(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Re: Bringing baby out alone
Actually I realised baby will be more co-operative when they're alone with us...at least this is the case for my boy lah. When I bring him out alone or change his soiled diapers alone, he's more likely to co-operate. But when there's 2 of us, he tends to come up with all sorts of tricks eg. demand to be carried, struggle while changing diapers, etc. We "experimented" a few times and concluded:-
1) He's bullying my hubby OR
2) He knows he better behave otherwise mummy will punish him...hehehe OR
3) He's such a sweet baby and doesn't want to give mummy a hard time when there's no help...hahaha...like real!

Yvonne & wendy,
thanks, im always lost and duno which to buy. Finally got directions, will let bb try over the wkend.. yeah!!

luca
eh, what i like or what my baby likes may not be what yours likes.. just browse the shelves & buy some assorted ones. The Heinz jars hv indication of suitable age range, eg 4-6m, 10-15m etc.

ohya, i think my boy likes the meat jar food, like Gerber Vegetable Chicken, HT Beef & Heinz Beef. I think coz more fragrant than the plain vege types.

panty..

Like wendyg, I also wear M&S panty when I was preggie. High waist. They called it the granny panties in UK =P Who care granny or grandpa, comfy can already. =D

Luca,

I feed my son heniz baby food. He likes the veg with beef & veg cassarole and another one is tuna pasta something. Both are from the mum's recipe range. My son likes both. I mix them with some pasta or rice so that they will be more filling. Give it a try =)

creamy tuna mornay or smthg... this one is green label.

my mum will add the jar food to his regular porridge, change around diffrnt day diffrnt taste.

Long time never visit..Who's going to HK? Wentto the baby fair at Expo..Didn't NATAS fair also there. Queue very long..That's why I think news in Singapore very contrasting..One page queuing for job. Another page queuing to go on holidays..

Wedding photos : Botanic Gardens and Emerald Hill (centerpoint there), tanah merah bridge...

Hi Luvv / kitsune,

just went to gynae to do pap smear...and to buy some more pills. Doc also ask me when I am planning for a second one...I say soon bah.

Re: Expo
I went to the bb fair just now and bought 6 tins of Nan pro 3 at $24 per tin. din buy the cereal since Javier eats more porridge nw. he prefers HT cereals. there are alots of diff insurance booths there. the mag subscription better freebies are snatch up. huggies hamper no more. so i dint subscribe.

wendyg
All my gynaes are male. Tat time in fr, my gynae went summer hol, the stand in gynae quite handsome! Then my hb even tease me cos tat gynae needed to check cervic dilation for me!! HOHO...

janbb, thought u had my cl contact long ago when steph was asking. Next time, preggy must early early book. Ya my cl called me today, she's booked for apr, jun, aug n there was a oct mummy emailed me a few times to ask about my cl too. Nearly booked for the whole year liao. Was joking with her, if i get lucky n strike no. 2, dun know whether she'll be too busy to take me in but she assures me that she'll squeeze me in. ;)

verene, oh i see. Anyway, good to rest the body in between pregnancies lar. I'm still 5kg below pre preggy weight. Hope to bu my body back. Ü

wendy, 18 months got enrichment class? What kind? I dun have a lot of vit m leh. Got to be very selective. My purpose of letting her join playgroup is so that she can socialize n make friends n have some structured lessons.

Icy, lyn, i can't attend my gym open house tom liao. Today, raeanne pass out greenish soft stool again n developed rashes, her fever up again at 38.2. Brought her to regular pd, she changed her med, n advise to stick to one type of formula instead of mixing friso 2 n gain iq. Now, hubby thinking of stopping gain iq totally. Already bought 1 900g tin from ntuc recently. Sian. :p

kitsune
ah, enrichment class from 3months onwards already have. those trials that u been attending lor. aquaducks, GUG, LNT, JWT, Gymboree, Tumble Tots, JG, Mindchamps.. aiyo so many. But the $$$ also need many many...
alternatively, form SAHM group & organise regular playdates.

