(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Steph, were you using Origins Jamu massage again this time? I'm thinking of signing up their package, which massage therapist is good? I remember you and Ah Capp said the boss herself doesn't do it anymore right?

Any other preggie mums keen to sign up promotion package with origins jamumassage? If friends book together, can get extra free gift. See details below. http://www.originsjamumassage.com/Promotions.html

EDD & birth weight: my girl is exactly as what we been told. Dr' last scan was 1 week before her birth and it was 3.7kg- she came out 3.765kg. ;) and she was born on EDD.
Just nice.
My gynae asked me to pray that baby won't be so big otherwise it's hard for me to push- am small size compared to my girl' weight. I pushed 30 mins, her head kept coming in and out. In the end had to vacuum her head out.

anglesky: read your post just now. I dare not involve your name leh. Some more your hints are so obvious. Hohohoho. I dare not zoom into details like you.

Janbb: Congrats on the arrival of your princess.

Durian: I think it's all gone to baby. I ate so much during preg #1. Total gained 12kgs, after gave birth, only excess 3kgs in my body, and I managed to cleared on 3rd month after delivery. ;)

kitsune,

I also don't mind people stealing my crops - steal whatever you want while stock lasts :) I also bo chap the dogs, continue to sabo and steal from those farms with dog, see which dog is smarter and more hard working.

Luca,

My boy also started to cough...... still have half a bottle of cough medicine, so how it goes. It's really not the right time. Cos now my boy "promoted" to the toddler class, got to adjust himself to the new routine, new food, new friends, and new teachers..... and now with the cough. It's going to be hard time for him and for me, luckily weekend is coming soon.

Jayden can now speak quite a few words....Can say "I want", "on" "off" eheheh
He likes to talk alot now...

Yesterday night, dont know what happened, Jayden woke up crying, took a while to pacifiy him....Could it be a bad dream???

blackbatz
Robinsons sale ok. If you have things to buy lah. I gg back later, cos got a jap cracker I tried, v nice, gg back to buy! hahah... bo liao hor.
Can see you busy BP buying clothes for your kids...

mylife,
Actually can arrange to meet from 9.30am onwards, mummies can feel free to come earlier or later lor.

Re: Supermarket Trolley
So far my boy will guai guai sit inside throughout but he will gesture me to move it when I stop for too long...haha. To keep him occupied, will get him to help me put the fruits into plastic bags, etc. He also loves pointing out fruits to me...like banana, apples and oranges. The headache comes when we're at the cashier, he'll try to press on the Nets machine so I gotta keep him away from it.

blackbatz
you went to 717 and then bought liao...they got no more durians after that? sure? coz their stock is always a lot. last 2 weeks we sat there, the lorry came twice to unload leh. you went at closing time ah?
welcome to the durians lover club!!

mcfluffy
eat lah eat lah. durians now only 10cents each ley!!!

kitsune
aiyoh even now your posts are peppered with farming phrases "bumper crop of bios" muahahahahahah

Janbb,
Congrats!! Jayden has a little mei mei now...

Re: Constipation
Fruits such as dragon fruit, papaya, banana, kiwi, berries, etc has to be a daily affair plus yogurt on alternate days and lots n lots of water!

angelsky,
dun be shy lar, this could be the "last" time u are pregnant liao, unless u planning for #3 n #4. i give u some of my dan hee

Kam,
give him more time, im sure Hao Re can get used to the new routine in no time.

im planning to bring #2 to see Dr Keoy tonite, though i dread going TMC.

Yvonne,

I agree - Dragon fruit works very well on my boy to "induce" the poo-poo. And the red dragon fruit is very rich in anti-oxidant, all natural. Just a reminder, according to my PD, 2 fruits per day on average should be sufficient for toddlers this age. And max 2 liters of water per day.

My boy is the opposite, his record so far - he poos EVERYDAY without fail since birth till now, and we actually worry he poo too often than having constipation problem. He usually poo 2 or 3x a day, luckily PD said is ok. My boy eats lots of fruits and veg and drink a lot of water. Yogurt is like 3-4x per week.

Luca,

Thought is your #1 who is coughing? Night clinic is definitely than Saturday clinic. Saturday is so crowded that you can't even find a place to stand....... I might bring him there tonight also if his cough gets worsen (pray not......)

Kam,
Same here, my boy also poo poo everyday and sometimes he'll do it 2 times a day. I usually only give 1 fruit OR yogurt a day cos he's already pooing so well...hehe. But he drinks alot of water maybe cos he perspires so much?

Kam,
already brought #1 to the GP again last night, he was prescribed antibiotics, will see how it goes when he finishes it.

