(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune,

If I were you, I would consult the PD first, if it's okay to take western and chinese med at the same time. What your aunt said might be just base on her own experience only. Just to be on the safe side. And I remembered during one of the doctor's talk, the gynae said that if mummy decides to give their baby chinese med, first thing to make sure is the quality of the chinese med, cos nowadays lots of "pirated" chinese med of bad quality, which could actually do more harm than good.

morning mummies

jess nevermind, interview more impt, tell us how issit after you finished with the interview ok

kitsune
wah, hope your gal recovers. my hb and i oso got allergic nose. me to dust, perfume. my hb to dust. and i had asthma when i was young. so my PD also said xandall has high chance of having such problems....his rashes that goes on and off is a result of being allergic to the matter around him

wendy
zhong hua free clinic is big in TPY. i see doc there before. before the time it opens (morning period or after lunch period), people start queueing liao...once the counters open...everyone rush up...to take a queue number hahah
then wait for your turn to see doc lor
i lazy to go TPY, can go to the yishun branch. smaller (definately), but waiting time still the same.
chong hua is definately cheaper. but must wait, wait, wait kind. but their physicians are definately more experienced

if you are keen in zhen jiu to cure isaac, then i can recommend you another famous zhen jiu doctor in sg. my parents and i see him all the time.

pauline

i bought the hou zao san from any medical hall..
i bought from ztp cost abt 20. but another medical hall cost abt 10...

vernon 1 is more on phlemy cough lah.. but now his cough recovered.

i also ever let him try when he got cough w/o phelgm (is that call dry cough?)

usually if i give chinese med, i dun give western med

thanks, kam. I think my pd will surely say dun mix lor. Know how cautious drs r to things outside their field unless the dr is also trained in tcm but v rare in singapore. Anyway, i'll monitor n see. Need to go n get my lunch liao n help hubby post letter nowadays can't stand to cook cos can't stand the smells, but freezer is stocked with food that my mum bought. :p

thanks, cheryl, there's a ztp near Tampines interchange too. Maybe I'll go check it out.

Hi, JanBB.

Actually my appt also normally on sats morning. But 9 May is Vesak Day so they scheduled me one day earlier loh. I also prefer sat so that my hubby and I don't have to take leave. No choice for this time.

Yes, I remembered the Indian gynae. Very talkative one. Kekeke.... New machine huh? Hope can see my boy clearly. But detailed scan on end May so like still very far away.

Hi, Kam.

4 mths know gender is early?? Actually during normal scan in 3rd mth, I managed to catch a glimpse of his XY part in the photo. Then I showed to my bro (who has 2 sons), he also said got XY what, quite obvious. Also gynae said very confidently during 3rd mth scan that next visit will know gender. So at 4th mth, when he showed, very obvious loh. My baby legs open big big for us to see too. Hehehee..

krystle,

Ya, that's early. Thought usually gynae would confirm the gender during the detail scan, which is at 20 weeks or 5 months. Though my gynae also told me at 4 months that most likely will be a girl :) Your baby very cooperative, 3 months already let you all see so clearly. But boy usually easier to see than girl, right?

Kam,

Ya loh, most people said boys is easier to spot the XY part. So people in the Sep thread know boy earlier than girls. Normally for girls, gynae will tell you cannot tell yet.

But my gynae is famous for being very "accurate" in telling gender. So far for my SIL, me and my colleagues, all very accurate. I also know my #1 gender early at 4th mth too.

But you also good lah, one boy and one girl. Can close shop.

Krystle n Kam,

Talking abt gender.
I know my #1 gender at 13th week during the OSCAR test. The gynae (not my usual gynae) is very famous for handling complication and twins/triplets pregnancy. He is so confident that hubby n I were like, "Are you sure??" I even remember he showed us the "three lines" on the screen and said "see the 3 hamburger lines" he is very confirm is a girl.
Guess my baby knows that mummy wanted very much to know that she is a gal so tat i can start shopping.

