(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi mummies!! congrats to all the new-old mums!! hehehe..

erm.. RC.. i need a chicken.. anybody can gib me 1 chicken pls.. we can trade!! keke

hi enemum

kayla's MOST CHUN follow-instructions-upon-command is pls go put on your shoes, we're going GAI GAI. keyword gai gai. hehe.. y ah?

hehe.. cos u always bring pram when he goes out right? so he does follow his instincts n usual pattern ie go out means sit in pram ah

i think at this age, alot of kids can comprehand, but most find it difficult to communicate hence alot of frustration on both ends, parents n kids.

i was reading this thread over the weekend, read that some moms are bringing their babies to the little neuro tree? how? good? i went to check out the branch at paradiz.. hmm.. the in-charge there told me that they teach jap becos "Alot of cartoons are in jap. and jap is a widely spoken language.." really now?

i dun even need to give instruction...i push it into living room, and he will climb automatically

tell him no, dun bite...he will continue to bite and ignore me

i sending him for trial at gymboree this weekend

windy,
tks tks. motherhood exhibition at expo this thurs till sun. i've a quite a few things to check. can u help me prices and promotion? tks so much

nestle cereals/brown rice
johnson & johnson top-to-toe bathing and bedtime lotion
heinz fruit juice (if have)
gerber milk bags (if have)
puree bottle wash
pigeon wet wipes (if have)

sorry for longlist. if u see then pls do. if u no see and not convenient to go, then nvm tks.

btw, u go expo on thurs not for motherhood? then for?? popular or john little sale? i also wanna see books too! hahaaaaa

Thanks qua, kam & mylvera. I totally ignore my MIL' comment. ;)

Bluerose: yes, my girl knows how to take instruction. When we go out, I will ask her to bring shoes to the door, then she will put it on the door mar. When we are back, I ask her to put the shoes back where it should be, she will do the same. ;) She will know if we forget to bring her pram, she will point to the garage if we didn't take her pram out yet. ;)

hi mei,

i'm going there for work. anyway, ok i will check out the promo for u on the items u asked for. no inconvenience lah. anyway, i also wanna go de. so qiao day 1 of the fair some more. i muz quick go grab before the crowd comes!!!! hehe. will post the promo on thurs night k?

Windy, haven't seen you for a long time. What are you up to now?

My gal has been coughing and throwing up everynight coz alot of phelgm while my boy just recovered. Any good remedy for phelgm or tcm to recommend? Seen pd so many times and eat same med still like that. Ask him why he says coz catch different virus.

Anyone going for any kids show?

Kam,
tks for the direction
I didn't know this building exist...been too long never go out jalan jalan:p

eNemum,
my boy can follow instruction when we ask him to go take your shoes & he knows how to give me/hubby shoulder massage when ask to do so

hi bebe

i've been working hard lor.. how about u? cough.. u try lah, cos i tried once and it works leh. u buy chuan bei from tcm, grind to powder. either u add the powder into milk or if kid doesnt wanna drink milk, can boil with some pear to make it like a sweet drink to consume. i aga-aga de, no specific measurement. half to 1 teaspoon per consumption should be fine lah. hope this helps.

steph

OSIM CEO in the making siah.. hehehe.. so guai de!!!! my girl doesnt even know how to kiss us. she will lower her head and we HAVE to kiss her de. grrr.. machiam some queen of england reincarnated. :S

windy,
go there for work!?! for expo!?! which "work" u working? haha...

can u sms me after u checked it out? cos me on leave on fri thus i cant access net afterwork. if not then nite also can. tks tks. u have my hp?

Aqua and mcfluffy,

So sorry!!! I still owe both of you the book title for baby genders. I will go back and check today. Coz very busy recently. Sat went for Aaron Kwok's concert and sun is busy with vistors. So paiseh.

My girl still does not know how to take her shoes cos she seldom wear (still does not know how to walk yet, that's why). But when putting clothings on her, I will give instructions like "give me your hand/leg" then she will follow loh. Did try to ask her to pass me pillow y'day but she "bo chap" me.

