(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

grumpus, me SAHM too, but mine is not MIL or FIL, its my parents that are staying with me.

Talking about maid, my mum requested for a maid long time ago, but my dad was VERY AGAINST it. Btw, my mum not working, but my dad is still working. Ignore her for a few months already, but noticed that my mum has indeed aged a fair bit over these few months, plus with #2 coming, same situation as Superbee, send #1 to childcare a bit too young, but stay at home with her and my mum and my #2, I think both of us will die first lo. Coz my #1 is super duper active. So in the end, we decided to get one for her to do housework, cook and misc, but I already told my mum prior to hiring that the maid is not allowed to watch or handle my two babies unless my mum or I am around and we need help.

Anyway, I had hire before when I was in Jakarta, can speak english already make me puke blood, but more or less understand how their brain function. Must really talk really slowly to them, dont give too much instruction else they get confuse, must give them step by step and get them to write down if possible.

Wendyg, no le I dont think my hubbie earning big bucks le for me to be a SAHM, more like we make do now so that we can give our babies more attention especially since he is already not around for my #1 and now #2 at least for the 1st year of their growing up
. You know hor, SAHM got no freedom one le, wanna go out must work out arrangement and stuff.

But I must be very thankful to my hubbie that he is willing to stay with my parents, so the one with IL issues is prob him and not me, hehehe. Really need to convince him to stay with my parents man, but luckily didnt take a long time for him to change his mind. Also grateful to my parents for helping me watch my #1, since my dad has to work and come back and play grandpa role since daddy is not around.

krystle, just let her MIL try out the maid first and if really dont work at least she experience it. Thats what we are planning to do with the new maid for my mum too. You know hor, to hire maid, need to attend online class one k, took me like 1 day to go through and the application is so SLOW!!!!! Bloody waste my time.

wendyg, pai sei, read the thread too fast, just realised you meant some of us got to make sacrifices to be SAHM

Just to add, I think even if 1 income is sufficient, its good for us to go back to work force eventually next time to be financially independent and also be more in touch with society. Frankly speaking, I really dont like having to account to my hubbie every little thing that I spend money on.

re: hiring maid

my mum already warned me not to hire one to drive her crazy. cos i also got the concern when #2 comes along...afraid that she cant handle. she replied saying: "please don't risk making me a potential murderer!" so I suppose maid option for me is out. luckily...a new cc is coming up just below my flat in May.

Morning all,

Joyce,

tell yr boss "do u want me to report to work even tho i have HFMD? can. but if u kena HFMD, dun blame me lor"

Re: maids,

I have heard enuf stories that can frighten ppl, gone thro terrible maid myself, seen what kind of maids my sis employed ... only conclusion is, if no bad attitude, just simply forgetfulness, close 1 eye lah. further to that, u can never expect yr hse to be in sparkling clean condition as what u used to have (b4 maid arrives). all maids same. they will laze ard, they will only mop the area they can see (those under the fan, under the table, mat, dun expect them to move all these away or squat down to mop. those tat are high up, dun expect them to use ladder, chair to wipe too. as long as the minimum cleanliness is there, i tend to close eyes. my maid still duno that veg must soak b4 cutting n cooking. she can "soak" for few mins den cut liao. till now (done so many times liao) still can ask dried mushroom nid to soak in hot water ar? but this maid of mine is much better in terms of cleanliness den my previous one haha so my previous one keep asking me to get her back in next yr, i keep ignoring her. :p i scared of serving the previous maid cos she had several gastric attacks which lasted for few days. She can dun work during those few days and we have to do all the hsehold chores + cooking + asking her to eat. in short, she is the QUEEN. if u give me a choice, i rather keep the current maid even tho language is still a prob.

wendy,
u mentioned that isaac was on fresh milk cos he drink FM major constipation right?
when did u start him on fresh milk? after 1yo or only recently.
how long has he been on fresh milk?
just wondering cos my girl is perpetually constipated too and have been toying with the idea of fresh milk but somehow still being kiasu mother leh

yvonne,
yr boy also on fresh milk right? what made u decide to give fresh milk when everybody is giving fm?

grumpus,
i agree with u when u said if they r so smart, they wouldnt be maids oredy. Maids will still be maids, not because i look down on them. 8 out of 10 cant make it.

