(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

icy,
u can also get the jap panda round patches from ntuc unity healthcare. think its $9.90

if u dun like patches, use spray ones. some suitable for 6mths onwards. some ok for 1 yr onwards.

or u can also try johnson johnson lotion that has the mosquito thingy in it. i gg to get this to try cos' i heard this is gd.

<font color="aa00aa">So think i should get XL then...since i got the XL one for him for value pack</font>

mei
u gt mail.. i cant access email at work... will check when i m home okiez

Icy,

If you cook soup, soak some rice into the boiling hot soup for 15-30min. Then feed your Xandall. The texture is somewhere between rice and porridge, not too hard, not too soft. Hao Re loves that, he can eat 1 big bowl of soften rice. While if it's rice, he takes half a bowl only.

blessbaby
let me know whether you want to go for the trial :) btw, checked the list that mei gave us, you doesn't have msn..add me if you have okay?

aqua,
you're offline so fast! let me know if you're keen also.

pixie,

Ops, thanks for correcting!

Icy,

Sorry, pregnant mum very forgetful one mah :p

Luvv,

Yes, you are right, but only if you don't eat the Mui Fan strict away, let the rice soak with the gravy longer, then about the same effect. But the rice won't be as soft as soaking in hot soup.

nez,
My boy ard 10kg, L size is like just nice for him, have some little space.. for huggies the L size is slightly smaller than MP.

mei,
Spray ones, i just think if he will eat it up. J&amp;J also have? see if I can get samples.. I jus got my Mother &amp; baby mag, seemed like have quite a few store tmr.

1)Johnson and Johnson wipes $8.90 for 2 -UP$12.90
2) Cadi Thermometer $86 instead of $28
3) COmbo wipes 2 value pack at $31.80 free 1 pack UP$47.70
4)Pharmed - Palmers Skin Therapy Oil $31.90 UP $38.90
Palmer's Bottom buter $11.90 UP$17.00
5) Mustela Special Bundle - $99 UP$135.40
6)Gaia up tp 30% disct
7) Avent special Bundle (sterilsier, therma bag, magic cup handle, baby wrap) - $150 UP218
8) Pureen wipes $8 UP$12

and more.. me lazy to type. :p

FREE = first 1000 have some goodie bags..

Kam,
oic, I only pour soup together with rice and stir without cooking. Perhaps a bit too hard.
BTw, my boy is Xavier. :D

kam
nevermind, i hardly can remember the names of the babies from our jan08 mummies. furthermore u preggy. memory lost is common. i havent even got back my memory till now! super forgetful nowadays

Just heard a news from my mil

A young 21 HK father toss his 3 mth old ger in the air to make her laugh. The baby ended up death due to blood vessels bust in the brain. Then they also conclude that "Yao Lan' not good for little babies.

Phew, got a busy day at wk after my heavy lunch today. Wow, so many posts to catch...

Steph,
I brought Pigeon Manual Pump for my #1. Only used for 1 mth &amp; passed down to my SIL. Gosh, i dunno how she used the pump. She told me one part is mouldy &amp; she simply threw it away w/o consulting me. Was a bit pissed when i came to know abt this when getting back the pump from her. In my mind was "Can buy some parts to replace mah, why throw away??" My MIL came to know abt this &amp; felt so paiseh. She even want to buy a new one for me. Of cos' i didn't accept her offer cos' not her fault. The one who threw away dun feel guilty at all. Now i got a Avent manual pump from my close friend. She only used it less than 10 times. Will try manual pump first, if really succeed smoothly for the 1st mth then invest electric one ; )

Re: BF
Thanks mummies. So nice to have so many advisers here. Will try my best to be a good 'moo moo'!!!

pixel, kam
Maybe we shld do a matching test on the mummies &amp; babies here tmr... Haha.. Right or Left brain memory lessons for us ;p

hi janbb,

u can do it!jia you!

BF
i still feel guilty,i also bf for 2 weeks only,cos had bad engorgement and fever till fingernails turned purple,really very scared then,but colleagues dun understand and tell me it is such a pity and why i cant take it etc,i also hope if i have #2,i can bf

back again. Rylee sleepng liao. I better not talk about BF or BM again, else kena suan by Kam again wor...

Wendy
Aiyoh, my Eng-rish so powderful down the drain??!? Kekeke

Preggie mommies
I also have one Avent manual pump to give away. Bought it last time in addition to my Medela PIS cos I pumped and pumped but very little output and my fren commented some mommies react better to manual pump. Now lying in my cupboard not in use. I think I used it less than 5 times. If I hv #2, will also direct latch, so anyone wants?!? Can bring back when I come back in April.

Topic for tomorrow
What baby carseat are u using and what do u like about it?

