(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mandy
erm, if i can express by then, he will drink the "freshly squeezed" ebm haha. If not then will warm up fr fridge. I hv to leave abt 160ml chilled ebm as standby for this purpose. But if your child not keen on bottle maybe u dun hv to standby so much.

Kam
aiya wasted la, re: Hao Re's cord blood. Call SCBB earlier and ask them to follow up with u in case u forget.. hahaha.

jacelyn
#2 already still so kancheong? relax la...

Mandy,
Thks. My hubby keep telling me to b'feed for my #2 cos' he find that #1 always fall sick (flu, cough, fever). Me a bit stress men!!
Of cos' if i can do it, i will sure con't. Which mummy dun want to give the best to their babies rite. If i got any problem, i will call for HELP here next time. U experienced mummies, dun find me "fan", muz help hor...heehee. Thks in advance ;)

Jacelyn
U are so cute!! tested 4 kit ah. So is it all +ve?? Dun scare yourself. I dun have any symptoms in my 1-2mth too. U got MS for #1 last time?? My MS started abt 2nd mth.

janbb
u're staying near Steph issit... u can ask her for HOUSECALL to massage your rock hard boobies haha.
From what u described, i think it's a matter of emptying your boobies, then won't hv fever. Coz u hv ABUNDANT supply but your boobies not being emptied. So need to latch often & get good pump which can empty your boobies & u need to relax to achieve the let-down. Easy peasy.. =)))
at most, for some comfort, apply cabbage leaves. While u're in hosp, ask your parents to buy cabbage & put in fridge.. when u return home & feel boobies rock hard, u can apply for immed relief.
Must rest enuf & dun stress.. think of gushing waterfall & feel lots of love for your baby... u hv milk, no worries abt that.

Kam
i was thinking, even if my baby's cord blood can't be used to save a life, i'd rather it be used for research than be discarded. what a waste...

wendy,
Good idea!! Call Steph for help faster, heehee ;)
I only let #1 latch on a few times but was veri inexperienced cos' dunno when he will be full. So ended up pumping most of the time. What shld be the pumping interval? Pump every 2 hrs if feel breast is full? Cabbage will reduce milk flow i heard, is it true? Latch on will reduce the chances of breast engorgement? How to gauge baby has enuff? Sorry hor, really inexperience mummy here..machiam like having #1..haahaa..

Jacelyn,

DON'T WORRY!!! I am soon graduating from my 1st trimester. And I have NO pregnancy symptom at all, except with my big tummy (cos I am fat to start with mah). Stop worrying, tested 4 times, you are definitely pregnant. Your job now is eat healthily and rest well.

JanBB,

Same here. I also failed to breastfeed for my #1. Only BF for about 2 weeks, then partial BF till 6 weeks or so. I feel that mummies in this thread is soooooo experience with BF, and I will definitely seek for help from them when I BF my #2. Don't bother to join the Sep09 MTB thread, cos definitely won't be as helpful as talking to experienced mummies. I am very determined to be successful this time round. Last time failure mainly due to inexperience, didn't get help/advice, not persistant enough, and LAZY..... If this time successful, can let Hao Re drink the excess one, so that to "pay back" what he missed last time :)

Eh, but JanBB, you must change your mindset leh. We want to BF because we want to give the best to our babies. Don't link BF to prevent illness. It's true baby gets antibody from mummies, but that's for the first few months only. I have a friend who total BF till now (also Jan08 BB), but he felt sick very often leh. Don't stress yourself, tell yourself you want to enjoy BF!!!

Myvera,

I dun need anymore HPTK!!!! Its not that i rather wan MS. Its i am afraid that it is adnormal pregnancy!

Wendy,

I am not kan cheong la. I see my sister in law recently had a miscarriage so scared lor.

Janbb,

For #1 i have MS from 8 weeks till 13 weeks. Ya, all the test i do it +ve.

re: donation of cordblood

yea i did that too for my son, just email SCBB and the coordinator will f/u with u

re:bf

jiayou for mummies who wanna bf for #2!!

wendyg,

True. Can be use for research also. It's really a waste. My friend said she will call me to fix appointment with me, but she didn't. I was lazy, as usual, and didn't call them.

Okay, okay, I will call them after my gynae visit this Saturday (to have a more confirmed EDD) so to make sure they will follow up my case. Won't waste it this time round.

