(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i like the nestle 3min cook porridge =) anyone has any to sell to me?

WTS: Mothercare rompers
WTB: Avent ISIS funnel, Nestle 3min porridge

Wendyg,

I searched high and low in most east and west areas supermarkets but don't have leh.

If you find can let me know where? Don't want to "mah fan" you to buy and pass to me.

I also continue to look around too.

wendyg,
the last checkup at 30wks, bb is 1.5kg and gynae say #2 weight is consider normal. dunno leh... keeping my finger cross. i start to eat lesser for lunch & dinner so that bb & i don't put on too much weight too. :p

steph
u dont intend to bf liao?

Wendyg and Mylvera,
Was keen to get some things during te recent allaboard toys sale, cos got 20% discount code. But end up didn't buy.

Sometimes join spree, things go OOS cos wait here and there. The most recent one I did by myself was RL. Very stressed when transaction got cancelled and had to call them to reinstate. By then, some items went OOS liao. Sometimes can join Pixel's sister la. She quite active.

pixie, my waterbag leaked and after 3 days, my gynae check and cervix nt dilate. she says chances of natural success v low and i also scare bb get infected..so i straight go c-section.
kia si lor, dare nt try induction . my frend wen induction, after 12 hrs struggle, still kana c section...

superbee,
initially i target to bf for 6mths *If office got place(mtg rm avail) to pump & whether NEW boss allow & NEW job scope dunno later boss not happy then jialat...affect work performance

The main reason is my supply decreasing so i intend to wean bb slowly & also to pump & keep as much as possible now since returning to work on 13thMay. Now taking care bb alone, shack & tired, no proper meal also make supply drop bah

Just came back from TMC. Hao Re received 2 jabs (MMR and chicken pox) together, only eh for few seconds and that's it, no crying. Then the PD offered him biscut, Hao Re looked at him a bit angrily, and then refused the biscut leh (the only time I saw him refusing food), like protesting to the PD, why you poked my buttock :)

My PD said absolutely safe to have the 2 jabs at 1 go. Chances of developing fever only 1%, no other side effect. Good thing is save me 1 round of travel and 1 time of consultation fee.

My PD also said 2 servings of fruit and veg to toddler this age is good enough. Think I have been giving too much fruit and veg to Hao Re all this while, so he poos a lot. Have to cut down already.

My #2 is looking good. Detailed scan done, weighing 375gm now, so tiny. All the organs developing very well :)

kam: good to hear urr no.2 is growing well.. u must be v relieved.

steph, u sound as though ur job isnt v stable, hope u persist in bf. jia you

steph,
ic... it's true that when u r tired & taking care of bb alone with no proper meal, affect supply and also perserverence to continue bf too. take care ya & u have tried your best.

Managed to sneak in today cos bosses are all out in the morning, heehee ;p
Miss u all leh & hope can join your *Refresh* club too, hahaha!!!

My boy has been given MMR & chicken pox together at his 15th mth @Kidslink. He got slight fever 5 days after the jabs which is what the PD has told us "expect to have slight fever within 10 days". But dun worri, is very slight one & subsided after 1 dose of med. Some may not even got fever after the jab. The fever is mainly due to chicken pox jab rather than MMR.

Krystle,
Congrats to u!! So are you using back our gynae Dr Tan @ Glene?? I'm still with him. Juz went for my checkup last sat. Scarely, we met there & didn't realised again. I'm going into 28 weeks soon. 2nd pregnancy seem to pass faster than 1st one.

mylvera,
how's your MS? Better? Jia You!!

Hi, JanBB.

Yes, I am back to Dr.Tan as I really find him very experienced and feel safe in his hands. I even recommended 2 other colleagues to him. Should get commission from him. Hahaha...

Oh, congrats to you too! Also #2 right? Yes, we might have met but never realised. When is your next visit? Mine will be 8 May coz 9 May is holiday.

Somehow I feel that 2nd pregnancy is slow to me. Now only 17 weeks... Looks like a long way to go...

Krystle joins the 2009 MTB club:

1. Yunbb_____________#3 BOY 12Dec08
2. Steph77___________#2 BOY 08Feb09
3. Joyce_____________#2 BOY 11Feb09
4. Superbee__________#2 GIRL EDD June09
5. Janbb_____________#2 GIRL EDD July09
6. Angelsky__________#2 GIRL EDD July09
7. Kam______________#2 GIRL EDD 07Sep09
8. Krystle ___________#2 BOY EDD EndSeo09
9. Jacelyn___________#2 TBC EDD 14Oct09
10. Mylvera__________#3 TBC EDD 16Oct09
11. Shannonbaby_____#2 TBC EDD 04Nov09
12. Precious_moments #2 TBC EDD 09Dec09
13. Kitsune__________#2 TBC EDD 10Dec09

krystle,

Me too & also recommended to my colleagues. Guess that's why he got so much business ;p

my next visit will be 16 may (sat). Usually u visit him weekday? Me always get sat slot.

You are half way there already ; ) Going to do your detailed scan soon!! They got a new machine leh @ Camden Med (Rem that Indian gyane).

