(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

No lah, also need to interview but usually with referral is easier to get the job...in my industry at least. Becos alot of people in my industry lack the proper experience and background, that's why we still got "value"

But I just set my mind to be SAHM leh...now have to change my mind again?! I already got my schedule planned liao...hahaha. Seriously, don't think I will take up any offers now, especially seeing my boy sick now.

rest for a few weeks then see how lor. like for me, i am now more keen on part time jobs than full time jobs. heehee...
just play play ard and see how first. still a playful mummy. haha

Yvonne
Which kind of fresh milk you give your boy? Those UHT kind?

Kam
Yup, it is the adult Livewell Mag, Sorry, I din know got baby mag even! Hoho...

Mom2nat,

Just managed to get the LiveWell mag today. But got to buy from the newsstand leh. The free copies at watson/guardian all gone already. The LiveWell Baby mag pretty good, I like this mag a lot, quite informative and not that much advertisement. I usually got it free from Kiddy's Palace.

Yvonne,

If your family is financially stable and you have already set your mind to be SAHM, then just go for it, don't hesitate.

i'm deducting thru cc. i'm still waiting for my colleague. maybe next wk then she pass me her form. next month closing, still some time to go.

luca,

- lotus root
- raddish
- old melon
- watercress
- chicken herb

Not much variety from me leh, usually between these few, depending on what vege looks nice in the wet market.

Jess, how to cook peanut soup? just porb rib & peanut? ;)

Kam: I am successful to wean Johanna off for night feed. Wowow, she adapts very well, i must say. No more milky or water at night. She will wake up at around 5am and has baby talk by herself n go back to sleep.
for the VCD, thanks in advance. Take your time to send to me is ok.

Congats precious moments!

my hubby have to sleep and things he use have seperate cos he kenna hand foot mouth disease.

Luca,

Oh ya, also

- black bean + chicken soup
- sharkfin melon and chicken breast meat soup

My hubby doesn't like the soup cook with slow cooker. My way of cooking -

Boil water, use medium to high fire
Add in the red dates, boil for 10 min
Add the pork chicken, boil for 10-15min
Add the veg, boil for another 10-15min
Turn to slow fire (just enough for the soup to boil, but not to evaporate too much)
Cook for another 3 hours.

Blessedbaby,

Congrates! Johanna is a good girl! These few nights when Hao Re woke up in the middle of the night, he would toss and turn to try to make himself back to sleep. Sometime sucessful, sometime cannot, if cannot, I have to carry him for a couple of minutes, then he falls sleep. No need milk for a long time already. Sometimes still need water. Sometime didn't wake up at all :) I have to enjoy this period before going back to the sleepless nights in 4.5 months.

Kam,
actually wats the difference between slow cooker and normal cooking of soup har? ur hb is so particular :p

To me, taste no different, only more work for me. To him, he says taste VERY different. Ya, he is very particular. But no choice, got to please my king mah :)

my #2 was unplanned. when i found i'm preggy. my 1st reaction was to abort cos finance unstable. but now whenever i see my little one, i'm glad i keep. its very tiring handling 2 especially with such close gap.

here the pic of #2, now he is 7kg at 2months with my little bm. glad he is growing well. now on supplement of Motherlove Goat's Rue. hope its help my milk supply to increase.
2363001.jpg

kam
he so fussy, ask him to cook on his own lor. My husband also very fussy about food. Even the dinner that i ta-pao for him, he want me to go here there everywhere to buy. I tell him to go fly kite, if i buy, it's standard fare. Coz my priority is definitely not food.. it's to get home early to makan/pump/shower & take care of my boys! Where got time to detour to buy extra dinner for him, humph.

kam / wendy,
my hubby also very fussy about food, cook dinner must be according to his taste or must use his mother's recipe, buy dinner also must be of his taste...very difficult to please!

joyce,
well done!! 7 kg at 2 months, i thought i saw wrongly. Hubby down with HFMD??!! quite surprising leh, then he btr stay away from your 2 boys and you too.

Mom2nat,
I give him PURA fresh milk but I warm it up in the bottle warmer. Funny thing is my boy rejects cold milk in bottle but will drink from cup or if I spoon feed him...weird.

to add on:
corn soup
winter melon soup
for black bean soup sometimes i use chicken feet
ikan bilis and yellow beans soup
pumpkin soup

I was on leave today, went to the Gynae for my first check up. The little one is only 3.2mm in size... So tiny, isn't life amazing?

After 'meeting' the #2, and reading all you mummies' replies to my post here, I feel much more settled now. Thank you all for your kind words of congratz and personal sharing!

Btw, my EDD is 09 Dec 09 (very close to Kitsune's).

Joyce,
Your #2 has such a sweet smile at 2 mths! He's growing so well, he already looks older than 2 mths leh...

Aqua, wow, I didn't know there is a difference. Any idea how much they pay for Masters degree holder. If they pay $200 per hour, I'll be motivated to check out all the primary schools in my area liao. haha.

Kam, wa, your hubby got very good taste buds. My hubby super easy type. Always tell me he can't tell the difference between $2 chicken rice and $30 chatterbox chicken rice. That day, I asked him, I cooked so many different stuff before (mostly one hit wonders), what would you like me to cook again? Guess what he said, spagetti, claypot rice and soupy stuff. He prefers the easy stuff, don't want me to spend too much time and effort on it. Like he said himself, he heng2 hao3 yang3 lor.

