(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Babe,
Where do you stay? I'm at Hougang. Maybe we can form a playgroup on our own and go over to each other's places once a week? Our kids will have more playmates and we can also have some social life
. Any others SAHM interested in this??

I'm at toa payoh...I don't mind if we found a playgroup..more life!!! Heehee..

Thanks gals really for the encouragement. Dunno if it's coz I have 2 and so uptight about how good schools are to send them etc and of coz the $ issue when my hb not a golden tortoise lahz.

Yvonne, you so steady got job offer and not tempted. I was very sure of staying home when I was working but once I started no pay coz too depressed at work, I realise I swing the other way round. See others have earning power, can still play with kids like got best of both worlds! Also coz jobwise my prospect quite good if I go on. ARghhh...scare lose myself and become huang lian po..

Mylife, you are right. Having a support group is important. Though already #2 mom but still find myself dunno wat books to let my boy read and also my gal. What kind of activities to do with them? Coz think with my gal we were just always bringing her out coz she refused to nap at home. Reading was just same kind of books..

Maybe I really need to give myself time to try out and stop thinking about work...geez! Identity crisis or midlife crisis.

Hi Babe,
It takes sometime to adjust. By the end of the leave, u would wish that it could last longer.

BTW, since it's more than 6 mths no pay leave, would u be posted out? For me, I wished that the part time option is more flexible.

If I become SAHM, I cannot imagine myself doing housework everyday. Think will rely on the forum for support.

Babe,
Since ur girl is around 4, can start her with Step into Reading series..1 sentence per page kind of books. For #2, read board books with flaps. they enjoy flipping the flap. Since ur at Toa Payoh, can bring them to Bishan Community Library. They have a good range of children's books.

Some how my #2 doesn't like his gor gor's board books. He was very upset when I returned his library books. Kept making noise and gumbled to my dad until my dad asked to try and borrow the same book for him.

Can also go for bus rides around the neighbourhood. My kids love it. If u drive, can go Bishan Park once a week.

I think u have problem adjusting back at work after your maternity. Were u at the HQ for a long time before u went back to teach?

Yvonne, I agree lor. I don't understand why she try so hard to go through IVF so many times. If she has her own kid, will she also pass it to the maid or only because this baby is adopted. The maid sleeps with the baby as well. Don't know lar. To each her own.

Babe, I went through that too, it lasted a few weeks after I tendered my resignation in fact cos I just got promoted when I tendered. But ok lar, no regrets. Now that I'm having no. 2, feel that it was right to have quit. At least I have flexibility to ease RaeAnne into playgroup, find and train a new maid, etc etc.

morning all,

beginning of the week again!

wendy,

if u happen to read here... how's yr #1 now? seeing which doc? my #1 recently been coughing alot too and always ard 5 pm - nite. duno is it bronchitis or others. so mite nid to hear abt yr #1 case lor. thanks in advance

mylvera,

Morning. Did you make it to the Zoo? We were there on Saturday 1-3pm.

Aiyoh, coughing is a very difficult one for young children, isn't it? Hope your #1 get the proper treatment and recover soon.

Kam,

ya. was there by 930am. left abt 12noon. #2 walked alot ..almost throughout the journey and he enjoyed it alot too, esp the merry-go-round.

my #1 been coughing for few mths liao. on/off come again. recently very frequent. abit sianz liao. duno which doc to bring him to. my MIL always like to bring him to GP but seeing a few times no improvement, i really dun like the idea of giving $$ to GP again. but Kidslink cannot cure wendy's #1 too so i oso dun feel like donating $ to her haha.

Good Morning Mummies!!

Hv been sick for the past one wk.. and now... back to work.

