(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune
that too. soak rice, wash rice, into an ice cream box. end of the day, use it to water plants

the wash rice water cannot mix with the vege, cups, plates, bottles water. wash rice water turns sour easily, rite? quickly use it to water plants liao lor...

errrr
i got too many containers at home!!

May, they call us cos want to make $ from us mah... hohoho! Plus all my gal's jabs are done at this PD clinic so they have all her records.

Okie, I'll prepare a small pail and put on my toyogo 2 door cabinet and ask the maid to pour the water there next time.

Oh ya, only the rice and veg water can use to water plants. Aiyoh, like that I'll need 2 pails in the kitchen. A bit unsightly leh. :p

kitsune,
dats gd service man! mine never bother!

since now you have roughly done up your maid's timetable, you should be able to relax already hor...

May, sigh, not yet, still need to prepare a list of things to buy for her, mattress, bedsheet, towels, toiletries, her own set of cutlery, bowl, etc. The list is endless. :p

kitsune
mine wash rice water is in an ice-cream box, so i put next to my washing liquid dispenser, sponges there. next to kitchen sink.

the pail to collect vege is next to my kitchen dustbin. my boy likes to touch both so i put them ontop of my washing machine haha

wash vege water can keep with rinse cups, bottles water coz all quite clear. hence you get more output mah. if mix vege water with wash rice water, very sayang. unless you have a garden full of plants :)

btw, you also keep raeanne's bathtub water rite? i use them to flush toilet. so i save on flushing toilet water oso. each day i flush less 2 times if i save up 3x of xandall's bath's water

Kitsune: thks so much! will it b too near to ur confinement? my edd is 5 Jan 2010.

Aqua: thks. Yes, i'm 1978. my hb wanna hav 2 as for mi 1 is enuf.. so our max is 2.

May: i stays at Pasir Ris. whr do u stay?

Pixie, yes, my hubby uses RaeAnne's bathtub water to flush toilet but only on weekends cos weekdays my MIL bathe for her.

Lynn, oh your EDD is early Jan ah? If you deliver early in Dec, then maybe a bit tight cos I'm likely to deliver in end Nov but she's doing for me 40 days. If not I ask her to recommend her friends bah. She also recommended her friend to Joyce.

kitsune: u got a maid already? As i intend to b sahm next yr so maybe will get a maid too.. but e ting is i dont kw if i can cope to b sahm anot.. hahahaa! i got 4 mths of maternity leave to try out.

May, haha, when she arrives, that's when the real work starts. All this preparation now is only paperplay. Keep my fingers crossed lar. :p

kitsune,

ya lah, when she comes, u really got to be a supervisor liao.. when my maid first came, also abit vomit blood cos she indo n i guess indo maids brain motor abit not too good
give her at least 3 mths to get to your standard, but if she is dat type who cant literally understand wat on earth u tell her or she is really very very slow, eg if you call her from your bedroom n she in the kitchen, and she just respond slowly to you n just slowly cometo you, then this type of maid better change, u cant give her chance to make mistakes with ur gal if her brain is so slow...

May, ya lor, if she's really so bad, every morning I must go to playgroup and 'nag' at my agent liao. Cos he's my daughter's playgroup classmate's father.

Wah all talk about maid (i think 80% mummies here all have maid to help out) & enviromental friendly DIY...all ignore my Q
no one bought educational books for tods ah??

steph,
I buy board books as and when I find them cheap. haha Cos I know it will end up in separate pieces. I buy some from people park complex. Chinese ones.. nomal books that cost $1 each.. mostly in chinese but also have pictures with words.. I find it cheap and okie. I can teach him the english words myself.

steph
GOT!
but being the cheapo me i always buy board books from those roaming 2nd hand book fairs. 3 for $10 kind. just go home and wipe clean lor

sorry i engross in environmentally friendly and ignore your qn hurhur

Steph, hehe, sorry, so distracted by your Friso stock up that I missed your board books questions. I usually buy from popular but long time never buy liao cos I have a few at home. When I am reading page 1, she already flip to last page. Sian halfway.

icy,
tks for sharing

people park complex where exactly? which floor & shop name if u can remember. Do they have any posters that show abc, 123, fruits or animals?

steph
these posters, i buy from popular. JE mrt popular have. avg price...errr $3.90 each?

