(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Grumpus,

Ya lor..That's why before they go back, must withold a bit to deduct the air fare just in case they do a David Copperfield on us.

Windy,
Bring her down to the agency..all parties sit together to resolve the $$ and receipt..At the same time, can check whether maid happy working with you or not..

If she is first time maid, she should know that no pay for many months..I only gave my maid advance because her no pay period was smack between Hari Raya Haji..must give people some money to celebrate new year..

Mine was the Jack Neo agency..also sianz..

My maid will never dare to cy in front of hubby cos day 1 hubby set the tone..He employer, don't play play..usually I am the one to tell hubby maid wants to send $$ back etc..

blackbatz,
no lei, my that maid still had money here in her bank account but she chose not to come back. aiyah never think ahead lah, swayed by family and emotions. end up one month later call and ask to come back but too late cos we got a new maid already

mylife,
Email to [email protected]. Tks!

tongtong,
I'm quite relaxed about outside food now cos I rather he likes eating than to reject food. Those read bean bread and chocolate rice rolls are a treat for him and only at most once a week. Intro outside food bit by bit lor otherwise next time they will reject everything you offer them cos it's "new" to them.

Outside food

I am with mylife and Yvonne about giving my boy outside food. Same thinking, I would rather my boy growing up to be liking all sort of food, than rejecting the food. My only reserve is not to let him take processed/preserved food, I avoid giving those as much as possible. This evening, he had his first fishball. I have been holding this for so long, but he kept looking at the fishball :) My boy is a food lover, probably just like us. So far, he loves everything, like a little vacuum cleaner :)

Hi, whole day never post cos morning raining, had to send my gal to ILs place late. End up I can't even use an umbrella, only a cap cos I need 2 hands to push stroller. :p

Maid agency also sent a new Filipino maid biodata, 31 years old with exp in Philippines, look after children before, has an 8 year old son. Looks pleasant and already has passport. Will ask agent to screen first if english is passable and willing to compromise on off days and HP usage. :p

Kam, 缘中秀got back, really need to change our RaeAnne's name. We didn't get our wish to keep to same sounding characters. Can keep qi2 sound if use 旗 instead but not 慧 cos qi doesn't go well with hui. :p 大师 gave 4 suggestions, checked online, all 98 out of 100 marks. But I didn't really like the names so last night and today, checked online for more names based on ideal stroke count given。 All but 1 of the extra names I provided are approved.
But the name that I really like cannot be used cos is a very unique hui4 (恵)but can't be found in 康熙字典。 :p Already shortlisted a few but not sure what to use for RaeAnne. Will also choose a name for Mei Mei from these ideal names so kill 2 birds with 1 stone.

kitsune,

Wah, you very on hor :) Good that you found a name that you like, $$ well paid for. It's funny that 恵 is not in the dictionary, it's quite a commonly used word leh. If you choose your own word according to the stroke given, as I said, you must be careful because they count the stroke differently for some.

Tongtong,

Not that name appeared in the 康熙字典 means that it's very good, but it means that this word is in the record and definitely is a valid word.

Will disappear soon.... yesterday and today have full day course.

kam, i dunno what's so special about the kang xi dictionary? it';s not ordinary dictionary ah? the word "hui" is definitely in our normal chinese dictionary.

tongtong,

think kang xi is like the most trustable (and oldest?) chinese dictorionary and should have the largest collection of words. Ya, I feel it funny why the 恵 is not in there, cos it's not an uncommon word, right?

morning all

Kam,
i am starting work next Mon...Mm...1 month so fast pass liow. R is fine now, tks

Re: toddler sleep yao lan
Anyone tod still sleep yao lan during day nap? Mine does so i wonder when to wean him off cos he'll be starting childcare in Sep. I wonder how he'll have his nap if no yao lan...

hi hi mummies,

I'm nw SAHM... will be joining ur interesting discussion... after all these mths of MIA

Kitsune,
relief teaching i considered too, perhaps may send in my cv for consideration.

