(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

qq,

The thermal magic cooker can use to cook porridge too?? Just boil for 5 mins and put into magic cooker then porridge will be ready???

Jess,

Saw the pics at marina barrage. Is it fun??

Stayed over at the Ibis Hotel last weekend cos Hubby booked it at a great discount. Cannot cook porridge so i bought a tin of Nestle rice cereal for Jayden. I wonder how come the rice cereal taste sweet. Anyone tasted it before??

Marina barrage is fun. Javier enjoyed himself very much.... water is clean ba i guess. my hubby say it is newater.. heehee... except for the water play area, which is quite big, there is actually nth much there liaoz. there is no nursary room as well.

Mei, go by ECP then exit at marina south. from there, there will be signboards to guide u there...

Xavier had been falling down pretty often. sigh. Now he is having cough and slight fever, i hope it is not due to the "barugu" he got yesterday when he played with daddy..

Wanna ask those mummies who still use Avent Teats, are u still using number 4 teat? That is the largest and fastest teats right? I find that Xavier suck too slowly, I wonder if I should just cut the holes or just have to teach him how to suck from cup instead.

icy
few weeks ba, javier also falls down quite often until his lips got cut and bleed.... total is 3 times bleeding. then the same period he also having slight cough and fever.. maybe it is a passing stage?? just monitor closely will do.. dun worry

wendy,
I tried variable flow.. He can sense it is different kind of "flow" or suction?? He don;t really like it, he would just use his mouth and just suck at the end tip of the teat.. so werid. Maybe he need to get more use to it.

Jess,
I just bring him to the doc yesterday, seemed like he even cough more after medication. I also hope it is passing stage.. just 3 days, he fell and hit 3x.. twice on a single sat. He still wobbly when walking.. like drunk. haha

Mandy yes yes .... can ... cook for 5 mins and put in magic cooker must add more water if not will turn out to be rice heehee

haha. ya, 2 days ago i brought javier to my grandma place.. all my uncles also say he like drunken baby. once they are more stable, i believe it will be fine.

for me, after see doc, i never give medicine so regularly unless really require. cos my hubby dun like to give him med. he say no good. so unless really need to then i give. anyway, recently weather also bad. just make sure he wears more when it rains.... u take gd care too k

avent teats got 6 hole de right? i thought i saw it ... btw TT use 4 hole b4 and i add cereal in her milk so is quite small i use forks to poke the teats ... now i am using bfree bottles

my girl is having so much prob with FM!! since i weaned her off BM, she has tried:

1) Nan - too heaty for her, lips always very red and fall sick often
2) Mamil - not too heaty and poo was good but very sweet and she doesn't drink much but want to drink lots of water instead
3) Enfagrow - constipated, everyday poo only rabbit poo

sigh...how? any feedback on Friso, IQGain?
any mummies tried goat's milk?

dunno if i try all the different FM on the market whether can even find a suitable on or not

ANy body has new receipes.

My boy been taking marcroni,porriage and ceral so far? And bottled jar desserrt.

ANy new receipes to share like pasta, mee suah or something ah?

wendyg, how come I cant talk to anyone at Dr Joycelyn' clinic? I left message but waited for whole day nobody calls me back??!! do you have another number can share with me please. ;)

Mom2nat: i am still BF. Thinking of weaning her off soon with my hubby' support. I am not strong enough to wean her off by myself. ;))

Fern,
Sometimes I'll make steam egg with minced meat/fish and veg and mixed with rice or plain porridge for my boy. He likes it
Similar to chawan mushi.

This weekend I'll try making steamed tofu patties with fish/meat & vege for my boy. Just mash up tofu and mix with all other ingredients, shape into small patties and steam.

Anyway, does anyone know if those egg tofu from supermarkets can be kept in the fridge after opening? Suppose I only need to use half of it today, can still keep the balance in fridge for a few days??

Yvonne,

Yes, okay. But you have to soak the tofu in water, fully covered by water and put in the fridge. And if you can remember, change the water everyday.

QQ
Where to buy the thermal magic pot? I'd also like to cook soups with it altho rylee's kinda off porridge now.

Grumpus
Why don't u try giving fresh milk instead of FM to Lexie now?

Godsent
I tried searching but seems that lotsa places selling only mr men cd instead of vcd/dvd...will let u know again

Been absent here for a while...sorry if I missed out any questions to me. Busy watching Gossip Girl Season 2 when Rylee naps during the day :p, anyone else a fan?

RE: Stubborn Tot

Ian has been more stubborn lately. The more you asked him not to, the more he purposely aggravate you. Ugh.

For instance, he kept dropping things off his high chairs and demanding us to pick, then dropped them again. I smacked his palm, explained not to drop the stuffs yet he continue.

this age is like that one la. Wait until they're 3yo and then PURPOSELY do things that make u scream, then u will think "1yo he was so cute, why now become so naughty".
1yo: experimenting with Cause & Effect
2-4yo: testing their boundaries

i always hv the hope that my elder one will turn to be an angel one fine day.. when when when!?!?!? Then i realise that actually... he was such a lovely angel when he was a newborn, up to... 2yo! =))

<font color="aa00aa">Cheryl,</font>

Sighz, gets on my nerves sometimes. I also tell myself to be patient and explained to him nicely but sometimes it's hard, especially when it seems he's trying to rile me!