you can find those cheap books in bras basah complex...ground floor, corner unit

steph.
Ground floor, they seemed to be permanently set up at the open area between the shops. Don't think u will miss it, if you go by the main extrance. I think they have these posters, not sure how much. English ones are slightly more expensive than chinese ones. Think they got the chinese ones from China.

aiyoh i reallie miss my boy!
i resorted to carry a photo album full of his pics...in my bag...flip them at work, in toilet, eating

i crazy liao

Long time no chance to log in except at night, busy with work.

re : books
Can always go to Bras Brasah Complex. 4th Floor, Children's book store, opposite Popular..1st Floor, Yun Nam Bookstore..They carry a wide range of children's books, from board books to picutre books. Normally there's a discount on top of the price listed.

Can always go to Bookaburra at Forum. They carry a good range of quality children's books but more expensive. can go and look at the titles, then buy from Amazon.

haven't read archives yet..

enemum
specially for u.

I hv 2 sets (ie 2 tops 2 bottoms) of these, size 2T & 4T. brand new with tag. $15 per set, if get both will include free local mail.

If enemum doesn't want, it's open to whoever else. PM me, thanks.

2725131.jpg
2725132.jpg

Steph: i bought a lot of books for my boy, same as Icy some already in separate pieces. hahahaa! i bought online at e overseas spree here,popular bookstores etc..

anybody been to taka toy fair? any gd deal? thinkin of getting something there for my boy 19mth gift..

Gosh, that's so sad!

My MIL asked my hubby to let my baby to sleep in sarong when my boy was born. I insisted and told her off, this is MY baby. Luckily my hubby supports me and told her mum to stop there. I am glad we have never needed to use sarong (where it's very very common in malaysia).

Kam,

i am using yao lan for both my boys leh...now read the news scare scare ah...

Lynn,
when is the Taka toy fair, start already?

steph,

Since you have a young toddler at home, must teach him not to swing the yao lan, best is not to let him touch the yao lan when didi is sleeping.

Cheryl,

Busy with your new home ya. So you will move away from CCK soon? Vernon will change to another childcare?

re: Books
I always borrow books from the national library instead. They have a wide range of books including famous author like Eric Carle, picture books, etc. I think this is one of the cheapest way and my gal get to read lots of books. I used to buy books from Popular too when they are on sale. But realised that borrowing from library is the best. Since there is 3 of us in the family, we can borrow 24 books home at one go.

and also to add on shannonbaby's suggestion, every 4 children books in a single receipt gets you a chop, complete all the chops in the I Can Read! card and you get a free gift.
once you sign up your bb as a lib member, got welcome gift from library - tote bag, baby's cd of songs, stories (audio), and i think a height chart, and a book to record bb's milestones

FREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Morning, mummies.

Tempting to bring my girl to library but there is no library near my house. Nearest is Bedok Central which got to take bus and walk... But I myself had not been to library for ages. Hahahaa very mountain tortise leh.

So if borrow books from library, use IC can? But my girl has no IC yet then how??

krystle,

me also very long no go library liao... i believe you use ur ic n borrow on behalf, dat means the books r under your ic records.. hope i m rite

krystle,
u can make library card for yr gal at any library. can get it on the spot.

I never bring my gal to the library too. I usually go during lunchtime, or after work, borrow everything and bring home for her...

krystle
read my post - reg your bb lah, they will make 1 lib card for your bb free.
yes, we adults use IC now. cannot return late else cannot borrow liao hor...

Re: Sarong Danger

My girl also hit the metal frame once when 13 mths. She was figetting and swaying left and right even I asked her not to. Then heard a loud "tong..." and she cried. I quickly checked her and think she is ok. From then, I put 2 pillows on the sides of the frame to prevent that from happening again...

pixie,

I have accumulated fine because forgot to return the books. They still let me borrow even I didn't pay the fine. But think there is a limit of how much you owe them then they ban you.

For my boy, his childcare has lots of books, so I seldom borrow from the library. He likes reading at school. At home, I bought some books for him, and it's enough for now until he can really read, then will expand the collection. At home, it's play more than read. Just to share, it's not neccessary to be children book, I share with him while reading the Young Parents magazine, and he likes it all the same :)