As long they are honest and dont give me the attitude problem, i dont mind teaching them over n over again.

I've a fren who always praise her maid who took really good care of her daughter. She even can go out with hb and leave the maid alone with her girl without worrying anything. I dont think i can ever do that even how good the maid is.

angelsky
Your dad easy to be against getting a maid cos he is not the one doing the housework, cooking, looking after kids!! He only dun wan more trouble, dun wanna lose privacy.

grumpus
You can try giving yogurt. Or those baby food prunes. Quite effective.
Talk abt drama, when we wanted to send our previous maid back, we ask her to pack. So she went to the toilet came out, my mom ask wat is she holding. The maid got fed up, show my mom her empty pockets and even pull down her own pants saying something like "See wat you wan to see".

Mom2nat,
tried yogurt, my girl dun like. also gave prune juice but she dun drink much.
last time still eat fruit, now dunno what phase she's in totally dun want any fruit.
tried watermelon, grapes, orange, mango all dun want. wat more her usual apple, pear and banana

grumpus
Try those baby food jar prunes. Or give papaya.
Their tastes buds and patterns change often, she dun like can always try agian another day. hee...

grumpus,

No wonder your girl has constipation. No fruit = no fiber = no bowel movement. Vegetable? Also don't like? Can you girl pick up food and feed herself now? If so, cut the fruit into cube size and let her feed herself, or get small size fruit, like blueberries? My son tends to eat more if we let him self-feed. Though it could be (very) messy at times. My son is oppposite, poop too much!

grumpus,

try potato, pumkin, n those veg with very high fibre content in it. else try durian??hehe

my sons love fruit, esp strawberry.

kam, i agree with you that kids need to fall sick to build up their immune, but then when they fall sick, we let them take medicines, antibiotics etc, which defeat the purpose of building up immune liao. cuz whenever they fall sick we give med, their body will be too reliant on the medicine ald. In fact, I believe in natural healing or remedies, so i never take medicine from the clinics. Because i'm a follower of Dr Lai, the founder of Lapis Lazuli Light. Also, I agree with her that vaccination is actually bad for the kid. But then in sg, vaccination is compulsory so I still let my boy take vaccination la. Of course, talk is easy la, when our kid fall sick we will be super kiasi and kiasu and let them take medicine becuase we wnat them to heal fast. Who will let their kids sleep and rest more, drink lemon/apple cider/honey water/ other natural remedies when the kids fall sick, and let them recover by themselves? no right? we will quickly give them medicines, so So it's pretty hard to practice natural healing also la.

joyce, your com is so terrible, for me i will throw letter liao.they are so disciminating!

re: constipation
give prunes, nectarine, plums. very effective

joyce,

really think your manager super power, can make such statement....y dun you shoot back and ask him whether he is keen to kena HFMD anot....

sometimes, i wonder we should report such ppl to MOM anot....

Wah, so many postings about maid. I read until eyes XXXX.

Maids are mainly problems and it is really got to rely on luck to get a good one. I think in the next few months, you all will see me writing in forum complaining about my maid. LOL...

re: self feed

yea, recently i let my son self feed yoghurt. this is the only food which doesnt mess up the floor cuz the yoghurt doesnt drop ma:p I also let him eat prune or other fruits himself. he will bite the prunes himself ( we gave him the whole prunes). also put rice and rice puff, in his bowl. he enjoys eating himself very much.

re: poop
kam, my son also poop alot. at least once a day, but usually 2 to 3 times.

Mandy,

Not sure about New Mom Exhibition @ Expo. I only know got Metro Sale @ Expo.

My colleague went Robinson's private sale yesterday and she said the crowd is huge!!! Then Sep 09 thread mummies said got 30% disc on baby products.

krystle, really ah? Got 30% discount on baby products? I was thinking of going but no space in the house to stock up leh, plus don't know gender yet so end up stay home. hehe.

Pauline,

Looks like really got 30% discount loh. Very good deal indeed. Some mummies bought Avent sterilizer @ $128 and Medela pump @ $138. A lot of savings loh.

