(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Actually frankly speaking, I haven't done much housework after I gave birth to kids...heehee...
These days never work, also feel so tired even when the kids are not with me yet. What's wrong with me!!!

mylvera, how you gonna cope with 3 kids?

babe,

i m going to focus on my job n leave the kids at home haha
actually, i oso no idea. but weekdays i got my ILs + maid at home. weekends got my hb n me + maid at home. see how bah. hb wun allow me to quit job. if really cannot, den mayb have to get 2nd maid? haiz.. $$$ not enuf!! cannot spree liao

Kam,
SAHM is definitely tougher than my previous job. No time to go toilet, daydream, chit-chat, surf net, eat proper meals (lunch is usually stuffed down within 10 mins), cannot enjoy aircon whole day long, etc etc. But okay lah, time also flies...already 1 month liao. Very soon will be 1 year and then I have to decide whether to go back to work.

babe,
yah lor, sometimes I also run out of ideas. Usually is reading, playing with his blocks, toy cars, drawing, etc. Otherwise, going out to do grocery shopping is the fastest way to kill some time. Just now I found some stickers and let my boy try sticking them on his drawing board...wah, he was so interested and got "addicted" to it! Keep asking me to pass him the next sticker and can see he really put in 100% attention and focus on getting the stickers off from his fingers and onto the board. He was very disappointed when we ran out of stickers. Guess I'll buy some cheap stickers and sticker book for him to play.

Yvonne,

Oh really ah, 1 month already huh, so FAST! You come back to work force after 1 year? No lah, how about #2, you are not planning?

yvonne
hey do you know that sticker performance board is one of the best way to motivate your child? if your boy at this time is so keen with stickers, so when he is a toddler, can keep a performance chart and paste stickers when he finishes his chores or is guai enough for the day. im sure you know what i mean...congrats eh!
coz some kids dont respond to stickers so it doesnt entice them to do chores or be guai guai

mylvera,
spare me pls!!

ur #1 goes childcare already?

mummy with 2 kids or more, does ur kids fall sick one after another? mine does leh, especially after #1 goes childcare.

Kam,
Actually should be more than a year since I plan to send my boy to nursery in 2011...very fast leh, next march will have to register liao. So strictly speaking, if I really return to work will be in 2011. As for #2, no plans yet
. If really try for #2 then all my plans have to change again.

luca,

:) Yes, I love kids and hope every mummy has more kids :)

Mylvera,

We go one step by one step. If my #2 is guai guai like her brother, then we plan to have #3 as soon as we possibly can. Due to my age, must act fast loh. But if my #2 is a difficult to handle baby type, then have to wait a while before planning for #3.

luca,

mine still in playgroup. this mummy no extra $ to send to childcare .. playgrp cheaper.

ya.. mine fell sick one aft another for few mths liao. until my benefits all utilised! ie, i cannot claim anymore!

pixiepixel,
I know wat you mean
Hopefully his interest in stickers will continue until then. At least I'm glad this activity can occupy him and maintain his concentration.

Talking about childcare. I am actually thinking of whether to change Hao Re to the one at my workplace, The Learning Vision. Will visit their facility and talk to the priniciple on Monday and then think carefully. This is because of logistic issue. So that I pick up my boy then go straight to the nanny house for my #2. This way only need to stop 1 times, rather than 2x. Easier and faster cos less stopping, though longer journey for my boy and will loss the couple time while travelling to work. Aiyoh, lots of things to consider. And the fees also.

luca
dont say you or mylvera having kids falling sick after one another
my boy who stays with my mil always get sick coz my nephew is in K1....same situation

Kam,
Logistics issue - that's one of my greatest concern for having more than 1 kid. That's why till thinking...

a...someone asked me abt my hk photos. i cant rem which mummy liao. anyway i've them up in my blog le. can view from there. tks.

Yvonne,

Like Pixie quoted - "boat towards bridge will be straightened naturally". Sure things can work out one, one way or another.

luca,

focus on the pros in having #3 ..

eg. more baby bonus from Govt?
no nid to pay tax or very little tax to be paid for long time? till they 12 yrs old? :p
kids wun be so lonely.. more siblings to talk/play

mylvera,

sigh, the pros your mentioned don't apply to me, except the last one. With my company, don't even have the 2 months maternity leave for #3 onwards. But that won't stop me from having more kids :)

btw, i forgot to ask, mummies with 2 kids n above, does ur children sleep together with u or with their siblings.

luca,

our plan is to make #1 z in a room by himself first aft i deliver #3. den follow by #2 to join him.

b4 i discover i preg, #1 with ILs n #2 with me. but weekends when my ILs not here, both with me.
once i preg, my FIL order MIL to look aft #2 so tat i can rest more.

