whee, won a XBOX 360 arcade in Coke Zero contest. my husband and i will be fans until end May at least hahaha. He said go Ang Mo Supermkt to buy cartons & cartons of it. And he thought i was so bo liao to send SMS for this kind of thing... until we won!!! kekekeke.
now ya'll gotto put up with my long long post hahaha.
re: LC
>> whenever u can't decide whether to stop bfg, just call the LC and the answer will be "press on!! don't give up!!" quite biased ley.
re: TMC
>> I fell in love with TMC when i went to visit someone, even b4 i got pregnant. It was abt Christmas time & there was a Christmas tree @ lobby, and the wood furnishings really made it seem like a living room rather than a hospital. Very cosy feeling. Oh pls, even the stairwell also looked like it was someone's home. (sometimes i'd walk up 3 floors to the clinic for some preggy exercise)
Kitsune, for me, i didn't hv to wait long for Dr Wong's appts, so the lack of shops dun bother me. During the few times of long waiting eg for #1 pregnancy, and the glucose tolerance test etc, i did feel it a bit... thinking that Novena Sq so far to walk!! So i just went Delifrance to grab a bite, walked the 3rd & 6th floor nurseries in the hope to glimpse babies in the viewing gallery..
Think abt it, on the other hand, would help u control impulse buying!! I know that for me, the 2 big baby shops @ KKH would do much damage to my pocket.. First Years and Mothercare! I only go there to visit frens and already can't control myself.. if every month go checkup & gai gai there.... can't imagine.. hahaha.
For the LC @ TMC for non patients, i paid $40 per consultation. Their home consult will be abt $100 i think. Maybe u wanna call Parentcraft to chk.
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/parentcraft_centre.htm
Ling is brutal, but she gets the job done. Mrs Wong is too busy taking care of inpatients.
Whenever i return to TMC, eg
- visit their pharmacy to buy tincture
- visit Parentcraft (LC)
- bring my #1 to see Dr Ang Poon Liat
- visit friends
I dun hv the feeling of visiting a hospital. Like when i go to KKH, TTSH, Mt E, SGH, NUH... they feel like hospital. Big, confusing, many people. But TMC feeling is... a place where there are many preggies and newborns. Maybe coz they dun hv the word "Hospital".. it's just a Medical Centre. hahaha. It's a place of positive memories for me - happy pre-natal checkups, giving birth, friends and loved ones celebrating etc. Well, if it were someone else who had miscarriage or abortion etc... maybe they'd prefer another hospital.
re: parking @ TMC
>> If we know we're going to park there for long, eg attended the pre-natal class, we'd park @ the landed property (before SPC). For monthly gynae checkups, we'll just park on the grounds, sometimes valet. Sometimes we parked @ opposite HDB carpark like what pixie said. We'd hv lunch @ the kopitiam. Enjoyed the beef hor fun and chicken rice yum yum yum.
re: 3rd floor
>> I stayed 3rd floor for both my births!! i didn't request!! Somewhat jealous of my frens who stayed @ other rooms with nicer decor and swanky LCD TV, but thinking about it.. i'm someone who seldom watches TV =) And my fren told me that 3rd floor is better coz same floor as the nursery, it's easier for the nurses to push the baby to me (exclusive bfg). For her, either she kept her baby in her room, or hv to wait long long before can see her baby (eg when visitors arrive). So i took it as God's divine arrangement, that both times when i went, i was assigned to 3rd floor rooms. During my 2nd stay, i could even recognise the nurses from the 1st time round =) The local ones are like my aunts, taking care of me. The foreign ones are very friendly and experienced also.
Highlight of my pregnancies
- getting to go TMC every month!
- being warded! Seeing Mrs Wong!
- yummy TMC SOUPS!!!!
- confinement food (but that's at home)
- bfg
If i were like my grandma and gave birth 14 times... wow! that's enuf positive vibes to last me a lifetime. Maybe?!?!?