(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

luca
wrong
if i add bm, he will gag more, wahhahahahahahaaaa
dunno why. maybe switch him to vanilla flavour? not so "milky" taste? or change brand....i dunno what to do. just keep pushing him to drink if this happens. not all the time but still will lead me wondering whats wrong with the fm.
ok tonite ask my hb drink and tell me how it taste like. i dun dare even smell it. i hate the milky taste/smell. i oso gag!!

kam, pixiepixel, I also like TMC, my #2 also going to be there. I just like the smallness of the hospital. Agree, I dont know why pple always complain about the lack of parking, got valet no good ma? Drop the car, then go, dont have to bother and look for parking. After that need to wait la, but I dont mind either. Also dont have to wait for the lifts to come for ages.

angelsky
but then pay more $$ lor haha for their personalised parking. they park in the govt tower, what govt is there? near the MRT that one...

wow...discussion of chinese names...really must think hard to give kids names if not next time a joke.

angelsky, thumbs up for tmc. But you might like to request 3rd floor as the nurses there more pro breastfeeding.

Pixel, you still bf ah? steady achievement! Did you finally find your beer? ke ke ke...

Joyce, feed bm lahz...help u clear ducts...Agree with Pauline, since both same illness, no harm and in fact better for baby since you already have antibodies.

pixiepixel, got govt tower meh? where, i very blur one.

babe, yup yup agree man, i stayed in 3rd floor last time. service also quite good.
, but the rooms slightly run down la, but now renovated hopefully nicer lo. i stayed in 4th before moving down after delivery coz 4th is children's ward, super cool man, LCD tv one k.

Didn't know there's a difference in the wards so 3rd floor is good?

Babe, you delivered at TMC too? Why no restructured hospital? Is it true that you can't claim? I'm confused cos that day Dr Wong said some teacher mummies told her can claim up to $500 but beyond that no more. But my hubby can only claim $10 each time if I see private gynae as if we are seeing a GP.

the govt tower is ministry of home affairs

pauline,

i find tmc room very small,very confined,dr wong also deliver at MT A,heard mt A also very good

whee, won a XBOX 360 arcade in Coke Zero contest. my husband and i will be fans until end May at least hahaha. He said go Ang Mo Supermkt to buy cartons & cartons of it. And he thought i was so bo liao to send SMS for this kind of thing... until we won!!! kekekeke.

now ya'll gotto put up with my long long post hahaha.

re: LC
>> whenever u can't decide whether to stop bfg, just call the LC and the answer will be "press on!! don't give up!!" quite biased ley.

re: TMC
>> I fell in love with TMC when i went to visit someone, even b4 i got pregnant. It was abt Christmas time & there was a Christmas tree @ lobby, and the wood furnishings really made it seem like a living room rather than a hospital. Very cosy feeling. Oh pls, even the stairwell also looked like it was someone's home. (sometimes i'd walk up 3 floors to the clinic for some preggy exercise)

Kitsune, for me, i didn't hv to wait long for Dr Wong's appts, so the lack of shops dun bother me. During the few times of long waiting eg for #1 pregnancy, and the glucose tolerance test etc, i did feel it a bit... thinking that Novena Sq so far to walk!! So i just went Delifrance to grab a bite, walked the 3rd & 6th floor nurseries in the hope to glimpse babies in the viewing gallery..
Think abt it, on the other hand, would help u control impulse buying!! I know that for me, the 2 big baby shops @ KKH would do much damage to my pocket.. First Years and Mothercare! I only go there to visit frens and already can't control myself.. if every month go checkup & gai gai there.... can't imagine.. hahaha.

For the LC @ TMC for non patients, i paid $40 per consultation. Their home consult will be abt $100 i think. Maybe u wanna call Parentcraft to chk. http://www.thomsonmedical.com/parentcraft_centre.htm
Ling is brutal, but she gets the job done. Mrs Wong is too busy taking care of inpatients.

Whenever i return to TMC, eg
- visit their pharmacy to buy tincture
- visit Parentcraft (LC)
- bring my #1 to see Dr Ang Poon Liat
- visit friends
I dun hv the feeling of visiting a hospital. Like when i go to KKH, TTSH, Mt E, SGH, NUH... they feel like hospital. Big, confusing, many people. But TMC feeling is... a place where there are many preggies and newborns. Maybe coz they dun hv the word "Hospital".. it's just a Medical Centre. hahaha. It's a place of positive memories for me - happy pre-natal checkups, giving birth, friends and loved ones celebrating etc. Well, if it were someone else who had miscarriage or abortion etc... maybe they'd prefer another hospital.