Im more worried abt #2 who has started coughing last night too, coz he falls sick more often and reacts slowly to the medicine, so i feel safer to see Dr Keoy instead of GP. i hate going on saturday too, thought the night clinic would be better than morning also.

wendy,
did u say before that u need to keep bringing Isaac back to the Kidslink PD coz his condition doesnt seem to improve? paiseh i can only remember parts of wat u post before :p

my girl drinks alot of water too but she still has constipation prob.
i talked to my PD abt this b4 and she said it's a combination of things, enough water, enough fruits and fiber and the rest of the diet matters too cos cow's milk does cos the stools to harden for some ppl

she also said that some ppls systems are just like tat....and it's true, my sis had constipation prob since newborn and until now still hv constipation. no matter how much water, papaya, yogurt that she eats...

verene
yes, those liquid laxatives can get from guardian pharmacy. i think got for kids kind too.

if all else fails, insert those infant glycerin suppository lah. can buy from PD or GP. if you want, i have some spares at home. can pass you. else, sit in my kitchen and rot too, these suppositories. 1 shoot can clear the bowels liao

Luca,

If I remember correctly, Wendy stopped bringing Isaac to Kidslink cos no improvement after numerous visits. He then brought Isaac to see Dr Ang Ai Tin(?) at TMC, same clinic as Dr Keoy. The PD managed to cure Isaac persistant cough after a few visits, with the use of neubiliser and med. Recently also did the allergic tests.

Grumpus,

I agree, some people seem to be born with constipation problems. But I am just thinking if constipation is not link to the gene(s), then surely there is a way to improve the situation, esp if starts from young? Only if it's a genetic disease, then there is really nothing we can do. Just my thinking.

grumpus
me me me too!
during confinement, i ate 1 large papaya in 2 days, everyday, also cannot poo
i have constipation prob. my gp says as long as you dump in regularly. ie. once every 5 days, still considered regular leh??!
i dump at most - fastest, once every 3 days...longest....once a week
sometimes the big intestines so choked up with stools until i feel very painful and bloated. like menses cramping like that

Kam,
eh i thought its Isaac?
Anyway if u remembered correctly, i feel so too for the Kidslink PD near my hse, she always prescribed the same medicine as Dr Keoy, but always need to go see her at least twice before my son can fully recover. Her medicine are more expensive than TMC too.

kam
i am sure constipation problems could be solved by diet and food intake etc etc.

i have tried prunes, doc prescribed laxatives, fiber drinks, yakult, yoghurt, juices - all cannot help.
only a particulr chinese herbal tea can make me poo. its filled with senna leaves/pods. its a natural mild laxatives.
i dont dare to take too regularly leh. i scared my body getting reliant on this, dont want to poo naturally
hmmmmmmmmmmm

constipation may be caused by milkpowder? my girl hardly eat fruits n veggie, but she got no prob with her poo. i tink the friso milk quite gd coz they hav the probiotics. her pd dr ho from tampines used to say that to make kids poo softer, onli friso n mamil gold does the job !

Luca,

Haha, I quickly edit my post. Ops, hope wendyg didn't read it :)

Like I said before, even the same med, can be manufactured by different pharma company, esp they pour the med into smaller container from the big bottle, we never know from which pharma. To me, if the med from that particular doc works for you (be it kids or adults), I would always go back to that doc.

Kam,
hehe i had to be careful not to spell Isaac name incorrectly.

yeah, i admit i was lazy to bring them to TMC since the medicine is the same hee :p

Kam/luca, why not let ur tod try drinking soup made from dried mandarine tangerine+chuan bei mu+figs+north and south Chinese almonds? It’s quite effective and can cure cough plus it’s natural.

Kam, I also encounter same worries as u - our boys poo so many times everyday. But yesterday record, only pooed once. Maybe today will poo more after accumulating from yesterday. His routine is 3 times per day. If one day he poos only once, he will poo 5 times the next day. Haiyo

Pixie: oh I pooed (soft) everyday during confinement eventhough I’m on heaty diet leh. so strange hor. Why don’t you try prebiotics. There prebiotics for adults sold at Watson or other pharmacies. It’s very effective to improve your bowel problem

Mom2nat – ya, after seeing mummies popping again I also feel like getting pregnant, hehe. But I got to wait till my son listens to me and not so clingy then I will try.

Verene- yea it’s better to stop now as it’s not good for Javier on long medication. Since his runny nose is mild already, just let him recover by himself by giving more fruits for the minerals and vitamins.. he will be alright.

For constipation, you can try black sesame powder, prunes, nectarines, plums, fresh milk. Give him whole prunes to eat lor, got fibre also, more effective

Blessedbaby, my baby also vacuumed out cuz the gynae said I had no strength to push. Well, I think he doesn’t give me more chance to push leh! I will want to change gynae for #2.

Mandy: my son also wakes up these days and walked out from the room. I got to ask him to come back to sleep. He wanted milk so I got to make him milk. Think he is teething and growth spurt.

My MIL gives my girl a fair share of veggies, fruits etc but she still have constipation. Her avg is around 3 days then poo once. Through switched to Friso liao, the condition improves a bit but cannot poo everyday. But definitely better than Gain coz she constipated for 5 days during then!!!

