(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Qns: How long does ur kid takes to fall asleep? How do u make them sleep?

My boy will flip here n there, stand up n down till tired before he fall asleep, by then im almost dozing off oredy..

mei
we don't go out that much. 1 pram enuf liao. normally we only go out before/ after #1's nap. He naps at home. Currently i carry #2 for naps, except for Sunday morning in church where he can nap in the pram coz gorgor is in Sunday class.

luca
my phone is samsung innov8.

if my baby is tired, he can fall asleep within 5-10min. If not tired, then i'll let him play until he's tired. I latch him on to sleep. Daytime my dad rocks him to sleep

wendy,

No need to fight lah, priority goes to Hammies, cos she asked first mah. I am on the waiting list :)

Luca,

My boy also took longer and longer time to fall asleep. Used to be within 15min. These few weeks I'm really struggling. He doesn't want to sleep though he is already very tired. Now takes at least 30min or longer. After finishing his milk, play, flip, stand up, want to go out, poke my face (eye, nose, mouth, ear), cry, scream....... And he used to be fall asleep on his own. Now want me to carry him and fall asleep on my arms. But then hor, he is able to sleep through the night already (though sometime wakes up for water or want to be carry for comfort) for a few months, so I really shouldn't complain much :)

Thinking of changing his bedtime routine this weekend. Plan to read a book to him after his milk feed and put on soothing musics. See how lor, not sure wil become better or worse, just gonna try :)

kam,
same. younger been wanting me to carry her sleep these few nights and once i put her down, she cries. she can sleep by herself during daytime.

= ( bully me.

Kam,
all along u dun have a stroller?
I find it hard to make my boy sleep as he gets older.. sigh..last time he can sleep on his own in the playpen, but now he takes even longer time to fall asleep on my single bed.

Wendy,
so nice that ur bb can sleep so easily.

morning mummies

all along, i dont have stroller leh...
go out everytime sling him. i know its exhausting for us, but i rather sling him than to lug a stroller along.
my stroller not branded (kolcraft), but its very lightweight and no frills...more for toddlers to sit that kind...i used it like 5 times until now.

FYI...abt avent VIA storage cups!

LeMonT (lemont)
Username: lemont

Post Number: 215
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 3:28 am:

Dear Mummies/ MTB,

Recently I had a VERY BAD encounter with Philips Singapore’s Customer Service regarding AVENT VIA Storage Cups.

I bought a lot of AVENT products during the OG 20% sales in Jan’09. I gave birth on 13 Jan & then started to use the product somewhere there then. One of the item I bought was the VIA Cups 240ml/8oz & 160ml/6oz bundle of 10 each in the box. The first few 6oz cups that I used have no leakage. Few days ago, I used one of the 8oz. I was surprised that it leak so I checked the cup. There was a needle hold at the mouth of the cup. The rest of the 9 cups also have the same problem. I believed this is the plastic molding defect. So I called Philips Singapore to check whether I can exchange the unused cups as I can’t use a defect item to store my BM & for sterilization.

The CSO who attended to me was Michael. He gave me a string of questions & asked for my receipt. I told him that I had thrown away the receipt. The stupidest thing is he even asked me how to spell the product. I told him that’s his product & he should know what that is. I already told him the remaining 9 cups are new & untouched, yet he kept asking me how many times have I used & where did I store it. Obviously unused items are in the box! He said with no receipt, there is nothing they can do as it is proof of purchase. He even suggested me going back to OG to reprint the receipt. I told him this is OG not any small shop that can trace backdated receipt. All he kept saying is “No receipt, they can’t recognize the item.”

I was angry as the product defect is due to the manufacture’s fault & in the end it become at the expenses of us, the consumer, I can’t even exchange the product.