kitsune,

actually, my initial plan is to have a tiger baby but due to losing my previous perm job..i cant afford to have a tiger bb nw unless i get hold of a perm job real soon and get preggie by yr end. hee hee. or unless i strike accidentally for this month cos I had not been using contraceptives for 2-3 mths leh. today scan can't see anything. but i tested negative last week. hopefully nothing happens. my current periods after stopping the pills for 2-3 mths are irregular and only haf stains this mth...dun noe whether period or not so doc day wait for the "normal" period to come then start the pill in March. if really not preggie and no normal flow of period...will take medication to let period come. My cycles are usually long...37 weeks or so.

Kitsune,
so early hunt for play group liao?

for #1, I didn't send to the expensive playground. It was at the RC, $90 per month. 2 hrs per day. Clean and covnenient for my parents. Mainly wanted him to socialise and play with otehr kids. But hor, my boy was quite weak then. Every month, MC a few days..so school fees a bit wasted.

Wendy, Blackbatz, ya lor, actually I thought since I SAHM, no excuse, then do some research lor. Heard from some mummies that good ones got a wait list. If do research and confirm early, then put her on wait list. No need to last minute kalang kabok. Kiasu hor. But still a bit half hearted about sending her so young ie. 18 mths cos she'll fall sick often. Thinking of finding those full service centres so that she can attend 2 hours from 18 mths first, then when she reach 2 years old (Jan 2010) then start half day playgroup. Don't know got such thing or not? Oh RC also got 2 hr playgroup? Must go check it out then.

I see my cousin's case so cham, her two kids are 2 years apart. But no. 1 (3.5 yrs) attends childcare near her mum's place at Serangoon North but got no playgroup. She got to send no. 2 (17 mths) to Upp East Coast for playgroup, she got to activate both mum & MIL to bring and fetch the kids who finish at different centres at different times. so mafan for the caregivers. :p

Aiyo,
whenever I read my own posting in the forum, also spot EL error, Something is very wrong with my typing skills and my train of thoughts. Co-ordination problem.

Half day playgroup is like half-day child care already. Those 2 hr thingy is called dou dou ban..Ur cousin's playgroup / childcare quite "Elite" one, is it?

ahcapp
Yvonne is right, tot i mentioned hubby is on leave mah...so me not alone with baby in DIsneyland. Then again, i'm not afraid of bringing her out alone cos done that many times too. Like most of SAHMs here, we have to be gung ho, otherwise, can die of boredom in the house 24/7 with baby if dare not venture out lo.

Mei
Cannot lend u leh. Would love to but the card is personalised, pegged to NRIC name. They will do checks one. Sorry!

Pauline,

Why are u mixing Friso 2 & Gain IQ? You in the process of switching over to Gain IQ? I know a mummy who gives her darling stage 2 for night time and stage 3 for day. She said stage 2 easier to digest and more nutrients.

I only mix Similac Stage 2 and gain IQ when I was switching my son over. Perhaps you want to swtich from Friso 2 to Friso 3 instead? I just let my son take a sample of Friso 3 the other night. It has less bubbles and less foamy than Gain IQ wor. Not bad.

Playgroup & childcare waitlist..

Frankly speaking, I also don't know got such a thing till a mummy told me. I have to book my son early for a childcare of my choice as I don't want to last min hunt high and low for childcare. Nowadays, everything also must book early. =(

Mylife,

Yes, I agree. Must try to venture out alone. I only dare to go nearby places like IMM. Still don't dare to bring my son out alone to further places like Orchard. =P

Ahcapp,
Ya..must venture with baby out alone. I would put my boy at the back seat while I drive him out to visit friends.

Over time, he learnt to sit behind quietly. For #2, haven't been able to do it. He wants me to sit next to him. Maid sits next to him, he will make noise and complain.