Steph, S sleep on the bed for nap at nanny’s house(mond-fri) but when come back home he wants to sleep in yaolan during weekends. Unless he is very tired and could sleep on the bed by himself, else I usually put him in yaolan. Steph, I think he should be adjust to nthe childcare environment like what my son did. I’m surprised that he can sleep there cuz I initially concern with the same issue too.

Godsent, envy u!! hehe

Godsent,

Woah..gd leh. Mine slp yao lan since 4mths & my #2 also.

tongtong,

i hope he'll be able to adjust w/o yao lan. And he need his pacifier too for nap time leh. Can i chk if there is such thingy as penalty (charge by min/hr) if parents were to pick up their child late from childcare centre? cos usually full day care end at 7pm so if exceed, will be charge? That's what the centre told me.

Re: last compulsory jab at 18mths
Anyone tod went for this already? will this jab cause fever, any idea? Z will be having his jab next Tue.

steph
yes tobey went for the 18m jab liao. the very same evening kena super high fever, but nxt morning the doc said the jab didn't cause the fever la. He was on the verge of getting it liao, but no one was wiser and brought him for jab anyways.

Steph, why only started at 4mths? The childcare centre that I went to last time charged $1 for 1 min late. Unless you pay maybe $60 more per month to extend for another 30 mins. 18th month is what jab? MMR?

i thought only the 15th mth jab will cause fever?
anyway, im bringin my #2 tonite for jab, will double check with PD if it will cause fever.

nope. GP @ Punggol Plaza. He took all his jabs @ GP. this didi very long suffering... gorgor gets all the new clothes, PD jabs... at most didi gets new shoes. haha.

wendy,

but this didi gets yr milk till NOW! tt's smtg the gor gor din rite?

mine opp. gor gor gets all hand-me-downs when bb, den go GP for jabs .. seldom go PD till now. didi jab at VT as rates the same as GP n got the cream to numb him?

GP package cheaper than VT. no numbing cream, but at most he scream a bit only lor. Not very jialat la.

Didi benefits from our experience with gorgor. So he wun start childcare so early.

eh, i also anyhow started sorority one la. I started off with organising stuff... increase energy every time raise level (click My Self tab). Then now i fighting and organising. When need to recharge, then i close app for few hours maybe.

tongtong,
u asked why only started at 4mths? i dun understand yr Q?? blur...
MMR jab is at 15mths. 18mths jab i dunno for wat leh?

steph,
i think tongtong is asking why only start sleeping in yaolan when hes 4mths old.
2 young cant sleep on yaolan rite, the neck not strong enough?

Steph, oh I mean for the yaolan you intro only from 4 mths.

Luca, oh too young cannot sleep ah? This one I dunno leh.. I tot the neck is also well supported since sleeping inside?

luca,
OIC...4 mths old can sleep in yao lan but we don't rock him to Zzz, he'll fall asleep on his own. He can sleep better in yao lan & not startled easily by loud noise.

tongtong,
yup cos 1st 3mths, my boys sleep in the playpen bassinet & when their neck/head is more steady, we'll then transfer them to yao lan as what my MIL prefer. Baby tend to perspire less in yao lan unlike slp on mattress.

I just come across the side effect of MMR. mummies can read it here. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/1040248.html?1246632883

For those with older kids, do u see any difference in your child once they taken the MMR.

My gal is coming to 18 mths soon but i have yet to send her for MMR. She has been very healthy and happy for last 7 to 8 mths...i really have a lots of fear of bringing her for this jab...

Also, if it proven that this jab can be taken separately, i will rather offer only the complusory ones.