Cos i feel that with #1 that really keep my weekend so busy & weekday full of work work work... Sometimes i can even forget which week i m in, haha ;) Jia you!!

krystle,

How come you know your #2 gender so early? His "bird" so obvious ah, can already see at such an early stage :)

JanBB,

Same here. I also feel 2nd pregnancy seems to pass faster than #1.

I just started to feel a bit of her kicking these 2 days, at 20 weeks. You can feel #2 kicking very early right, I remember you said so.

kam,
ya, feel the baby movement at abt 12weeks, very early. And now is very strong kick liao esp i lie down flat on my back.

Come to think, you are the most fortunate leh cos u got no MS. So envy, can have more babies ; ) Heehee.

Btw, my boy starts to say "meimei" this few days, haha. Maybe he knows meimei is arriving soon.

JanBB,

Yes, I am the lucky one :) Just asked my hubby this morning when should we plan for #3 (in a joking mode lah).

Hao Re was very sticky to me for 2-3 weeks when I first found out I am pregnant. Then he was okay, think he also accpets that there is a meimei in mummy's tummy and he would come and flip my shirt and kiss my tummy. But since last week, he started to get sticky to me again, when we picked him up at his school, he refused to be carried by daddy, screamed like mad, asking for me to carry, my hubby was so hurt :-( Hope this phase will pass soon.

kam: u still wan a bb tiger ????
janbb, ur boy so sweet.... they will be v close to each other nex time.korkor sayang meimei...

jess, gd luck and hope u get the job

Jess, that's fast!!! Going back to work liao ah...

Pixel, u want to meet tomorrow? Where good to meet?

Janbb, did you check with the gynae? Abit too early to feel kicks.

What is the refresh club?

Wendy, I have the avent funnel. The old model with 2 parts. Can sell you if you want.

janbb
yes my #2 pregnancy also whizzed past.. i'll forget which week i'm in, i just remember how many months i'm pregnant only hahahaha. And i scared to forget the gynae appt, hv to check my calendar. For my #1 pregnancy, i was always counting down to the next appt to see the scan of my baby, counting how many weeks preggie.. 11wks, 11.5wks, 12wks, "on Monday i'll be 13 wks" etc. AIYO.

thanks aqua

babe: just go interview and try try lor. i think chances of getting a job is low now cos supply is more than demand. haha..... if really get then gd cos near this new place, there is a CC. so can put Javier there. after discussing with my hubby, he feels it is better to continue work cos our flat only coming in 2012. need to have $$$$

Jess,

Good luck with the interview!

Aqua,

Ya, I still wish to have a tiger baby. But cannot lah, too "siong" for me. Meaning, after deliver in Sep, then have to conceive again before April next year, and have 2 toddlers to take care of, wah, like that really make me a pig mummy already lor.

babe,
at 12weeks is not considered kicks yet, i can feel baby movement like bubbles in my tum tum ;)

kam,
i dunno why also got a funny thinking..hehehe..if got #3 i also dun mind leh.. Only the MS period turn me OFF... But i think i will still stick to 2 kids ;) unless accident happens. Last time i even told myself to stop at 1...haha.. Me another piggy Mummy liao.. Sheng Sheng Sheng...

aqua,
i ask my boy sayang my tum tum, educate him that got meimei inside. But he SLAP onto it many times... hahaha.. Good thing is he keeps repeating meimei as if he knows where is meimei. Funny boy ; p

wendy,
me too, find it fast esp when is time to do my monthly gynae visit. For #1, i was so eager to do scan & hope can scan every week.

Aiyoh, typed such a long post last night but system under maintenance mode, in the end, all gone. Luckily I copied and pasted onto my blog, so can still reproduce most of it. :p

Wendy, Sunday morning, brought RaeAnne went to see PD for the 5th time in the last 4 weeks liao. Her cough just didn't recover and she kenna diarrhoea on Sat. Super sianz. Now, PD said she has mild brochoasthma and the same allergy that caused her hives also caused the cough. I asked her what is the allergen, she said it could be dust mites, cockroach faeces etc but anyway, treatment is still the same. And this time, RaeAnne got a HUGE bottle of expensive cough syrup ($38) that will last her for 1.5 months, after that, still must go back and see PD cos need to take the cough syrup for 6 MONTHS!?! Faint lor, so 'sim tia' to see her taking medicine long term. Total PD damage yesterday - $87. This month spent more than $250 on PD visits liao.

Scared liao, sunday changed and washed my bedsheet and monday washed her bedsheets in case there's dust mites. Luckily she doesn't sleep in air con and thankfully, my PT cleaner came on Sunday so cleaned up the house. Right now, I'm also giving her DIY TCM, ground cordyceps and 'chuan bei' powder. Yesterday, also asked my mum to help me double boil cordyceps soup for her. My hubby very funny, he told my gal looks like you must drink Mummy's nen nen to be healthy. I told him can, but must wait for another 8 months leh. Once supply stop, cannot restore leh.

