(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

jess
i paid for the 12tins enfagrow liao...hammies is checking if she is interested to join. she will let me know by thur.
if she is not keen,then we will share the 12tins
if she is keen, we will take 4tins each...

i will let you know the outcome, and sms you the $$ payable and my bank a/c details...

kam, i'm on the way of recovery.

mylvera, yup will do it that way but poor hubby, day time have to work and yet night time still have to help out.

cheryl, if he don' wear then u wear.

kam, he is ok at the nanny's house, not sticky but he doesnt seem to be naughty there. when back at home he will bully us, sigh.. i had hard time taking care of him as when i say "no", he wont listen. but when at nannny's home he wont touch things where nanny said "no". i tot nanny would have hard time too, but surprisingly she said ok. so i'm pretty relieved la, just got to shut one eye on certain things, cuz different standards ma. have you toilet trained him? is he on diaper at night?

Kam, ya since you'll be going back to work after 2 months of ML, invest in a good pump. It'll make BF a lot easier. Heard TMC very pro BF so the LCs there should be good. See them as often as you can when at hospital. That's how I learnt how to latch my gal properly. I used My Brest Friend BF pillow it also helps cos I no need to carry the baby, less tiring.

Kam/Tongtong, yup, my gal is 15 months liao, still as naughty as ever. Looking at her newborn photo, looks like she's cheeky since the day she was born. ;)

I heard that Carousel buffet is nice huh. think some mummies post reviews before. can share again?
how much is the lunch & dinner? UOB now got promotion for buffet lunch on sunday. 1-for-1. dun know if lunch spread is good or not?

Kitsune,
The mattress cleaning is steam cleaning or only vacuum cleaning? If steam cleaning for $65 then I'm also interested. I also don't dare to think of how much dustmites, dead skin cells, etc has accumulated in my 8 year old mattress...yucks!

Yvonne, they don't use steam. Their system is to use this 25kg vacuum to suck out the skin cells and use UV(C) rays (the vacuum has a separate light attachment) to kill the remaining dust mites. According to wikipedia, UVC rays are the highest energy, most dangerous type of ultraviolet light. Little attention has been given to UVC rays in the past since they are filtered out by the atmosphere. However, their use in equipment such as pond sterilization units may pose an exposure risk, if the lamp is switched on outside of its enclosed pond sterilization unit.

The vacuum system can penetrate about 4 inches so they flipped the mattress over to do the other side. After each cleaning, they also spray with this orange essential oil alcohol solution to stop the dust mites from multiplying again.

Can I start a topic for tomorrow since most mummies are already "off-line" now

What "naughty tricks" have your kids come up with recently?
* Mine likes to drag or push chairs around the house to create screeching sounds!
* Tries to push over/topple his high chair and stroller.
* Stands on the edge of my bed and pushes his cot away...naturally it results in him falling off my bed but his hands are still holding on the cot rails...arrgh (of course I'm there to catch him when he falls).
* Always asking for our food and will squat down to cry and say mum mum if we refuse to give him. This happens even if he has just been fed the exact same food we are eating...he just wants to have whatever that's in our bowl...faint!

Naughty tricks
1) Take off my specs when I'm not aware then open the specs leg wide wide, pass to me and ask me to put on again.
2) Always run into the kitchen where me and hubby at ILs place to ask for rice. Will not leave until we give her some.
3) Open her Mag mag cup, pour water onto the floor then find a cloth to mop up the water. :p
4) Will "fu yan fu yan" and pee just only a few drops in the potty before bathtime. Then once take out diapers and cleaning her face, she will pee and will touch the urine on the floor if we don't clean up fast enough. :p

Kitsune,
Oh, they don't use steam. So you just call them whenever you need the cleaning done? Do they ask you to sign a contract for the 6-monthly cleaning, etc?

Yvonne, they said they will call to remind me when 6 months is up. They do have yearly packages but they said let me try first. If I'm happy with their service, can sign package next round. Not bad lar, at least not pushy.

Yvonne
Hahahaha, GOOD topic!