Pls share....

tongtong,
dats wat i think lar, coz body like so fragile hee

steph,
dats the gd point abt yao lan, but when trying to wean them off, its kinda difficult. i only let my boys sleep on yaolan during day time.

luca,
yup daytime they slp yao lan (with fan on) while nite time, they slp bed/mattress with air-con. Kids gd life nowadays ah!

aqua
in liao leh, i even helped her to pass cali bb pdts to a mummy ard my place. she say she posted you on sunday. you still nvr rcv by now?

pixie
hmm.. hee hee hee. eh someone may be naming their child after u la... so u also dun yaya. kekekekeke

mylvera
i leave my confi level low if i want to close app. dun waste $ @ spa to hike it up, only to have rivals bash me down again. look, maybe there's a secret i haven't uncovered yet.. this is only my 3rd day playing =)

Kam, Aqua, Tongtong, no, you are mistaken, maybe the font size I used is too small so can't see clearly. RaeAnne's 3rd character must be 10 strokes so cannot use <font size="+2">慧</font> or <font size="+2">惠</font>. The hui4 I found with 10 strokes is <font size="+2"></font> but it's not found in 康熙字典. Because <font size="+2"></font> is a variation of <font size="+2"></font> but not found in 康熙字典, even if I use it, it will be counted as 12 strokes instead of 10 so defeats the purpose cos go against the ideal stroke count given by shifu. :p

Aqua, last time, we checked online using http://www.poptool.net/history/myname/ only but the website wasn't so good because only tell you how many 吉 or 凶 but didn't elaborate what is bad about it.

So, we thought RaeAnne's name got 3 吉 out of 5, considered not bad lor. But the name is actually not so good for gals. :p This new website http://www.xingming.net/ is better and in a way prompted us to research further and in the end, decide to consult a shifu on her name before mei mei is born cos mei mei will also be using the first 2 characters. If no good for cheh cheh, it also won't be good for mei mei. :p

Brought RaeAnne to playgroup and let her try staying there for 2 hours while I waited outside chatting with a mummy. 9-10am no problem, she didn't even look for me. But 10am when the kids came out to wash hands for teabreak and she saw me then she start to cry on and off wanting to come out of the room liao. I notice she always does that when her favourite teacher is out of the classroom (bringing the kids to toilet). Next time, when she starts playgroup proper, I'll leave her there then disappear so that she won't be able to look for me. :p

Godsent, must register online as relief teacher, approved liao (will receive notification via email) before the schools can take you.

Pauline,
thks!

i havent bring eve for MMR. will fall sick ah? must we pay for it? can take in polyclinic or betta to take fr paed n at the same time do check up??

for a while to b home is ok. but we cant depend on single income so must find a job fast.

kellie,

this is just my take on vaccinations and any other controversial topic. for every study there is always another study countering the 1st study. there is always 2 sides of the coin. u know wat i mean?

for e.g. the whole BPA concern now, i mean our parents generation and our generation were all bottle fed on bottles containing BPA. we're all still fine right? To me as long as I'm reasonably healthy and live to a reasonable age (i don't want to live to 100) i'm not too concerned abt these things.

i suggest u read BOTH sides of the argument before making yr decision. there are THOUSANDS of children past present and future who have taken MMR that hv grown up to be happy n healthy. don't just focus on the ones that didn't.

anyway, if these mummies/daddies really believe so strongly that vaccines are bad then why do they even send their kids for the compulsory jabs? shouldn't they be fighting for what they believe in and standing up to the law?

Hi Grumpus,

I agreed with what you said...but i am kinda scare she need to go thru the after effect of the jabs...or maybe i am scare lor...

Hi Wendy,

i think we all noe your boys are very handsome...hee hee...

Kellie,
What side effects?? Autism??? Sorry ah, I never read the link you posted. My boy went for the MMR jab when he was 15 months and so far still very happy, active and ahem...handsome also. Same thoughts as Grumpus, IF there are really some negative effects from it, don't think it'll be made a complusory jab and I'm sure there'll be tons of parents marching on the streets to protest!?

Re: 18 mth jab
My boy also had fever after the jab last week even though he didn't develop any fever for the previous jabs. PD said the booster jab will usually cause fever. I guai guai gave him 1 dose of paracetamol after the jab but he still developed a fever the next morning so better listen to the PD.