Mylife,
When are u coming back to Singapore again?

blackbatz, ya i think quite elite type, she stays with her mil n has a maid so got support. Ask me to send two kids to different centres, i'll faint! Logistic nightmare :p

ah capp, ya lor, last time giving friso2 but still supplementing with bm. But now wean off liao, thinking of giving her more ex fm with more added nutrients, both my cousins' kids taking so also got pressure from my mum lar. But she end up with stomach flu n pd say dun mix fm. Hubby said switch to friso 3 n sell the gain iq. Sian. :p

blackbatz...

Yes, will do so. But the thought of the diaper bag and the pram put me off sometimes =P

Pauline,

I think Friso is just as good as Gain IQ. Gain IQ more exp because must pay Zoe Tay mah! ;P My son started off with Similac 2 so I don't want to switch brand. Since your darling is drinking well on Friso 2, then continue with Friso 3. It should be more suitable for her. =)

Blackbatz
My trip confirmed 3Apr - 13Apr. U need me to get u smtg from HK?

AhCapp
Yah slowly lah. Take baby steps, go nearer places and shorter time range. When it's successful, u will be more confident to go further and longer

Ah Capp, Ya true, never mind lar, like that i save $ also. I'm letting go for my GainIQ, bought just 4 days ago from NTUC. Sob sob. Where do you stay? Keen to buy over?

Pauline,

Thank u but I stay in Jurong East. U stay in the East? Let got your tin at the WTS forum. Confirm got buyers. =)

GUG..

Any mummies already signed up their darlings at growing up gifted? I am considering doing 2 months later.

Kitsune,
My son on Friso 3. No problem leh.. I think smells very nice. Not as sweet as pediasure.

Last time PD says my #1 was under weight, recommend drink pediasure. Had to coax son to drink every time. Current PD told me that drinking pediasure is like drinking a glass of sugar water. very gelak until u lose appetite in other things. So now, only Dumex.

Ahcapp,
Now they so old, less troublesome. Sometimes go to nearby places, I wouldn't bring the full diaper bag.

Mylife,
Thanks for the offer. Haven't thought of anything.

Kitsune,
Eh, does not mean expensive formula is GOOD formula! No offence to Similac/Gain IQ but price should not be linked to quality. More importantly formula must be suitable for your baby. Anyway, if you ask any PD, they will tell you they don't believe in all those "added nutrients" like DHA, AA, etc in formulas...best is to let them absorb from food.

Yvonne, I know but old people equate exp FM and those endorsed by Zoe Tay as good FM lor. My mum has been nagging why I give 'cheap' FM when all my cousins' kids taking Gain IQ. So, thought since I've weaned her off, try giving Gain IQ lor. Actually PD didn't say the stomach flu is caused by Gain IQ, I think she just don't want to complicate the matter further. True also, if it ain't broken, why fix it. :p

Blackbatz, when you started to give Friso 3 from Friso 2, do you need to mix or can start giving straight away?

kitsune
ah, i dun think Drypers is the best brand in the mkt. In fact i think it's overpriced & one of the lousiest that i tried on my boys.

hehe, wendy, that I agree, I don't like Drypers too. I alternate the cheap but good diapers (Pet Pet) with the expensive but comfy diapers (Mamy Poko). Anyway, think my mum is more 'bo chap' about what I put on her darling granddaughter's bottom than what I feed her. :p

mei,

when is a gd time to go disneyland? or to avoid?
- i never go HK one, but I went Japan one, early morning should go, if PH better dont go.

when is a gd time to go ocean park? or to avoid?
- i went, but years back, same go early morning, if PH better dont go.

what can we do in ocean park?
-take the rides lo, but I went when I was younger so more of those exciting rides, so if got kids not sure suitable or not, but I think should have kiddy rides ba? This got to ask mylife.

when is gd time to go The Peak?
-when i went last year, the hotel pple told us to take a cab up the peak from our hotel, not very ex I remember, but the taxi driver when he heard we wanted to go up, he gave us the sian look. Go around 5 plus, so you get to walk around and see the scenery when its bright and also get to see sun set and when the lights lit up in the buildings. But if you the adventurous type, you can go on a walking trip on the peak and then stay to see sunset too ba. But I lazy so a few hours settle day and night.

where else to go other than these 3 places?
- we went to see the "big buddha" which is like 1 day, day trip to macau, walk around HK island and kowloon.

we dun know how to speak canto. is it ok?
-ok they can speak chinese rather well now.

is there baby changing rm easily available?
- frankly speaking i dont see alot ard or I dont bother looking.

is it easy to find toilets?
-this is yes

anything we can prepare beforehand in sg before departing?
-check out the weather ba?

