(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam,
Nowadays he usually sleep through without waking up. When he does, it’s usually becos he can’t find his pacifier. I’ll just find it and give it to him. If he doesn’t lie down after finding his pacifier, I’ll give him a few sips of water and he’ll lie down to sleep. I don’t carry or pat him cos I don't want to break the routine. IF he cries and wants me to carry, I’ll just give him a hug without carry him out and tell him he’s a good boy and he can sleep on his own, then say goodnight again and help him to lie down. He’ll get the message after a while and go back to sleep.

Is Hao Re waking up a lot at night? It could be due to his molar...read that the molars take a long time to cut through the gums and creates the most discomfort. Probably try massaging some teething gel on his gums? Late night wakings are usually die to teething.

Wendyg,
Exactly, I told my bro the renovation and deco is very nice but when they have a baby, everything becomes impractical…hahaha. Ok lah, they’re still young, can enjoy the nice house for a couple of years first.

Yvonne,

Thanks. Yes, Hao Re has been waking up 2-3 times every night recently. For the last 2 weeks, he has been sleep through without waking up only once. He doesn't need milk, but he does drink a lot of water, not sure if he is really that thirsty or drinking water gives him the comfort. Then when I am lucky, he falls asleep almost immediately after drinking water. On a bad night, he wants me to carry and doesn't let me sit down, have to walk around, and only sleeps again after 15-30min. Can be so tiring and actually annoys me sometime (but yet can't scold him cos my boy also very poor thing, can't sleep well). I try to talk to him and ask him what's wrong with him etc etc (but don't expect he wil give me an answer lah). I hope that it's due to teething??? But I am not sure. Cos if we let him co-sleep with us, 9 out of 10 times, he won't wake up at all :) Co-sleep seems to solve all my problems! And putting him to bed nowadays is also the thing I scare the most everyday, sigh.....

<font color="ff0000">GATHERING WITH MYLIFE and Little Rylee!</font>
Date: 10th Apr Good Friday (i.e. public holiday) or 11th Apr Sat?
Venue: Go Go Bambini http://www.gogobambini.com/promotions
Time: after 1pm.

Child 2-11 yrs = S$15 for 2 hrs play (not unlimited cos it's public holiday)
Child <2 = S$5 unlimited play
Adult = Free (finally!! we are free!!)
Discount applies to cardholders: ntuc ufamily, popular card, ocbc cda acct, anza card, passion card and twin-plus (i.e siblings but only wkdays).

Interested mummies:
01) mylife - 10th/11th ok. Anytime 1pm-8pm.
02) valencia - weekend (my jan08 contact list no your contact. can u pm me details?)
03) luvv - 10th ok
04) grumpus - 10th/11th ok
05) angelsky - depending on which days
06) blessed serene - 10th ok. 11th after 1pm ok.
07) VioletIce - Saturdays
08) mei - 10th ok. 11th after 3pm.
09) cheryl - 10th/11th ok. 12pm or 1pm
10) dorothoy - 11th ok. 12pm or 1pm
11) icy - tbc
12) ylim - 10th tbc
13) babynikkiong - 10th/11th ok
14) kitsune - 10th ok after 3pm.
15) sg_audrey - 10/11th ok. (i don't have your contact details in Jan08 contact list. can you pm me details? tks)
16) elmo_78 - 10/11th ok
17) mom2nat - 10th tbc
18) mcfluffy - tbc
19) godsent - tbc
20) QQ - 10th ok. 11th ok.
21)

Kam,
yah, I let him sleep with us a few days last week cos' he was having a bad flu and cough. Our pillow is higher so helps him to clear the airway. But I had to let him cry a few times after that becos he demanded to come to our bed when he woke up in the middle of the night. We just kept telling him "no more sleeping with mummy and daddy" after he recovered. Gotta keep to the routine otherwise he'll get confused and thought waking up at night equals sleeping with us in the bed...no no no.

If you start to co-sleep with Hao Re now, what's going to happen after #2 arrives?? Daddy co-sleeps with him and you sleep with #2? Whatever the arrangement, just have to make sure it's consistent so Hao Re doesn't feel left out or abandoned after #2 arrives. Otherwise, you have to seriously start thinking whether you want to sleep-train him now cos' it'll be easier on everyone with #2. Actually all the sleep problems stems from the same root. You don't have to use CIO method, any method will do as long as the results are the same ie. they learn to soothe themselves to sleep.