I also failed to BF the previous time. Only lasted for 2 weeks. Keep having engorment and block ducts. In the end got fever and infection. Got green pus coming out!!!! Then saw doctor, he give me anti biotics and pill to stop milk. But i only take the antibiotics cos hear many ppla saying take the pill breast will shrink. In the end suffered from engorgement for the whole week. Breast hard like rocks and milk keep leaking. Bo bian took panadol for 1 week for 24 hrs!

dun worry abt BF lah ...

i failed my BF for #1 mah .. but #2 i managed to BF til 6 mths. den gradually stop. even now still got abit of milk for #2.

also, it really saves alot in terms of $ as well as bringing things/bottles out during outings. Anytime the bb hungry, use shawl or nursing clothes n bf lor.

janbb
cabbage will reduce yes, so dun leave it on your boobies for 24hrs. If it's just 1 or 2hr to relieve the soreness, it's still ok.

how to see if baby has enuf bm... check his diaper. If he pees (6-8 pee per day) then it's good! How many times do adults go toilet... and that's coz we eat solids, but babies on milk will pee & pee & pee.

the problem with us (chinese?) is that we need to see the NUMBER, to know HOW MUCH, how high, how little etc. actually if u know how to read your baby's cues, there's no need to express & bottle feed. Baby empties boobies much better than pump. Latch on 3hrly.. i think i pumped immed after i latched on, or even pump while latching... mainly to build up supply.

how lovely it is to breastfeed. Wish my little one would breastfeed forever. Or rather, wish that he'd remain little forever so that can breastfeed him forever.

wendy,

u can. the GP at my area told me tat she is bfeeding her youngest one till now.. i tink her youngest is ard 3-4 yrs old liao :p

jacelyn
of course boobies will shrink after u take the pill, coz all the milk dried up? reabsorbed? then the boobies will shrink, from engorged boobies to no-milk boobies. argh, no brainer...

drain the milk... latch on, massage, pump out... then no engorgement problems, no fever, no infection, blah blah.

re: antibodies from mummys milk.

i find it quite true, cuz i got signess, always got running nose. but it will cure the next day after i drink plenty of water and sleep. that means my body will generate the antibody to fight my runnny nose and it's passed thru to the milk.
As my son still drinking BM, he never caught cold/have running nose since birth until now wor. so i suspect is the antibody that i passed to him. *touchwood* i hope he is healthy forever, hopefully will continue even after i send him to infant care in april...

tongtong
hum... dun depend on it.. kept at home, mostly ok. Once exposed in infantcare, likely will fall sick. My elder boy, bf'd until 10m old, he was ok at home except for fever from MMR jab @ 15m. Once he went to childcare @ 18m, he fell sick almost weekly. We spent so much $$ & time @ PD clinic... argh. We pulled him out of childcare for 3m (from 2yo), he was ok!!! The week when he returned to sch, he kena cough. sianz..

my colleague has a problm.. she is super power breastfeeder for all her 3 girls, but they're skinny & fall sick often, maybe coz they're all @ childcare/ infant care. Then she heard some remarks that breastfeed also no use coz her girls still fall sick often. She got quite upset by these rmks.

enemum
i just pm-ed u leh
ang mo kio sounds good - during weekends perhaps.
queenstown - around 6.45 or 5.45 (depending what time i knock off) at the mrt on monday onwards? i go out of the train to meet u...

wendy, i think what you said is true. so i'm now prepared for my son to fall sick once i admit him to the infant care.. wah!! fell sick almost weekly so jialat.. then do you need to take leave to take care of him then? sigh.. now i got to reconsider whether to send him to infant care... very headache now..

Uploaded the pics of Jayden at the Babyshow in my blog and facebook. Feel free to take a look...

tongtong
take leave to bring him see doc. the childcare ctr will still take in sick kids (maybe that's why easy to fall sick) as long as not contagious like chicken pox/ HFMD, high fever, vomitting or lao sai.
It's more of the heartpain that the child so young dunno how to cough out phlegm so throw up his whole dinner... or dunno how to blow his nose & hv to endure whole night with stuffy nose can't sleep well etc...

tongtong,

My son not on BM, and it's in infant care. But he is okay leh. Not falling sick often. Normal, like once every 2-3 months, and he recovers very fast every time. Maybe you can start to bring him out more often, or let him join classes or something to get contact with other kids, so can start building up his immune system. It's the different of the environment (and hygeine) at home and infant care that make their body difficult to adjust.

I heard from a mummy at the infant care that his son actually is now healthier (ie seldom fall sick) than before she sent him to the infant care. So, you must know what makes your child falls sick and not just blame the infant care.