JanBB, need to specially buy undies ma? I wore what I usually wore to the end le. Hmmmm. If not just buy slightly bigger ones from the normal brands?

Wedding photos
- Sentosa
- Everton park
- The big field along ECP which is the upcoming IR.

Question on milk
Something I have been meaning to find out, mummies whose babies on friso, are the babies generally chubbier? It may be a coincident, but I have 3 friends whose kids are on friso, all slightly chubbier.

angelsky
my elder boy was on Friso 3 for maybe 1yr+. So were 2 of my frens' kids (i think they're still on Friso now.. upgraded from stage 3 to Stage 4.) My boy was on 75th percentile at that time, but my frens' kids were either 25th or 50th.
One of them (boy, 50th %) diet was restricted by his mom.. she didn't allow him to eat to his fill, coz she said will affect his appetite for next meal.
The other one (girl, 25th %) dun like to eat solids when she was younger. Her mum had to blend porridge, and even then she may spit her food out. Very very fussy eater.

So i don't observe that toddlers on Friso are chubbier.

Thanks wendyg, great I can let my fren know, she kept thinking she should change the milk, but since her gal is drinking it fine, I was telling her its all right

what's wrong with having chubby babies... soon they will grow vertically & won't look so chubby anymore. My elder boy 75th percentile has been stuck at 15kg for abt 1yr liao.

Kitsune,
I quite gungho, just give Friso 3 when Friso 2 ran out. After that then I remembered some of the mummies mentioning must alternate the Friso 2 feed with Friso 3.

Luckily, nothing happened. Then I also gave him Enfapro 3 just like that.

Just explain to your MIL that not all babies can take "expensive" milk.

Re:Baby Bags
Someone was asking about the KS baby bags. The BP side has some good deals going on. Can go and check it out.

Angelsky,
My ah boy has been on the chubby side since day 1. So can't tell u if Friso causes him to remain chubby. Really depends on what the child eats every day. My boy certainly has not crossed 10 kg la.

I see, maybe I'll alternate Friso 3 with Friso 2 first. Scared liao. This time, it's not my MIL but my mum who has been asking me to give Gain IQ. :p

Blessedbaby, I was quite tempted last year but the KS spree organiser then was Cougar. Seemed like she has a pretty reliable reputation.

Yep..gotta be careful. now my hubby wants me to stop buying online liao..sianz

Kitsune, yep she is among the reliable ones.

Gd morning mummies....
another bluey monday....

Last Friday my company just announced a forced 5 days unpaid leave and possibility of retrenchment... sweatz

morning all,

It's Monday .. but I am on leave so still ok. my schedule is very packed today
mayb tmr can rest but definitely no rest today.

jess,
move to healthcare. they are one of the industry still hiring.

mylvera
how come today so pack? what program on??

now just hoping is the 5days unpaid and no retrenchment. and if got retrenchment, hope not both me and my hubby gana. otherwise jialat. my hubby say if either one of us get it, the first to go is my maid.. hahahaaa....

Mine is a friso bb too.. my bb still on friso 2 now, weight 12kg in Jan. PD said he is not overweight and bb wont gain much weight once they start to walk... can we start on friso 3 now?

Jess: i'm quite happy if my co hav 5 days unpaid leav, becos can spend more time wif bb..
as long as no retrenchment.

Kitsune,
A bit late to reply re playgroups...paiseh. Most RCs will have 2 hrs playgroup conducted by different "schools". They always advertise through banners, flyers, etc. Eg, my RC has 2 hrs playgroups from Mon-Fri by Tots House. Actually a good avenue to provide some form of interaction and structured play with other toddlers.