I am seeing him this friday again for my #2 OSCAR test. Hopefully I can get to see the gender soon..

Hi, shannonbaby.

Don't worry. I believe your #2 also know you are very eager to know. She will cooperate with the doc.

BTW, just got my triple test results. Everything is normal.
But till now, I only felt occasional flutterings in my tummy. Baby's kicks are not very strong yet. So sometimes worry and wonder what is he doing inside...

shannonbaby,

You mean Dr TC Chang, right? Yesterday he also showed me the "3 hamburger lines" :) But he also knew I am expecting a girl, cos amnio result is with him mah.

krystle,

I was worried also cos no kicks at all until yesterday. But didn't dare to tell my hubby that I was worried cos he super "kan cheong" of his girl mah. After detail scan yesterday, see my girl moves actively and heart beat is good, etc, then I am relax! Aiyoh, second time mum already still like no experience hor.

Kam,

Ya loh, my hubby will also said I think too much. But I don't want to take things for granted lah. Coz when have #1, I was more hack-care. No MS and smooth pregnancy. So a bit take for granted and told myself nothing to worry. Also 1st-time mum so a lot of things also ignorant.

Now being 2nd time mum, I know more things already. Then recently a few friends preggie then got lots of problem like early contractions, huge fibroids, spotting, even MC at the end of 2nd tri. I hear until a bit scared... So for this #2, I started to worry a bit more...

Kam,

mine is Dr Tony Tan, who used to work in KKH. Nw he is in RH where I am seeing my gynae.

I feel that for this pregnancy, I seems more relax and more bo chap. Maybe cos i have been spending all my energy on my #1 who is very whiny n clingy to me.

Kitsune,
Actually it's better to consult a proper TCM doctor before you start giving your girl chinese medicine. Based on my regular TCM doctor's advice, it's best not to give babies TCM but if really necessary, should let the doctor review her condition in order to advise what type of TCM is suitable. Not everyone is suitable for the same TCM...depends on individual's health & body conditions. Especially cough...there are so many different "types" of cough.

luca
dont go new york skin solutions. they total rip off, bad cs, and ask you sign this sign that...got results one but not worth to go through with them

luca,
can i recommend u my mum? :p
she has a beauty salon in bishan, not 'branded' one but she has been in this business for 18 yrs

Yvonne, yup, actually hubby suggested going to TCM instead of PD visit last week but I don't know which TCM in the East treats young kids. Most of the ones I see treat adults and elderly. Also, I'm not sure what type of medicine they will give her. If bitter and black, no way she will take. :p

eNemum,
u went to my mum's shop to collect goon diapers before, remember? treatment facials start from $75

luca,
i dunno whether she can 'cure' yr dark circles or not, that one u must ask her. but what i can tell u is she is very honest, she will not promise more than she can deliver. she will not promise u total removal of dark circles if all she can do is lighten and minimise them.

usually if u tell her recommended by me, she will give a bit of discount. quite a few of my ex colleagues now go to her, and they in turn have also recommended other ppl to her liao.

pixie,
ah, i dunno whether my mum's shop is the type recommended on forum or not. she's more the 'neighbourhood' type of facial salon but with a very long and reliable history. she always say she not branded one very hard to fight with those jean yip, mary chia and what not...

grumpus
you may be surprised that a lot neighbourhood shops in bishan are receiving rave reviews online. i am not referring to big names lah. if your mum is one of them, i sure go!
i am shopping for a fixed facial place leh

u not keen to tell me, pm me lah

pixie
u keen in small one-man-show facial shop @ Geylang East Central? $50 for 2hr facial, she uses Verde products. No hardsell, no push products, but if u're keen, u can pay for 10 sessions and get 2 free. Just relax and chit-chatting with lady boss, and i frequently fall asleep zzzzzz. Used to be her regular once in 3-4wks, but ever since got married & had kids, become once a year!!! terrible hor.