re: parking @ TMC
>> If we know we're going to park there for long, eg attended the pre-natal class, we'd park @ the landed property (before SPC). For monthly gynae checkups, we'll just park on the grounds, sometimes valet. Sometimes we parked @ opposite HDB carpark like what pixie said. We'd hv lunch @ the kopitiam. Enjoyed the beef hor fun and chicken rice yum yum yum.

re: 3rd floor
>> I stayed 3rd floor for both my births!! i didn't request!! Somewhat jealous of my frens who stayed @ other rooms with nicer decor and swanky LCD TV, but thinking about it.. i'm someone who seldom watches TV =) And my fren told me that 3rd floor is better coz same floor as the nursery, it's easier for the nurses to push the baby to me (exclusive bfg). For her, either she kept her baby in her room, or hv to wait long long before can see her baby (eg when visitors arrive). So i took it as God's divine arrangement, that both times when i went, i was assigned to 3rd floor rooms. During my 2nd stay, i could even recognise the nurses from the 1st time round =) The local ones are like my aunts, taking care of me. The foreign ones are very friendly and experienced also.

Highlight of my pregnancies
- getting to go TMC every month!
- being warded! Seeing Mrs Wong!
- yummy TMC SOUPS!!!!
- confinement food (but that's at home)
- bfg

If i were like my grandma and gave birth 14 times... wow! that's enuf positive vibes to last me a lifetime. Maybe?!?!?

Kam
1st baby? i think Lucky Baby issit? Quite popular brand here ley. Made in Korea i think.
hey can antibiotics work for HFMD? I thought it was a virus.

re: cooking soups for adults
>> I always hv a problem of adding all sorts of ingredients into a soup, i think maybe some flavours clash.
Qstn: i like to use these ingredients, but which goes with which, or can everything be dumped in together? but i dun think my pot is big enuf haha.

- ikan bilis
- pork ribs
- carrot
- potato
- sweet corn
- onion
- dried scallop
- wolfberries
- red dates
- white radish
- cabbage
- white tofu
- old melon
- mushrooms.. those jap ones (not shitake) good for making soup. like enoki and some big fat ones dunno the name

Yest made some soup from pork ribs, sweet corn, carrot, potato, dried scallop, red dates & wolfberries.. thankfully my #1 enjoyed it, and husband took 1 bowl and said Good.

wendy,
all the ingredients u mentioned can go together but not all at the same time lah!!

for me i categorise my soups like this
1) soup base - pork or chicken
2) what kind of soup - ikan bilis/yellow beans, carrot/potato/onion, sweet corn, old melon, wintermelon, white raddish, lotus root.....
3) extra flavour - wolfberries, red date/longan, dried scallop, dried cuttlefish
4) other 'liao' - cabbage, tofu, mushrooms, watercress, wantons

i just pick one or two ingredients from each category, dump into the pot and boil for 2-3 hrs

babe
nolah i stopped bfding liao...3mths ago. but i had surplus so i gave my boy fm-bm mixture for the past 3 months, last week was the last week that my boy took 100ml bm per feed....so technically im not expressing but my boy taking my bm...aiyah next time if got #2 will be like that oso...save me hassles in life and my bb can enjoy more bm goodies

wendy, angelsky,
didnt know 4th flor got lcd tv!
after reno, the rooms still more or less the same. change doors to every room nia leh, seems like it haha
i oso delivered at 3rd floor, it was one of the nurses who came to unblock my super clogged ducts/lumps...my angels~~

wendy
congrats for the xbox!! promo still on? haha

wendyg,

No leh, it's not Lucky Baby, either 1st Baby or Baby 1st, really no brand one.

Yes, I also thought the same - why virus got antibiotics??? But that's what the female PD (Dr Ang) told me leh, maybe she just said it so most parents can understand lor. I forgot the medicine name, but it's vixxxxxx something, sounds like esp for virus. Maybe not really antibiotics, but something to help battle the virus??

Hoho, so many TMC supporters!!

Wendyg described it best! The main thing for me also is I don't feel like it's hospital, it's very homely feel. I worked in a hospital environment before and I absolutely hate it. TMC is only for maternity and pead. So it's very very rare to see those critically ill patients, which I couldn't see, else will affect my mood. TMC is always my only choice!

high^5 wendyg, YES!!!!! thats what I do to pass time too
. I also agree that I like it for the fact that it does not feel like a hospital, you go, you dont see dont see other patients there for other purposes. Its just babies, toddlers or women.

pixiepixel, you mean after reno inside still the same ah? As in never change the deco or paint or make it look nicer? But 4th floor is PD ward le, the bed also shorter. I only there for a few hours, tot becoz I short, but the bed felt short, then move down stairs then really its short upstairs lo.

Wendy, congrats on the win!

Kam, guess I worked in a hospital for nearly 8 years so hospital environment is most familiar and comforting to me. Too bad my previous workplace does not do delivery.

