(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Windy, mylife, RaeAnne will bite too but maybe it's because her incisors are not out so she can't break open the foil opening so can see cannot drink. We also don't show her how to open using the straw lar.

U know, I've not been adding salt or soy sauce to her food. But that day, my mum was asking me when am I doing that till? I also don't have an answer. Any mummies with no. 2 can advise?

kitsune
i had to give up when he went to childcare @ 18m. Meals are prepared en mass. But if i could continue cooking for him all his meals and he gobbles everything up, i would hold off the seasoning as long as i could.

kitsune,
i've not been adding seasoning to my girl's food also, however, i'm already letting her take table food when we're outside. I.e. she takes what we takes.

re: supplement
i'm not supplementing my girl yet, am i suppose to do so already?

Wendy, thanks, oh ya, must also take CC into consideration. Those 4hr playgroup that I asked all provide snacks and lunch. Don't know how healthy the food is. :p

Luvv, I never supplement her also. :p

kitsune
they will say theirs is well balanced diet, no MSG. But i dun think they can guarantee no salt/ sugar added. U can ask them to show u their menu, or hang around during mealtimes - typically abt 11am or 11.30am. On his 1st day, I saw my boy's lunch @ his previous cc - porridge with chicken gravy. i thought "cham liao, he has such good food here, would he still want my yucky brown rice & veg & salmon & mushroom & tofu porridge??" Coz i just dumped everything in the slow cooker, regardless of how well the flavours blend or clash! But he had no problems & gobbled everything up (pre-cc days).
Current cc - they serve stuff like mee goreng, claypot rice, mui fan etc. Surely hv salt lor...

raeanne just woke up again, 1130pm then 130am. Dun know why wake up so often these few nights? :p

wendy, ya true, i remember i ask the teacher n she said they serve sandwiches, porridge, mee tai mak etc. Like u said, sure got salt lor. But i also dun want to be my gal always to be odd one out n eating her own food in cc next time. Maybe just pack an extra healthy snack or fruit bah. Or prepare bento once in a while. Ü

pauline,
yup, when our kids start school and eat the food provided in school sure will have salt and sugar added already.
but it's more a gradual thing as our kids get older. like currently my girl wants to eat everything we eat so i already let her snack on some of our food even though she's had her own dinner already. so she's already exposed to table food.
then sometimes i'm a bit lazy :p and if i'm cooking something simple for dinner like omelette or steamed fish, then she gets a bit of that for dinner instead of her own food.
or if we're out and ended up staying later than we intended then she has to eat dinner outside.
so eventually u'll find that she will be eating more of what u're eating and less of her specially prepared meals lor...

it should be a gradual switch and there's no fixed timeline, rather than like ok when she reaches 2yr old she will eat all the same food

kitsune,

My take is as long as I am the one who cook, I will not add any additive to the food (even for our own food, we put either no or very little salt), as long as my boy is willing to eat. But then at the same time, my boy has already been exposed to the outsite food, which is not necessary unhealthy, just to be cautioned that it's not too sweet or too salty. Somehow one day, they will have to get use to the "normal" food, unless you have the energy and time to cook separately for your kids many years down the road. I think most cc will have this in mind, no? For the infant care Hao Re is attending, I am very sure they don't add anything cos I tasted it several times before. But not quite sure about the food next door (the playgroup/nursery classes).

i think for childcare ctrs, if they dun put seasoning, they run the risk of the kids disliking the food and thus not eating much. then the parents will question "how come my child losing weight?" "How come my child not eating well" blah blah. So they hv to make their food tasty ley. And i really dun think they hv the budget to add prawns & scallops (or whatever tasty seafood) to their porridge/ soup stock... so likely they'll use dark sauce for taste.

wendyg: i saw ur msg.. hmm.. wen can we intro prawn to them? feels like adding prawn to his porridge..

Shoes: my bb hav 2 soft soles shoes and e rest hard sole... currently only let him wear e soft soles shoes (shoo shoo & pediped) and he loves wearing them.

Actually it's ok to add seasoning into their food. Of course we don't do it when we cook their porridge but they should be introduced to our table food already which contains seasoning. So long as it's not too sweet/salty, there's no harm done. We had to be more uptight before they were one becos their organs could not process the additives but it's ok now. In fact we should gradually introduce "our food" to them so they do not become picky eaters. "Our food" should preferably be healthy food lah...those chap chai rice, noodles soup, etc are all ok, even curry is ok (as what my PD said, malays and indians eat curry so that's the normal food for their kids).

Nowadays when I do cook during weekends, I will cook for all of us instead of preparing porridge separately for my boy. Usually I will cook pasta, soupy stuff, grilled fish with veg, etc. In fact, I think they are more happy to eat when they are eating the same food as us.

Lynn,

If your kid don't have any allergic/asthma etc problem, you can intro prawn anytime now. The "rules" apply - intro in the day time, monoitor for 3 days for any adverse reaction. I haven't given my boy cos everytime I cook prawn, it's for dinner, duh :-(

actually hor, i feel that prawns, crabs, squid etc are dirty food... coz they live on the ocean floor (nowadays mostly bred in farms actually), and they eat dirt?! So i myself dun really eat prawn, crabs, squid... mostly only fish. sometimes the prawns are not deveined, i see the thick line of poo also turned off liao, the larger the prawn, the larger the line of poo!

Pauline - I guess u are not the only one. My son also wakes a few times in his sleep thru the night. I also cannot figure out why. He will sleep back eventually, just that its disruptive to my own sleep..sigh....I duno if he will outgrow this phase soon....

kitsune
u know, u may pack a healthy lunch for your child, but during mealtimes, when she sees her classmates having their meal, she might plead with the teacher to give her a portion. The grass is always greener on the other side

hammies

Do you want wendyg's stroller???