Mine now can do the things below to "annoy" me!
1) Squat down, and even lie down on the floor (regardless of at home or outside) complete with cries and whines (with real tears) when i dont allow her to do certain things! (whoever say Terrible Twos? It's Terrible 16mths now)
2) Look gleefully at me and then pull apart the remote control cover
3) Climb up and down staircases whenever she can find one! (gotta run aft her!)
4) Run when i ask her to come and eat/do something.

Alot more lah...just cannot think of one by one right now!

mylife/kitsune,
I'm sure your gals loves playing with switches/buttons as well? Mine will turn the TV on and off over and over again...the same goes for any power sockets, the fan, the radio, remote controls, etc.

Yvonne,
yah good topic!!

naughty tricks:
1) find all the smallest spaces to squeeze into and hide. then when she gets stuck she screams her head off
2) scream and STOMP FEET!! when she doesn't get what she wants, or we don't give it to her fast enough
3) plays catching i.e. runs in the opposite direction of where i want her to go then i have to run after her and she thinks it's funny...but sometimes we really do play catching for fun
4) is like a little monkey, attempts to climb UP her bedrail from the bottom of the bed
5) terrorizes our dog by stealing and running off with his toys or waving food in front of his face

yvonne,
oh yes, remotes....we had to hide the aircon remote cos she keep turning it on and off...so scared the aircon spoil...tv she will change channel also, then when she change to some channel which is just static she will pass back the remote like "nah, mummy fix the tv"

haha this is so interesting topic..

naughty tricks:
1. Jump from 1 sofa to another, especially when someone is sitting at the other one. Conveniently jump and land on your tummy
2. Rub bread on the coffee table and add water from his cup if he had 1. The rub the mixture with his hand
3. Cry and cry and cry and wanna sit on my lap whenever I am typing on the notebook
4. Run into the storeroom and try to make all the bamboo poles fall
5. Remote control - same, press and press until no sound/chat mode etc then "eh eh" pass back to me to revert to his fav disney playhse channel.

Naughty Tricks:
1. Plays with the remote control. Switch channels. Tried giving him a fake remote but he seems to know that it is fake and threw it away.
2. Fake hp : My mom bought him one of those dummy hp. He seems to know it is fake again and dont want to play with it. Rather have the real ones.
3. Throw things into dustbin. So must check the dustbin before throwing it.:p
4. Ask for something, he purposely do not give it to you! Now, whenever he wants something, eg. he wants milk. He would say "Neh Neh,please!" Sometimes he will remember to say "Thanks!"

Yvonne,

You have kindly started an interesting topic for TODAY, but many mummies cannot wait, already answered yesterday. So you gonna think of another topic again :)

I won't call it "naughty trick", but rather "new trick":

1. Scream his lung out especially we are out if he is not allowed to do whatever he wants to do, or can't get whatever he wants from us.
2. When the meal are served, either at home or at the restaurant, he will look and point at the dishes and say "wah!" as in appreciating the food!
3. Open the lid of the Gerber puff container and topple to let all the biscuits fall out and acts innocent.
4. When he knows I am not happy with him, he will call me very sweetly "mama" and hug and kiss me.
5. Pee whenever I take off his diaper, grr!!!

His teachers said he is a very good actor :)

Naughty Tricks:

1. Taking off my specs repeated even if my hubby and I said no many times. Then try to put on the specs on herself.
2. Go to kitchen to find me (with walker coz she can't walk yet). When I turned around, she just giggle and zoom away in super fast speed.
3. While on high chair, push all her books and toys on the floor.
4. Laugh at my hubby when he was trying to clean our bed coz she just urined on it.

Mandy,

it's nutritional supplement. I won't give young toddler any supplement unless recommended by PD. If your son is eating well and growing well, no need to give him supplement. If you really want to give, check with your PD first. Supplement not neccessary good for your body, overdose of certain minerals or vitamines can actually harm the body.

naughty tricks:
1. play with our remote control.. press and press. and open the cover...
2. play with our spec or hairband. take out and pass to us ask us to wear back. den the whole thing start again n again. aiyo...
3. he got so excited when we say ouch or some funny sound. he get excited biting me..
4. he like to pour everything out from a container or paperbag. aand when we put everything back, he does it again...
5. even after he eat finish his meal. he will still ask for food when he see us eating...
6. like to play with our hp.. if we give him not working 1, he dun wan... faint.

still got alot but cant rem

Mandy,
Yah, yah...we also gave him old remotes and hp but he knows they do not work and throws it aside! So smart hor?

