Thanks, pixie. I have never fried rice before in my life so not bad by my standards liao. Haha.
I get my rice from ILs, don't know what brand they used. We don't buy cos we take so long to finish that all the rice weevils appear and the birds at our nearby park get a feast cos I will let RaeAnne feed the birds with the 'spoilt' rice. Also I don't have overnight rice, so I cooked rice at 9am then fried it at 11+am so the rice was still too soft bah. ;P
If you use normal wok instead of non stick, how to preven rice from sticking to the wok. I don't dare to add too much oil since it's meant for RaeAnne to eat as while ( i only used 1 table spoon when I was frying the garlic, meat and fish), but all the oil disappeared.
This waterplay area at Jacob's very the small one lah. Water squirting out also like no power type. Really only for young kids to have some fun. Parents won't get wet for sure, very easy to "siam" the water. Don't think the kids will get cold cos not very windy. If you are worry, then don't take out thier shirts lor or play for a short while. No changing room nearby, we just did my boy on the nearby grass patch.
I also use the normal wok, I never own a non-sticky wok anyway To prevent rice from sticking to the wok, first you must heat up the wok thoroughly with high heat before put in the oil. After the wok heated up, add oil, and heated up the oil at high heat. Then brown/fry the garlic etc at medium/low heat. When you are ready to put in the rice, turn to high heat again, and stir quickily for a couple of minutes, then turn it to medium/low heat and continue till it's done. It has got to do with the heat also besides the oil.
pauline, the wok must be hot and then you add oil (i also stingy with oil)....then you fry the rice....and keep tossing....you need the wok hei3.....very important
my rice never stick to the wok....and my rice not even the overnight type
Kam, so high heat when I throw in the rice then medium/low heat when I put in the chicken stock? Ya, think my fire not high enough cos I scared everything 'chao ta' under my inexperienced hands. Tben the 3 of us will go hungry. My hubby said even the garlic tasted too raw though they already looked light brown to me. Hee.
pixie,
i agree on the quality of rice is impt. My bro can tell the difference when my mum buys the cheap rice. and like u say, somehow the rice cook already the texture not so nice...so now i just buy the royal umbrella one, afterall we don't eat that much rice also.
kitsune,
i cook my rice in the morn 9am also and fry at 11am no prob..hehe
actually if you keep yr rice dry and in an airtight container won't get weevils one...can keep very long..
ENemum, okie, heat and wok hei3, I'll try that next time. Maybe feed RaeAnne porridge then just cook for me and hubby, less stressed. At least if everything 'chao ta', we can still ta pow. hee.
Er, I follow Pixie's recipe, got add stock one leh. You mean your fried rice recipes no add stock?
Grumpus, mine is already in airtight container somemore with a few garlic cloves (which MIL said will chase weevils away), but still kenna weevils leh.
I don't use any stock. But you must practice a lot lor, if you are not fast enough, may go chao ta under high heat. Try medium-high first maybe. Most important is to heat up the wok thoroughly at the first place. Like eReMum said - the "wok hei" (in cantonese) very important.
Ok, stupid question, if no add stock, how would the rice taste 'sweet'? Just my garlic, veg, and bits of meat, egg, the rice will taste very plain leh.
hmm, i never cook with stock before leh....never know must put stock
what i do is i on the fire high heat, add oil, till hot....cook my egg...almost done....and i add my rice in and keep tossing. Then i add in my char siew and fish cakes (both of which cut till tiny pieces)....toss and toss...add in salt and some chicken stock (those used to fried vege...in a container type....not water)...dun use also ok....and bingo....done!
kitsune,
really ah, i use the tupperware airtight container so far have kept my rice for months and no weevils...
i don't use stock for my fried rice also, my meat is seasoned with a little soya sauce beforehand and when i fry the rice i season with a bit more soya sauce and pepper, very tasty already ah...
but if u want the play cheat way, then u can use fish cake or char siew as yr liao so that it will be more tasty
mylvera, I thought of adding dark sauce too but I'm cooking for RaeAnne mah so cannot. Wendy, I love fried lard lor but lazy to fry it. My mum used to fry for me, but not crispy and fragant like hawker lard so I don't like.
eNemum,
i posted the msg same time as u so didn't know u also use char siew and fish cake....but i also always play cheat and use char siew and fish cake...hehehe
luncheon meat also good...
Next - soup lor. Wendyg shared the very informative website, but I have yet to try. Last week too busy for outings
Mylvera,
Best don't go to zoo leh, with your haven't fully recovered ankle. Last Sunday I was there for a few hours, reall really tired after the walking, though it's a good outing.
kitsune
aiyah my recipe got stock is because i try to be kiasu, re-use the stock (water) lah. healthy oso
what i meant was, if you boil the carrots and the long beans to soften them so that you wont get very hard to bite carrots in the fried rice, got the water (aka stock) left over from boiling. just put them into the fried rice later on so that the rice can absorb the stock
-healthy vege stock
-rice is sweeter
-saves soy suace/oyster sauce/salt
-rice got colour (coz the stock would be orangey in colour)
actually can dont add stock but if cook for bb, i try not to put soy sauce/oyster sauce/salt. hence i replaced with the carrot/long bean stock
if its adult version, i simply bochup.
like eNemum said, can scoop aside for bb's share. so last weekend's fried rice i had 2 stove running concurrently coz adult version i added salt and lap cheong (chn sausage)
soup ah....i just cooked 'pure' chicken soup for my boys on sat....then put mian sian for my number two...he ate half bowl only....smell really good....but think he still prefer porridge......hmm...think sunday shall add rice into the soup instead....else he forver eating porridge...my MIL like change ingredient but not porridge....hardly eat other things and my boy super fussy...always thing we feeding him poison.
he dun eat biscuit too
now i try brush his teeth....he also dun wan...see i going to put something in his mouth, he make noise liao
now we talk about fried rice...make me feel like cooking fried rice today ah...but cant
pixie/ enemum
we go your place gathering and u cook claypot rice/ fried rice/ fish head curry for us la. once a month. So hv 3 months gatherings liao. someone buy liulian, someone buy red wine... and the daddies will babysit. how?
spare mylvera from cooking since she cook fish until want to throw up... hahahaha
grumpus, i put chicken (with no skin and with bones) and some pieces of ginger...really pure chicken soup with no herbs...smells good lor....like imperial restaurant one...but of cos cannot fight....way behind...then add lttle bit of salt and light soya sauce....
drink alone very yummy....eat with mian sian...part of the taste will be gone...but i also like mian sian with chicken soup...but if with mian sian...i like herbs wan...
i can offer to cook curry .. but my style will b spicy hot curry lor ahaha
i can cook vinegar pork trotters
popiah ...for time being ..spare me lah .. haha
me meet up ah....would love too....but always end up not joining you all...cos with two boys...think it will be running around more...my two boys cant sit still guai guai type....
i seldom eat outside and always buy back cos at least with toys and Tv to entertain them
enemum
that's why suggest to go someone's home.. at least it's confined area, can sit on the floor, hv TV for whoever wants to watch, clean toilet..
mylvera
ooh i lurrrrve vinegar pork trotters. my colleague cooked for us once.. she cooked for 3 days... stove to thermal cooker to stove to thermal cooker.. back & forth for 3 days. super deliciousssssss
so your home open for gathering? need to consult old man?