Yvonne,

Thanks for your kind advice. In fact, I am trying very hard to make him sleep better. Like changing his bed routine, buy new sleepwears, making sure he doesn't feel too cool or too hot, etc...... but yet to find a solution. I am very tempted (though doubt I will actually do) to use the CIO method, but hubby strongly objects to it. There were actually a few times he soothed himself to sleep in the middle of the night, so it's not all bad (have to think positively). So for now, we will continue co-sleeping with him until he can sleep through without waking up for a stretch of 2-3 weeks (to confirm there is nothing wrong with him physically, eg, teething, and that the bedroom environment is okay for him), then move him back to his cot again. We haven't planned yet what to do when #2 arrives. For now, my priority is to let him sleep well, and so I can sleep well, and don't get too tired. He rejects hubby at night, so hubby couldn't help also.

mei, ask you huh, how you intend to feed your number 2.

My number 2 eat only home cooked and not interested in outside food.

I would like to clear my baby toys/ baby equipment, how much u think i can sell these:
1. evenflo exersaucer
2. fisher price walker
3. leapfrog activity table
4. Mama love baby cot
5. Philip baby monitor
6. jane activa baby highchair

all are in mint condition, like brand new...
Any idea? ;)

mylife...any idea whether we can bring small amount of rice there or can we buy a small small packet of rice there....or got sell loose amount in wet market

my hotel there got wet market

enemum,
mine? mine can accept nestle brown rice. and milk. and bread. and rice.

u intend to cook ur own for #2? read that thermos can "cook" rice into porridge (but still got grains). u can try.

wendyg

Shhhhh. Hubby wants to buy new toys for her so I need to clear all these old stuffs.

eNemum (bluerose)

My girl also like that. Only eat home-cooked. ;( Bring her outside sure she will bring her empty stomach home. ;(
i also dont know what to do. But when i bring her out, i will not bring her any food, maybe she can get mummy' signal in the near future? if dont eat, means no food???

My boy just rejected his cereal last night
He's more interested in our food and threw a tantrum when I fed him his cereal instead of our rice. Had no choice but to give him rice with some fried egg which he happily ate half a bowl. Probably he knows my mum cooked nasi lemak and smelled the fried chicken...kekeke!

mei, lucky you huh....at least yours still eat other food....

the thermos, i tot must still cook over fire before pour into it?

dunno whether to get a slow cooker.

blessedbaby, our babies can be good friends...can troublesome

or ask my MIL whether he eat cereal that she prepare. He dun eat my cereal lor..only home cooked porridge...not greedy at all...now also dun like biscuit...strange boy

kam, i think haore is teething. my boy also woke up at night but then he woke up at about 5am ( usually 7am+) and fuss. we think he was teething, and it's confirmed, as his molars are out. out of 4 molars, his 3 molars have erupted.

btw, any lobang for carpentry works?

I need to have a new cabinet under my basin in the master bedroom....but project so small...no one want to do

tongtong,

I wanted to feel or see if he is teething. But he doesn't open his mouth for me to see. And he refuses to let my finger in to feel also. How?

You went back to KL last weekend? We went to JB, already on BKE, very close to the custom, then I realised, oh no, forgot to pump, our fuel tank was almost empty. We were so lucky, cos there was an officer checking the fuel tank at the lane next to our lane, luckily no one checking at our lane, phew!

my lovely baby, knows how to get his way now..
Sundays we hv dinner @ my granny's. We were at home waiting for husband to pick us up. i had packed some basic stuff to bring over - diaper, cereal etc, and standby the bag @ dining area while i go &amp; change clothes. When i emerged fr the room, Tobey crawled to me &amp; gestured for me to pick him up. Then he said 'byebye' to my dad who was @ my place. And then he strained towards the main door.. wants to leave now!
Same thing happened @ my granny's place. After dinner i was enjoying some fruits with #1. Tobey was actually playing with my aunts, but he crawled to me, wanted to be carried, then said byebye to everyone.

