(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

am back! haha

Siamz to games in FB hhaha

janbb,

i older n fatter liao.. cut my hair short liao mah. 2005 still hiao hiao long hair ..ever since preg cut short liao. no more time to maintain my 3 thousands worries haha

Aiyo, who go Taka sale? I was at Taka this am. Din realise got sale. Came out of the parking at 4pm, saw a huge jam outside. Wah piang... wat recession lah! Lucky I nothing to buy, din burn a hole in my pocket.

Hmm... if the only mummy that mylvera told is Wendy (who has 2 boys) then I guess it's boy again. If it's gal, she'll announce to the whole world right? Unless she asked Wendy to just pass the news? ;P

Hi gals...been so busy moving...I'm finally in TPY...Moving is really no joke...

Angelsky, saw you yesterday at TPY. Bringing your gal for neurotree. Was in the lift when I saw you on the landing outside..

Question: What do you all do with all your soft toys? Both yours from old times and kids? Found that I have so many of them..

kitsune
ahhh, she told me coz i asked. anyway she could've announced it herself... no need for me to act messenger... hiak hiak.

happy guessing!

babe
throw throw throw.
i din own many soft toys coz of sensitive nose anyways. Kids toys are still here.. stored away.

grumpus,

thanks. everyone very happy. my own mother who has 4 grandsons, cant stop laffing over the phone. my mil n fil say mz buy more pink clothes liao! haha now i beginning to b queen again. lolz this morning still order hb to go buy bfast for me, else last time is me who go buy for him :p

We may plan to bring ELias to Malcca in July. Hope it will be a good trip and safe one.. Being our first time with our boy. Need some tips here from Mummies who bring bb overseas b4 like what to bring, how to take care and all.. Bathing la, preparing cereal, how ah?

My boy take Frsco cream mixed with the rabbit brand si sen ikan billis powder but nust cook in stove.. BUt in hotel rrom cant? so how huh? Frisco cream can just muxed with boiled water? Hope he takes as the taste may differs a bit.. And also some jar food... hopefully if run out, malaysia does sell. Cos my boy up to now, cant really take adult food yet and he is quite a fussy eater.. Hence need some of your guides here

RE Coach Ride

Understand that we have to carry him all the way there.. Hiaz.. Hopefully he doent fuss too much through the trip. How to get him entertained huh?

Swimming
We may let him swim in the hotel pool so its more conventient can just bathe directly in hotel toilet right? Is that what u guys normally do?

COt in hotel room.
I requested a cot in hotel room.SO ok right? He just sleeps there its much safer then co sharing a bed to me..Right? ANd also, Elias doesnt sleep in air con room here.. SO in hotel room, I presume just dress him in thicker long sleeved pants and shirt? No pillows and comforters up to now.. so like wise in hotel cos I am afraid of sufocation?

Kindly express your views if you can share;)

Fern,
since u r only bringing yr boy in july, u have lots of time to prepare and train him b4 the trip.
What does the Friso cream tin say abt preparation? Can use just boiling water? Try out on yr boy before u go lah to see if he will take it. Can try out other cereals and jar food too.
like i said u have one month to prepare, test out and train yr boy.

Same with bathing, start now train yr boy to stand there and u can use the shower head to bath him

RE: Coach ride
how do u normally entertain yr boy when u're out at restaurants, eating etc? same thing lor, u and hb will just hv to keep him occupied.

RE: Swimming
If you think it's more convenient to let him swim at the hotel pool then just do that. There's no hard and fast rule. Anyway I don't supposed u plan to go to a public pool in Malacca right?

RE: Cot in hotel room
if yr boy is used to sleeping in cot at home then request for cot in hotel room and let him sleep there. some mummies here co sleep with their kids at home so when they travel they also co sleep. How to say which is safer??
Same with pillows and comforters, if he hasn't been using them then it's up to u whether to start. If u want him to use pillow and comforter then start training now while u're still at home. if u dun want him to use pillow and comforter then just wear thicker clothes.

again there's no hard and fast rule, all babies are different and all mummies bring up their kids differently....we can't tell u what is the right way to do things

Congrats! Mylvera, your dream for a little gal came true.