Jus wanna complain abt my gal here. It goes like this.. Last Sat, hubby working so I was left at home alone with her. Ard 8am, jus aft hubby left the hs.. our terror monstress woke up and created a havoc in my bedroom. She use pillow to step and reach the top of my bed head, on top of the bed head, there's a glass of water which i left it there the night b4. She grab the glass and pour the water on my face! i was woken up in a shock state... I gave her a scolding and begin to wipe it off with dry cloths which i can find.
Then.. since i already woke up, I clean up myself and make milk for her. She finish it up in the living room and I was busing preparing my own bf, I pour my milk and corn flake in a bowl, left it on the table and jus as I turned ard to get a spoon, the terror monstress created the 2nd havoc, she tiptoed and pulled the bowl off the table and there goes my bf. When the bowl landed on the floor.. I was really lost for words.. and she immediatly hugged my thigh tight. I tink she knew she did something wrongly, I really lose my cool, i screamed and smacked her hand. Imagine if the content in the is hot.. jia luc already. 2 havoc created within an hour! I was really .... haiz!!!! My mum keep saying becos i'm having #2 tats y she is behaving more n more naughty. But my thinking is hor.. She is really naughty all the while lei.. hahaha!

pixie,
i got ur mag oredy, alamak so thick, pardon me, i will need some time to read as my hua yu is not so good. :p tks again.

Yvonne,
my boy also ever pulls a water mug, but the water landed on him, quite a funny incident when i think of it now, thou dat time i was quite pissed. hehe

mei,

when does GSS starts? am itchy to buy things but on the other hand, scare of spending $ cos my darlings been depleting my savings haha

Yvonne,
Your gal is not naughty lah...she's normal...hahaha! She's just being a toddler. My boy also do the same thing. He likes to follow me to the kitchen and will try to reach for anything on the kitchen top, scissors, bowl, glass, etc...must really remember to put everything at least 10cm from the edge so they cannot reach. I also lost my cool and scolded him when he pulled down the fan in our room on sunday morning. I asked him if the fan landed on him then how??? So immediately I shifted the table fan to the living room and moved the standing fan into my room! Aiyo...

kids are kids..they will test their limits. my #2 was never allowed to kitchen cos we have a gate that kept the kids outta kitchen. so when he was at my hb's por por hse yday, he tried so many times stepping into the kitchen. he was standing at the entrance of the kitchen n kept putting his foot forward n looking back to see if anyone caught him. too bad for him. my eyes are GLUED to him n everytime he raised his foot, i will shout NO to him haha den he quickly retreat but try again later haha

mylvera,
I also have a gate at the kitchen but if I didn't close it properly, he knows how to open it and come in on his own. If I need to be in tbe kitchen for a while, I usually let him in to play with the laundry basket, etc otherwise he will stand outside the gate to cry.

mei
QUESTION: WHO IS GOING CROCS EXPO SALE THIS WEEKEND?
>>not me. i hate crocs haha
QUESTION: WHAT IS YOUR SHOPPING LIST FOR THE COMING GREAT SG SALE 2009?
>>havent think about that yet but maybe another pair of miss sixty jeans. burn another hole in pocket again. cannot resist.
QUESTION: I've sensitive skin. which foundation blusher is suitable?
>>depends what kind of sensitivity you referring to. easily break out? easily red? easily rash? i think mineral blusher is good for sensitive skin. can try spree in smh, they have mineral comestics sprees

luca
thick hor? thats why i say self collect. 1 book can kill my arms liao...btw, they have lots of makeup technics, you can try try. sometimes i bo liao, i try their technics after my boy sleep liao haha

my boy likes to go to the kitchen to take the laundry poles to play. he cannot balance it and when it all falls onto the floor, i just let him stand there holding the pole and cry. teach him lesson lor. but after a while, he forgets it and go back to play with the poles again. they have super short memory. aiyoh

the weekend is the start of the pre-terrible twos liao. wanted to grab the water bottle in the shop, i dont let him be, he sits down on the floor in the shopping centre, legs all purposely ruan mian main. luckily he has short memory, ask him to get up he starts to run off liao.