<font color="aa00aa">wendyg,</font>

I don't think they understand cause &amp; effect at this time. Now I already think before he was 1 year old, he was so adorable, now still adorable but got naughty streaks!

mylvera
that's why i also scared of having #3... imagine having to go thru it ALL OVER AGAIN... I had a positive mindset that he would be a TERRIFIC TWO year old, but no ley.. thank God for my husband o'wise i would've smacked him to death. His death or my death, i dunno...

violet
yes la he's checking out Cause &amp; Effect.
"hey, what will happen if i let go of this toy from here (my high chair)? Will it make a sound? Can i still see it? What does it look like on the ground from up here? Will mummy give a shout &amp; smack me again?"

just don't pick up the toy for him when u're tired of it. If he makes noise, release him fr the high chair &amp; let him get it himself. O'wise, implement a rule: no toys during makan time. He may make noise, but it's a habit to break. When he's 2yo, he will eat without bringing toys to the table.

my #2 will go up to my TV .. press the switch button.. b4 release it, turn ard n look at us, even if we say "NO NO" he will jz turn back to tv n release the switch n run towards the remote control n try to on the tv again ..

u mite find it cute, but if u r watching smtg or serials tat is at the PEAK, u will scream!! haha so i guess wendy is right abt cause n effect :p

violet
been there, done that. So i still maintain, they're the BEST when they're newborn.. can't move, can't talk.. only eat and sleep... fantastika!!

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/development/05mth/#8

Learning about cause and effect

Your baby's ability to interact with you, others, and her surroundings is growing daily. At this stage, she may start playing little games as she begins to understand that simple actions have results. She may drop objects just to watch you pick them up, or to see how and where they fall. Tiring as it sounds, you'd better get used to it. In a few weeks, this will be accompanied by fits of giggles.

violetIce,
Like what wendyg said, they're testing their boundaries and our limits! The trick is NOT to tell them don't do it becos they'll only do it more if we say no. Let them drop the item and pick up for them once or twice. If they continue, just act as though you didn't see it and don't pick it up, don't give them an angry face too. Once they realised they're not getting any attention (whether negative or positive), they'll get bored and stop doing it. Alternatively, distract them and lead them to another activity.

All these theory stuff really works. I used to get angry and tell my boy not to do certain things...but it rarely works. Now I'll just ignore him when he does these things. If you notice, they are always waiting to see what kind of reaction they'll get from us...so no reaction equals no fun and they'll do something else...heehee.

mylvera
no it's not cute. Tobey press the computer on/off/on/off until the button got stuck inside the CPU and my husband had a fit when he returned home that evening. He had to dismantle the whole CPU to fix the button. I already told him to get a TV console with doors (at least we can put child lock on the doors), but he dun listen to me, say dun look nice. Then he blame my dad for not preventing him to press the button. I tell u, now he's not just pressing the CPU button, he's also pressing the amplifier button, DVD button etc. My dad thought if the main switch is off, it's ok to let Tobey press. So my husband blame my dad lor. sianzzzz

violetice
is indeed getting on our nerve loh....
sometime he will just throw his temper, cry cry non stop. not becos he is hungry or sleepy. cos we dun wanna give him the food he wan.... tell him nicely he also cry n cry

wendyg,
Hahaha....buttons are a big thing to them! My boy will press all the buttons/switches and whatever he can find in the house! We block off the TV console with his toy box, coffee table, etc so that he can't reach the buttons. But I give him lots of sound books and he loves pressing the buttons to hear the animal sounds, etc.

When we went to my bro's house last weekend, the first thing he "aimed" was my bro's big TV with all the BUTTONS! Headed straight in that direction...aiyo!

buttons, tables, window grills and even my sofa is a "big thing" to my sons ... both can play with buttons, climb tables n window grills or even to the extent of biting my sofa! well ...wat to do? mummy no $ buy them food .. must bite sofa to get food haha

vernon also like to press all the button he can reach... tv on/off button lol... now he like to climb up chair and table.. he even sit down on a mini stool den get up den trying to stand on the stool...

he also like to take thing n throw....

wendyg

he already ate 1 small bowl of it liao leh... he still wan more wor. den hor his milk time is reaching ma... 8pm his milk time. 7plus my MIL feed him the food. but he wan MORE wor....

Cheryl,
Actually they throw tantrums becos they can't tell us what they want. Quite poor thing also...imagine if we want something but can't communicate with others, it'll be very frustrating. That's why our kids will cry and get angry becos they can't speak well yet. After he has cooled down, try asking him to point to you or lead you to the thing he wants.

<font color="aa00aa">mylvera,</font>

Can imagine the on/off tv when watching shows.

<font color="aa00aa">wendyg,</font>

The best is over.

<font color="aa00aa">Yvonne,</font>

Actually has has finished dinner but we're eating outside thus placed him on a high chair and gave him his book and toy. Or else will keep arh arh arh to ask us to feed him our food. I tried to ignore him and refused to pick up the stuffs but he will screamed the restaurant down.