(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hehe, my ILs are the suppliers for RaeAnne's porridge ingredients cos they buy pork and fish and pumpkin in bulk. ;P

Ah capp, super long never post liao. :p

I think Mei mainly posts when she got lobang. Our lobang queen.

aqua
my hb already say he feel my son wont be lonely even if he got no sibling. he feel cannot have no.2 becos to accompany no.1 lol....

hb oso only wan to stop at 1...

grumpus,
Freezing wantons is a great idea! I never thought of this before.

Babe,
I also do one-dish meal for dinners and cook when my boy is taking his afternoon nap. I can't let him in the kitchen when I'm cooking cos he will try to touch the pots, etc which is burning hot! Lunch is usually cup noodles, ham & egg sandwich or bread. But nowadays I will also buy fishball kway teow soup or chap chai rice to share with him.

Anybody knows if there's any instant mix available for assam or curry fish??? I have never liked spicy food before preggy but after giving birth to my boy I LOVE spicy food! Always craving for curry fish/chicken, etc....hehehe.

cheryl: aiya..nt fair to u leh. u tell him u wana try for a girlgirl so that uen to can dress her up! nex time u hav ur girl accompany u for shopping, hi-tea etc.

boy next time married liao, wat if onli listen to wife n ignore parents? keke...

yvonne,

Yes, quite easy to get the instant mix from supermarket, I tried curry fish a few times, but never tried assam fish.

Last time when I was a student, I used to cook a big pot of curry chicken with lots of veg, then kept in many container and in the fridge. For my next few days lunch/dinner :)

Thanks Pixie/Kam. I always thought only got chicken curry intant mix but not fish curry. Shall go and see see look look tomorrow. I'm drooling liao....

aqua,

You are right, if add coconut milk, better don't keep.

But all my curries don't have coconut milk one :) That's why I like my own curries :)

aqua / cheryl,

If your hubby really die die don't want #2 for a good reason, then you have to compromise lor. Think of all the positives if you only have 1 kid - lots of FREEDOM, less financial burden,...... among many other pros.

Yvonne, I just tried the Brahim's Tamarind Fish paste yesterday (bought from Penang). It's ok, find the sauce a bit watery and too salty but that's because instead of adding 300g of fish, I only had 150g of fish. Thought I can separate the sauce into 2 portion and use it another day mah. When I was cooking then realise that the sauce can only keep for 24hrs so hubby say don't waste the sauce lor. I added lady fingers and tomatoes. You can add brinjal, and some lime juice if you want it more sour.

kam
i knw haf to compromise 1... haha. hoping he will change his mind when vernon is bigger???

and yes. now we have more den enuff to spend and even have extra to buy for vernon and even enuff to save

Aqua, oh I have been freezing veg stocks for my son for one week’s consumption. Will adding ginger into the stock help ?

Re:curry
I like curry too, but I wonder whether we can give spicy food to our tod?
They sure have comical expression after taking curry? hehe

tongtong:i dunno, but old folks always say overnite veggie/freezing stocks nt gd, will cause wind. u know porridge prepared early for lunch nt suppose to feed again during dinner coz this will cause wind too!

cheryl: bo pian lor, if he dunwan, then juz concentrate n shower all ur love to ur boy.having kids need to be mutual lah, otherwise, no meaning rite/

Kitsune,
Oh, brahim brand ah...I see whether our supermarket have or not. This brand need to add cococut milk or not?

Re: #2??
My good friend has been telling me to have #2 cos it's always better to have a sibling to grow up with. Moreover, the responsibility and burden of taking care of old parents is not so great when there's more than 1 child. I told her I wouldn't want another kid for such reasons but after my dad's recent passing, I came to realise what she meant. If I didn't have a brother and sister, I won't be able to cope with the grief and at the same time, go to china with my mum to handle his funeral and cremation. In such sad times, I'm really glad I still have my brother and sister, we can share the load and there's someone to discuss with. It's a very real situation. We may think having 1 child means giving him/her the best but when we grow old, he/she has the responsibility towards not 1 but 2 parents. That's a great responsibility to bear.

yvonne, brahim brand available in NTUC, they selling for $2.95 per pack. I bought RM3.99 at cold storage at gurney plaza, the day before we left, the guide brought us to Tesco (my request) and they were only selling RM3.25, even cheaper. :p

Agree, I only have my younger bro and my parents are both very old and take turns to pay visits to hospital. IT's a real burden but at least they are still mobile. It'll be worse when they can't walk anymore. :p

The instructions didn't say need to add coconut milk. Just add water and seafood in fact. But I did find the gravy a bit thin, not sure if you want to try with coconut milk.