QUESTION: WHO IS GOING CROCS EXPO SALE THIS WEEKEND?
i wanna take leave to go
who wanna go?
QUESTION: WHAT IS YOUR SHOPPING LIST FOR THE COMING GREAT SG SALE 2009?
no idea
QUESTION: I've sensitive skin. which foundation i dun make up

The start of terrible 2 stage: last weekend was terrible for me cuz I have to do cook/do housework and take care of my boy who is glued to me all the time. I was super exhausted, and smacked him lots of time ( but very poor thing too that I was careless and let him fall down again, sigh..) he is like a monster at home and cried so many times when he did not get what he wanted. Initially I tot of having #2 but yesterday I told my hubby that I think I don’t want #2 until my monster understands what I am saying. He likes to bit on people’s face, and pull people’s hair. If ther’s a baby at home he sure hurts the baby one.. I scolded him many times until “bo lat” liao. He doesn’t scared of me and doesn’t listen to me. Why why why??!!

Luckily you all shared the same experience as me, then I don’t feel so helpless!!

However, he is being a monster at home, but outside he doesn’t dare to be so “xiao1 zhang1”. I brought him to splashpark yesterday, he dared not walk near the water! He kept standing and pointing to the water only, very timid lor. Totally different attitude from home. He took half an hour to warm up, and by the time he ready liao, time’s up. But he also guai guai to let us change him and go home. I wish he can be so guai at home. But that’s what I wish only, which cant come true… sigh..

tongtong
i read in a magazine that a child who displays his worst behaviour at home and his best outside already knows his boundaries. he displays his worst behaviour at home because he is an open book with his parents, no need to put on his best behaviours (because he share the closest bonds with his parents). but when outside, he knows his social standing in the crowd, so he can be guai gaui outside.
such is how a child learn survival skills as and when they grow up.
think in this way so you can be more tolerant of your child. if your boy can be so open to you at home, at least he is sincere. very innocent kid leh.

mylvera, mandy
dunno playgroups in sk/pgl. i super blur about all these. btw, i heard rave reviews about Zion childcare at Anchorvale. pity too far for me...
i still havent gotten official approval from hb to put my boy in childcare, sighs. affairs of the heart, help!

hehe, gerger, your gal's behaviour is normal. RaeAnne has been exploring things on my bed head for months once she started to stand with support in fact. So I'm used to it liao, just make sure that nothing that she can't touch gets left there. I put a water bottle on my bedside ledge plus my specs. Every morning, without fail, she'll climb down the bed, take my specs, pass to me and then take my water bottle and unscrew the cap. The first time I wasn't fast enough and she poured water all over my floor where the computer wires are and over my laptable. Her shirt also all wet. So scared she kenna electric shock. After that first time, I also learnt my lesson liao, once she unscrews the cap, I finish up the water quickly so that she can only play with empty bottle and pretend to drink from there. As for things on the coffee table, same thing, she's been taking things from there since she started cruising so my coffee table is always bare without even a table cloth cos she will pull it off. Any food, that I need to eat, either I hold the bowl or sandwich box at all times or I leave it on the tv where she cannot reach. Comes with exp cos I witness her old tricks and new tricks everyday as a SAHM. Haha. ;)

GSS sale
Sigh, wish I can buy a new camera that can take good moving pixs (face detection? face priority?) before no. 2 arrives so that it won't be blurry photos for no. 2 again... But no budget leh. :p

Mylvera, the Apple tree near my place (Tampines) accepts those who are 2 years plus but RaeAnne cannot qualify leh. Sigh. Oh ya, RaeAnne's cough did not recover after we saw PD 5 times but got better after we brought her to TCM. Maybe you can try that? Cheaper some more, only cost us less than $40 compared to all the PD visits. :p

Hehe, pixie, sound so true. My gal is like a tiger at home, throw tantrums, throw things but once she goes out, like scaredy cat. hee hee.

mylvera,

I kept looking if there was a pregnant mummy busy with 2 boys (=you) :) Apparently you already left when we arrived. I am actually hopeless in recognising people. Ya, my boy walked a lot too, and "talk" a lot, walked here and there, pointed to this and that, and "talked" non-stop. It's a great day out despite a short 2 hours.