Now you can buy those necessities first like new bottles etc... After knowing gender, then can buy some extra clothings and mittens etc... But should not be spending that much right? So far, I only bought new bottles, teats. Then 2 jumper and a few mittens only. Mostly will reuse back Issyen's stuff even though different gender lah. Think for the 1st few mths can still share clothings lah. A bit of pink or red stuff should be ok... Heheheh...

Mom2nat,
oh we tried papaya, also dun like. maybe shall try the jar prunes..

kam,
she used to eat fruits but still constipated. PD said she has mild intolerance to milk cos she does get milk eczema too... now is worse with her i dun like fruits phase. we increased her vege so now it's a bit better..hb commented her lunch/dinner now all green..
we did tried cutting into cubes to let her self feed, use hand, give her fork, toothpick etc..it only worked for 2 days...now she pokes the fruit with the fork put into her mouth and spits the fruit out then promptly uses the fork to poke another pc of fruit and do the same thing

mylvera,
aiyah, i tried sweet potato also the same. try one pc then spit out..didn't try pumpkin though.

now i just give lots of green vege, chop everything up very small and mix into her rice

krystle, that time I already boutght 4 new Avent bottles when Avent was having trade in promotion at Isetan. Got to trade in 8 bottles to buy 4 bottles. But couldn't buy more cos PILs still using some small Avent bottles at their place. Pampers NB diapers having promotion at NTUC, thought of buying but must keep for another 7 months, a bit siao leh. So end up never stock up. Hee. :p

grumpus,
My boy is still on formula for his last feed. During the day, I give fresh milk. Reason being I don't believe in those DHA and whatever in formula, formula is too sweet and fresh milk has more calcium
. I have not completely cut him off formula cos' we're going on holiday, formula is easier and my in-laws are still giving him formula when he goes over to their place. FYI, my fil bought quite a few tins of formula to keep when there was discount.

wendyg,
I also have to clarify even though I'm a SAHM now but my hubby is not earning big bucks leh. We still have to support both sets of parents but we save on other things like not owning a car (anyway we can't drive...hahaha), not having a maid, seldom eat in expensive retaurants, etc. Of course we saved up like hell before turning SAHM in case of "rainy days". One income also can survive one lah, just have to manage expenses and set priorities. Hubby give me allowance now but I use it all on groceries, bills and my boy lor...I think I only spend on food for myself, cannot afford to shop like last time

yvonne,
thanks for the info. ya i agree fm is very sweet and honestly does not taste like milk anymore.
i shall consider whether to give fresh milk or not..

Pauline,

True also lah. Now stock diapers is too early liao. Anyway still have time for you.
Mine is counting down to remaining 5mths.

Mandy,

Paiseh, cannot buy from you coz I had bought 4 new Avent bottles during Taka Baby Fair liao.

wendyg,
You mentioned Pet Pet is no longer cheap for XL size right? You can try First Choice brand from Cold Storage. It's less than 30 cents a pc and quality quite good. They're having promotion now. Just bought a pack of 60pcs and the sticky tape is actually of better quality than Pet Pet.

Cold Storage was also having promotion on Huggies Ultra for the past few months. The XL size of 30pcs comes with free 4 pcs at $14.30. SO it's about 42 cents per pc...very good for overnight use. I bought or 6 packs to keep liao...hahaha. Now will stock up on the First Choice brand for day use

yvonne
first choice brand is the same as no frills house brand, and is the same as giant house brand. coz all under the same company.
i have checked, giant is the cheapest. their diapers, the cartoon, stickers, cutting etc are exactly the same i.e. out from the same factory

mandy, aqua
today refresh club got 2 ICs leh heehee

yest went to robinson closed door sale. crowd not as much as i anticipate, maybe coz i went during the day, non lunch hour. bought some stuff for my boy...total damage 110. my sis and her hb spend 683 *faint* i never will allow myself to spend this much...yes, avent got some packaged stuff, didnt check much, got discount on almost all brands, 20% at least....leap frog 15%, fisher price, playskool all got discount. i think more suitable for newborn babies' shopping

mandy
i tried pampers active once and i gave up. dunno why but every pc, the sticker doesnt stick at all. in the end used up 5 pcs and sold the whole pack to another mummy online...you got such problems or not ah?