Fern, if I were you, I would bring either a electric travel stove (those aluminium camping type) or small rice cooker or a slow cooker (can buy from best denki or major electrical appliances). But of course if you train Elias to eat the non cooked version before that and he is ok then no need to be so mafan.

Went for my Oscar scan today and hospital tour today, results will only be out next Tues. Looks like I'm going to have another gal cos scan showed nothing in between. Hubby insists he is not disappointed at all. Already broke the news to ILs. They are ok as well, said gals good, no need to go through NS and worry about sudden death!?!

Actually, I think RaeAnne will be happier with a sister (can play together, next time go shopping, share clothes, etc) and we save $$ as well cos really nothing to buy liao since gal again. ;P

my girl is down with fever due to the MMR jab. Vommited just now when we were out eating. We didn't bring any extra clothes and she was semi naked. So poor thing.

How long will the fever last? Hate to see her like that...

mylvera,

Congrates! And enjoy your time being a QUEEN!!!

<font color="ff0000">Fern,</font>

Eat - If you can train Elias to eat those non-cooked cereal would be most convenient. Is there a specific reason you need to give him the cooked one?

Swimming - I would check how clean and how much chlorine they put in the swimming pool first, esp that Elias has eczema problem like Hao Re. I am very careful now cos I suspected the last time round when we let him swam in the swimming pool at the resort has triggered some bad skin reaction, that pool was very badly chlorined, but we still let him play in it, bad choice.

Sleeping - We also don't sleep in aircon. For hotel stay, just bring long sleeve and long pant (thick-ish). And that would do.

kitsune,

Just think that baby is healthy and growing well for now. Gender no need to worry now, need not give yourself unnecessary pressure at this point.

mcfluffy,

The fever shouldn't last long. And it should be only mild fever. Keep her hydrated is the key, if she doesn't feel like eating, don't force her.

<font color="ff0000">Luca'</font>

Dr Keoy has given me the "pass" to send Hao Re back to infant care centre next Monday. I am so relieved, that he is okay now, and I don't need to stay at home anymore next week. Ended my SAHM experience.

Mcfluffy,
Sorry to hear about your girl. It's common to have fever after MMR. In fact, haven't send my boy for his MMR cos going for holiday soon.

Always keep a set of spare clothes somewhere in the car, plus 1 pamper and wet tissue (like emegency kit)

Kam, Mylvera, Aqua, thanks. Actually I'm not really affected, cos I've said it before, if I am fated to have only kids of same gender, I prefer 2 gals than 2 boys (no offence to mummies with 2 boys), just my personal preference cos I think gals are more filial and closer to parents even after they are married. Hee.

Just a bit disappointed that the chinese calendar not accurate. haha. I told ILs early so that they don't harbour any false hopes (in case they have any). Haha.

Mylvera, no. 3? Unless hubby more gian than me, if not I don't think I want to suffer the MS, backache, labour pains, sleepless nights, breastfeeding problems etc for the THIRD time. Faint! ;P

Hi Pauline,

I dun think I will bring a slow cooker. I went to chck up for my home one cant even find men! Go where buy ah? Wat brand and wat kind good huh? Blur.. some auto switch some no and all.

Hi Kam

Re swimming...
Maybe wont let Elias swim lor.. COs of Chorline.. But a 20 min soak also cant meh? I guess I will check with ELias dermalogist on MOnday to see what he says lo.. If really cant then nvm no swimming till my Elias gets better lor.