For your #1, if it's phlegmy cough, better get some treatment soon. If it's just dry cough, can drag a bit a see how.

Mei,

I am interested in the SSO! Count me in!

Yvonne/Yvonne/tongtong:

My son is still ok, I mean still controllable. But of course he is very different now, as in he knows what he wants, he decides what he wants and what he doesn't want. For us, we are still able to "communicate" very well with him, luckily. I don't ban him to the kitchen. I made my kitchen safe, and let him open the drawers and play with the things while I am busy.

Yesterday I was very tired. So I wanted to stay home and asked hubby bring Hao Re out to pack dinner for us. When they were out of the house, Hao Re realised I was not with them, so he turned back, asked daddy to open to door, then picked up and sandals and passed to me, asked me to put on, and went out with them. Aiyoh, so sweet and so touching, even though I was dead tired, still went out with them, luckily just downstairs.

Kam, I was thinking of DSLR for long time liao. Even asked my photographer friend to help me look out for good second hand deals. But DSLR even 2nd hand ones also will cost around $800 with lens. Exp leh. Plus I'm worried that with 2 kids, hubby hold one, I hold one, the maid carries the diaper bag? We'll have 'no hands' to bring the DSLR liao. Heavy and mafan mah... That's why thinking of buying something cheaper but can capture 'face' clearly. My old nikon cannot make it, focus is forever on the wrong thing. If I set to portrait mode then the flash is auto on. Sigh...

Hehe, RaeAnne always fetches my room slippers for me too but usually she got motive one. Cos I refuse to 'wake up' then she'll start doing all these things to 'entice' me to wake up. If I ignore her, she'll put my dirty slippers on the bed and start to walk to my bedside ledge to get my specs liao.

kitsune
i am using a canon digital ixus, never looked back. it has face detection, and the picture output is great. of course cannot compared with a DSLR lah, coz thats a higher grade. mine is cheapo camera...
i always hangout with my girlfriends and we all bring our cameras - 6 cameras in a single outing, and the picture output of mine is good when compared to the rest, olympus, casio, fujifilm etc etc. 2 of my gfs are now changing to canon digital ixus too coz they liked what they see.
now the newest model only $429. maybe gss got offer?

mylvera
what is your model? mine is a mid-old model. i wish can change to a newer one...

kitsune
you can try to see a sample of the output from the pics in my fb, "xandall in the April" some are macro shots. some shots, my boy moving about crazily but still manage to capture him

mylvera
same as mine? 860? hurhur
now is 1000 liao leh. aka 100is. super chio....

they are so weird, 70is and 860is battery is different size. i tot generally their batteries all the same sizing?

Kam
Haore is so sweet.. Sayang Sayang

Actually also partly my fault lah.. I already knew she will wan to reach to the bed head and pull all the things tats on top of it.. But everytime she fail mah.. who noes this time she noes how to use pillow and stack up and stand on it..
For the kitchen hor.. i also feels tat even i got the gate hor.. she'll also stand there and cry and scream.. so i nvr buy any gate.. but seems like now she's getting worse.. she'll pull chair or watever to let her stand on it and make her taller which means makes her taller to reach the things that she wans.. Ytd I caught her pushing my sofa near to the window, she will stand on the sofa and try to open the window.. (I dun hv grills) So scary.. For the time being cannot install the grills.. must really 100% eyes glued to her liao.

Thanks, pixie, mylvera for inputs. Pixie, yup went to see Xandall's photos in April. All sharp sharp one, I LIKE! Okie, will start looking out for good deals for Canon Ixus then. I've always been a Nikon fan but bo bian, more important that my photos are sharp. Wish there can be trade in deals for cameras then I no need to pay so much. :p