I demanded to speak to his manager. His manager, Aaron Tan, again asked a lot of questions & said the same thing to me. He kept saying the service centre do not warranty items without receipt & it is very difficult to convince the service centre of the defect. When I asked him, “How do u warranty a plastic cup?” he did not answered my question & keep talking about the receipt. He also asked me did I check the product when I purchase. Items were all in box & sealed. Was it possible for us to check before buying??? Once open, its considered sold, isn’t it??

Here, I would like to emphasize that what if it was a gift? Do people buy gifts for others & leave the receipt in it? There is no flexibility in the way they deal with defect products. AVENT is AVENT from Philips, is there any imitation? If no, y can’t we exchange the defect products? If I had used it even if it was the manufacture’s fault, I will not ask for an exchange. But now, it is untouched, moreover, it is not cheap. Average per cup is $1.50. If there is no QC assurance on AVENT products, are we the consumers still able to trust them? For all we know, we will be buying defect products WITHOUT assurance & no exchange policy.

I am very upset & disappointed with the way they treat consumers who trust them. They breach my trust on their products. Therefore, please check all items from Philip Singapore if you are to purchase in future, keep the receipt as you may not know they sell defect items. My advise, best is don’t buy anything from them as the customer service or service centre have very bad way of treating the consumer.

For me, I will never trust them again. Never, again!

Janbb,
caring for baby is easier than our active toddler. Talk abt bonding with #1...so sad..my #1 will stick to MIL & my hubby more since now i don't co-sleep with Zander. Only chance to bond is over the wkends cos wkdays he is staying over with PILs. Even on wkends, my time usually taken up caring for #2, bath him, pump, latch, do hsework(laundry) & prepare porridge for #1...no time to sit & play with #1 ah...time just flew past...n now #2 crying...gotta get busy again!

wendy, what happened to ur frend before she was admitted? passed out?

luca: on falling asleep, it depends, sometimes will zz after milk, sometimes will flip around for >10min stillcant fall asleep then we put him in yaolan and very fast, within 2 or 3 minutes zz liao.

mei,

I think the brand is "1st Baby" or something. One of the cheapest available at Kiddy Palace at that time :) Hubby said no point invest in an expensive one.

Steph,

So far with Hao Re, I feel it's easier to take care of him now compared to when he was a young baby. Don't know, maybe when I have 2 kids, I'll change my mind.

tongtong
my colleague. she was at her desk, resting her head in her arms. She dun look well... pale. Went to staff lounge to rest on sofa, felt cold even tho wearing jacket, ask for blanket. Felt chest tighten.
As she has family history of heart attack, the company doc felt it was safer to send her to hosp A&E.

wendy,
yeah, the crying it out method.

tongtong,
my boy also sleeps in yaolan durin the day, but he refuses to sleep in it at night. Anyway i dun wana rely too much on yaolan, feel he'll grow out of it 1 day.
Do u take him out of the yaolan after he fell asleep?

Tongtong, I also need to feed my gal milk first, then she'll flip and flip, poke me then fall asleep. We usually switch off all the lights in the bedroom so that she doesn't have distractions. In the middle of the night when she wake up, then I feed water or sometimes milk or just hug her and see if she can sleep. RaeAnne woke up at 4+am, feed milk, then at 6+am with poo in diaper, so much that it stained her long pants, luckily never stain my bed. Wash up again, after that, she had hard time falling asleep. Slept at 7+am and woke up at 9am. I'm so tired today but luckily today my mum is here cos hubby is out servicing the car so I can stil check forum. Ya, I like being a SAHM so far.

my boy also slp in yaolan during the day.. but only weekend or when PH... nite time will be put in yaolan til he deep slp den carry down to mattress

I am thinking of putting my boy in childcare next year. Can mummies advise me what are the things I need to look out for when looking for a childcare centre.

<font color="ff0000">THE BOY WHO CRIED WOLF show</font>
any mummy bringing their kid (>2yrs) to watch? each tix is S$18 excluding sistic fee. family package applies.

serene,
agree with cheryl. they get sick very often but also gd as it said to build up immune system.