Re cooked cereal.
From the day Elias was weaned. My mil says cooked one better so she bought this rabbit brand si sin ikan billis powdr and ELias add that since he was 6 months old.. SO he is pretty used to eat.. I tried once just giving him that ceral mixed with boil water he doesnt really want.. that why I am worried how ah.. if go malcca, the only way is mix the ceral with his organic jar food he may eat lor.. can bo huh?

Fern, I mentioned Best Denki in my post. You can go to any other major electrical appliances shop near you. I use a slow cooker (takahi) so can't advise on other brands. Sorry.

Kam,
actually u brought up a good point abt chlorine. My girl is allergic to even the chlorine in our normal tap water, she will break out in hives and once her histamine levels have been raised, all sorts of other allergens likes egg, milk etc will set her off.

In my house we actually hv a chlorine filter specially installed for her. In my mum's house even the chlorine filter not enough so my dad actually stores water in a tank for several days and we use that water to bath my girl.

Grumpus,

Your poor girl. For my boy, not that bad. Just the pool water with high level of chlorine only might trigger his skin problem.

Fern,

20 min soak is already quite a long time for a young toddler. My boy's PD advised against swimming if see signs of eczema. But I read that if really wants to bring him to swim, rinse off with clean water as quickily as possible and apply sun-block beforehand and apply perfume-free moisturer right after.

So far the CSC swimming pool at Bukit Batok works for my boy. But we don't bring him for swimming anymore since the break of the swine flu, just in case. Don't want my son to catch any nasty germ unncessarily.

For the cereal, there are so many different flavour of cereal, choose those tasty type, he might like it. Those plain one he might not like.

Hi Kam,

Yes, Thanks for your advise.. FOr this trip, We wont go swimming then... Wait till swane flu is stablise will be much safer.. Yep... Guess now even all crowded places and also, ball and slides are out for Elias... As being so young their immuity not very strong yet..

Will heed your advuse..

Re cereal,

ELias is a very fussy eater.. He only like his current one.. all types are no for him he can differentiate .. the only way is.. to let him try the plain cereal a day b4.. Will bring some fresh apples to scrape for him with his organic jar food will be very good liao.. But all his fruts are not cold ones.. So we put it all at room temperature since young lor..

Kam,
dats gd to hear.
On thur, Dr Keoy said my boy has "fungus" in his mouth, eeks, prescribed some gel for it. His runny nose had turned sensitive and caused the cough to worsen, thus need inhaler which we bought for #2 long ago, can use back.

Now his cough is getting better, i would have to stay at home for another week till he fully recovers... i dun like to be a SAHM.. so not used to it!

mylvera,
congrats, u r one of the lucky few who has a ger after 2 boys ;)

Kam,
Great to hear Hao Re has recovered.

My boy started coughing in the middle of the night yesterday for no reason...sigh. Just recovered from flu and cough 2/3 weeks ago and now cough again. Don't know if the formula, fresh milk or something else is responsible for the frequent coughs?? Anyone else giving Friso 3? Any problems so far? I realised his cough started after we switched him to Friso 3 about 2/3 months ago...not sure if it's a coincidence.

luca,
The fungus is caused by the milk residue right? Need to brush his teeth and clean his tongue more frequently to prevent accumulation of the milk residue. My boy also had this when he was very much younger.

mylvera,
Congrats...finally got a girl! So she will become the little precious princess in the family.

Yvonne,
erm, doc said could be becoz he was sick and the ulcers from the HFMD.
Anyway I always make sure he diligently rinses his mouth after he eats, and brushes his teeth twice. He luvs it, probably coz of the fun of it. But at his age, it is harder to coax and likes to do things himself. pengz! sometimes can make my blood boils!

do u see a GP or PD when ur boy has cough? What medicine do they usually give? My boys often got cough too. sianz

Kam, luca, ylim, mom2nat,

mcfluffy,

hope yr gal's ok now. ya, agree with blackbatz, always keep another set of clothings with u. the only thing I din pack into my bags are my own clothes cos i wun know when my sons will vomit onto me!

mylvera: Congrats. Your dream comes true. ;) Enjoy your "queen" time. ;)

Pauline: girl or boy doesn't matter, more important is a healthy baby.