Aqua I told my mum about the stock she said it will be fine if we add ginger red dates wolfberries n bei qi so I guess I still have to continue making stock for the nanny lo no choice

tongtong: ok, that is good. at least can save time freezing the stocks. but to play safe, i tink u freeze chicken/pork stocks. add veggie onli on the day of consumption???
typical kiasu, coz kids v vulnerable, nt good to eat too 'liang' food.

Pixie
my trip back to Sg confirmed 3-10july. It's summer time now, u want me to buy magazines for u? Let me know titles n where to buy cos u just listed one in your last post.

Yvonne / kitsune,

When I cook curry with the brahim's pre-mix, I never follow the cooking instrutions, I do it my own way. The mix are actually quite thick and I find that for curry chicken, the mix is enough to cook 1 whole chicken plus veg. I never put in coconut milk (not sure if it says need to add or not).

To make it tastier, I would brown lots of garlic, shallot, onion and ginger at the beginning (it's a lot of work, so you can skip this if you prefer a more instant way). Then add in the meat the stir-fry until the meat is half-cook. Then only add in the curry mix. Stir-fry for another few minutes, add in vegetables (anything from potato, tomato, brinjal, lady fingers, red pepper, brocolli, etc) and stir-fry for another few minutes, then add a bit of water (usually I only add very little cos we like thick gravy), cover the lid and simmer for 10-30min, depending on how soft you want the meat to be. And to add spice to it, sometimes I add 5-8 chilli padi if I have that in my fridge.

Since I don't cook beef and mutton, most of the time I only use chicken as the meat. All the brahim's pre-mixes go well with chicken - I have tried almost all flavour - rendang, masak merah, yellow curry, and a lot more.

It's a Malaysian brand I think, that's why cheaper in Malaysia.

Verene, a picture tells a thousand words or rather 2 pictures. Go see at my blog RaeAnne's loot from penang. http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

Yup, Kam, it's made in Malaysia. I checked before buying.
But isn't the spice mix even saltier if you add very little water? I added half a cup of water, still very salty leh. :p

mylife
thanks! it should be HDKD30 per magazine.
help me buy 2-3 of them, i'll post you tonite once i check out the usual titles i buy (too long never buy, forgot the titles liao)

enemum
initially guai guai drink but take over long term, must force. he likes to drink water from stringe so he holds 1 stringe, i hold 1 stringe

eNemum,
mine depends on the medicine taste...if sweet then he's ok...willingly drink it. If bitter then he will reject so we dilute it with water to feed him & will lay him on his back, straddle his chest and pin his arms down otherwise he sure struggle & will use his hand to push away the spoon/syringe.

mylife
buy mina, vivi, FF, ray, with (in this order of preference)
since some magazines have the japanese version too, please buy the HK or TW version (with mandarin wordings. else cannot decipher the kanji and katakana)

thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

Aqua thanks for your advice! Er but hor, I’m only making veg stock because I’m vegetarian :p But I note your concern and I asked mum about it. She said by adding those more heaty stuff like ginger, dates, Chinese herbs, it wont be cooling liao. And we do ask the nanny to put some dates or wolfberries when cooking the porridge with the stock. In fact I find that my boy tends to be heaty because he always feel hot cuz he doesn’t like blanket and socks on when sleeping at night while me and hubby feel cold.

Enrmum,
Yesterday I gave my son drink 2 teaspoon of pao sim with cordyceps, it’s bitter taste but he likes it! And ask for more, so strange.

Hello mummies! Hope everyone's doing fine.

Any dog lovers here? One of my colleagues brought her dog to office and it came out of the bag!! And it ran around the office, scaring the ladies this morning.. imagine bringing a dog in ... and she has been doing it for 3 weeks apparently, without anyone noticing!?

Interesting morning for me..heh..

mine is i will force it thru ....must hold him tight so that he wont push my hand away

but he very smart....will spit out and he knows just how to spit out skilfully with the tongue

kitsune: wow, u hav some many breast pump. no wonder ur breasftfeeding career so successful!
i onli hav the avent manual one, too tedious to use and i gav up BF in a mth.
nw reali regret, coz everyone tells me shld continue , bf good for bb n slim mummy down

eNemum,
My boy will drink willingly. There was this very thick and brownish cough medicine which he hates (smells bitter to me) and he spit out once. But I scolded him and told him he won't recover if he spits out the medicine and I will make him take it again so he guai guai swallow everything with a scrunched up expression....hahaha!