(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

tongtong,

Yesterday went to meet with the nanny. Pretty good lah. The house is very clean. She has a pleasant personality. The boy she is looking after now looks cheerful. Pretty much set to send my #2 to her. Only thing we are thinking now is the logistic issue. Cos have to pick up #1 from cc, then go to nanny, have to park the car, go up to level 6 together with #1 (imagine if he is not in good mood), pick up #2, and have to hold on to #1, then buckle the 2 of them in the car seats..... and doing this all by myself (most of the days cos hubby usually works late). But then I guess nothing is so perfect and ideal one lor, got to make do.

Kam,

"Hao Re" is not easy for them to pronouce at this age. Considered very good liao. Issyen cannot say her name but she can say her nickname (which we gave to her) "Xiao B".

krystle,

Hao Re gave his meimei a nickname - duck. Cos he pointed to my tummy and said "duck" loudly many times. So we are going to give #2 a nickname as "鸭子" and tell her is a gift from her gorgor :)

kam,
do u think the nanny will be willing if you call ahead that u're on the way, she help u bring #2 downstairs to wait. then u dun need to park, unstrap hao re, struggle with 2 kids downstairs and into the car.

Pixie, ya can do meet up at Manpuku, Tampines 1. Like Japanese marche, lots and lots of tables and chairs there. My no. 2 doesn't seem to like Japanese food though. All my favourite sushi, sashimi and ramen leave a funny taste in my mouth. Bleah!

Kam, yesterday Chinese tv show recommending foods from Ipoh. Got ipoh white coffee, egg tart, fried kuay teow, chee cheong fun but no ipoh hor fun. Hee, ipoh hor fun not famous there is it?

I'm so looking forward to my penang trip and the good food there, think we may be going without RaeAnne cos hubby not keen to bring her. Well, I leave it up to him lar cos I know when no. 2 is here, he'll be extra tired. Maybe good to spend some couple time and let him browse all the bookshops he wants. Penang books are surprisingly cheap.

Pixie, I think tampopo, the Japanese restaurant at Liang court, reminds me more of Tampon. Everything I see it, want to laugh but the black pork there is nice especially with sesame sauce. At least it was nice when I last tasted it years ago.

pixie
Thank you for your compliments. Think cos it is studio shots, naturally nicer. I have a fren who has 2 beautiful daughters. Her girl looks like a doll! V pretty.
Sure we can do a meet up. But v hard to coordinate one lor. Tamp 1 still v crowded hor.

grumpus,

Thanks for the thought. I thought of the same thing. Yes, she agreed, hurray! So it's all set. Booked her already :)

Kitsune,

Of course Ipoh has the famous Ipoh Hor Fun, one of my favourites. And it's totally different from the so-called Ipoh Hor Fun in Singapore. Oh, that's heaven, yummmmmmmyyyyy!!!!

Aiyoh, then why they never recommend or I never watch the whole show cos rushing home. :p I don't like Singapore Ipoh hor fun too. Just some dried mushroom and shredded chicken breast (my most hated cut of chicken) and the sauce is so bland. I seldom eat it. :p Please tell me how real Ipoh hor fun is different so that I can drool over it. Until now, no direct flight from SGP to Ipoh right? ;)

That time, my Lumut friend offered to drive us up to Ipoh when we went to visit him at Lumut but my cousin had bad motion sickness from bus ride to Lumut so end up I had to decline his offer.

grumpus
Can try giving clover honey concoction to lexie? Rylee oso prone to constipation despite me giving fruits. Some mommies intro me to clover, I bought it let rylee drink, once a week, sure enuff she'll poo poo aft drinking it..smooth smooth one hahahaha

Fresh milk
I'm oso giving rylee fresh milk once daily in the mrning. Rest of the day bf. Today went PD for her MMR and chickenpox vaccine. Asked PD when's the best time to wean or shud I stop?he said WHO now recommends to BF babies until the age of 2. So I guess can roughly use as guideline for FM as well bah? Aft that, drinking milk may be personal preference (jus like us adults, some like to drink milk, some hates it)...as long as u ensure ur calcium intake from other sources (cheese,yoghurt). IMHO only lah.

Hey any mommy coming to HK? Need help in transporting some heavy SureClean products I'm buying leh.

mylife, you bought SureClean too? I bought when RaeAnne had HFMD to disinfect the house. Still got quite a lot left cos I don't use it diligently. :p

Kitsune
Growing up in Ipoh myself, the hor fun is the best ok! When I first went to Sg to work, n I see the signs got Ipoh hor fun, I was sorely disappointed to find it's totally different! Just like now in HK I see 新洲米粉 turns out got curry powder! Totally unlike our version in Sg! Me going to Kedah formy cousin's wedding, but will rush back HK cos hubby cannot take long leave but my sis
going back Ipoh to eat the famous 老王牙菜鸡! Drool. And fried
wanton!