She learnt how to kiss me mouth to mouth liao. She will request by opening her mouth big big and pull my face towards her. Most of the time, my mouth is covered with her saliva!!! She is like eating my mouth! Hahaha...

mei, i'm with AIA and we have a sales convention there on thurs.

ok will sms u, i have ur number i guess.. the excel spreadsheet circulating ard shd hv right?

Thanks, Kam. I promised myself that no. 2 will let hubby decide. So, I'm trying hard not to initiate. Qilin2 sounds more feminine but I think sounds like Kirin beer. Qixin1 also not bad but sounds like 'increase salary.' I also don't have better suggestions for him. Haha.

Enemum, yup my gal has no problems following our instructions but she'll blatantly ignore us when it comes to instructions like "No, don't touch that", "No, cannot eat", No, cannot pour water on the floor. Faint. ;P

Today, PD suggested Hep A jab but I think since not so important, delay until she's older. During today assessment, my gal is 9.9kg and 78cm, still around 50th percentile. Development milestones all ok except she can't drink from normal cup yet. Tried to give her water in cup a few times but she'll pour water over herself instead of she sticks out her tongue when drinking water from the cup. :p

krystle, no prob! we will wait for u to share the good tips with us

u preggie still went concert? did ur no.2 get excited dancing in ur tum?

kitsune, my ger went mmr jab yesterday, i hope she wont hav fever. she is 11kg 84cm. i tot she was underweight, coz she dun take solids

Kitsune,
How about QiRui? Her Qi is Qi(1) or Qi(2)?? Or QiEn? I like to think of names...kekeke.

Enemum,
Think most of our kids, even yours, should be able to follow instructions but it depends on whether they want to do it or not. They will happily obey if it's going gai gai, etc but things which they don't like they'll just act blur lor.

Re: Cough
Just brought my boy to PD this morning cos last night he developed a fever and runny nose as well. PD is concerned that he has been down with flu and cough so frequently for the past 3 months. He said it could it due to him attenting playgroup/classes more frequently now and it's common for them to fall sick often during the first 6 months cos they're exposed to a pool of virus (this is what wendyg also say). It's alright if it's mild but since he's always down with phlegmy cough, we should monitor closely otherwise may develop into asthma later. This time it's viral and his fever was 39.3 degrees at the clinic. PD gave him insert to bring down fever and being put on singulair again. Another bag of medicine for the next 1 week. PD said also good to cut down on dairy products so as not to contribute to the phlegm.

Kyrstle,
It's ok. No hurry. Im just curious to know. No plans for #2 yet. :p

My girl can follow instructions quite well too.
Ask her want to go gai gai? she'll quickly run to get her shoes and sit down and meddle with her shoes. She has her mind of her own now. That day my mother bought a new pair of Barney shoes for her, she die die want to wear it. When I gave her another pair of shoes, she cried and hit that pair of shoes. Hahah.

She also learned how to kiss. Initially, she was like Krystle's baby. Open mouth very big and like wanna eat our mouth. Now she has learned to kiss with her mouth close. So cute!!!

One more thing is I love "biting" her so much. Wihtout the teeth of course. So everytime I will ask "Mama bite you ok?" She will just raise her arm and give it to me for me to bite. LOLz. I hope she doesn't go round biting pple though!

Btw, when is the Motherhood fair starting? This thurs? Anyone has the programme?

eNemum,
my girl can understand instructions. eg when i say "go and wear your shoes shoes", she will get off from the sofa or leave the room to walk towards the main door where her shoes are left on the living room floor. then she will auto sit down n wait for one of us to put on the shoes for her. when we reached home, first thing i say "take out your shoes shoes" and she will auto sit down again n wait for us to remove the shoes. besides shoes instruction, after her last milk feed, i tell her "go to bed bed" and she will stand up n walk towards the bedroom. when i tell her "go and change change", she will head towards the diaper changing room n wait to be changed. the other day @ hubby's brother house, i tell my girl "go and give papa the drink" n she happily took the packet drink, walk towards hubby to pass him the drink. my girl seemed to understand quite well but she doesnt like to say words infront of stranger whereby she will tell me "shoes" n lotsa other words.

