(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kellie,
Actually we all worry about our kids but if we get overly worried over everything...there's no end to it lor. There are thousands of things to worry about and most of it are not within our control so no point thinking about it. Just relax and enjoy motherhood

Jess,
as far as i'm aware, still have the 18mths jab.
6 in 1 is 5 in 1 plus hep B
so at 18 mths still need the 5 in 1 but no hep B

i open everyday
i just like surprises, no matter bills or no bills. i lurve junk mail
maybe coz i look at the mailers, flyers and i like to examine the design, layout etc etc

wendy & mylvera,
Can i check whether is the 2nd time c-section wound tend to recover slower? I went back to my gynae on mon cos found a 10cent coin blood stain. He said is superficial, juz mild infection. But until today, i still get a bit of blood stain. Hv went to GP to change the dressing last nite & this morning. Sian, wonder how long it will take. And I kept having fever abt 37.5 - 38 since sun.

janbb
yes 2nd time takes longer to recover coz it's the same site. For me, 1st time took 2wks to be pain free. 2nd time maybe 3 wks. But both times i had no problms with the stitches bleeding/ infection etc. Both times wound healed nicely. And i didn't hv fever.

for my 1st cut, i avoided prawns & crabs for the longest time.. maybe 6-9 months. 2nd time round more chin chye hiak hiak.

janbb, oh, i think dont have too much movement? u still nursing right? dont take medicine hor, it will pass to bb. just let your fever recover by itself by taking more rest.

wendy,
i didn't take any seafood so far. MIL said 4mths later. OMG, u can tahan 6-9mths ah.. Also told not to take chicken but i happily took it in hospi cos not much choice in the menu. Reason not taking chicken is that the wound can heal nicer. True?

I tried to avoid water getting into the plaster though is waterproof by wiping myself instead of bathing. Dunno why still kana the infection. My mum suspect i may hv overlook while taking care of my boy over the weekend. But i didn't carry him leh.

tongtong,
ya, i very scared after i saw my wound bleed & hv been resting a lot. Dun even dare to bring my son back. I stop nursing on mon as i'm taking 1wk antibotic for the wound infection. At first i thot is the breast infection & GP said it maybe due to the wound that cause the fever. Very sian, always kana fever during confinement.

janbb, mebe u have to restrict ur diet, i tink nt suppose to eat chicken n eggs for 1 mth.
for me, my wound was ok, 2 week more or less recover superficially . i start eating seafood 2 mths later, cannot endure too long.

if in doubt, u better call ur gynae.

aqua,
i asked gynae & GP before on the food that we can take, think these western doc find there's no logic for not taking chicken & egg. Imgaine the glene hosp's confinement menu which i opt was chicken soup & dessert was chocolate eclair. I rem last time i saw ice-cream in their menu, faint. How i wish i can take ice cream now, haha ;)

janbb
did the doc advise u to pump & throw?

erm, my grandma's idea so i avoided chicken & eggs & sheng yu for the 1st week after c-sect. Coz i suppose chicken & eggs are "poisonous". and sheng yu causes wound to close fast, but ideally should close starting fr inside o'wise hv keloids. aiyo i dunno how true la.. these old wives tales that don't inconvenience me too much, i don't mind to adhere to shut the older generation up.

i tahan prawn & crabs so long coz in my mind they're dirty food anyway.. so i was quite ok with it. but i dun think seafood will cause your wound to be infected. Actually can shower la. the waterproof plaster should do its job. didn't u ask your gynae abt it?

wendy,
gynae said can bathe, i kiasi mah, heehee ;)
Durian can eat?? Is it also very "du"?

jacelyn,
Thks. So hv u thot of your baby gal name? Read that "Jayna" was one of your choice too.. Same name as my gal, keke ;p Some friends told me it sound like an indian name cos if take out 'n"..it will be jaya.. I did a check before is origin from Hindu name but does nt matter to us ;)

pixie: i got ur sis mail liao! surprisingly, the envelope ur sis used was torn and singpost actualli re-wrapped in a plastic bag n mail to me! heng har, i tot my gds will be gone for good.

Pixie, good for you. I long time never eat liao. The red prawn which I missed at Penang won first prize this year. So wasted. Nowadays I don't see durian at the normal fruit stalls anymore. Don't know where to get durian now since I don't want to travel to Yio chu kang lar. Is it tail end of the season now? :p

wendy,

cos u always leave yr ripe crops ard!! like NOWWWW :0)

Fellow Farmers.. GO STEAL BAH hahaah

janbb,

sorry i have no idea cos #2 was my first c-sec. now cos of the c-sec, low placenta? or tat's wat i read in the web. more prone to low placenta. think u better ask yr gynae how come still got blood stain?

pixie,

ME TOO!!!!!!! Hubby gave me a surprise. He knocked off work earlier today (which is very rare), and went all the way to Highland Centre to get durians - mao shan wang, XO and merah, and rambutan and mangosteen, HOHOHOH :) But the MSW price hasn't dropped yet leh, why ah?