So now my baby will dictate what time we leave the house, what time to go home etc. *faintz*

question
Frasers Hill or Cameron Highlands - which would u go and for how many days? what's good to do there? Any recommendation for accomodation?

enemum,
i also thot so but some mummies tried putting the rice grains and hot boiling water inside and cover immed to cook it. it works leh. u try.

kam, i always ask myson to open his mouth and he will open :p or i will play with him when he is hapy he will open his mouth big big, then you can try to see . anyway, if he is still drooling a lot that means he is going to have his molars. my boy drools big time, after the molars are out, no more bibs!! but then if he started to drool again, meaning new teeth coming out.

kam, wah!! must be very exciting and "adventurous" for your trip back to jb hahah! yea i went back to KL but i took train la hehe.

tongtong,

he stopped drooling after the 8th teeth (never put on bibs since then). After 2 months or so, he starts drooling on and off again till now. I will try again to see/feel if any teeth erupted.

wendyg,

Haha, Tobey's smart! Hao Re's signal that he want so leave the house is brings his shoes to us and asks us to put on for him, then point to the door :)

I never been to Fraser's but I grew up in Cameron :) But I don't know what to recommend, cos I always stay with my relatives and the usual activities are visit relative and eat, eat and eat. Farm visit could be fun.

eNeMum,

My boy eats everything. Recently loves bread the most. Once he sees bread, definitely ask for it. Can finish 1 slice of bread very fast. Just plain bread will do for him. Fruits is his all time favourite, also any fruit, sweet, sour, everything. He still eats his bland porridge, cereal and adult food. Very very greedy eater, which I take it as good thing :)

You can try to give him different type/brand of cereal. I personally like the Nestle oat cereal with prune, very nice taste. This one is sweet. Or try the rice cereal with ikan bilis, that one is more to the porridge taste. You son may like either of these, than make your trip much easier, can't imagine if you have to drag a slow cooker along, with 2 kids some more.

Yvonne, my gal rejecting her cereals too. Nearly every mouthful, she will make the vomiting sound, don't know why. But she has been happily eating the Happy bellies cereals for 1 month plus leh. Sianz...

Kam, my gal also woke up crying a few times last night. At 1:45am when she cried again (transferred to cot by then), I fed just water instead of milk and she eye big big look at me. When I tried transferring her to cot again, she cry and cry. I tried ignoring her for 10 minutes also no use, so went back to her room, closed the door, carry her, put down and lie on the sofa bed in the her room while she continue wailing. In the end, hubby cannot take it, ask me to feed her milk since her last feed was 9+pm. After feeding milk, hubby carried her and sat in living room, when she fall asleep then transfer back to cot. Sigh. I also thinking whether to try CIO method. :p

Wendy, Kam, my gal will wake me up by pulling my shirt near the shoulder and take my specs and pass to me then put her arms on my shoulder so that I carry her out to the living room. If I play dead then she'll throw tantrum. :p

Enemum, I have a small takahi slow cooker (can only cook for one). If I'm going travelling, I will bring because you can dump the rice, water and ingredients in to cook in the morning or the night before, come back to hotel 3-4 hours later, the porridge is done. If you want the porridge done faster eg. 1 hr time, just put in freshly boiled water. No need to watch over the stove cos slow cooker never boil over = peace of mind.

wendyg,
Same for my boy, he will wave bye bye to everyone when he wants to leave the place. He will also make us carry him to the door and point to the lift. He used to struggle when we put on his shoes but now, he will quickly bring his shoes to me when I say it's time to gai gai.

eNemum,
Envy ah...he's so greedy to the point that when he sees his porridge, he wants to eat it NOW! Cannot wait for me to blow and bring down the temperature. So scared that I'll eat it…hahaha!

kitsune,
It's time to "buang" the cereal and give them our food...hahaha! My in-laws will give him cereal for breakfast and they haven't commented anything to us so probably he's still willing to eat it in the mornings. During weekends he'll get cheerios with milk or scrambled eggs for breakfast and porridge/pasta/etc for lunch and dinners. I only give him cereal for dinner when the food my mum prepares on sunday nights are not suitable for him. Guess he knows grandma's a good cook so he don't want to miss out anthing

Yvonne, but I still got 3 tins of unopened Happy bellies cereals (2 oatmeal, 1 brown rice) and 2 tins of opened, half finished multigrain cereals leh. Sianz...

kitsune
hi i can take over from u =) what's your price?

nez
aiya jussnow i forgot to transfer the $$ to u.. will email to u when i'm done ok.. sorri ah.

kitsune, i also have theat slow cooker....but spoil liao...now i used the pot to cook porridge.

you mean that happy bellies cereal very yummy one ah

eNemum, it has probiotics and DHA and not availabl at NTUC, giant etc. Can buy at selected stores eg. Vitakids or else buy from overseas sprees. I bought 6 tins at one go last time when my colleague bulk order from Vitakids cos must combine forces to get free delivery. Now, she don't want to eat, waste my effort. :p

When I use the pot to cook porridge, it find that it's not as nuah and smooth. My gal prefers the slower cooker cooked porrige.