my boy can understand us very well, we communicate with him now like talking to a grown up :) We just talk to him the usual way, he understands and do exactly what we say most of the time. Putting on shoes, put back the shoes on to the rack, sit down to read book/play/watch tv, bring me something like remote control/book/water bottle, pick up and store the toys/books, go and look for baba, give me a kiss with a muak or without a muak sound, time to bath, hands out your hands/legs to change clothes, take water bottle and drink, go to the high chair for meal, just almost everything :)

windy,
hehe...my hubby taught him one & he sort of curious at first but we r surprise he can do it pretty well...using his little fingers & palm action to squeeze gently on our shoulder...sometime tickling...made us laugh & their action very cute:p But of course, when it comes to his favourite tv commercial/song playing...no matter how we call his name, he'll ignore us completely!my boy is a Tv addict
kao_dizzy.gif
& he is still drooling...dunno when he'll stop??

mine can understand quite well too, but depends on his mood lah. we tell him "time for shower", "pom pom" or such effect, he will go point to his towel n walk towards the bathroom. but when u tell him "NO" to playing with switches, he will look at u n see if u looking. if u not looking "tick tack" goes the switch buttons n still give us the innocent look "did i do anything wrong?"

Aqua,

Ya, my #2 was also dancing inside my tummy. Hahaha.. My mum said that hope next time he will be like Aaron Kwok, earning big buck!
I don't dare to think that far. Rather him to study hard and be a scholar.

Yvonne: my boy been taking friso3 for 2mths.. so far no cough, nothing..

mylvera: Congrats to u!

taking instruction: ask my boy to pass mi my hp, he will get it but half way to mi.. will U turn back and put back to e same place then run towards mi happily without e hp. but wen itz wear ur shoes, we gg shopping, he will tak his shoes and sit at e platform waiting for mi..

Yvonne, hers is qi2. Qirui sounds even more musculine leh, cos qi2 is already unisex. Haha. My cousin's 2 kids are Su-Anne Shu1En1 and Hao2en1 and they are Christians. My bro already asked me if I copy my cousin when I named my gal RaeAnne. No En for me, plus me and hubby both not Christian, prefer more 'secular' names. Hee.

Mcfluffy, kissing is one of the first things that my gal learnt (think Ils taught her). Her kisses are wet open ones aimed at our mouths, not those chaste type. My hubby said he's worried next time. haha.

My gal also taking Friso3, ok so far. But we did dilute her milk a bit and cut down on fish when she was coughing.

Aqua: am due in end of Jan 2010.
Finally can make appointment with a hospital here, but they don't do ultrasound scan until baby is 12 weeks unless has any danger signs. ;(
They only do blood test for now and will come back in next few weeks.
;)
I guess, OZ mummies are as not as kan cheong type like asian mummies. ;) I am excited to see my little baby in my tummy but no choice.

Yvonne: I bring my girl out to a lot of activities & classes (she goes to Gymboree at Tanglin Mall since 6 months) but so far no virus "visit" her yet.

Instructions: i guess all our babies can understand instructions very well. We can communicate with my girl like a little adult and quite amazing that she can understands everything. ;)

ques: do u all talk to r kids in english? we onli talked to my ger in chinese, wondered if childcare teachers speak english?

Fern, Frisocream can be made by just mixing it with boiling water. Don't have to cook. Also for the sisen powder, they have the instant type so you can mix that with boiling water without cooking too.
Another receipee is mixing Friso with baby oats and boiling water. Just soak it a bit longer to soften the oats. You can add fruits like banana on it.
My boy took these stuff when we travel with him in Japan (6 mth old) & Beijing (14 mth old).

aqua,

We speak to our boy in Mandarin 99% of the time. Betwenn me and hubby is Cantonese. English is only when reading books to him and to teach him single word. I would prefer my son to learn English the proper way rather than learning broken English to start with.

kam, same sentiments. i am lousy with phonics, realli hopeless n dun wan to teach her the wrong thing , nex time more difficult to correct

i oso wana cheong! haha wana spend $.

alamak .. MH down again n i m having a bad giddy/headache tat i cannot produce work effectively!