Talking about stickers,
I let Celeste play with it one day and she was frustrated that the stickers stuck to her fingers despite her swinging and waving her arm, trying to get it off. So funny. In the end, she used her mouth to get it off her fingers instead.

And so, that stopped the sticker activity too. :p

mylvera,
i also planning to let the boys start to sleep together, but scared that #1 will cry as he too used to sleeping with his father.

what was the clue for the #3 mystery mummy?

Just now it started pouring while I was prepering dinner in the kitchen. Thought it's ok to leave the windows open and close later. Who knows, when I finished and came out, the area under my window was flooded! It never happened before even when the rain/wind was very strong. Lucky my boy was still sleeping so I quickly mop up the area...aiyo, even my bumper map was also wet.

Singapore's Night Safari is celebrating her 15th Anniversary this year.

From May 1 - 31, 2009, the entry ticket will be at S$15 (U.P. $22) per adult. Officers can take this opportunity to spend time with their children or loved ones especially with the upcoming school holidays.

Please use the coupon attached or click on the URL below.

http://www.nightsafari.com.sg/whatsnew/15thAnniversary.htm

Valid to Singaporeans, Permanent Residents and Employment Pass holders only. Proof of identity required.

Redemption is only limited to a maximum of 5 paxs.

mei
bad news. Today i drove up to the Peak to buy the tshirt for u. Turns out they OOS the tshirt liao and dunno when the new stocks will come. May be a few months. But i left my name and contacts with them and once they have it, they will call me. By then, i'll check with u again to see if u still want it. Ok? Sorry ah!

went for my gynae visit in the afternoon. Baby is now 3.57cm long. He or she was sleeping when the gynae started scanning but when i commented to gynae 'eh, baby sleeping ah?' then bb woke up n started waving hands n legs. So cute. Gynae commented that my water bag got a lot of space for bb to move. She tried to put the doppler for me but can't hear the heartbeat yet. She said maybe 16 weeks can hear better. Felt quite guilty that not as excited as the first time i saw raeanne moving though. :p

morning mummies, time flies really fast. my boy already 3months old. miss the day when i'm preggy.

pauline, i can understand how u feel, i also not very excited abt no2 but at least better then my hubby. this time round my hubby only follow me to check up few time the rest i went with my sis and bro in law as my sis also preggy. i cried alot when i have no2 cos very scare that my hubby will treat no2 same as no1 but lucky after he's borned my hubby love him alot compare to no1. so nw i focus more on no1 but of cos not forgetting no2.

dear all, i have been out of action here for almost three weeks....all thanks to the swine flu....non-stop task at work

pauline, if you still working, you will be like me i believe.

anyway, mummies, have a good weekend

hi, joyce. My hubby also couldn't follow me to all my gynae appt cos clash with his timetable. Ya, i guess it's like that. First time always more exciting than second time. But once bb is born, we'll definitely love him or her as much as no. 1. ü

This morning brought my boy to PD again cos he has already finished the left-overs from previous visit but his flu and cough still not improving. PD said most likely he also has sensitive nose like me and hubby. There's still some phlegm in his lungs so have to continue with medication for another 5 days to clear it. Good thing is he doesn't usually have fever, still has a hearty appetite, sleeping well except wake up to cough a bit and still as naughty as ever. Kept playing with the nurse and she gave him 4 biscuits *faint*! The nurse was surprised to know that he LOVES taking his medication and comes running to me when he see the syringes...haha...he also guai guai let PD use the nasal spray on him without crying. He used to struggle and cry in the past but after he realised that the spray will relieve his blocked nose, he guai guai keep still and let us do it. Actually my boy is very guai in this aspect.

We saw 2 families with their maid at the clinic. Both toddlers also stick to the maids like koala bear. One even cried when the mum carried him! He was struggling and pushing his mother away and the maid quickly carry him again...aiyo! Both of us shake head and this really reinforced our decision never to employ maid. We wonder how the kid will feel when the maid decides to go home...probably he would feel like he has lost his mum. I simply don't see any signs of bonding between the parent and their kid. So sad.