janbb,
both my #1 & #2 c-sect and #2 recovery is faster. i got wound infection during my 1st c-sect after gynae removing the stitch. for both, i didn't take chicken for 2 wks cos my mum say operation cannot take chicken so at hospital, i already told MT A nurse no chicken n they give me pork/fish confinement food.
my previous infection is due to hot weather(mum doesnt allow me to bath) and abrasion with the binder so got blood and yellow stuff ozing out. saw gyane n was given some cream + antibotic to take. afterwhich, the ozing stop & doesnt affect breastfeeding leh. i got fren who kena wound infection too becos she carry heavy stuff n it take her a long time to heal the wound. so not sure u belong to which case? probably dont carry heavy stuff n walk too much + dont eat chicken & egg until later bah? actually can bath esp keep the wound area clean so for my 2nd c-sect, i bath everyday after removing the stitch n so far thank god, wound is healing fine.

luca,
yup this time i only got maid to help me with #2. so far both of us cope well with #2 except a bit chaotic on weekend when #1 is whole day at home and need to multi-task.

i m celebrating my bb full mth this sunday & which also means confinement is over soon!! Yippeee... :D

kellie
actually i read about side effects on jabs too. Was also 50-50 like u. I've also asked my PD on MMR's link to autism. He brushed it off saying these are not proven BUT i've read on how parents SWORE their healthy TALKING kids suddenly turn into autistic kids literally OVERNIGHT aft the MMR jab. Inexplicable. At the end of the day, i was none the wiser but i had already given Rylee the MMR jab liao...so just pray hard nothing will happen.

Mommies who have time should watch this
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-6696666502913965744&q=&hl=en

Durians
Aiyoh.....u all dont STIR me leh...feel like calling the 717 guy and asked them to courier over while it's still durian season! The last time i went there, the boss' son told me they DO courier to HK one leh...drool....

I have bought extras and would like to let go the clear shoe box (transparent shoe box) at $5 or cheaper la. anyone interested?

kam
717 has new rules in place, yest we ate whopping $175 for 9 durians, super ex. last time was slashed price until crazy: $80 for 7 durians...
the boss now records all the durians eaten on each table and the ah bengs now will have to match what the boss jot down.
new rules, new price. now cannot slash that much liao lah...
sianzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

kitsune
end of july or beginning of aug is the end of season

mylife, there are NO PDs who are anti-vaccinationa one. 1st, they rather be kiasu, 2nd i think can earn $. They rather not believe in the hidden truth as what showed in the video ba..

aqua
singpost always re-wrappped stuff. last time my magazine subscrptions in mail always kena wrapped by singpost plastic coz the magazine press didnt pack it properly.

btw, i will feedback to my sis that she uses lousy envelopes heehee

Re: MMR jab
I also have no concerns about MMR jab. I was shocked that some parents said it has linkage to Autism. My girl taken MMR jab since 15 mths and almost 3 mths passed, she is still pretty, chatty as usual (in fact more active coz she learnt how to walk liao). Still can sing songs and count 1 to 10. No issue leh. Don't scare me. It will make me worried if I should give MMR jab to #2 when time comes.
But MMR jab is a 1 jab thing right? Why some parents said got 3 separate jabs and some said not compulsory?? Some said take the Measles jab will do coz it is the one that is compulsory. A bit confused here...
Got another mummy from Sep 09 thread asked if #1 take MMR jab, will it affect her pregnancy? The jab is on the kid, how can it affect us leh? I scratched my head too...

krystle,
MMR is 1 jab but contain vaccine for 3 diseases
mumps, measles and rubella.
some PD offer the option of breaking the MMR jab into 3, one for each disease.
apparently only measles is compulsory by law, so some parents choose to send their kid for measles jab only instead MMR

Krystle, I’m not sure but some told me that only measle is compulsory , that’s why they said take 1 jab will do? Some prefers to separate the mmr into 3 jabs – take one after another after at least 1 mth. Because one vaccine itself contained 3 viruses, might be too strong or what. And that’s why bb got fever after the jab because they are virus ma. but the purpose of the vaccine is to inject the virus into the body ( meaning kena the virus now), then will have immune and wont kena next time liao.

Actually I kena measle before when I was young ( I think that time no vaccination yet?) . think most important is how to treat and manage so that complications wont occur.

her thread very long leh i dunno whether she replied me ? i din get her email also so i guess order dropped. i think nevermind ba. i can order next time cuz my ss can still dong for a few months. thanks hor

MMR jab and autism

Let's think. MMR is a vaccine. Autism is a phycological illness. How would injecting a vaccine trigger a phycological illness? Autism definitely cannot be triggered just within a few days. I don't believe in this at all. That's just my view.

Good morning mummies. ;)
I also don't believe the linkage between MMR jab and autism. I also don;t brother to read the links which provided above. (No offend taken pls- just my personal view).

This morning, my girl has joined her 1st conversation with hubby. ;)
Hubby: Who is this (as Johanna just finished her breakfast and went to stand next to hubby while he is checking emails)
Johanna: Jojo (her nick name at home)

She has been practicing calling her own name as Jo or Jojo for past weeks, and this is the 1st time she joined us in the conversation. Hehehe.