1. location = convenience? to u? to caregiver?
2. environment = airy? aircon? windows? clean?
3. price = when last increase price? any rebates?
4. track record
5. teacher ratio

most impt, u comfortable, boy comfortable. others dun matters.

serene
get recommendation from parents, read forums. I read my Punggol.sg forum for some input, narrowed my search to a few centres &amp; walked in to look see. Brought my boy along to let him preview. But i guess for benjamin, he may be too young to appreciate.
Sometimes u gotto take note, that the principals may not be 100% upfront about things. My fren's daughter's principal lied abt the number of HFMD cases of the childcare ctr. So i prefer to find out from parents who hv kids there. If zhun zhun u hv a friend or neighbour that u can interrogate, that's the best. O'wise u can turn to forums.. google the childcare ctr &amp; do your research.

i guess the main factors are your budget &amp; proximity to your home/ grandparents' home/ your workplace.

sigh. my elder no poo for EIGHT days. can u imagine. she no urgh no eat anything these EIGHT days. she only have milk milk milk. been coughing so bad that she simply refuses food.

already thin liao. now even thinner.

<font color="ff0000">THE BOY WHO CRIED WOLF show </font>
any mummy bringing their kid (>2yrs) to watch? each tix is S$18 excluding sistic fee. family package applies.

sorry, it's S$18 for wkdays, $20 for wkends. excluding sistic fee.

mei
me.. i'm selling mine $50. Dark blue one, dunno what brand. it's not assembled - all folded up. No cardboard box. Used few months 3yrs ago for my #1. Collect punggol.

cheryl/mei,

child get sick more often, is this across the board for all childcare centre? How to build up immune system?

wendy,
Friends that recommend me CC are near my home but I need to find a childcare that is near my current workplace if we are not shifting or my new workplace near newton MRT.

Currently benjamin is taken care by nanny and I feel that he is lonely with the nanny everyday also she is not that young so I find that a bit tedious for her as benjamin getting more demanding.

wendy,
she asked for dimension? color? condition? moulds? if u ok then u check it out. if u not ok to sell to her, nvm. it's ok one. no obligation.

sian
my company got retrenchment leh...ongoing...very sian....
and no kaki to tok to during work, cannot chat in SMH, very sian everyday

serene
where's your current workplace?
child get sick - yes it's true, even if put in expensive centre, landed property, non-aircon etc. i think only when they're maybe 3-4yo then incidence of falling sick reduces. My elder boy has been in cc since 18m. At 1st half day, then full day for 1yr+

mei
dimension: the normal playpen dimension lor. I dunno coz it's folded up la.
colour: dark blue
condition: fantastica. maybe 9/10? coz no cardboard box la.
mould: i gotto inspect it. get back to u.

Mummies, what do u think if you were in my shoes?
My sil' baby full month, she didn't inform me but her friends did. I wasn't invited to her bb full month.. then 4 days later, she came with 4 cupcakes from cedele and sent me a sms said that she didnt want to trouble me to go here and there coz I have logistic issue (I wasnt home at the time she came). (My hubby is not in town so as my ILs). Is it right to do so? I am very upset when I think of this. ;( My hubby told me to forget and forgive and yes, I did. But today I received the email from my MIL informed me that she has been talking to her and intend to go overseas to see her in next couple of months. I am here but she never visit us leh, she can drive and she has been bringing her new born out for meals.. So upset. so sorry to vain here.. later my hubby will be will be the one listens to my grumble.
Dun know if she is doing the right thing?????? For me, she wasnt..

mei,

I don't want to put near my parents &amp; in-law's place cos they are staying at jurong. Everyday ask me go up and down i cannot take it ar. Put at nanny's place I need to pay nanny and CC, double my expenses cannot also.

wendy,

My current workplace is at shaw tower. In this case, I should build up his immnue system now, what vitamins shld I give to him since he is still so young?