leh. maybe i share my veg stock which i made last few days?

corn, carrot, raddish( with leaves), burdock, sweet potato, cabbage, black beans( soaked overnight), dried mushrooms, red dates, wolfberries, celery, kumpu ( add only last 30 minutes). boil the stock for 2 hours(on slow fire after it boils)