Jasmine 68482407. Tell her recommended by me. She remembers my surname =)

wendy
geylang east ctrl too far for me lah
bishan still considered north side mah

but thanks anyway, will keep jasmine's contact just in case :)

cheryl, thanks, I'll monitor until this weekend first. Yu guo must make appt or not? Any idea what time it opens? Sunday open or not?

talking abt facial, i will highly recommend mine but their products and facial are ex lor...

Tifafine at Hong Lim centre. It a Taiwanese brand and quality comparable to SK II. can call Yue Feng at 6535 4588.

for first timer, should be 80 bucks...

i usually see the beautician's face to judge when i go for facial, after all if they look good, i think its a good sign meaning their facial is good too.

wendy,
haha yr beautician sounds like my mum that kind of shop, one man shop, not pushy and just chit chat and relax.

luca, pixie,
btw my mum's face and shoulder massage (included in every treatment) is to die for...imagine she has been honing her massage skills for so many yrs liao, a lot of my ex colleague chiong there after work to relax cos my ex company located in yishun

anyway, PM u the details liao

grumpus
ya, her shoulder massage also very shiok. and i also enjoy the finger press on acupressure point on the face. sometimes i even fall asleep when she's using needle. can u imagine. ahhahaa.

luca,
haha, yes that's a very good way to judge the beautician skill, my mum always make sure her skin is very good cos she say she is the face of her shop.
thats why she last time also always complain abt the state of my skin, say i better dun tell ppl i'm the daughter of a beautician :p

wendy,
hmmm maybe my mum knows yr beautician, hehe...she knows alot of the old birds in this industry. she also ever use verde products...i shall ask her :p

grumpus,
aiyo, wasted leh, since she in this industry, u should make full use n go for regular facials mah, dont tink she will charge u $ right? hehe

Pauline,
Yu Guo is the name of the TCM which I wanted to recommend to Wendyg ah..forgot the name cos didn't go for a while. Can be quite crowded. Open till night. Closed on Wednesday. Sunday opened but can expect crowd.

And there's another one at the Tampines Bus Interchange. No name, must sit there and get queue number. It is just next to a ma ma shop.

luca,
no lah she dun charge me but then i can only go off peak hrs, like weekdays cos peak hrs reserve for paying customers mah...
so last time only when in school then can go regularly. when start working liao got no chance to go then now even though i'm sahm got nobody to watch my girl while i go facial

where is YU GUO? does anyone has their address and contact no?
my daughter appetite isnt good, hardly takes porridge and now start to resist milk, tot of bring her to see TCM.

wendyg, ya lor ya lor, now pple ask me how many weeks, i will pause and say I cant remember, but I know due end July. Hehehe.

kam, no worries la, I also cant find my girl till rather late, just I think these few weeks then can feel her hardening and kicking and bubbly feeling. I also panic for a while before that, dont dare tell my hubbie, scared he worry.

Question about the post natal massage -

My Confinement lady says she doing for me, so abit unsure wanna ask you ladies. Usually massage is just stomach or whole body, is it standard one? My previous one, did coining coz I think indo version, and massage whole body and face and then bind. This time, my CL is my mother's referral, so cannot say dont want massage from her, but then hor never try before chinese one, so a bit uncertain. But do two times abit excessive too. But this time after delivery, I die die must slim down man.

Kitsune
i dont think it's becos u stopped BF that makes RaeAnne getting sickly. U've oredi done a very good job! It doesnt mean u bf = prevent baby being sick only for that period of time. Not so simple one lah. Kids fall sick. That's a fact. Dont worry too much. Having said that, if she got allergy, and its dust mites, better change mattress or get the rainbow vacuum. I got a similar one in HK too. Cos dust mites are one thing we cant see with naked eye. Wash and sun also no use. Once she's better, perhaps shud go test her allergy out to confirm?

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Yu Guo Chinese Physician Acupuncture &amp; Physiotherapy Pte Ltd</font></font>
<font color="aa00aa">398, Changi Road, #01-08, #01-17, Castle Court, Singapore 419845
Ph : 6447 4761, 6348 6415 ; Fax : 6345 3358</font>