Anyway, after PD diagnose her with mild bronchoasthma, I've more or less decided on hiring a maid liao. Cost will be an concern but I can always send the maid back after a few years when the kids are bigger and more independent. If not, I won't have time to look after 2 kids and clean up the house religiously plus have my meals let alone BF/pump in peace. I think her recent PD visits is a wake up call, the children's health is top priority now, if money spent will lead to better quality of life for me and the kids then JUST DO IT.

Next step, must find a good maid agency and a good maid. Tough process cos heard so many complaints about maids. Looking around for a Burmese maid who can speak either Mandarin or English. Anyone has good agencies to recommend? :p

Kam, RaeAnne has been lifting my shirt to sayang and kiss baby since last week. Last sunday at the PD clinic, she saw so many babies and was so 'inspired' that she lifted my shirt to touch my tummy and lay her head on my tummy. Aiyoh, so embarrassing so I kept pulling my shirt down and said "No, cannot." In the end, she upset. :p

wow..kam and janbb,u gals are fantastic! tinking of no.3 when no.2 is not born yet, haha

yeah, hopefully, we can be MTB in 2010 again...

kitsune
bed bugs & dust mites can burrow deep into the mattresses.. washing the bedlinen in hot water can only help so much. Sunning the mattresses just make the bugs burrow deeper deeper...

can invest in those type of Rainbow vacuum cleaner to steam your bed.. or hire professional mattress cleaners.

My PD's advice: if the child is on western medicine, stop the TCM. and vice versa.

Wendy, actually I suspect it's not dust mites lor cos my house has been maintained by my PT cleaner since my CL left. Ok lar, maybe bedsheets wash once every month but why she suddenly develop allergy at 14 months? :p

Ya, maybe will professionally clean my bed once and maybe buy a new latex mattress for her. The old foam one use for nearly 1 year liao. Is Rainbow the name of the steam cleaning company? Anyone has contacts?

For TCM (actually more tonics lar since not the brewed chinese herbs type), my aunt said can give 1.5 hours after the western medicine then should not clash. Anyway, these few days, never give the powder form cos she got so much medicine to take. Maybe once a week, double boil cordyceps ba. :p

Kitsune, wendyg is right. you may want to change her mattress, pillows and keep all theu soft toys away from her. if need to, can invest in a air filter

clean the fan! everyday must wipe the outer covering/ blades blah blah. Is yours table/ standing fan or ceiling?

eh, maybe u can ask your doc why she suddenly develop allergy @ 14m

Wendy, I inspected the fans (mine all standing fans, can dismantle type for easy maintenance) leh, very clean especially the one in her room. I told my PT cleaner before, BB's room is priority and she cleans the diaper changing table and fan nearly every week. Her room windows a bit dusty now though cos my cleaner didn't have time to clean it last week.

Aiyah, PD said can be genetics lor cos hubby has asthma when he was young, now still has allergic nose (got dust will sneeze). Whereas I have eczema. PD said all these problems are interrelated so she kenna strike 3 out of 3 lor. I asked PD twice if I can do a patch test for her to test for allergy. She said cannot do it during 'active attack', anyway, treatment will still be the same. As for why now instead of younger, my hubby's own logic is no more antibodies from Mummy's BM lor. :p

Pauline,
Rainbow vacuum is abt 3k & above. Few of my friends hv brought it after their free demonstration at their hse. They will ask for more friends' contacts after you purchased it. If u really keen, i can ask my friend for u.

i think the air filter helps. my bro has v bad allergy since young n went to many specialists. in the end, he managed to control it by usin air filter, nasal spray. but spray nt gd for long term, you may wan to try 'ZHONG HUA YI YUAN' at toapayoh. my bro went for theraphy a few mths and can see he improve after tht

pauline,
allergy causes can be very hard to trace. and it is possible to 'suddenly' develop allergy after long term exposure to an allergen. This is because the body actually takes time to develop the allergic antibodies to the particular substance.

even though the allergen is removed, the symptoms will not immediately subside. it can take up to a few weeks for the histamine levels in the body to go down and then the symptoms will slowly go away.

so although u are now cleaning and changing everything, u will not see the effects immediately. monitor for a few more weeks and see how?

if the symptoms are still there, u may need to investigate other possible causes. cos once the histamine levels in the body is raised, it is possible that other types of allergens will also trigger an attack even though that was not the original allergen that caused the allergy in the first place.

wendgy
Singapore Chung Hwa (Zhong Hua) Medical Institution - Toa Payoh Main Office
Address: 640 Lorong 4 Toa Payoh Singapore 319522
Tel: 6251-3304 / 6251-3428 / 6256-3481
Fax: 6254-0037
Operating Hours: 9am-12pm, 1pm-5pm, 7pm-9pm (Closed on Sun & P.H.)

oh wow goody... thanks for the TCM info. I'll forward to my husband.

he's with my #1 @ the review, and they're going for chest x-ray. Dunno issit the doc ordered it, or he make so much noise until the doc had to order it. Coz he been complaining to me abt this doc, so i told him last night to please list down all his grouses and direct it to her, since i'm not going to be there to help him talk.