Hi,Enemum, yup, my ex colleagues also had it bad. Luckily after the alert is changed to yellow, their extra duties stand down liao. Yes, definitely, I feel lucky to escape this episode esp since I'm preggie. Will be even more worried for my health if still working in hospital cos usually only the sicker people go there. :p

Yvonne, a lot of people who hire maids are FTWM so understandably their kids are closer to the maids cos the bulk of their time is spent with the maid when the mum and dad are at work lor. But for them, also bo bian, if they have no one else to help look after the kids and cost is an issue (maid is still cheaper than infant care) and they can't afford to be SAHM, then having a maid is a necessary evil lor.

My ex supervisor told me 'your kid will still be your kid' when I told her I'm quitting my job to spend more time with my gal. She's a career woman who has gone through IVF a few times but unsuccessful but obviously she subscribes to a different school of thought compared to me so she doesn't understand why I want to quit since she doesn't allow part time. That day at my ex colleague's BBQ gathering, I saw that she has now adopted a 6 months old baby gal, but she leaves the gal in the hands of the maid most of the time while she and her hubby hands off, chat around and enjoy the food. While me and hubby were so busy feeding and chasing after our gal that we hardly had time to eat. I guess there is no right or wrong, each parent got to decide what kind of parent they want to be.

Pauline, I so agree with you. Somehow it's really what you want your child to be. Somehow when the $ comes to the crunch, sometimes it's very sad we have to give up what is best. How nice if can work part time and have time with kids? Btw, you still attending JG class?

Yvonne, you taking no pay leave or quit? Looks like you enjoying your SAHM time.

One thing I am afraid is that I won't have a social life. Wholeday juz busy with the kids and housework. Do you gals face that? So u unlike work you got colleagues to talk to whole day.

Babe, I never attend JG class leh. Started her on Little Neuro Tree Trial but did not sign up partly due to cost (single income must make some sacrifices) and also because I didn't know if I will start her on playgroup at 18mths so didn't want her to attend class on weekdays plus weekend. Yvonne got retrenched but she got job offer the next day but she's not tempted yet.

Hehe, social life? My social life is here at the forum lor. Or occasionally when my friends want to meet up, usually the single ones or married with no kids one are more free to organise gatherings. Hee.

Babe
Yah social life is on "standby" mode since i gave birth and decided to stay as SAHM. I tell myself it's not that i've given up on the life i've known and lived for 30 odd years, it's just that i paused it. Give and take maybe 3-4 yrs, i WILL resume my lifestyle again bah. It's just a small amount/sacrifice to pay for the sake of my own child. First few years of a child's life is the most important, at least that's what i believe, thereafter, we can pick up our life, social or not, where it's left.
Having said that, u dont have to restrict ur entire day with kids and housework. Some of the housework, close one eye, some of them can sub-out or not? Hehe. Try to organise to meet some friends (best is fellow mommies cos same wavelength) maybe once a week or bi weekly. That's what i did when i first came to HK with totally no friends. Now got friends all over. But i know it's tougher on u cos 1) u have 2 kids and 2) u dont have a full time helper like i do. Are u able to get a part time helper to help out with the household chores like ironing and vacuuming and mopping (these are tiring ones). The rest just relax more.

On the talking part, sometimes i also go crazy talking kiddie baby-ish talk with my gal whole day. Heng got my mom with me. If she's not here, and i feel like i need adult's conversation, i call my hubby OR my friends. Or at least chat with friends over FB or MSN. That's why my iphone is a godsent!

Kitsune,
I understand lah, sometimes FTWM really need help to take care of kids and household chores. But parents themselves also have to make an effort to spend time with their kids and bond with them. Some people have maids but their kids are also equally close to them lor. But some simply let the maids handle everything so of course the kids reject them. Your ex-colleague may not see the effects now but she will feel the distance with her kid when she's older. It'll be too late to remedy by then...

Babe,
Life as a SAHM is ok lah. I have my good and bad days too. As for social life, I've always been quite a loner since school days. Maybe I'm too independent (that's what my friends say about me), I can do almost everything alone and don't feel lonely lor. Of course like kitsune, coming into the forum to chat is part of my current social life and I also have off-days when my boy will go over to my in-laws place and I can meet my friends for lunch.

Babe,
Oh yah, I was retrenched like what Kitsune said. I have a few job offers but not tempted leh, rather try out SAHM for 1-2 years first. Although I feel like screaming and pulling out my hair on most days but when I see the developments my boy has attained over the past month, I'm more determined to do this since there's so much positive effects on my boy