Wow,
Been busy lately. Only found time to catch up on the postings after the kids had gone to sleep. Didn't know that so much has happened to the mummies.

Pauline,
MOE only look at your first degree. Masters does not add any "additional" income.

And also depends on which uni u obtained ur first degree

blackbatz, cheh, never mind I also forgot to put the Masters degree into the application form. Hee. Me from the Kampong Communist Uni lor... ;P

Yvonne, looks like you are all planned out. Heehee...still got spare cash to bring him to playgroup so still not bad wat! Can stay home for awhile and enjoy SAHM..

Mylvera and pixel, don't mind meeting you gals for ME time or lunch...I'm in central though..ke ke ke...

For now, I'm also enjoying ME life for awhile before I take the kids back with me slowly. Somehow never work, days also pass so quickly.

Wow! so many nice soups...should get cooking soon..

Pauline, relief teaching payment is based on your first degree..don't think will get 200 that much a day...You sure U wanna stress yourself with teaching..geez coz I came from it and now it's serious madness unless it's adhoc kind where you go in to jaga pri kids.

PM babe..congrats...it's always nice to see the little pics with each visit...miss the time when the baby moves in the tum..

Joyce, your baby is big!!! Remember your first one also quite big right? Runs in the family?

Wendy, how does the competition work?

morning mummies.

thanks kam, luvv and pm.

kam, his birth weight 2.82kg.

luvv, ya my hubby have sleep in other room. i ban from getting close to my 2 boys. and also told my maid to seperate his utensils even clothing from us and everything must pour hot water to sterilize.

pm, i'm sure yrs can be like mine too.

babe, ya my #1 also but he was on fm.
2364585.jpg
taken when he was 2mths plus.
2364586.jpg
taken when he was 1mth 28days old.

dear mummies, any recommendation of brand or product for bm storage? currently using the glass bottle, can i check can the bottle be store in freezer?

joyce,
alot of websites will tell you don't freeze the glass bottle.

from WholesomeBabyFood

Baby food jars are not made for freezing. Glass that is not specifically manufactured for freezing has the unfortunate ability to crack, leave behind tiny, microscopic shards and fragments and also is prone to bursting. That being said, many people do freeze in baby food jars but I do not advocate this whatsoever! After all, you're making baby's food because you want the best nutrition and health for your little one; why take a risk by freezing in jars? There are glass jars on the market that are specifically manufactured for freezing and those jars should pose no hazards at all.

from http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/how/freeze/containers.html
Regular glass jars break easily at freezer temperatures. If using glass jars, choose wide mouth dual purpose jars made for freezing and canning. These jars have been tempered to withstand extremes in temperatures. The wide mouth allows easy removal of partially thawed foods. If standard canning jars (those with narrow mouths) are used for freezing, leave extra headspace (page 210) to allow for expansion of foods during freezing. Expansion of the liquid could cause the jars to break at the neck. Some foods will need to be thawed completely before removal from the jar.

personally, i did use glass bottles to freeze my BM in the beginning. But i ran out of glass bottles so had to invest in milk bags, then i stopped freezing the glass bottles.
I would pump into the glass bottles and store in the fridge for the day then any excess at the end of the day i would transfer to the milk bag and freeze.

i used blue egg brand of milk bags, a lot of mummies also using lanisoh brand

Joyce,
U're so slim! Wow..That's great! Baby is so chubby and cute..!!

Babe,
Agreed with ur comments that it's serious maddness. How long would u be away? I'm just glad that I have a lot of hands to help me at home. My big headache will come when my boy goes to P1 next year. Don't know if I have time for him or not.

Pauline,
That's why there are some relef teachers whom I know, will only do relief. Jaga kids for a few hours. Then 1 pm, can go home and be with their kids.

Babe/blackbatz, "adhoc kind where you go in to jaga pri kids". Exactly the type I'm looking for lor but the nearest primary school don't want me and I'm too lazy to look for the farther ones. Wait till after first trimester bah.

Joyce, wa, pretty slim mummy and round and chubby baby son. How could you even think about aborting your cute little darling? ;P

I used Similac glass bottles which I bought from a mummy. No problem using it to freeze but must make sure it's only 70% full. Subsequently, I did use milk bags. Anyway, when she started drinking more, then all frozen stock gone. Hee.

Blackbatz, which level you teaching? So still in the line? Geez..dunno is it I take up appt holder and can't reconcile the fact I have little time with my kids...away till end of year and see how...not very good for development but what to do?

Anyone wants milkbags? I got some to sell. 2 boxes of lansinoh and 1 box of avent milk bags..

Middle level. Everyday tread water. Cos I mid-career, that's why avoid appt right from the beginning. Somehow, some stuff will still come to u cos of EPMS. For u, it's quite tricky.

How old is your gal? What classes is she attending now?

So many threads to catch up. Mia for so long cos Javin was hospitalised due to lung infection. Initially was down with persistant fever then cough and flu. After 4 days his fever still dun go down so brought him to PD instead of GP. X ray found that he has got lung infection got be to hospitalised immed.

ill need to give him nebuliser 2 times a day. Luckily now he is recovering well but so and i've got the virus as well. Coughing like mad and nose completely blocked!

QQ,
your uncle is the owner of irodori restaurant at river view hotel?

who is yr uncle? I was just there for dinner today and met one of the directors by the name of Dennis.

Good morning...
It's monday again. Last night I feel nauseous (not preg), but like tummy uncomfortable. This am again.. Dunno isit ate something wrong.