tongtong,

Like you said, say is easy, but when kids really fall sick, aiyoh, we do whatever we can to get them back to the good health, even have to feed many different types of med also will do one lor :-( For me, I usually don't give med for the 1st day, if it's only mild fever or mild cough etc, if he doesn't cure on the 2nd day, then only start to give med or bring him to see PD. There were 2 times he had mild fever (could be due to teething), no med giving, cured himself the next them. 2 times with mild cough and a bit of running nose, also didn't give med, cure 2 days later. Me and my husband also don't take med unless we were really really ill, see doc for mc only. Having said that, I usually only on mc for 1-2 day per year only.

For vaccination, I have different view. Vaccination is to help our body to build up the immunity for certain virus. Vaccanation jab is to introduce the inactive virus into our body so that our body can develop neccessary action to fight against it and that will be lasted for many years if not for life. Without vaccination, the live virus can be very potent and hence dangerous to us, esp kids.

enfagrow now selling at giant at only $49.99, max allowed to purchase 4tins per person. offer valid till end of this weekend

toking abt diapers...mummies who letting ur child to use pampers dry...will have to stock up liao as according to supplier, they are fading out the pampers dry range.

mylvera and kellie, i told my colleague that too. guess what my colleague said. she said she will be very happy if she got HFMD so that she can on mc. faint... sometime i feel that is my colleague who started all this. when i was on ml, she keep telling me that her hubby said i joined at wrong timing cos her wife have to do 2 ppl job. then ask me to tell my hubby not to have s** with me so i will not get preggy.

tongtong, i wish i could but i still have 2kids, 1maid and 1house to "yang" leh. so have to bear with it.

joyce,

haha yr colleague sounds like my ex-boss. if i were u .. n she told me to tell my hb .. i will say .. "i m calling my hb now. pls talk to him" haha den pass the phone to her :p

Mandy,
yah, Huggies Ultra is better than Pampers Active. If I use Pampers for overnight, the urine smell very strong leh...is it just me? And the price difference is so great. I used to used Mamy Poko for nights but also very ex. for XL size. Saw Huggies Ultra having promotion so buy and try and haven't looked back since.

Pixiepixel,
Oh, all the same huh? I saw the No Frills brand at Cold Storage too but the sizing seems to be different from First Choice leh. Anyway, couldn't find XL size for No Frills and I quite like the packaging for First Choice so bought one pack to try.

Hi joyce,

i assume she had no kids...otherwise y is there such inconsiderate person..but then hor y did your boss employ such non-cooperative person in the first place....and if she is really so tied up..ask for a temp lah....

hehe, at bugis now. Actually came to muji to buy something for hubby, zhun zhun they have 10% off. Bhg also having storewide sale. Bb clothes 30% off, pigeon normal items 20% off, sale items still have 15% off including pigeon snacks. But avent no discount at all. :p

mom2nat, ya lor, he dont like. But then hor, my mum not those kind nag at him one, her tactic is to nag at me, then everytime do house work will grumble, then say joint pains etc which is true lo. Coz I see her do sometimes also can be very siong. Then I will go tell my dad to let her hire lo. Then after a while, he also soften, so now hiring lo. Sometimes only me and my mum at home, also quite jialat, 1 hand I do empathise with my mum that she so xing ku, on the other hand I really bua tahan her nagging when it gets excessive. But give me mummy anytime rather than MIL. One period of time, we actually ate ting kat for a few months coz she got no time to cook that we lost appetite during dinner.

yvonne, agree with you, now wanna buy things cannot buy on impulse leow, only buy for my gal, I will do that, my own stuff, I will think and ponder and think and ponder, until my sis say i money face.

pixiepixel, when you buy the active? I realised the active only like that when its the promotion type, like 44 for 2 packs, if its the normal price ones, its good.

Sometimes I let my gal use nepia le.

angelsky
issit? i forgot liao...that time my boy still L size. i think i bought in giant, so dont have promo leh

yvonne
yes, same. i bought in first choice, giant etc, all same design/cutting/feel...how much you buy at cold storage?

kitsune
yes, today newspaper put bhg and og got storewide sale leh...