One more: He loves to play hide and seek with me but when he cannot find me, he will sit on the floor to cry....hahaha!

<font color="ff0000">RE: Swine flu</font>

Just to share - WHO has declared Phase 4 alert. In Singapore, MOH is now preparing Singapore to fight this virus.

I heard that masks and thermometer are running out of stock at pharmacies. So if you are concern and want to play safe, quickly go and get some masks to stand by. Especially pregnant woman like me, who are vulnerable for virus attack as we have lower immunity now.

kam, swine flu reminds me so much of SARs in 2003 when I was still working in a hospital. Told hubby luckily now me preggie and not working in hospital anymore. But today going to KK for gynae appt, don't know whether we will be given masks? :p

all preggie mummies mus be on high alert!
yesterday i read news, li jiawei and mark lee's wife all pregnant...
tis yr is reali a productive year for sporeans! ;p

wa, mark lee's wife pregnant again? So fast, thought hers are still babies. :p Ya, Li Jia wei's EDD is close to mine, which means she got preggie in March. According to Stats dept, 2008 is the most productive BB year. Haha.

Kitsune,

I was in Australia during the SARS outbreak. I didn't know what to expect if the swine flu does really spread to Singapore. Some of my friends work in a diagnostic lab and they dealed with the potential SARS samples day to day, and they told me the life for that few months was terrible.

The Health Ministry (MOH) yesterday released information on swine flu.

What is swine flu?
It is a respiratory disease affecting pigs that is caused by type A influenza virus. Most outbreaks occur during the late fall and winter months, similar to influenza outbreaks in humans.

Does it affect humans?
Swine flu viruses very rarely affect humans. However, sporadic human infections with swine flu have occurred. These cases commonly occur in people with direct exposure to pigs.

How does it spread to humans?
It spreads to humans mainly through contact with infected pigs.

Can people catch swine flu from eating pork?
There is currently no evidence to suggest that swine flu can be transmitted to humans from eating pork or pork products that have been thoroughly cooked.

What are the symptoms?
The symptoms of swine flu are similar to the symptoms of regular influenza. An early symptom is high fever, and this is followed by cough, sore throat, runny nose, and sometimes breathlessness a few days later.

How can the infections be diagnosed?
A respiratory specimen would be collected within the first four to five days of illness, when the infected person is most likely to be shedding the virus. However, some, especially children, may shed the virus for 10 days or longer.

What medications are available to treat the infection?
There are four different antiviral drugs that are licensed for use in Singapore: amantadine, rimantadine, oseltamivir and zanamivir.
While most swine flu viruses have been susceptible to all four drugs, the most recent swine flu viruses isolated from humans are resistant to amantadine and rimantadine. At this time, the US CDC recommends the use of oseltamivir (Tamiflu) or zanamivir (Relenza) for the treatment and/or prevention of infection with swine flu viruses.

What is MOH doing to ensure that the disease is not transmitted here?
A medical alert has been sent out to all medical practitioners and health-care institutions to update them on the outbreak of swine flu in the United States and Mexico.
When the situation warrants, MOH will step up public health measures, such as quarantine of contacts, issuing public health advisories, and working with other government agencies to screen visitors at Singapore's border checkpoints. MOH also has an influenza pandemic preparedness plan in the event of a pandemic situation.

Is it safe to visit countries with cases of swine flu and will I be quarantined when I return? What travel precautions should I take?
There are currently no travel restrictions or quarantine advised by the World Health Organisation. If you intend to travel to areas which have cases of swine flu, you should:
- Avoid contact with persons with symptoms of influenza
- Avoid crowded areas
- Observe good personal and environmental hygiene
- Maintain good body resistance
What should I do if I suspect I have swine flu after returning to Singapore?
You should consult your doctor immediately and inform the doctor that you had recently travelled to areas which have cases of swine flu.

What should I do if I fall ill overseas?
You should consult a doctor as soon as possible and refrain from travelling until you are certified fit by the doctor.