Anyway, I'll join the TMC tour before I decide. It's the confinement soups that is luring me to TMC. Heard so much about it. Hee hee. ;)

Mom2nat, where did you do it? At Shinagawa like Lyn? I keep saying I want to do it (esp when I'm at hair salon for 2-3 hrs but can't read magazines without my specs cos I'm too shortsighted) but now already mid 30s, don't know worthwhile to do or not? :p

aiyo...confinement soup is luring you ah

my delievry to second one, i was discharged the next afternoon...soup whatever also no need...haha

eNemum, wa so fast for you ah? For my no. 1, I stayed 4d3n leh cos baby was not in correct position, I pushed so hard until down there was so swollen so need catheter. So end up stay one more night. Aiyoh, now think about that experience also sent shivers down my spine.

kitsune, tiring hor, the longer u push the more tiring you get the more hungry and thirsty is it. I also dread to think about it, hopefully its a breeze second time.

Mom2nat, I also wanna do, after I deliver this #2, wanna be able to see without glasses, can fall asleep watching TV. LOL.

eNemum, so fast? next day can be discharged? You must be very fit.

my number 2...i went in at 8am, then deliver at 3plus....then next day discharge

number 1 that time i stayed two days...but actually stay one day is also enough but doctor never say go home

for both, i walk around one two hours later....my doctor quite shock to see me walking around

eNemum, you got good genes ah, delivery so short?

Angelsky, I was without food (only half a cup of milo and 1 bottle of chicken essence) from 830am to 1030pm when fully dilated to 10cm and I started pushing lor. Really no strength to push, somemore baby was in wrong position so midwives ask me to turn this way to push, turn that way to push. RaeAnne only came out at 1230am. Aiyoh!!! But her head very nice lar cos my gynae refuse to use vacuum or forceps, keeping encouraging me to push but she only came close to midnight HOR. :p

kitsune
we sama la, i was in at 10am, but then contractions at 12 midnight, then no food and water, all the way till 4 plus noon after pushing 1hour, i think doc also pity me, in the end vacuum baby out. i really regret not having more during dinner time lo. i also waited very long to dilate, even after inducing and breaking water bag, did not help much.

her head really nice? never realised le, my gynae used vacuum coz i really push until i cannot tahan, but then her head still round and nice le. i tot was becoz vacuum hehehe.

Kitsune,
The $10 is the max u can claim per visit. eg. If receipt from gynae is $200, can only claim $10. If receipt is $40, can only claim $10.

Total cap for the whole year is $300 or $500 (can't remember which is correct, may also depend on grade). If u claim, ur daughter claim and hubby sick also claim. Will hit the max amt very fast.

kitsune
Ok lah, anytime oso can do mah. i went to paragon lasik surgery, I always see the adverts on newspapers. The surgery was so fast I din have time to think, though I was scared. He just chop chop and it was done, shake my hand, thank you! My deg is 600 each side, wear specs/contacts for 20 years liao!

angelsky
My fren did hers 7 years ago, when she was preg hor. But I wont take the risk lah... But I bf now, doc say ok.

kitsune
my gf did her lasik, she oso 30+++ liao leh. young or old nevermind

just like ppl ask me why i put braces on my teeth now. i always tell them braces not for young only. last time when i was doing my poly attachment, the supervisor who took care of us, she oredi 50+, still doing braces. imagine that! few more years, teeth all fall out liao still dunno why do braces...

angelsky, ya lor, I regret not having time to eat my breakfast and wash my hair before going to the hospital. This time, must be smarter liao. :p

Mom2nat, I see you went to Lasik Clinic ah? I thought must wait 1 year after BF then can do. BF can do ah, then maybe next time I can do it after no. 2 is born. I wear specs since I was Pri 6, more than 20 years liao. Sigh.

Blackbatz, I see, maybe that's what Dr Wong meant by $500 cap. Ya lor, $10 per visit is pathetic. Hubby say each month can only claim 1 time, I told him cannot be lar. Then those people who see GP then can't get well, need to see again in a few days, how to claim? :p

kitsune
ask for split receipts?? haha then can claim $10 x split receipts lor muahahah
if they ask you, say i go back several times within a day
hoho

kam, when i asked my pd whether can bf everything he said ask gp cos she dunno how's both our condition like.

pauline, according to lc yes can bf but gp say cannot. how?

antibiotics doesn't work for HFMD. yes HFMD is virus only can recover by itself. so hoping for the best that my baby doesn't have much ulcer. now he only got 3 ard his lip and he's still able to drink from bottle.