Kam
U always go back Kuala Kangsar or Ipoh cos always read ur blog say u go back Ipoh but u said ur from KK. Ur family moved to Ipoh city? Which part?

mylife, how is it different leh? Must give details than i can imagine mah. Ya, sin chew bee hoon with curry powder, sound yucks leh. The ya lai ji is steamed chicken with bean sprouts is it?

re: diaper
I'll stick to the tried and tested.. Fitti Basic for daytime and MP open diaper for night..

yvonne
ah, it's not the SAHMs who are looking for cheap diapers... it's the AUNTYs... coz i been monitoring diaper (and last time FM) prices since my #1 born hahahaha.

grumpus
isaac started fresh milk when he was... abt 2yo. Constipate on FM.. heaty la. So i bucked the trend & gave him fresh milk. No problems with his poo, but we also give him lots fruits & vegs.
Fruits that are good for constipation would include all sorts of berries, kiwi & dragonfruit. and u can include brown rice in her diet. And lots lots water too.

re: crowded sales
>> u all not scared of the Mexican flu ah? Still want all sorts of gathering...? I really just praying that isaac's cc will remain OPEN (coz they just closed 1-10apr to clear HFMD).

i have for sale....
4 pcs BRAND NEW Disney rompers for GIRLS, size 24-36m (approx 47cm shoulder to crotch). Price: $16 for all 4 pieces, will include free normal mail. O'wise collection venue to be discussed.

it was a 5 piece pack, but only 1 piece suitable for my boy (the yellow one).. the rest are too girlyyyyyyyyyy arghhhh. coz got scalloped (lacy?) collar.. can't see fr the pic la.

Here's the pic from the BP...
2407739.jpg

here's the BP thread from which i bought it. Scroll all the way down.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2332341.html?1239033475

babe,
me also central!

mylife,
clover honey concoction? hmmm, i've never heard of it...ok will go look it up.

wendy,
thanks for the info. yah, since her this "i don't like fruits phase" we've also switched her to brown rice for more fiber.
no probs with water, she drinks LOTS...until she hits her "i don't like water" phase of cos

grumpus/wendy
Brown rice?? I tot brown rice is one of the culprits the can potentially cause constipation. I rem when rylee first started solids with brown rice cereal, then I read if got constipation, the first thing to lay off is brown rice n banana

Grumpus
Actually I say concoction becos I mixed clover honey n manuka honey to water to let her drink. But for constipation alone, just add clover honey to water, stir n let her drink. Try it. U can buy from a bp organiser.

Kitsune
The hor fun ah...Ipoh type is very very smooth n soft. The width of the hor fun itself is very small only. And the soup base is very tasty. SG's Ipoh hor fun is very big n coarse. Doesn't hv a "hor fun" taste. As for the Sg bee hoon in HK, god knows who dictate that it shud hv curry powder in. Almost all restaurants AND cha chan Teng I went to will hv the same version of curry powder bee hoon as THE way of cooking Sg char bee hoon! I supposed they think all Sg/My foods are laced with curry/chili? I asked my HK friend n he said it's been like this since forever, when he came to visit me in Sg last time I brought him to hawker centre to let him eat the authentic char bee hoon n he was very surprised it's so nice n tasty!

any good recipe websites for our babies now? my girl doesnt really like porridge now and we have been letting her eat rice + soup nowadays. but it looks kindaa boring. any recipes to share?

also, what exactly can they eat??

Haha, WendyG, you bought the Disney rompers too? I bought design 31. That Dylan mummy has poor customer service attitude, in future, I'll only deal direct with Khaw (Adelene).

Mylife, I see, sound good. Yes, singapore version is just small type of kuey teow lar, most of them thick thick one. By the way, is real ipoh hor fun dry or soupy type?

wendyg,
Fitti Basic difficult to find leh...NTUC and cold storage don't have. I know Kiddy Palace and CK have lah but inconvenient lor.

mcfluffy,
Now I only cook porridge for my boy's lunch. Dinner he will eat the same food as us eg. rice with sesame stew chicken (cut down on sesame oil and soya sauce), pasta with tomato meat sauce, simplified version of claypot chicken rice (cooked in rice cooker), minestrone soup with ABC pasta, omelette rice, rice with normal dishes like steamed egg, steamed fish, etc etc.

mylife,
well brown rice is better than white rice cos at least it has some fiber, white rice is a bigger culprit of constipation...