Mandy,

Forgot to answer your question. Yes, I know how to change template, though not an expect yet.

Just google "free blogger template" and choose the one you like. Usually there are instructions to teach you how to change. But some don't come with instructions.

You need to copy and paste and xml code and also do some editing after that. But first you have to do a backup of your current blog, so that if anything wrong, you can always use to backup files to restore your blog. Don't change your template until your are sure what you are doing!

Good luck!!!

jacelyn
i think wendy is trying to say "all the ways i've described to stop engorgement are actually all known ways and means...no need brain to think one...these ways are readily available online, thru word of mouth, from hospital, aka EASY"

she dont mean you got no brains lah

Kam,

What nestle pdts are cheaper in JB?? Do they have the star biscuits over there??

Kam & Wendy,

Is Hey baby good?? Is it cheaper in JB? Have u tried the Tesco brand of pampers??

Mandy,

I didn't really compare the price leh. Just base on my memory, I think it's cheaper. I try to note down this weekend, if we were to go JB. I usually buy the ones in boxes, those more "premium" ones.

I never tried Hey baby and tesco diapers before. So cannot comment.

kam, thanks for your advise!
think i must not treat falling sick at infant care as a very serious thing. maybe i should change my mindset.. if he falls sick, it's chance for him to build up his immune perhaps?

okla, now i feel better for withdrawing him from my mum's care and put at the centre:p

wendy, i just wonder whether your friend who is bfing her 3 kids, eating enuff fats? if yes then the fat should go to the milk ma , hehe

Kam
Err....fall sick every 2-3 months = fall sick often oredi leh. Anyway, it's NOT true that mommy's anitbodies are given to babies thru breast milk "only for the first few months" like what u said in your previous posts. Of cos it's not a GUARANTEE that BF babies WILL NOT fall sick, there are exceptions of cos (like wendy's colleagues) but it is said that BF babies have FEWER chances to fall sick, not to say that they are super babies, just that the percentage maybe lower?
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/bfextended/ebf-benefits.html#nutrition

wendy
aiyah, poor colleague of yours, hardwork so many years kena attack by people. Tell her BF is not only about not falling sick. Perhaps in the LONG run, her kids WILL be healthier, less chance to be obese, better chance of health (different from falling sick). She has been a great mommy!

<font color="ff6000">Janbb,
re: bfing
dun worry...like what wendyg said, u have plenty of BM that's why breast engorged. Now, we r more experience, sure can handle better. This time me no fever *touchwood* cos whenever i feel any hard lump, i quickly massage &amp; pump/latch on.
On my 5th day, i got very bad engorgement (breasts hard like rock) so i call for HELP. Call TMC ask for LC home visit. Very ex ah but it clear my engorgement &amp; teach me how to latch baby properly so money worth spent la. I got the contacts of the lactation nurse so can contact her direct, dun have to go thru TMC. cheaper also. If u need help, just sms me k

Yesterday i had a hard lump at my left breast so after i latch on, the lump is gone
Baby is still the best pump! Anyway, last nite 3am #2 poo alot...poo leaked &amp; stained my PJ...aiyo...me so angry...want to scold him but he still smile at me &amp; gave me fountain...his urine ah!</font>

JanBB
i agree with steph. U're like her for #1 too, engorged cos of oversupply but u dunno how to handle it then. Wendy's advice is very good. Let baby latch on to clear ur milk. Perhaps u're like steph for #2, milk supply still enuff but not super engorged till fever kind anymore. Dont worry and relax.

mylife,

I already know you will respond to this, cos whenever talk about BM, sure you will appear one :)

That's because you haven't met babies who fall sick very often - almost every week!!! For babies less than 1 year old, it's considered normal (according to PD) to fall sick once every 2-3 months, esp for babies who have contacts with other kids.

Mummies continue to pass the antibodies to their babies, but after they get older, it's actually more important for them to build up their own immune system rather than depending on the protection from the antibodies from mummies.

tongtong
no i dun think she eats fatty stuff... she likes soupy stuff. she's the healthy type la, not like me, eat junk food haha.

mylife
guess who she kena "questioned" by... it's those older/ current generation mummies who hv never breastfed before (coz they say no milk wor). or single ladies who hv no kids. what do they know abt bfg anyway right... hahaha. i told her to tell them she has no $$ to buy FM. kekekeke

my lunch is here

Stewed Fish Maw with Pork Rib
Fried Egg with Long Bean
He Shou Wu Chicken Soup

Re: #1 constipation
Can our toddler drink prune juice? or scott's emulsion cod liver oil helps?

oh Janbb,
a good pump is very important too! Which model/brand u using now? Single/dual/manual or electric? I bought a BN Ameda Lactaline dual pump, it's so much better than Medela Mini Electric that i used for #1 last time. The Ameda pump is quiet &amp; more efficient. At least when i pump, BM is not wasted otherwise single pump, u pump one side &amp; the other side dripping BM unless u have breast shell to catch the leaking side.