Kitsune,
No la..can claim more than 1 time. I have two kids le..They take turns to fall sick.. Then how? Then the system will "flag" out your name and must submit receipt as evidence. Otherwise, become audit query. Really must keep for 2 months. There was once when I kept "zhun zhun" for 2 months. On the 61st day, school admin asst called me and said I did not submit.. Faint..went to "chong" the receipt. 1 went into the dustbin. got to pay $6 for reprint..effectively, I got back only $4.

After that, I kept all receipts in a file. Save it for 1 year then throw.

kitsune,
i did lasik when i was bf too. told the dr he just asked how long i had been bf etc and cleared me for the op...he mentioned if just delivered 1st few mths only then better dun do cos hormones can affect the shape of the eye etc etc..but if bf > 6mths liao then shd be ok..
i did mine at gleneagles...sorry heard too many horror stories abt the paragon lasik clinics

Mom2nat,
i thought lasik is for 1000 degrees and above, now 600+ also can do liao ar?
So hws the feeling after it? Any side effects?

Huh? >1000 rejected ah..Then I die liao..Mine is definitely more than 1000 for both eyes. Last two months, eyes developed problems when wearing contacts. Oh no..

Me only 600 degree one side, the other side about 400 degree. :p

Blackbatz, my hubby said his clerk helps to keep all their receipts wor. Don't know lar, will ask him to try submitting more than 1 receipt per person per month and test the system. Hee.

mom2nat, ya my gf also did hers at paragon, chop chop also, i went with her during my pregnancy last time,make me so gian. my degree very low only, 200 plus each side, but then I have the other thingy, then end up near far also cant see clearly.

kitsune, i also regret man, keep telling myself must bath before going, eat full full. The eating part still ok, since end up I went, no contractions, so can have lunch. Its the bath part, I bleed so I went into panic mode, the only thing I remember was to call my hubbie to book air tix to come back, then I went hospital leow. This time, must bath then go.

jess
i onz you. my sis say she selling me 2 x 1.8 coz her girl graduating to enfakid....how many you want? i dont think i can take 6tins from share + 2 from my sis...8tins i fant...i take around 4 or 5 tins can?
what say you?
eh i ask you hor, how fast you finish a tin ah?

blackbatz,
i paid 3-4k i think, cannot remember liao. some of the clinics u go to will tell u >1000 also can do..but honestly i think the risk of side effects is too high, dun play play cos once u do lasik already cannot go back to wearing contact lenses!

my mum's customer >1000 degrees, went to a lot of clinic all reject, finally one clinic at paragon say can do no prob...now she got sooo many probs and worse cannot go back to wearing contacts. my sis >1000 degrees, she went with me to gleneagles the dr outright reject her

pixie,
my boy dun really like original flavor leh.
giant hving promo on the 900g, 2 cans at $51.20, worth it leh. u gals can consider, since it takes some time to finish 1.8kg, and d price is comparable to the supplier. :p

hehe, she slept at 945pm. Hubby carry her to cot at 10+pm but 11+pm, she cry in her sleep and wake up. End up back on my bed again. Just now, she cry out again but I soothe her by talking to her then she stopped crying and went back to sleep. Finally carried her to her cot again close to 1am. Hope she can sleep through this time. :p

<font color="0000ff">pixie</font>,

I kept thinking about the different consumption rate of milk powder, can't get rid from my mind :) So I went to look carefully on the Enfagrow tins (happened that I have a tin of Singapore one). The different is there are different instructions for the Malaysia Enfagrow and Singapore Enfagrow.

For the Malaysia Enfagrow - it says use 4 scoops (40gm) to make <font color="ff0000">6.5oz (~195ml) and takes 3 times a day</font>. My boy drinks 7oz (210ml) during the day and 8oz or 240ml(sometime 9oz or 270ml) during the night, total about 22-23oz or 660-690ml. So one day I would use ~14 scoops which is equivalent 140gm. The Malaysia tin total weight is 1.7kg, so 1 tin oly last about 12 days, so 1 month I need 2-3 tins. So it's correct.

For the Singapore Enfagrow, it says used 4 scoops (40gm) to make <font color="ff0000">7.6oz (~225ml) and to drink 2 times a day</font>. So for your boy, he drinks about 800ml or 27oz a day, meaning needs ~14 scoops (140gm) per day. The Singapore Enfagrow is 1.8kg per tin, so 1 tin lasts about 13 days, just slight longer than mine. So you still need 2-3 tins per month leh.

The Singapore one seems to be more "economical" cos your boy drink more than my boy. But then, in actual fact, mine is still cheaper, cos it's only ~RM83 (~S$34) per tin.

Make sense???

morning mummies, i guess weekend is the most quiet one cos all mummies having family day.

yesterday, i tried to bf my son so surprise he still know how to suck from nipple. i only bf him once cos my hubby was concern that if he drink my bm his condition will get worst. and we cannot let my parent know that i'm bfing. how should i continue or to pray safe let him have fm till he recover?