mcfluffy,
same as yvonne, i only cook lunch for my girl. i will cook pasta with cream sauce or tomato sauce, fried rice, white rice with omelette, steam egg, mince pork etc etc...
for dinner she eats what we eat, after i fry the veges i'll pick some leaves and chop finely for her. if there's steam fish i'll just pick a bit from the top where there's less sauce, chicken stew she gets the chicken shredded with some carrots and potato etc

wow wendy u still awake?

wendy, u on tbf? i stop taking mlgoat's rue when i got HFMD, because that time my breast got lump and i afraid engorgement make it worst. after the lump incident my ms drop a lot. now start taking again, and i even try to hit 3.5litres of water intake per day(as advice by LC), oatmeal, hope it help and since now i'm at home i latch my boy as much as i can. but after 1hr latching, he still cry. feel like giving up.

is it true that its hard to increase bm after 2months?

i zzzzz from 9pm until 1am, so woke up to pump & do household chores. I find that i accomplish more when everyone else is in bed!!

i managed to increase my supply even 1yr after tobey was born.. by taking MMP. Started to decrease when i returned to work, and also every time my menses came. I took 1 week of MMP in Jan 09, after i ran out of frozen stock.

icic... agreed with u, when everyone in bed cab do more things.

me now also pumping. i like pumping at night cos ms more.

so once yr ms increase u stop taking?

yes, coz freezer not much space.. haha

so now u know why i can take the MMP at 6 hourly.. coz my sleeping hours are all broken up!

mandy,
my girl is still wearing L too.

kitsune,
chicken stew is super easy...
- chicken pcs season with soya sauce, pepper (i use chicken thigh pcs) this step do the day before or in the morning.
- onion chopped into slices
- carrot chopped into cubes
- potato chopped into cubes

Fry the onion in a bit of oil until fragrant. throw in the chicken and fry until the chicken is almost cooked.
throw in the potato and carrot.
fill pot with water until just covering the chicken.
bring to a boil. reduce fire and simmer for abt 20mins to 30mins.
adjust seasoning with soya sauce/sugar. i use a bit of dark soya sauce to get the darker colour.
i usually cook my stew a bit earlier in the afternoon so the meat has time to sit and soak in the gravy.
just before dinner, i will bring the stew back to a boil before eating

grumpus,

to "modify" yr chicken stew ... hehe normally i will take out some of the gravy n cook with macaroni or noodles for the kids to eat. they love it

Joyce
Haha, went to zzz aft typing that. Yup, still BF-ing now

wendy
u power leh, if i sleep like that i can die

Mandy
Thanks...will have to be careful and avoid crowded places. It'll take just one bugger to be irresponsible and not "report" to authorities for quarantine "becos of inconvenience" and that's it.

I bought SureClean products but the distributor said she couldnt mail it to HK cos the supplier dont allow it....can anyone help me post it? I'll pay for the postage. But have to mafan someone to help me post...thanks

Grumpus, thanks for the recipe. Actually I thought i was the English style creamy chicken stew but recipe sounds yummy nonetheless. Will wait till I can tahan the smells of cooking before I try.

just came back from mmr jab, xandall is now 11.5kg and 78cm
the waiting time at the clinic was horrible - 7hours! luckily mine was an appt for jab...

mylife
dhl/fedex/ups might not do yours coz it may be classified under DG. Aerosol not allowed too. can check their website for t&cs

wow.. i really 'pei fu' all mummies who bf until now. how u gals make it? how much u gals getting now? direct latch or pump out?

i dunno can i bf my #2 more than 1yr? cos really afraid can't meet his demand. just like just now.. 8am bf, 10am bf, 11am bf, 12pm bf.. now my boy still sleeping hope can last for 2 or 3hrs till next feed

Joyce, I stopped at 12.5 months when I wanted to try for no. 2. I can only share my experience, there's no magic formula to continuing to BF. If you set your mind to it, there's no obstacle that can't be overcome. SS low, take supplements (I took many bottles of fenugreek, until I discovered domperidone that works better for me, can get from GP) or wake up to pump at night. But of course, there's a lot of sacrifices involved also, at work, I pump twice a day, once at lunch time and once at 3-4pm (must be thick skinned when boss ask, you still BF ah?), cannot sleep for long stretches cos will get engorged, kenna blocked ducts/mastitis more than 10 times so LC was my best friend during this period, go holidays without bb also must pump and throw to maintain supply, must go back to hotel room every 3-4 hours, no more whole day sessions at Spa or hair salon cos need to pump mah. Once you reach 6 months, it gets easier cos bb starts taking some solids mah, even if SS drops as long as still got 2-3 feeds a day, it's quite good liao.

The great thing about BF is the bonding with my gal and that she was relatively healthy for the first year
, except HFMD when she was 11 months old but that was imported virus which we brought back from Shanghai. Until now, if my gal sees my boobs, she'll come close and taste it then smile to herself. ;P