Good news: My girl has finally accepted mil powder. I started trying on her last Sat evening, and she now drinks 50ml each time. It's not much but it really encourages us. Now my girl sees the bottle on the table, she even asks for it.
I will slowly increase her intake next week, so far only give her milk podwer 2 times per day (morning &amp; evening). ;) So happy coz I can slowly wean her off if gynea says I can't continue BF while pregnant. No stress for both mother and baby ;)

blessedbaby,

try not to bf when u preg. anyway, i heard that the taste of our BM changes when we preg and tat will put our darlings off. when my #2 was cranky, I tried to offer him his "pacifier" but he rejected! my hb actually praise him for rejecting me! sob sob ..

blessedbaby, joyce,

but on looking back, very stress now. cos anything goes wrong, all will blame me haha super duper stress ar...

mylvera: yeah, they say the taste of our BF will change when we are abt 4-5 months pregnant. ;) I am so happy that my girl has "alternative". ;)

blessedbaby, yup, gal or boy doesn't matter. I did try for the sake of hubby and Ils to have boy(by using chinese gender predictor), but not accurate, then I bo chap liao cos 问心无愧.

Now thinking of gal's names, hubby suggests Raelynn Teo Kay Lee 张祺俐. Nice? Anyone knows the url to calculate 'bi hua'?

mylvera, cos today is first day of school holidays. Hubby is around and we are bringing RaeAnne to PD for her overdue MMR jab. haha.

kistune,

I have the book. I calculate for you if I have time and if I remember tonight. No offence, it does sound nice, but not very girly name though.

Kitsune: What God gives is the best. ;) We try is not good enough. We haven't broke the news to the IL yet, but the MIL always calls my hubby and reminds us to take alkeline food. "Faint" and some more told me that SHE WANTS A GRANDSON to see if baby boy or baby girl behaves differently.
I thought for myself, you want grandson then ask your own daughters to give birth for you lah. Headache. I told her I want another girl, please do not put stress on me (the result, she is not happy and always secretly tells her son to take lemon juice but my hubby didn't take at all. Hahaha). Be thankful to God that you have grandchildren to carry. I know I am very blunt on this, but it's her son who decides the baby gender why always put stress on DIL like me. ;)

anyway, I have a challenge here, Tried to call all my preferred gynecologists, but non of them is available to see me coz they are fully booked for month of Jan (my EED month). Now have to go to see a GP instead. ;( I thought it was easy BUT I am wrong

blessedbaby,

dun tink too much abt the comments. gender already determined on date of conception.

as to gynae, no other althernatives? what abt coming back to deliver?

Anyone ordered The Sims 3 collector edition??me going to collect tmrl fr ILUMA at Bugis BUT i dunno where this place is...new 10 storey shopping mall?izit walking distance from Bugis Junction?
2516226.jpg

blessedbaby, when r u due? i tink it is better to come back sg to deliver too

kitsune, raelynn is a nice name . i like anything that has a lyn at the back, but my hubby surname is LIM, so i cant use lyn for my ger, sounds weird! u use dialect names for ur ger? mine onli use hanyu pinyin coz nobody knows to to pronouce her chinese name in teochew. haha

blessedbaby,

Just enjoy your pregnancy, don't need to think how to please your MIL. If she continues to "complain" about the gender of the baby, tell her this - it's your son's sperm that determine whether it's a baby boy or baby girl, it doesn't fall under a mum's control :)

steph,

I saw this building when I drove pass that area the other day, if I remember correctly. It's pretty near to the National Library. It's walkable distance from the Bugis MRT, maybe 10min walk or so.

mylvera,
Congrats. Your dream comes true! Now it's your time to b queen!! :D

kitsune,
that's a nice name for your #2. i havent got a chinese name for my #2 ah.... :p