We are going to buy a car in HK, so thinking of what brand/model of carseat to buy for rylee cos there're soooo many types out there!! Pls recommend!! Thanks!

mei,
i bought the patches from the same BP seller. Ya she was quite slow but heng i didn't have to wait for one wk like u.

icy,
u can get the panda round patch from unity pharmacy but it's not as effective as the panda square patch (from BP) although they are very very similar

mylife,
we're currently using maxi-cosi carseat. are u buying a new car or 2nd hand?? if new car, check if it comes with ISO fix (most new cars do). if yes, get a car seat with ISO fix, it's more ex but much better IMO. ISO fix is an international standard for attachment points for child safety seats in cars. The car seat is anchored to the car by 2 holes at the back/bottom of the seat plus one extra 'leg' anchored onto the floor. It's much sturdier and the seat will not slide at all as can be the case when secured with the seatbelt.

goodbb,

Don't feel guilty about your decision. You have already tried your very best. Be it 2 weeks or 2 years! I can only 'tong' for 6 months doing exclusive pumping for my son. I then decided that it's time to stop and move on to other stuff like cooking nutrious meals for him, playing with him etc.

No one will be able to understand YOUR situation. You have done the best u can. =)

If I have #2, I am not sure if I can go thru the horror of engorgement, lumps etc etc again when I was doing exclusive pumping. =P I mean, my engorgement was soo bad that I have to heat up stone, wrap it up and 'heat' up my boobs! Aiyo... Will see how when it's my time... Now not yet =)

goodbb
*faint* Fingernails turned purple??? OMG, that was really bad. How come can affect fingernails. Did u ask doctor? I second ahcapp's words, u've already tried ur best. Tats why i said i was/am really lucky i didnt have to deal with this (but my initial problem was i tot i dont have enough milk so i just latched and latched)

mylife,
i got my car seat from britax, australia brand and make in australia, quite good IMO and is ISO fix like what grumpus mentioned.

Icy
I think hor, the yao lan moves in momentum and baby's head is supported. But I dunno how the father tossed the bb. Maybe it was vigorious and her neck not supported lor.

icy,
so horrific, maybe he did it vigourously and continuously without stopping and without supporting the baby's neck.

ahcapp
I also got urs today. Thanks!

mylife,
I would recommend combi, it is really good cos easy to install and not very bulky.

mom2nat and Luvv,
I heard the news again. It was a baby boy and the baby become a "vegetable". so sad.

Luvv
Britax which model? I went to a baby shop in HK and saw a LOT of Britax...see until blur, dunno which one to get leh.

Icy
thanks. Strangely i've never came across the Combi brand of carseat here leh. Only got strollers

hello...who is going to bb festival tomolo.

I am on leave for gynae check up and will be there later bah.

Re: Sengkang cc bb contest.
I had enter Javier in the contest. staying at
compassvale area.

Re: bottle teats
how often do u change the teats huh?

Re: Car seat
I am also looking for one since my boy almost cant fix in the infant maxi cosi one liao. My friend recommend Narnia as a cheaper alternative to Maxi Cosi.Those with ISO fix cannot always remove the car seat right? Sometimes, my hubby needs to fetch pple to lunch, meet customers so he often remove the carseat and fix it back again.

Me and hubby also quite a big age gap = 8 yrs apart.
I am 28 and he is 36 this yr. but BIL and his wife is 13 yrs apart. I am 1 yr older than my SIL.

Re: breast pump
is medela PIS better or the Ameda pump? SIL preggie and she wants to find out.

Re: Wendyg's question
queen size mattress and also sealy posturepedic.
there is quite a range of sealy posturepedic...mine is the cheaper one.

Verene, gynae check? Good news? Thought you not planning yet cos of economic climate. ;)

My mattress is Sealy posturepedic too. Hubby also has back problem. We got the cheaper one, $1k+ but think the model no more liao.

Mylife, my car seat is Maxi Cosi Priori XP. Find it not bad, big enough for our growing 'baby'.

Re: Mattress
Mine oso Sealy. So comfy. I dunno the model though. So glad I bought it and king size.

Anyone went for pap smear again yet?

been so bz with the 2 kids. didn't use pc at all. no life. almost late in settling bills via internet too....

my boy's ganna CHICKEN POX... super sticky glue and little weak lamb. very poor thing. they say the virus starts getting contagious when he's getting better so prob his sister is up next. i machiam confinement @ home if so. can't go out of house.

congrats STEPH!!! =)

here's what happened to my lumpy boob (just only!)
i pumped until dry &amp; i was massaging &amp; pumping, then baby cried (after taking 160ml fr bottle) &amp; i latched him on the lumpy boob.. he sucked a bit &amp; went to sleep. Then i came out &amp; hand expressed &amp; the milk squirted out &amp; the lump was gone! waaaaay better than having to massage until arms/ fingers aching, the lump would still be there somewhat.