i use the pot to cook over fire for 5 mins....cover and go do my marketing...come back...boil again so that i can put my meat or fish inside....very the smooth type leh...like buy from downstairs type

enemum
wow sounds good, what brand &amp; size, how much u paid, where u bought it?!?!?!?!
u said "do your mktg".. how long do u take? 1hr?

re slow cooker pot to cook porridge. my slow cooker also semi-died. so i tried using the pot from the slow cooker to cook porridge today. wow.. the porridge is the nuah nuah smooth smooth kind, results is same as cooking in a slow cooker. i guess is the ceramic that nuahs the rice??? *shrugs* any scientist can explain... why cook in metal pot, not as nuah n smooth?

windy
oh, u put the ceramic portion of the slow cooker over open fire to cook the porridge? How long did u take?

are we talking abt white rice porridge here... tobey eats brown rice porridge..

I think ceramic pot retains heat better?? I use claypot when cooking porridge for the whole family. Just boil for 15mins then turn off fire and let it stand covered for 15mins. Turn on fire again, add in fish/meat/veg/egg when it starts boiling and porridge is ready in another 5 mins. Also nuah nuah soft type.

luca,
I don't give my boy carrots cos my in-laws cook for him nearly everyday during weekdays! PD commented he's a little "yellow" from all the carrots...hahaha! I try to give him more "greens" during weekends.

<font color="ff0000">GATHERING WITH MYLIFE and Little Rylee!</font>
Date: 10th Apr Good Friday (i.e. public holiday) or 11th Apr Sat?
Venue: Go Go Bambini http://www.gogobambini.com/promotions
Time: after 1pm.

Child 2-11 yrs = S$15 for 2 hrs play (not unlimited cos it's public holiday)
Child <2 = S$5 unlimited play
Adult = Free (finally!! we are free!!)
Discount applies to cardholders: ntuc ufamily, popular card, ocbc cda acct, anza card, passion card and twin-plus (i.e siblings but only wkdays).

Interested mummies:
01) mylife - 10th/11th ok. Anytime 1pm-8pm.
02) valencia - weekend (my jan08 contact list no your contact. can u pm me details?)
03) luvv - 10th ok
04) grumpus - 10th/11th ok
05) angelsky - depending on which days
06) blessed serene - 10th ok. 11th after 1pm ok.
<font color="aa00aa">07) VioletIce - Saturdays - No preference in timing</font>
08) mei - 10th ok. 11th after 3pm.
09) cheryl - 10th/11th ok. 12pm or 1pm
10) dorothoy - 11th ok. 12pm or 1pm
11) icy - tbc
12) ylim - 10th tbc
13) babynikkiong - 10th/11th ok
14) kitsune - 10th ok after 3pm.
15) sg_audrey - 10/11th ok. (i don't have your contact details in Jan08 contact list. can you pm me details? tks)
16) elmo_78 - 10/11th ok
17) mom2nat - 10th tbc
18) mcfluffy - tbc
19) godsent - tbc
20) QQ - 10th ok. 11th ok.
21)

my javier boy is having high fever this afternoon at 40 degrees. Went to see the GP and got ibuprofen - orange color medication. Doc stuff a bullet into his asshole. Also got throat infection, so taking antibiotics too. My mum let him take ling yang with milk. anyone does tat? Now the fever subside...hopefully, will not come back later in the night.

His scheduled injection for on thurs...should I go ahead to postpone it? it is the 2nd dose of pneumococcal and MMR dose bah.

hi wendyg
ya i use the ceremic part to cook. takes abt 15-20min of cooking for the nuah-ness to happen.

BUT HOR! i think my pot is the lousy cheap kind. today after cooking over open fire... IT PASSED AWAY.. the bottom cracked n came off! heng it tahan until after dinner. if not.. i think my daughter got no patience for my careless mistakes, esp when mealtimes is concerned.

so... i need a better ceremic pot. grr.

verene
hmm.. sorry to hear abt javier having high fever. hope he gets well soon! i think shd postpone any booster jabs till he's well bah..

verene
hope u continued to give him the fever medicine every 4 or 6 hourly, coz fevers tend to spike at night.

his upcoming injection... can postpone la. maybe when he's well for about 1wk or so, then reschedule. MMR powerful jab (imo)!

windy
go robinsons expo sale to see any good buys? i know there are $20 frying pans..

Windy, only those ceramic pot that has special instructions for 'high heat' can be cooked over the stove. I have a bigger slow cooker (more exp one) where I can take out the ceramic pot to cook over the stove.