Does influenza vaccination help in preventing swine flu?
There is no vaccine to protect humans from swine flu. The seasonal influenza vaccine is unlikely to protect against H1N1 swine flu viruses.
Is it safe to come into contact with live pigs in nature reserves and the wildlife reserves?
So far, there are no known cases of swine flu in Singapore. However, proper hygiene practices, such as washing of hands after contact with animals, including pigs, should be maintained.

Li Jiawei should be Singaporean, right? Can a PR representing Singapore in the international sports events? Thought only Singaporeans can.

Wendy, seldom see you around nowadays. Especially come in to suan me ah? I should feel very honoured right? ;)

Hehe, I thought I told you that I can't decide between the two gynae/hospitals yet. Earliest I can go on TMC tour is 15 May during my next appt so meanwhile still go for my KK appt lor.

Kam, ya those days were terrible. Had to do night duty, double up as secretariat, wear N95 masks especially dangerous after a few of our nurses died from Sars. Luckily, bf (now hubby) not scared wor, still wanted to meet me even though I was potential health risk. That time, schools very strict, got to declare if you have been to Sars countries, sars hospitals etc. I asked him if he need to declare that he is seeing someone who worked in a Sars hospital. Hee. ;P

Aqua, I'm very sure Li Jiawei is Singaporean. There was an indonesian badminton player who refused to become citizen, end up they let him go. Singapore has a lot of pride in making foreigners citizens so that they can don the national colours - RED. hoho.

li jiawei is singaporean
entitled to claim childcare benefits hahahahaha

Spotted by Singapore talent scouts in Beijing in 1995, she moved to Singapore and commenced her international career in competitive table tennis in 1996. She became a Singapore citizen at the age of 18 years under the Foreign Sports Talent Scheme.

kitsune
ya i come in when i feel that i cannot take it and hv to suan someone o'wise cannot eat cannot sleep. hahahaha.

haha, ya lor, I also think so, even today's topic cannot tempt you to come in and post but I got the dubious honour. Haha.

Seriously, cleared your backlog already or not?

no my backlog is still there. and they just keep adding more things on me. so i'm fighting fire to clear the daily &amp; ad hoc tasks, no time to clear the backlog. And my colleague tendered resignation... LAGI no time to clear backlog. I tell u, they hv to leave me alone for 6 months then i can do my daily tasks &amp; hv some time to work on the backlog. But who's going to leave me alone for 6 months, esp when i'm the only one left here?!?!?!

Tobey's tricks

1) drop things over the edge of the bed/ bathtub etc, then declare "DROP". So i dun give him remote control/ handphone to play liao. I will get scolding fr husband coz he's the repairman.
2) open kitchen drawers, wardrobe doors and pull out the stuff that's inside. Esp clothes that are neatly folded!!!!
3) when he's on the potty, he'll pull his little brother to point upwards, then say very loud "NO NO!" I tried teaching him the correct term for it, but he still says "NO NO". I think thanks to my dad la.

<font color="ff0000">DUMEX ALL-IN-ONE</font>
tried my elder on the above. she is ok with it. can mummies help me to get the samples? tks. pls call DUMEX 1800-265-3188. Let me know when u receive and I shall arrange for SAE. Let me know if you want sth in exchange. tks.

Aqua, MS is still here but seems to be a bit better, maybe the hormones level plateau liao. Or maybe I've managed to eat more small meals frequently now that not looking after my gal. Ya man, I need to decide between the 2 gynaes before 12 weeks because if choose TMC, must sign up for SBI first then can claim 10% discount for Oscar scan. :p

Wendy, Aiyoh, sounds bad leh. Economic crisis leh, your colleague still quit ah? Found a better job? Haha, never mind since you are the only one left, sure to get promoted during next exercise, bo lang liao and you 'Neng2 zhe3 duo1 lau2". Hee Hee.

Morning mummies, can I check if anyone here using sleeping bag for babies? I am thinking of getting for my baby as she doesnt want to put on blanket and we are traveling to cold countries in 24 hours. ;)

Kam: yeah, my hubby also asked me to buy masks to wear. I am thinking of going to PP this afternoon, dun kow if they have in stick or not? ;(

no i wun get promoted during next exercise coz i just got promoted in jan 09. thinking abt it it's so ridiculous, increase my pay, then few months later cut my pay due to downturn.