whee!! tonight i'll hv a lumpless night

goodbb
ahhhh, i think it's mean of your colleagues to ask u to endure purple fingernails! Not nail polish ley... infected until nails turned purple - 1st time i heard of. aiyo u must've suffered. But as with the other mummies with bad engorgement &amp; fever etc, it's a matter of draining your boobies - either by latching or expressing. Must relax &amp; achieve let-down.. dun look at miserable amt of ebm (again numbers...) &amp; get dejected &amp; give up pumping. Massage with hot towel/ stone/ water bottle, drink hot (papaya &amp; fish) soup, take hot shower...

during my initial bfg days, i was so scared to get mastisis which may prematurely end my bfg career, i committed to memory the symptoms &amp; how to prevent. Everytime kena 'shooting pain' in my boobies, i'd worry so much that i kena infection. Kept checking my temperature (that time newly acquired ear thermometer!) to ensure i wasn't feverish etc.

evening
haven't seen u around for some time. your boy got chicken pox!!!!!!!!! *faint* actually i think the most contagious bit is just before the bumps appear... and during the fever bit. Oh u gotto work very hard at separating the kids. Possible to let jiejie camp over elsewhere for a week? Oh how to prevent baby fr scratching itchy scabs... poor thing ley, poor baby &amp; mummy.

Mom2nat
after 1st birth i was so goondu, gynae's clinic called me 1yr after birth &amp; asked me to go Pap smear so i guai guai went. For a 5min procedure, i was charged... $70??? This time round a bit smarter. 2nd gynae asked me abt Pap smear when i returned for followup after confinement.. i told her that my company health checkup covers it (it does!!! bloody FOC!!!) and she said "good good" and left me alone. har har har. the whole clinic knows i'm a bloody cheapskate.. bought my own vitamins fr Unity pharmacy, always rushing for my turn coz save on parking fees!! *hiak*

re: Sealy
wow i'm surprised so many Sealy fans.. no Simmons fans? I like very much Simmons $200 pillows... but can't afford it.. Likelihood won't be able to sleep thinking abt the $$ i spent to buy dumb old pillows. haha. In the end bought $12 Giant pillow coz the stupid $1 Courts pillow offers no support whatsoever. hahahaha.

re: car seat
mine's a chicco, suitable birth to 4yo. abt $200 fr Robinsons. Dun hv the stand to fix against the floor of the car. We leave the car seat permanently fixed &amp; work based on reduced capacity of the car - ie we won't dismantle the car seat just to ferry an additional person. Husband needs 10min to fix up the car seat &amp; very back-breaking &amp; sweaty affair. And in the end my baby dowan to sit... *piang*

mylife,
i bought the model premier, i didn't use the ISO thingy though but can be used up to 18 kg.

verene,
good news? lol

evening,
oh chicken pox! hope he recover soon, he must be feeling terrible..

verene,
ISO fix can remove and install again very quickly, in fact faster than seatbelt secured car seat which have to loop through here and there and tighten etc. ISO fix just clip on and clip off..
my car seat is frequently interchanged between my car and my parents car and both hb and my dad know how to do it in record time already, just a matter of practice =D

Good morning... today me on leave. Going to check out childcare centres and then go kai kai later on...

Mattress...

Mine is Simmons backcare, can't remember 3 or 4. King size. Hb has back problem so we bought one with better back support for him.

Simmons pillows $200+? This price can get Tempur wor...

Icy,

When hb and I heard the news over the radio, we were shocked. Poor baby =((( Nowadays I can't take such news. Maybe it's because I am already a mummy myself, so I always think of what if it happens to my own darling. Sad.

tempur also... drooling.. never tried before, only took their brochures to read.

when do u intend to put your child @ cc? 18m? Near your home or branded ones like Eton/ Pat?

wendyg,

We using tempur now. Very very exp. If not for the constant search for the most suitable pillow to support our necks, we would have not have splurged so much on one. =(

Maybe when he hits 24 months. Initially thinking of 18months, but hb worries too young. Not branded one lah. Eton/ Pat so exp =( Maybe even I have the $, also no vacancy. =) Me checking out Little Skool House later on. New branch opening at Jurong West SAFRA in May.

The new SAFRA at Jurong West has a huge indoor playground and lots of facilities. Worth checking out later on when it opens in May 09.

re: car seat
mine also britax safe N sound.

re: child care
sian. the hdb at the #1 child care is upgrading. so expect noise and construction = dusty and mosquitos. the child care is non aircon. how? shall i pull my girl out?

re: chicken pox
would you rather let your child have chicken pox now or later when more 懂事?

TODAY IS BABYCARE FESTIVAL!!!!
but i not gg. pls share deals here!