So I think this problem will continue to happen on my girl. She just does not want to poo...

tongtong
tried liao. oso no use.
im resigned to the fact that i dont poo as regularly as others. my hb can empty bowels after a meal...every meal
im totally opposite

krstle: friso's prebiotic's portion is not as much as the prebiotic that is sold over the counter. that's pure prebiotic, you might want to try. i think there's one available at vitakid called flora, if i remember correctly.

pixie, you tried enzyme and prebiotic also no use ah. wah your intestine very stubborn hor :p or eat more fibre staff leh?

cos lactose intolerant si boh hehehehe.. but ok.. i will give my girl some fresh milk tmr morning.. she's been having hard stools cos change milk powder. thanks!!!

tongtong
i tried the fibre drinks, fibre capsules leh
and moreover, i love vege and my main dishes everyday lunch/dinner all vege leh...
still nooooooooooo

that time i did a MRI scan of my stomach, the hosp doc say "aiyoh, settle your bowels prob first. see here, here, and here *taps on the image* all choked with stools".....muahahahhaah

windy,

Haha, cos I was the first one to steal mah :)

Tongtong,

All those things you mentioned can buy from the chinese medical hall? Can you translate these names to chinese. I kind of can guess what they are, but if you can tell me in chinese, would help a great deal. Thanks!

Tongtong,
Thanks for the info. But I prefer my girl to rely less on supplements and eat the usual veggies, fruits etc to poo. More healthier in my own sense. Maybe if constipation turns very bad again, I will try. For now, 2~3 days is acceptable to me liao. Used to it.

Taking abt baby's weight, my gynae gave accurate estimation for my girl. He estimated 3.2kg by full term. When I delivered @ 39wks, she weighted 3.11Kg. So only 90g differnce. But hoh 2 of my colleagues used the same gynae and the weight estimate is way-off. One was supposed 3Kg @ full term but came out 2.5Kg only @ 37wks. Then the other was supposed 2.9kg @ full term but came out 2.6kg @ 39weeks. Don't tell me my gynae's estimation skills is deteriotating??? Hahaha.. Now he said my #2 will be more than 3Kg @ full term and I don't know to believe or not.

kam
if im not wrong, got pre-mixed by the chinese medical halls, describing the exact ingredients tongtong said. i brewed that for my hb last time...he has a 6 year old cough (and still coughing now)

windy
before i got to know him - cough
park toh - cough
married - cough
pregnant - cough
delivery - cough
now our bb is 18mths liao - still cough

i think got 6yr+ liao lor

i cannot judge effective for my hb or not. sighs. coz my hb's cough is a chronic problem. it helps to supress his itch and phlegm. but must take very consistently for him. but for our tods, maybe more effective?

i just pop by any chinese medical hall, they have those pre-mixed and pack nice nice kind by the shopkeepers. if dunno, just ask them for cough one, they will point to you. usually you will see the packet with 1 big dried tangerine. thats the one lah haha

Luca/kam, you can get from the Chinese medical hall like ztp ah. They actually have the prepack one, very easy, just boil for half an hour with 2 or 3 bowls of water. You can ask the salesperson there.

Kam, yea I got from zhengzhongping. Er, translate, I don’t have the Chinese software here so cannot type in Chinese. The Chinese tangerine is “ji2 bing3”(dried mandarine orange coated with sugar one), chuan1 bei4 mu3 ( small tiny round in white) song1 bei4 is more effective but more expensive. Figs ( wu2 hua1 guo3), north and south Chinese almonds ( nan2 xing4, bei3 xing4)

Pixie, wah your bowel problem got cause you any problems or not? If not then just let it be? If your hubby has prolonged cough, you better ask him to see TCM cuz they will say it’s “xie2 qi4” – has inhaled negative qi something like that.

Pi pa gao is ok, but better don’t give our tod cuz I read that it got the ingredient “ma huang” which is not good for baby.

Krystle, yea I agree to eat more veggies and fruits. You can give her prunes and black sesame powder, it really help. Or give her more foods which have good source of prebiotic like banana, lentils, and etc ( I remember reading it somewhere in magazines, if you want to know I go dig out the informati

kam,
for those ppl 'born' with constipation prob, eating all the prebiotics, fruits, fiber drinks etc will help the situation but they will never be the regular smooth type of poo-er lor...

pixie,
u are exactly like my sister! she also once in awhile hv to take those farnie herbal drinks and dunno wat to clear her bowels, otherwise she feel bloated and uncomfortable...she also got IBS

aqua,
yup milk powder can cause constipation, PD said it's the cow's milk but chinese will say cos it's heaty...
my girl is already on mamil gold! situation is slightly better compared to when i tried enfa, nan, gain etc etc
in fact the only time my girl is the regular once a day poo-er is when she's teething!!

krystle,
actually not pooing once a day does not = constipation. some ppl do poo normally every 2-3 days. if few days never poo and the poo is hard and pebbly type or everyday poo but just a few pellets type then is considered constipation.

windy,
fresh milk not as 'heaty' as milk powder?

tongtong,
i also read up abt all the foods with prebiotics when my girl started her constipation prob..but hor my girl's intestines really very stubborn, when 1st start prebiotic rich food very good, can poo but after a few wks also go back to 'normal' i.e constipated....faintz...

tongtong,
how often should our tods take this soup?

my frens recommended cordyceps to build up the lungs system, issit true, anybody tried?