Kam
Hahahahaha, no lah, it's not becos talk about BM i will appear, talk until machiam i purposely appear becos of topic. Notice the time instead, this hour, usually, Rylee is napping, but for the past week, i have to cook for her, so didnt come in lah. Today, bringing her out so no need to cook, so free to respond lah.

Aiyoh, fall sick EVERY week = fall sick VERY often lo. Hehehehe. Anyway, yup, perhaps the BF babies i met here in HK dont really fall sick despite going to playschool, commercial classes, etc. Plenty of chances to be in touch with other kids. Then again, i have also met non BF babies who did not fall sick at all! So it's incorrect to say BF babies dont fall sick, but more like they have LESSER chance to fall sick lah.

I was merely correcting your statement earlier about antibodies being passed "only for the first few months" cos that is exactly the kind of myth thinking that prevents mommies from having the mentality to continue BF.

And once again, i feel your last statement of "Mummies continue to pass the antibodies to their babies, but after they get older, it's actually more important for them to build up their own immune system rather than depending on the protection from the antibodies from mummies" is not accurate too. Yes, babies NEED to build their own immunities, BUT breastfeeding babies past 6mths does not equals to babies DEPENDING on mommies' immunities, rather, it benefits them to have both their own immunities built PLUS mommies antibodies. In fact, as babies grow older, mommies' body will adjust their milk contents, ie less fats for baby to grow physically, but increased in antibodies to ASSIST babies own immunities. BUT we need to know BM is not a supermom potion. It will only carry antibodies for illnesses that the MOMMY has had exposure to. So, for common flus and cold (which has a wide range of different millions types of bugs), it's impossible for the mommy to carry ALL the immunities.

U're right i'm passionate about BF. And i'm LUCKY that i've been successful so far. In fact, i intend to enroll in being a La Leche leader to help mommies BF successfully next time when Rylee is older.

wendy
HAHAHAHAHA that is EXACTLY what i told people who questioned me why i'm STILL BF-ing Rylee too!!! I will just say "no money to buy FM" and they will laughed it off. No point saying so much to these people who dont really care anyway.

My girl was on full EBM for 10 months and she never once fell sick even though she was a very small baby at birth (1.86kg)
When I started weaning her to FM at 10 months she kept falling sick like every 1-2 weeks!! my hb kept saying it's because she got no more BM to drink. I felt so bad I actually thought of increasing my pumps to build up supply again.
But having said that, she is now well adjusted to full FM and hasn't fallen sick in over a month *touchwood*
so i guess while BM is best, and gives their immunity a headstart, bb's who are on FM do well on their own too.

wendy,
u are right lor, we are too preoccupied with the numbers and monitoring how much bb drinks. Cos my bb was so small i was always so concerned abt how much she was drinking and whether she was putting enough weight.
i think if #2 comes along i will heck care liao and just latch and latch. anyway i dun think i will have time to exclusively pump already so it's either bf or FM, no more pumping

mylife,
u are sooooo right man...i see the rate at which lexie wipes out FM tins i also scared...and lexie is not a big drinker lor...
my mum always tell me i already save many months of FM money already :p

Re: Sterilizing
Actually over 1 year old no need to sterilise anymore...MPO lah. More importantly, ensure all bottles are washed properly and all residue removed. Can rinse with hot water if you want to be extra careful. After my boy turned 6 mths, I sterilized only once a week and I stopped completely after he was about 9 mths old. No point sterilzing the bottles becos they practically put everything into their mouths...sterilize the whole house??

Janbb,
Tell your hubby falling sick often has got nothing to do with whether being bf or on formula. My boy on formula from day one and he has only been sick for once or twice since birth (touchwood!!). Even when hubby or I was sick and sleeping in the same room as him, he also didn't catch our virus. A lot of other factors are involved not just bf. If you bf and your son still fall sick then how? Can't blame the mummy right?

re: sterilizing

i dont bother much about sterilizing the eating utensils and the bottle, but i still sterilise my pump equipment cuz i tot it would be better since i am keeping the bm frozen? not sure whether i'm right?