If you don't want, I want!!!

wendyg

I love all those "dirty" seafood you mentioned, esp prawn and crab. Used to love fish but not anymore. Actually all these things not healthy, very high in cholesterol, but taste GOOOOOD (to me). I always craved for crab, yum yum. Only eat once a a while okay lah :) Also like you said, most of the prawn are now farm bred, in fact, you want to get those one from the sea also very difficult.

kam
yeah i enjoy nice steamed crab too. I take very very long to eat crab coz i savour every morsel. So ever since my #1 born, i hv crab like twice a year. Sweet crab meat yummm.

mei, i use ftg, but dont think can keep cold for so long 12 hours.

pauline, if is not due to teething, could it be too hot or too cold that makes R wake up?

re: childcare centre food
I know there are parents who bring own cooked food for their kids to school. will you all do the same too?

re:cook
which FTWM goes home to cook dinner everyday after work?

re: msg
if you want ur baby to eat the same food as u outside, maybe you can choose to order healthy meal then can share with them. if not you can also go to organic eateries cuz their food very bland and healthy. or can choose western food - cuz got bread for them. indian food- got chapati for them; for chinese food, if you order dish like tofu, can ask for steam tofu and ask them to separate the sauce in aother plate ( if they can provide). I know all these are troublemsome but it's really up to u whether you want to do it or not la :p

mei
aiya the playpen my husband pack it back into storeroom (it was in living room for a while coz someone wanted to see). over the weekend if i hv chance to inspect i let u know. Does your colleague live near punggol?

wendy,
nope. she stays jurong west. hahaaaa....so far hor. nvm. else u wait for next buyer. u sell in the punggol thread. maybe got buyer cos got a few preggie mummies.

mylife,
tks for offering. my main concern is from the plane journey. but like tongtong said, dun think can hold 12hrs that long (though plane journey + transfer is max 6 hrs).

am thinkin of those fishing box. dun know can hold or not. hmm.

<font color="aa00aa">Mei</font>

U still interested in the Nestle Rice Porridge (Salmon)? Cos my frn wanna sell hers away, expiring 04/2009. Let me know?

elmo78
When I called yester they say they have a few trial classes now. I booked one for tomorrow at 2pm. But now suddenly second thots...

For weekend classes its $168 for 4 classes. That's q ex right? My aunt commented boy still so small will it be of any use or not. HAiz
Anyone has been sending kid for classes?

Re: Food
Since you guys talking abt food.
Can I jus check, any one of u feeding rice yet?

<font color="aa00aa">Wendyg</font>

What's the condition for yr playpen?? If u can inspect over the weekend, can upload pic?? If too troublesome for u then nvm la...ha. Cos m keeping a lookout for a frn

mei
ok then u tell your colleague no deal hor. Coz if i ask husband to bring out the thing again, he will complain.

i dun understand why he wants me to take MC when i feel ok to work. Yest 3pm doc gave me 2 days MC coz of slight runny nose &amp; i had super migraine attack &amp; threw up my lunch. But after medication i felt fine &amp; could continue working. This morning (until now) husband kept grumbling he has many things to handle and why didn't i take the MC. I'm thinking - just treat it as any other day that i go to work lor, i also won't be at home to handle for u, why must purposely wait until i'm issued an MC to say u hv many things to handle and want me to stay at home.

This man is very odd, prefers me to skive than to be a good employee... in recession times!!!

<font color="ff0000">GATHERING WITH MYLIFE and Little Rylee! - <font size="+1">MUMMIES PLS ADVISE</font></font>
Date: 11th Apr, Sat??
Venue: Go Go Bambini (since more central)?
Time: ??

Child 2-11 yrs = S$15
Child <2 = S$5
Adult = Free (finally!! we are free!!)
Discount applies to cardholders: ntuc ufamily, popular card, ocbc cda acct, anza card, passion card and twin-plus (i.e siblings but only wkdays).

Interested mummies:
01) mylife - <font color="ff0000">mylife, what time you can on 11th? u are VIP and little Rylee is the VVIP!!</font>
02) valencia - weekend <font color="ff0000">(my jan08 contact list no your contact. can u pm me details?)</font>
03) luvv - ?
04) grumpus - 11th, ok
05) angelsky - depending on which days
06) blessed serene - anyday except sunday
07) VioletIce - Saturdays
08) mei - 11th ok but after 3pm
09) cheryl - 11th ok but prefer 12pm or 1pm
10) dorothoy - 11th ok but prefer 12pm or 1pm
11)

more mummies come join in lah! it'll be fun!

nez,
the nestle rice porridge needs to cook? is it the one u throw away one?? the instant one? april-09 cant cos' i wont be in time to cook as i gg hk. tks.

wendy,
ok will inform coll.

<font color="ff0000">GATHERING WITH MYLIFE and Little Rylee!</font>
hey! i just realised 10apr is gd friday = public holiday.

gathering on 10apr fri gd fri, would it be better?? (cos my vampire car can come out earlier. haha...)

but of course, public holiday rates applies.

wendy,
U are so hardworking. But if really dun feel well, should rest since doc gave u 2 days MC, coz its usually 1 day, if its 2, should be those more serious kind??

nez
i'm keen on the nestle instant porridge. Pls PM me the bank a/c to transfer and price inclusive postage. After i transferred i'll email u my address. May i know how many pkts/ boxes? tks

luca
yeah this doc knows my migraine problem. he's very kind. but this time the medicine worked and i feel ok to work, so why take the MC?! If i feel very suffering very xin ku to come to work, definitely will stay home to rest.

cheryl,
shld be able to use for sinus. my cousin tried. it improves but no cure. still have sinus but much better. can sleep better at nite.

stiff neck? massage!!

wendy,
yap. i scared. wonder if its painful.